Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De La Vallee

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Houlgate > Camping De La Vallee > Reviews

Camping De La Vallee
88 Route De La Vallee
Houlgate
Normandy   (Browse area)
14510
Tel: 0033 2 31 24 40 69
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 170
Open: 01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campervan1974 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 weeks in August. We had a campervan and large tent. We stayed on pitch 15c with electricity but no water. The weather was very good most of the time, only a few days of rain. The pitch was very sunny, clean but not very level. It felt weird when sleeping as you felt you were sliding downhill. It was a quiet pitch except every morning at 8am the bin lorry emptied the bins at the recycling thing. In the evening on some evenings the entertainment could be loud and still be heard at our pitch (usually stopped at 11pm). Several times a day the train passed which was pleasant. No road noise. A few bitey insects after dusk but not too bad. The toilet block was very good. As there were not too many tourers we had lots of choice. Modern and clean hot free showers and sinks and with toilet paper. The washing up sinks are of poor design. You get covered in water from the poor drainage. I would recommend bringing a long electricity cable as some pitches were a long way from the socket box, 15c was ok though. It was forbidden to hang washing lines from trees.

The campsite offered pizzas and fastfood and a takeaway. We had pizza which was ok. We hired the tennis court which was free and they provided free racquets and balls. The site had two petanque courts which was good. They also had a table tennis room. The shop sold french sticks and pastries and cups of coffee. You needed to order the night before.

The swimming pool complex was very good, with 2 outdoor pools and one semi-indoor. There were slides. The red slide was very fast. My daughter went on it and cut her elbow and bashed her head. It also damaged her swimming costume with small holes. I tried it once and escaped damage to myself or my garment but wouldn't recommend it.

Houlgate is a nice town with a fantastic beach. Some good restaurants, mostly serving french cuisine and there are two pizza places. I think it is a good idea to take bicycles to this site as it possible to cycle into Houlgate and nearby Dives-Sur-Mer and Cabourg. Although there are not too many cycle paths back to the campsite. The nearest hyper-market was in Dives-Sur-Mer which is open on Sundays too. In Houlgate there is a Proxi small shop and a small carrefour.

We did days out to Honfleur, Bayeaux, Arromanches, Caen memorial, Dives-Sur-Mer and Cabourg. I reckon that two weeks max is enough or boredom will set in. Finally, I think this site has too many static caravans and does not have the traditional campsite atmosphere to it (not too sociable, especially for the kids). We've done it, but wouldn't go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tents are us 30 reviews from this member

 Great site, bigger than we usually stay at but lovely location.

We rocked up on a Saturday afternoon with no booking & they where more than helpful in reception, we were all booked in for 3 nights in 10 mins.

Shop has basics, pool is great (we had good weather), nice pub/restaurant & snack bar takeaway, each pitch is separated by small hedges & you can have EHU.

A small walk in to the small town with everything you need.

Would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Val holland 9 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights on this site and thoroughly enjoyed it, reception spoke good english and were very helpful, the shop was not well stocked but had most basics, you had to get there before 10am to get a choice of bread, but still had baguettes most days at midday. The pool was clean and good fun, but they did enforce the rule that men had to wear trunks not shorts ( they did sell these in the shop at a reasonable price ). The showers and toilets were clean and plenty of hot water on a push button system. The food on site was good and reasonably priced, as was the take away food. A 15 min walk into the small town which does have a supermarket, shops and restaurants, with a nice beach. A good place to spend a few days and not far from the ferry. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chr4 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week in July. The site is quite big with indoor and outdoor swimming pool and one more for slides. Facilities were always clean, staff were friendly and the shop on site was quite well stocked.

I booked a 'luxury' pitch which was good size but not massive and not exactly level. My older daughter attended some activities for kids which she enjoyed.

The town of Houlgate is very nice with a big sandy beach. Do not miss the lovely, old town in Dives-sur-Mer which is right next door. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

 We stayed with Eurocamp in a tent. A lovely site convenient for a couple of nights to break our journey between Calais and Brittany. The pitches are good size and bordered by hedges for privacy. Water taps were every couple of pitches and shower/washing up block close and very clean. Baby baths with showers for our 1 year old were a great touch - but shame the water was pretty tepid (even for a baby!) and they were only in the ladies side, not the blokes!

The pool was good, clean and not too busy. The baby pool was a bit on the cold side, but it was still June so may warm up later in the year. The indoor pool was a good size and a bit warmer. The bar/ restaurant was ok. Food reasonably priced and tasted good, but service a bit slow as only one person serving and taking orders - which only became an issue when little person had had enough but we had to hang about trying to pay to leave!

The kids plays areas were good - especially the bouncy castle which kept little man entertained for ages!

The shop was pretty typical for a campsite shop - expensive basic tinned and long life food, plus bread that you can order the day before.

The most annoying thing was the reception shutting for 2hrs for lunch so when we wanted to leave at 12. 15 we couldn't as our bands had expired for the barrier (despite being told they'd been extended) but no-one was able to open the barrier until Reception opened again at 2! Very annoying!

Houlgate is about 10mins walk away. Not much on the way, but when you get into town there's a small supermarket and other shops, bars, restaurants etc.

The beach is gorgeous. A huge sandy beach! As it's a very shallow beach the sea is a long way away when the tide is out, but shallow pools on the way are great for little ones.

A pleasant site, 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonhayes 12 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site

Well located - really good facilities.

The pitches are spacious (and hard!)

The pool area is very nice and this is an excellent campsite for families with children.

We didn't try the bar/restaurant.

It is located 5 minute bike ride from centre of Houlgate.

Houlgate is a seasonal resort with some really good places to eat.

The beach is long and nice - we tried a couple of walks and several cycle rides. If you are up to it the ride to Caen makes a great day out.

Prices are at the higher end - but the euro rate made it excellent value as well for this trip 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maddy14 4 reviews from this member

 A mixed bag

We were travelling as a group of 5 adults, 3 in a motor home and two in a large tent. We booked a long time in advance and requested a large pitch as we had the van, large awning and a large tent. The pitch when we arrived was fairly small. We couldn't fit the tent and a car on. They wouldn't allow the car up to the tent even to unload, they insisted that the car was unloaded onto a buggy and then them brought the passengers and camping gear up on that. Not a great start.

You also had to provide a 10 euro deposit per person for an armband which was supposed to be worn at all times while in the camp. In order to use the facilities. This was a one size arm band which wouldn't stay on my skinny wrists so I lost this several times (luckily I found it each time) speedos have to be worn in the pool even for children, not something our menfolk enjoyed. Also you cannot take drinks or food in to sit around the pool which is a shame.

The pools are lovely and the slides great fun. There is a lot for children and they all seemed to really enjoy it.

The takeaway area was fabulous, great food and pretty cheap. Do try the chicken risotto. The bar/restaurant was good, the entertainment was pretty rubbish really and not on late enough, this meant that it lacked atmosphere

Showers. These drove me mad, only one shower in the whole block had water at a reasonable temperature, most were freezing cold or boiling hot This caused queuing at times for the one decent shower however they were immaculately clean and well kempt.

The staff were all friendly and helpful

It was about a 15 minute walk into houlgate which is a lovely town, not a lot to do there but some amazing restaurants. Do try the seafood restaurant, so friendly and amazing food at reasonable prices.

I probably wouldn't stay here again however it is a good site particularly with primary age children 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KittenT 3 reviews from this member

 We visited here with our two children, aged 3 and 5. It was absolutely perfect for families. We were very unlucky with the weather (rained all week) but the kids still had a fab time.

There are two lovely playgrounds which were well used, and we were actually pitched right next to one of them (at our request) so our boys had plenty of freedom to play and meet other children.

There are also a number of table tennis tables in a covered area which were excellent for when it rained (bats and balls sold in site shop) and an arcade, although we didn't use that as I am too mean to put money in the machines! We made use of both the indoor and outdoor pools while we were there, as well as the water slides, which our boys obviously loved.

The bar/restaurant on site is lovely and we found the staff very friendly. The local cider is amazing (although obviously much cheaper in the local supermarkets- I think I got a big bottle for 1 euro 70 in one of them!). The owners of the site are also extremely friendly and were great with our boys when we bumped into them in the bar.

There seem to be 2 shower/toilet blocks, and the bigger, central one is better and more modern, but I didn't discover it until the end of the week- we were right next to an older one which was unisex, so I would have preferred the newer separate male/female block had I known about it. The only real negative point we found was that the wifi we paid for would not work, which was irritating as we wanted to use it for phone sat nav.

Location wise, the site is well located for trips to the beautiful town of Honfleur and the Normandy Landing beaches- we visited Arromanches which was stunning. It is also only a short drive into Houlgate which has a lovely beach and plenty of restaurants etc. There are big supermarkets about a 20 minute drive away in Dives sur Mer (as well as a McDonalds, which we used on the last day to placate out two boys while we figured out the drive home using their free wifi).

Overall, a great family site which is well located. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevin Cantwell 2 reviews from this member

 I had stayed at this site at the end of June, but for just one night, when returning home from Le Mans, wanting to visit Normandy briefly before catching the ferry from Ouistreham which is 30 minutes drive away.

I was impressed with everything at La Vallee campsite, so I decided to return for 9 nights stay in September, this time with my wife, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

It is a large site with 353 pitches, including statics and tents from Canvas Holidays and Eurocamp but there is plenty of room for tourers or tents in hedged areas which give some privacy.

Facilities are good with 3 toilet & shower blocks.

There are 3 swimming pools, with one under cover and heated, plus waterslides. There is a restaurant with take away food also available. Loads of activities for children eg bouncy castle, table tennis, climbing wall, 2 playgrounds. Since we were there during term time there were only pre-school children staying.

There is a shop where you can order bread and croissants for the next day, and a Launderette.

We visited some WW2 sites of interest at Bayeaux, St Aubin sur Mer and Arromanches, but also visited Villers sur Mer, Deauville, Pont L'Eveque and Liseaux. Went on train one day from Dives/Cabourg to Deauville/Trouville, which stops at Houlgate town station, which was interesting. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andylong 4 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic 7 day stay with Eurocamp at La Vallee. Lovely site with tons to do for the kids (nearly all free too!). We don't normally spend time on a site and prefer to explore, however the kids had such a fantastic time that we spent three days on site. The kids entertainers were brilliant with climbing, high ropes, volleyball and a bouncy castle just some of the activities on offer. The bar was fine and had decent food when we couldn't be bothered cooking or eating out. The pools were very good, although a bit slippy on the tiling - we saw a few people fall. You also have to wear 'speedos', but as everyone is the same you don't feel too self conscious!

The shop had all of the basics at a reasonable price and fresh bread and croissants in the morning.

Houlgate is a lovely old town with great shops and places to eat and a fantastic beach. There are plenty of supermarkets nearby too. Normandy itself was also packed with places to visit including the DDay sites and beaches.

Would not hesitate to recommend and will be going back next year. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping De La Vallee child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping De La Vallee have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De La Vallee?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping De La Vallee dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Houlgate      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3438 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement