Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cragg Hill Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Cragg Hill Farm
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HW
Tel: 01729 860266
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RibbleCragger 4 reviews from this member

A great little campsite in fields of a working farm near to the village of Horton-in-Ribblesdale in The Yorkshire Dales, with views of Pen-Y-Ghent. Located between the Settle to Carlisle railway and The River Ribble. The railway didn't cause us any noise problems only one every now and then during the day.

Only 5 or 10 minute walk from Horton itself where there are a couple of pubs and if the weather is nice, a paddle in The River to cool down. The Crown pub was particularly nice, with a very friendly atmosphere.

The campsite itself has very clean facilities, perfect for camping. There are three toilets, four showers and a wash room. The showers are free to use and the cost per night per person is only £5 which is very good for the facilities and the location. Friendly owners and perfect for children with plenty of space to play.

A great campsite that we will definitely be returning to in the future.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dads with lads 1 review from this member

What a nice location, 1. 5 miles from village centre, great views of countryside and pen y Ghent.

Very quiet site between settle Carlisle railway and the river Ribble.

Three fields to choose from, 2 large and flat then a small sloping field near the farm.

The facilities are adequate with 5 toilets 2 washing sinks and 4or5 showers(can't quite remember how many). Anyhow, they are all very clean with bags of hot water. In fact for a rural campsite these are the best I have used for a long time. Only £5 pppn, how cheap is that?

A great base for walking, especially if your doing the three peaks. Only 20 minute walk or 2 minute drive into Horton village where you will find 2 pubs, public conveniences and the pen-y Ghent cafe.

When you get there just drive( walk) to your desired spot, that is anywhere across the cattle grid, park yourself then walk up to the farmhouse knock on the door and pay your money, itís as easy as that. Happy camping everyone.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Strawy 5 reviews from this member

Great site, tidy and well kept, 2 night enjoyable stay.

I pitched on the field nearest the facilities, slopes a bit but found a flat spot, there were a few tents in another field.

Main area was toilet/sink, 2 washing up sinks(hot water)& a newish shower block(4 cubicles, no charge)all clean & tidy, there were 2 other separate toilets which I did not use.

£5ppn & will hopefully use again.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony500 1 review from this member

A lovely site. Three fields to chose from, grass nicely cut and very peaceful, a great location for the Yorkshire three peaks and/or a pleasant stroll into Horton-in-Ribblesdale to one of the pubs. I spent two nights at only £5 pp.

Facilities were clean and well maintained and the lady that collected the pitch fee was very friendly.

The only thing I could say was missing was a hook inside the shower door to hang clothes while taking a shower. I will certainly camp here again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caldey10b 1 review from this member

Brilliant little site. We arrived on a Saturday evening at the height of the 3 peak challenge, it cost a grand total of £6 for the pitch for the night.

Whilst all the other sites in the village were chocka block and noisy.

This site had just 2 tents on it inc ours, The site is basic in so far as a toilet block and wash house, but the peaceful position compared to the noisy sites in the village made it all worth while.

If walking into the village there are 2 routes to take one via the rd you came in on (prob about 1-1. 5miles) or across the river via a wooden bridge the across a field (note remember to bring a torch and remember your bearings if you've had a few cheeky scoops in the pub.

This site is near a river so if you're Prone to midge bites I'd come armed with insect repellent

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Delma cook 5 reviews from this member

Very pretty camp site, clean with lovely all round views. There are five toilets to cover four fields, not enough, but they were very clean.

Although a very pretty site we would not recommend site if you have young children, the river is fenced off with barbed wire all along is bank and there are a few small gullies leading from river across the middle two field.

We found we could not relax and were telling the children to keep away all the time, just found it really hard work with no time to enjoy playing with children has we should have been. As a result we only managed to stay one night out of our weekend.

The site owner was not very helpful, we could not find any bins, we were not informed where they were, had to go and look for the owner who seemed put out at being disturbed all in all very disappointed and we will not be going back

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

At £3 per person in June, free parking and wonderful views, you really get a bargain here!

