Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Le Moustoir

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Carnac > Camping Le Moustoir Reviews

Camping Le Moustoir
71 Route Le Moustoir
Carnac
Brittany   (Browse area)
56340
Tel: 00 33 2 97 52 16 18
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 165
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TeamGray 9 reviews from this member

Well it seems that not a lot has changed to this site since last reviews. We booked this site through the caravan club. We came with another family. Easy to find site with nice roads. We were able to get onto pitch at 12.

We were given 2 pitches close together. We unfortunately were told however that we could only stay on our pitch for one night and then had to move. Iím sure that could have been managed much better considering we booked it so long ago and there were other free pitches. Our pitch was very large and flat with mixture of sun and shade. We backed onto trees which I found very peaceful.

We had some nice lay ins! Not too noisy. Our pitch had its own water so we could attach our hose. The disposal of grey waste and toilet is still in the middle of the road. There is a barrier at the front gate which we were given a key for and children were asked to wear wrist bands.

Toilets and showers were always clean and no queues. Always hot water too. Ladies toilets had no basins or mirrors. In the ladies shower block there was 1 toilet but there was mirrors and basins in there. No soap though. Men only have one block with showers and toilets, but there was no seats on toilets. Always had loo paper though!

Bar area was well used and the fresh take away pizza was very nice. The animation / entertainment team were brilliant. They put on shows, colour run and foam party while we were there. One night there was a regional dance and music. Most of entertainment was in French as there isnít many English here but not a problem as we are in France! We all loved the pool.

We did cycle into Carnac which was nice and flat but roads were too busy for my liking. The beach at le men du was about 10 minute drive away and was beautiful. The standing stones in Carnac were very near.

There is a tomb that you can walk into which is 5 mins walk from the campsite (tumulus le Moustoir) which I found fascinating, its not fenced off and is free to enter. We would come here again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bede 4 reviews from this member

I've just realised, to my shame, that I forgot to review this at the time. Better two years late, I suppose.

We travelled with our four children who were then 1, 4, 11, and 15. The older ones enjoyed the wi-fi which was available round the pool; the younger ones enjoyed going in the pools. There was a large slide and then also an outdoor swimming pool. Inside was a baby pool and also a warm water playing pool. It was covered and full of children and often too loud for the children to want to go in there. Shorts could be, and were, worn.

The pitch was large and had water on it. Plenty of space for the car and for a table outside and some room to play on. It was our first experience on a French campsite and it took us some time to realise that the reason our French neighbours (and the vast majority of campers were French) kept looking at us in confusion as they passed was because we had our dining area on show on the grass. Making conversation in my faltering French later, it was confirmed that they thought we should have put our table behind the car/behind a windbreak for privacy.

The staff were incredibly friendly and very patient with the children and with mine and my wife's French.

The shower block and loos were clean and plentiful, although they closed half of them immediately upon La Rentree.

There are a few farm animals for the children to coo over and we also paid for the little ones to ride on ponies round the campsite.

There is a playpark by the pool/bar/shop area and also another one in the woods.

Takeaway pizzas were sold and there was a small restaurant. Takeaway cheaper, quicker and, to be honest, tastier.

It is possible to cycle to Carnac and to La Trinite sur Mer because we did so. However, one either has to go down the main road or on a long detour.

It's a very pleasant campsite and, were it closer to the beach, we would happily return. We had trekked over with the bikes and had naively assumed it would be easier to cycle.

The weather was in the 30s the whole time we were there (actually, there was one damp day) and was scorchingly hot. Until the day of breaking camp, of course, when it absolutely bucketed down all day.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site in the Gulf of Morbihan in southern Brittany. Excellent friendly staff. Shop with good basic supplies including fresh bread. We had a fully serviced huge pitch for £14. 95 a night with Camping Cheques.

Free Wifi in reception, bar area. Lovely pool with water slides. Clean and spacious shower cubicles but water could have been a bit warmer at times. Toilet paper provided. Good satellite signal. Very quiet and peaceful in low season but would be lively in peak season.

