Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Grange Farm Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woolpit > Grange Farm Certificated Location Reviews

Grange Farm Certificated Location
The Green
Woolpit
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP30 9RG
Tel: 01359 241143
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Redlaw 2 reviews from this member

Very helpful and pleasant owners even gave us 6 free range chicken egg for breakfast on our first morning, site and facilities was very clean and ride with plenty of wild life

We will be returning for another stay as they can't do enough for there visitors
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Uncle Festa 15 reviews from this member

We arrived at this 5 pitch Caravan CS site on a Sunday afternoon for a 2 night stop. We've been to other CS sites and was really looking forward to the peace and quiet that these places should be. Have to say we were extremely disappointed with our first impression on entering the field. One of the caravans, looked like a seasonal pitch, had 8 visitors, plus the 2 occupants already on the pitch, with children running around playing football everywhere, throwing tennis balls and lots of shouting. Certainly not what we expected from a Caravan Club associated site. Don't mind visitors, but should a site owner really allow 8 visitors to 1 pitch?

This did dampen our enthusiasm and marred our view of what should be a lovely genteel site. There's a lovely welcoming long drive to the farm house and the fairly level caravan field is located around the back, adjacent to a nice small fishing pond.

As others have commented, the butchers is fantastic. We purchased 2 lovely tender 10 oz sirloin steaks, 6 free range eggs and bacon for £10. Great value and absolutely delicious

The shower room was spotless and appears to have been overhauled and redecorated this year to a high standard.

Woolpit itself is 2 mins away in the car with its pubs, co-op and fish & chip shop.

A lovely site, but our weekend was ruined by the noise and as it appears that it's accepted here, we won't be returning which is a shame.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stonenomad 5 reviews from this member

Just had week on this CL site, our first visit - loved it! Make sure you follow the instructions exactly to site we ended up in Woolpit village instead of turning off to Woolpit Green but managed to turn our rig around in the village.

Woolpit is very interesting can walk to it from site, yes it has Coop, bakery, fish & chip shop, Museum, garage, lovely old church & buildings.

Very spacious level grass pitches, shower room perfect, small well stocked fishing lake on site, reasonable cost £5 per day £2. 50 half day.

Butcher shop still there, we tried yummy beefburgers, current Site fees £12. 00 per night including EHU & awning.

Good location off A14 to explore the many interesting places round about.

Very friendly owner, would definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Topcat100 12 reviews from this member

Our first visit back this year and its better than ever!

The shower room has been transformed and the butchers on site is selling the most delicious sirloin steak that man or woman has ever sold!

If you like cricket then you're in for a treat as Woolpit CC is a mile or so away and the bar is very welcoming.

If you want peace and tranquility then you need to visit this gem.

Chip shop in the village is great and the Co-op seems to be open all hours. Bakers also looks fab.

Pleasant 10 mile bike ride to Bury St Ed. With its lovely Saturday market.

All this for £10 a night. Bargain!

Don't tell everyone!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: El Toro 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night stay, very quiet and relaxing.

The local village of Woolpit is an easy 15 minute walk away, tried both pubs and will avoid the Swan in future (£8 for a pint of cider and a G and T). The Bull is dog friendly and serves typical pud food at reasonable prices.

The farm shop on the site is handy for fruit and veg and fresh meat for the bbq.

The only criticism is that the shower/toilet could do with a spruce up but for £10 a night with EHU its good value and we will return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kerry362 3 reviews from this member

This is a great CL, most definitely the favourite CL I have visited. We have visited twice now with friends and we will return again.

The children loved it with plenty of space to play.

There is a lovely lake for fishing where the fish literally jump onto the rod, even I managed to catch fish!, a lovely town within walking distance and a lovely small butchers on site.

I would recommend this site to anyone. The only small issue I have is toilet/shower could do with a re-vamp but on the whole this is a great CL.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Topcat100 12 reviews from this member

Spent two days at this delightful site which is a five minute stroll from the village of Woolpit.

The site was newly mown and is fairly flat. Nice welcome and introduction to the site and great value at £9/night.

Fishing was popular with locals in a small pond and there seemed no problem in landing a variety of fish.(£3 per rod for the day)

On site Farm Shop was very busy. The sausage and burgers are evidently delicious according to a fellow visitor.

Woolpit itself is a quaint Suffolk village. Has all the shops that you need for your stay. Co-op, Londis, Baker, Post Office, Antiques,two pubs and most important a Fish and Chip Shop (£9 for 2 cod,large chips, and 2 tubs of mushy peas. Delicious!)Nice garden at The Swan in the centre of the village. Food also looked very tasty.

Lots of good cycling around and a national cycleway 51 to Stowmarket.

Only one slight issue namely the loo/shower back at base needed a little tlc A good half hour of effort would put that right.

Overall, well worth the visit and we will be back to explore some more of the beautiful landscape

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Misty74 2 reviews from this member

Lovely friendly site. Stayed here for 2 nights with friends and all had a great time. Pitches well spaced. Toilet block with decent elect shower was clean. Butchers and small shop selling fruit & veg on site. Pond/lake with large carp can be fished by permission. Plenty of space for children to play. 10 min walk into Woolpit which has 2 main shops, pub and small museum.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judas_hill 37 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site it was a quiet and well kept. The WC was very clean but a bit cold. It did lack a towel and soap for washing hands.
It has a pond which can be fished if you get permission first. Has a butchers and a small farm shop on site. We used the site so that we could visit family and also West stow. Bury st Edmund's is with in a few miles and so is Stow market.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 119 reviews from this member

A lovely example of a Caravan Club Certified Location. So please remember that it is members only.

Set in a peaceful spot between Bury St Edmunds and Stowmarket amongst the unspoilt villages of deepest Suffolk. Plenty of virtually traffic free lanes for cycling and numerous footpaths for walking.

A spacious beautifully mown level field given character by the small lake near the entrance. The lake comes with its own small flock of Canada Geese, who had the unfortunate habit of leaving mess behind them. However, they are usually considerate enough to keep most of it up their end of the field. The lake seemed very popular with a small number of fishermen. This activity did not interfere with the serious business of caravanning.

This site has electric hook up and a nice w.c. and shower room which is free. It is also allows dogs subject to the obvious considerations.
On site there is a farm shop/butchers. I found their sausages and burgers excellent. (Be sure to order in advance)

If you want to stay with friends who do not like caravanning; high quality bed & breakfast accommodation is available in the grade 2 listed Manor House.

I would certainly recommend this site.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4100 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019