The views are very good (they would have been superb if two lines of trees didn't obstruct part of the 360 degree views!), and we faced our tent to enjoy the fine view of the river close by. There is no traffic noise since the site is well away from any roads. However, since the railway is close by, with a pedestrian crossing near, you do have a train hooting about every half hour.

Facilities included three toilets with cold water sinks, a couple of showers, and a covered washroom with cold water next to the primary tent field. Two more fields are available (with extra toilets) for busy times. Hygiene was good. And not a single scrap of rubbish was to be found anywhere on the site! Oh, and the grass was three inches high, and about to be mowed again as we left.

On our Monday in June there was just one other tent in our field, and a caravan in the second field. Apparently there were sixty people in the fields on the previous Saturday.

We would both highly recommend this beautiful and peaceful site. Unless you need hot water, free showers or a shop!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babysoprano 10 reviews from this member

A great little site about a mile away from the main village. Yes it's basic but at £6 for two of us per night over a bank holiday we weren't complaining.

Very picturesque and away from any main roads - the railway line is very close but the trains don't run that late and there didn't seem to ever be more than one an hour.

Horton is about a 15 minute walk away over the fields and it's worth knowing that there's a handy mobile shop when you walk to town that way just as you reach the houses.

Facilities all very clean - only gripe is that the 50p shower lasted about 90 seconds before it went (very!) cold. That said it certainly wouldn't put us off staying again - as well as being near the 3 peaks places like Settle and Hawes are very easy to get to.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattthetraindriver 12 reviews from this member

This campsite is fab! Owners very friendly but stay away but are always a knock at the farmhouse away, it is quite and peaceful, lush green, soft grass and ground I didn't use my hammer. It has a converted out house one side is a toilet and sink cold tap only, the other a pot washing with 2 sinks and a converted electric shower unit on the wall with no shower head that produces hot water to wash your pots up. There are portaloos 2 by farmhouse and a portable shower block with 2 showers went in to have one but you need 50pence coins which I didn't so, went and had all over refreshing cold wash in toilet which was quite refreshing as we'd done part 2&3 of peaks. The views around when weather is clear are great Pen-y-Ghent in the back drop, there are 4 fields to choose from last field at the bottom which had all the caravans it had a portaloo unit, all fields are a very big size so you can pick anywhere there are slopes but the fields are big so flat spots are never a shortage. Its a 15-20min stroll along road or field to Horton.

Its basic camping and not for everyone if your a glamper, but its made up for the beauty of its position. Its by the river so midges were present so a hat or hood is a must and Avon so soft dry oil spray a plenty coz we forgot it and got bit, but that won't put us off from going again.

We had a group of 5 tents with 20 odd yrs old for one night whom we're noisy for a couple of hours till midnight ( why do these people come camping go stay in a travelodge and great drunk elsewhere) but upon speaking to the farmers wife in the morning whom said we should have knocked at midnight! Which we didn't, she told her husband and within 5minutes he told them to pack up and leave at 8am! Ha!

If you go turn left or right by Horton station and after 400-500 yds go left at the fork in the road as right under a tight bridge takes you into Hansons quarry! At £3 per person a night its a steal We will return as it suits us and is far by one of the best sites we, ve stayed at in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hewitts52 3 reviews from this member

Great little camp site with friendly owners, hidden away just out of village. Only three toilets on top field (one permanent and two portaloos)but were very clean. There was another block of portaloos further down site but I did not visit them. Free hot water in wash up area but showers were expensive(50p for less than 2 mins) and erratic hot/cold.

Nice 20 min walk to village over bridge and across fields. Great views of Pen-Y-Ghent and an occasional steam train passing on train line along side site, other trains on line weren`t a problem to us.

Overall we thought it was a good basic site at a bargaiun price, £3. 00 person per night! We would certainly go back again when we are in the area

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1777 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019