It was evident there are great activities on site for children in the school holidays. Carnac, with its' famous standing stones is a delightful well heeled little town with beautiful bays and beaches. Vannes well worth a visit.

Auray is lovely, especially by the river. We went to a brocante there - like a flea market but frighteningly expensive! We would have stayed longer but they closed on September 10th.

We would definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Karavanner 14 reviews from this member

We chose this site for it's proximity to Carnac. It is a short cycle into the town, although the quickest road is very busy and you have to cross it. I would not want to do it with younger children! There is a longer route with some off road sections that takes you past the stones which is nice!

It is about a 20 to 30 minute cycle to the beaches, which a very nice.

Carnac town is quaint with two supermarkets. We did have a problem finding a restaurant for lunch. We had got caught in the rain, and all but one had stopped serving and it wasn't even 2pm!

The site is great. Very child friendly. Reception and check in were very helpful, and English was spoken to help out my dodgy French. The restaurant is small but well priced and also did takeaways. Fresh bread was available all day every day.

There is an indoor and outdoor pool, and slides, and also a daily programme of activities for all ages.

The pitches vary in size, and also have shade. They have some statics, but it is all set out well. The toilet block was clean with unisex and single sex facilities. Proper toilets with seats and paper!

The only slightly odd thing is that the Elsan point is a drain in the middle of the road which is also the motorhome water dump.

Nice site. Very busy. Very friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Clive and Jo 7 reviews from this member

This is a spacious and well laid out site. There are a variety of sized pitches and we had a choice of several sizes so chose a big one so we could spread out.

The toilets and showers are centrally located so you are never too far from the amenities. The bar and restaurant were good, with a varied menu that changed daily. The pool area is large, with water slides to add to the fun. We were in a small party of young pensioners but can imagine how much children and young adults would enjoy it. Just one low point, literally. At the back of the loo blocks there seems to have been some subsidence, in a perfect circle. Maybe the water tank was sinking? This was used by kids on bikes and scooters as a skate park so not too bad then.

We used bikes to get into Carnac itself and a trip around the stones as there is no public transport from the site. The museum is tiny. The town has a few bars and restaurants but some roads are narrow. We also took the motorhome for a ride to Quiberon where there are ample carparks including a park and ride on the outskirts of the main town at the tip. Well worth a visit for scenery and shopping - market day Saturday.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamela 10 reviews from this member

We went here last month(June). It is a really lovely site, and with going early, managed to get a service pitch at no extra price! Toilets are very good and plenty of them, same as showers.

Pool is big and lots and lots of sun beds, free wi fi at the pool and bar and reception. It's got nice big trees at the end of each little road. You have a fob key to enter and the bar, and it just opens on the way out.

Love the staff, you just got to ask and they will do their best to please. I can't say anything bad about this place, that why we have booked for next year, using camping cheques.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Campers 1 review from this member

We spent 16 nights here in August (2 adults and 2 children 7 and 10). We had a fantastic time. We asked for a large pitch with electric which is worth asking for as some of the smaller ones were a bit of a squeeze.

The campsite was mainly French campers(which we like)and our children played happily with French and English alike. The pools were great. Plenty of sun loungers and good slides. The toilet blocks were clean and showers adequate.

The on site restaurant was excellent - quite up market for a campsite! We tried some very French food, including snails with the set menu! Everything was delicious! The take away pizzas were great too.

It is very difficult to say anything negative about this campsite. Watch out for rotten floorboards in the woods, our son fell through one but was ok!

Definitely recommend this campsite as the area was lovely for exploring too.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sinbad 17 reviews from this member

The site is mostly well maintained with large pitches and good facilities.

The indoor pool was lovely and clean. The outdoor pool was cleaned each morning but the boys did discover a poo in there when we arrived. I did inform the staff thinking they would close the pool, but kids were still in there with it until it closed at 8pm.

