Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Orkney Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Kirkwall > Orkney Caravan Park > Reviews

Orkney Caravan Park
Peerie Sea Loan
Kirkwall
Orkney Islands   (Browse area)
KW15 1UH
Tel: 01856 879900
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 81
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bluebike 5 reviews from this member

 Staff were helpful when I needed to arrange an extra night.

Not having enough data to be able to download my email wasn't helpful and as coming from north had no signal or wifi for days.

Site good

Would suggest an out of hours phone number would be helpful as we don't all have wifi 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: NEJane 26 reviews from this member

 My son and I visited this site, straight after lockdown was lifted. We arrived, bleary eyed, at 11 pm and were a little anxious in case we couldn't find our pitch.

However we'd been given the code for the barrier, via email and we were delighted to see my name displayed in the office window, showing our pitch number.

This isn't a pretty site but, for sheer convenience, it cannot be beaten, after a 6 hour ferry crossing, from Aberdeen. It's only 10 minutes drive, from leaving the terminal.

Facilities were immaculate and having self contained privacy cubicles, during the pandemic, gave a feeling a safety. Sanitisers were everywhere, along with cleaning cloths to keep cubicles clean.

The staff couldn't be more friendly and made our long journey, worth it. On a plus side too, the Pickaquoy Centre is next door and the site is part of their business.

Having no access to our own swimming pool at home (closed until further notice) we were delighted to be able to book an hour's session, in the centre's pool. Again, the feeling of being 'safe' was paramount.

Kirkwall centre is only a short walk away from the site and offers every feasible shop necessary, for the touring folk. The fish and chip shop serves huge portions. Or at least, it did - far more than we could eat.

We paid 173. 95 for a 7 night stay x 2 adults, with hookup. It was money well spent, in our opinion and we would, certainly, return to this site, in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Atmack 1 review from this member

 The facilities were excellent, clean, well arranged and with clear instructions.

The site is ideally located for Kirkwall and the local tourist facilities and very close to several supermarkets.

The layout is spacious with good separation of sites and well-tended grass between hardstanding sites, allowing also for tents, to allow a good variety of campers.

Can't say much more at this time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alunth 1 review from this member

 An excellent site, one of the best we have ever visited.

Fabulous views and a most welcoming host who couldn't have been more helpful.

Facilities were kept scrupulously clean.

Pitches were well maintained and certainly big enough 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Medley 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. Great location for ancient sites. Very clean.

Lovely lounge if needed, , and kettle and microwave!

Would use again! Only 20 mins drive to ferry.

Only downside I would have preferred the tent only area, but it was too soft due to heavy previous rain.

Every thing was great, even the weather. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Diana3 2 reviews from this member

 They were very welcoming and the facilities were great. Lovely warm building with sitting room (TV and books), kitchen, washing machines etc.

Fridges and freezer space, lots of individual bathrooms. Handy for town and the supermarkets.

Swimming pool/leisure centre and cinema adjacent.

Grassy area nearby for walking of dogs. Skate park for youngsters. Nothing left to wish for.

Lots of do in Orkney so would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dougal911 2 reviews from this member

 We combined work with a holiday and unusually these days, took a caravan to Orkney. We picked this site for it's central location and is probably the best one on the Island in any case. Appears to be Council Owned with a Leisure Complex adjacent with swimming pool, cinema and cafe (20% discount card for users).

Facilities were excellent with hot shower/ toilet rooms. Laundry facilities, and good areas for campers (Kitchen/ lounge).

Dog walking areas nearby, and a short walk to Kirkwall Town Centre, and three supermarkets.

Free Wifi which was sufficient even though we were quite a distance away from the Reception Block.

A great site with great facilities and really is central for touring.

It was 40 mins drive from the Pentalina Ferry.

Would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Seacow 2 reviews from this member

 Quite noisy, near road. A bit wet. Wifi didn't work.

Central location, close to supermarkets & town.

2nd night we stayed the showers were horrible & couldn't find toilet paper.

Won't be going back. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Larry10 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night helped by staff who found us room on a full site!

The site is large but well run. Facilities clean and lots of hot water, could have a wait for showers at times.

Despite being close to entertainment it was quiet. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tea Lover 5 reviews from this member

 Loved this site. Shower block excellent - heated floor and plenty of space in individual cubicles. A wet and windy time but plenty to do in Kirkwall and the leisure centre next door. Ate breakfast there 3 days out of 4. Croissants from Lidl the other day.

Dog walks straight from the site on the Peedie Sea area or through the community woodland heading up Wideford Hill.

Friendly staff and a well run site. Was very pleasantly surprised for a site so close to town. 
via mobile


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Orkney Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Orkney Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Orkney Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Orkney Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkwall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Orkney Islands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4014 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement