Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Exmouth Country Lodge And Prattshayes Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exmouth > Exmouth Country Lodge And Prattshayes Campsite Reviews

Exmouth Country Lodge And Prattshayes Campsite
Maer Lane
Littleham
Exmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX8 5DB
Tel: 01395 276626
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: PnK76 1 review from this member

We recently stayed in our motorhome on this campsite, and would not return, primarily because of the poor standard of the toilet and shower facilities which desperately need replacing.

The gent's facilities, in mid September, were slightly smelly, probably because of a dirty open drain running along one or more walls. This appeared to take water from the floor and the showers and hand basins. The ceiling above the showers was covered in black spots - mould or possibly dead insects.

The shower cubicles are tiny and it antiquated, and it is impossible to keep any part of the cubicle floor dry because of the design of the shower floor: indeed after the showers were used it seems that inevitably water flows under the cubicle door and onto the floor of the room itself which was often wet.

I found the shower hot water to be unreliable as it was hot for about a minute then ran cold. A rubber squeegee, which was filthy, is provided to help dry the floor.

There are notices asking that customers are patient as the toilets are being refurbished. However I found a review from September 2017 saying that the facilities were being improved, so there appears to be no urgency on the part of the site management.

I cannot comment on the lady's facilities other than to say that my wife declined to use the showers.

With new shower and toilet facilities, this would be a great site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kiwishev 2 reviews from this member

I agree with previous reviews about the showers, they are pretty dismal. The bathroom block is very old, tiles look like they come from the 70s.

All was clean, but there is only one shower (the middle one) that is actually warm, and is more than a trickle. I was lucky enough to get the middle shower twice, but had to make do with one of the others and could barely get enough water to wash.

The pitches are a reasonable size, and pretty flat.

The Cow Barn is quite a pleasant bar, family friendly. The kids loved the pool table, table football and ball games especially when it was wet.

Staff were friendly, although someone else was also allocated to our pitch.

Nice and close to the beach, just under a mile.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mattyboy1 8 reviews from this member

Nice little site only about a mile from Exmouth beach.

Toilets were clean although quite dated with a little area for washing dishes just outside.

Reasonable facilities and the barn bar was a bonus.

The site was nice and peaceful so would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Coastwalker 41 reviews from this member

This site is on a single track road from Exmouth to the village of Littleham. It looks like an old farm, with a big barn housing the bar, and campers showers and toilets.

The lady taking my booking was ok, but seemed fed up.

There is a small field with hookups for vans, tents and motorhomes at the rear of the barn, and through a gap there is a larger camping field.

This field was very rough cut and rather lumpy- rough pasture.

The toilets and showers are at the back of the barn. I only saw the gents side. This was grim. Dark and dismal and having that old pub cellar smell, everything is on its last legs.

The showers work after a fashion, but 2 of the 3 sinks had no hot water. - One didn't work at all, one hot tap is connected to the cold system, the 3rd gave such a banshee wail I quickly turned it off. The whole lot wasn't filthy though, just poor and uncared for. There are old sinks for washing up outside, which did have hot water.

I have used better sites at a third of the price. I moved on after one night and stayed at a far superior one nearby.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Anneparker 10 reviews from this member

Just our luck to arrive after constant rain had made the fields too wet to drive on, but we were directed to a safe place on the drive where we were quite happy for 2 days.

The owners are in the process of upgrading the facilities and have plans for roads and hardstandings.

The facilities are a bit basic at the moment but the bar was terrific.

Will come again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Littlefizzal 6 reviews from this member

Spent a week on this site with the family in August.

The site is nicely kept and well maintained with plenty of room for the kids to play but no play area. Toilet block was always clean with nice hot showers.

The pitches are not the biggest but have enough room for caravan with awning and car in front.

If you are thinking of staying here you will need leveling blocks for 1/2 the pitches as the site is on a hill.

They have a 3pm check in which at the time was a bit of a pain for me but when you get to the site you can understand why. The access is tight which is why they have a late arrive time as you have a major issue if 2 caravans were to meet.

We took bikes for us and the kids and rode into Exmouth which only took about 10mins. Took a bit longer getting back as 1/2 of it is up hill.

There is a cafe on site and a pub that does food at the end of the road. I didn't use either of them but they looked nice and was always busy with I think is a good sign.

I would happily stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Burcyluton 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night, hereafter our thoughts.

Good points:

- great location to exmouth beach

- friendly staff

- no frills

- ok £per night except for sharing EHU - see below

- a new bar area was about to open

Not so good :

- electric hookup, it's advertises as a 16amp supply, which it is - however what they don't tell you is you'll probably have to share it - if I didn't have a splitter we wouldn't of got EHU at all! Think it was staff caravans feeding to our supply ( they didn't even route their cables around the edge of the field, so cars were driving over it.

- quite a few old caravans on site/ poss staff accommodation?!?

- pitches very close, pitch next to ours, their awning was right upto to pitch edge line - they also used this as their entrance, good job we didn't need all of our pitch & and we pitched our van over a bit so it didn't get knocked if they tried to get into their awning!

- facilities are rather tired

- yes the lane is narrow, but we'd just come from sw Devon and those lanes are way worse

- well stocked shop, actually means sells milk - the well stocked part is paddle boards and alike

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jepi 3 reviews from this member

Very disappointed with the campsite. It had a neglected look about it and the facilities were in need of a complete upgrade. John the owner however is brilliant.

We had a problem with some dogs who live on the site attacking our dog but John calmed the situation and we had no more problems.

We also felt the pitches are far too close together. We had a tent pitched inches from our van which was sharing a pitch with a campervan!

There is no way will ever return to this site and really feel unable to recommend it.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsCamper 6 reviews from this member

A friendly site but it is extremely grubby. The gents smell and are wholly inadequate, described by a fellow camper as 'foul' they are cramped and the ladies is uncared for and gets very damp.

There's a lack of recycling. The pitches are extremely close together and we felt quite sorry for some of our fellow campers whose space was being encroached.

The walk to Exmouth doesn't take long but it's on a road so difficult with children. There is a bunkhouse which was being stayed in by a very noisy swearing group which could be heard by fellow campers' small children.

The warden did ask them to be quiet but the general level of noise was unacceptable on a quiet rural site.

I can't quite believe that the National Trust allow their sign to be on the site. Would not return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tents are us 30 reviews from this member

We wanted a 1 night stop and popped in here, ! What a lovely site!

The wardens where great and it was only £15 with ehu!

Showers where good and stayed clean even thou the site was almost full.

The site has all you need & is so lovely we will defo return.

Only thing to remember is the road to it is VERY narrow.

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Exmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1352 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019