The shop is useful, you need to be there early to get the croissants as there is no ordering system.

The site was nice and quiet at night with no rowdiness where we were. The weather was not great so the washing machines were under pressure. Best to get there first thing and get your wash tokens from the shop.

The kids aged 12 and 9 loved this site. I'm not sure, probably because I got used to the tranquillity of the Loire in the first week and found the location and Carnac plage a bit of a culture shock!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annieh 1 review from this member

We booked this through Carefree, and arrived on a saturday (24th July)which was not wise as we had to queue for all the Peage booths (Tolls) which added about 1.5 hours to the journey from Calais (total journey with brief stops for fuel & food was 9 hours with trailer). The return journey was 7.5 hours mid-week. Cost of all tolls added up to around 25 euros.

The paperwork said we had to check in before 19.30 however we were not going to make this, so I called the site and they were fine about arriving later - when we arrived we went to the bar and the very nice person gave us the map and and barrier key (we had pre-paid through Carefree)and then cycled down to show us our pitch.

The pitch was a large pitch - there were probably only about 10 of these all together as all the others were smaller, I was not aware that we paid for a larger pitch but our tent is about 8m x 5m and we had a pup tent. We also paid for electricity, and we got drainage and a water tap next to the pitch as well - brilliant!

The ground was hard and appeared to be made up of rubble underneath, we would definitely recommend rock pegs! (we did not have these). It was also dusty, but a groundsheet outside the tent and mats helped to stop dust getting inside the tent. Most of the pitches were shaded at some time of the day, although we were in full sun during the hottest part of the day. They were also hedged around but the hedges on our pitches had only just been planted so the pitches were not very private but this did not bother us!

There was also a camping field but I am not sure whether it was cheaper to camp on the field rather than the individual pitches.

The toilet blocks were kept very clean with teams cleaning them at least twice per day, there was always availability at the times we needed to use showers etc. The showers were variable in pressure but this could have been because it was peak season, you needed to get to know the best shower for pressure (important for ladies & hair washing!).

The pools were lovely, with adequate seating and the areas around the pools were kept clean.

The bar & bistro area were fine, but we chose to drink supermarket beer & wine mostly! We did order pizzas one night which were tasty, but not as stodgy & filling as we are used to in the UK.

It was good to have Wifi (by the bar / pool area) but it did seem to get overloaded and sometimes you could not get a connection.

There was always something on each evening eg film, magician, disco etc which the younger kids seemed to enjoy. The activities on site ie zip wore, pony riding, paint-balling were reasonably priced and the kids enjoyed this.

There was a good mix of English, Dutch and French on the site. Plenty of English people for my 10 year old to have met at least 10 friends to do paintballing with anyway!

Carnac town has a great market on sundays and wednesdays. Carnac Plage is another centre nearer the beach where there is a good selection of shops and resturants. The beach was lovely and clean, and not particularly crowded as it is large!

We took bikes as well for getting around the site and the town was easy for biking to - fairly flat all around.

We also visited Quiberon (30 mins away) - big beach front where ferries come and go to Belle Ile. Visted Vannes (30 mins) as well - walled historic city, with small (expensive) shops! I think there is a more commercial centre but we did not find it!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bertieburstner 4 reviews from this member

Just back from this lovely site. It is a 10 minute cycle ride into the old town of Carnac and 15 minutes to the beach, but in the countryside.

We had a large pitch (paying with camping cheques) and had water electricity and drainage on each pitch. The weather was great but the site was very dusty and I suggest you take a groundsheet. It was very peaceful at night. The loos were immaculate (no soap though). The bar and small restaurant were good. The menu was quite small but had great pizzas.

The swimming pool area was nice and got quite busy. The pool is heated.

There is free WiFi by the bar area.

We had a go on the zip wires, quite physically demanding but good fun and cheap at 4.50 euros for an hour.

Overall a lovely site.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Carnac      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4016 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019