Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gralyns Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

Gralyns Caravan Park
The Street
Eyke
Woodbridge
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP12 2QR
Tel: 01394 420728
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Countrylemon 7 reviews from this member

We spent 2 nights here midweek in August. The site was really quiet when we arrived. We were the only tent, the other units being caravans some of which look to be long stay or seasonal. The other campers were very friendly with one lady suggesting activity ideas for my 3 boys (local knowledge, very valuable!) We were non-electric but I think all pitches do have EHU.

The children's play area is good, and was one of the main reasons for booking here. There's the main play area by reception, and a couple of sets of swings in the main field.

There is a little kitchen for dish washing, and it also houses the washing machine and dryer. There is a microwave and kettle for guests to use which was a real plus. There was also a fridge and freezer. Plenty of hot water.

The loos and showers seem to have evolved in a piecemeal way - there are 3 small ablutions blocks, two next to each other in the main field, and one next to reception and the play area. Always soap, loo roll and paper towels.

The location of the site is excellent in terms of proximity to Rendlesham Forest, Woodbridge and a host of other places to visit and see. Rendlesham Forest is around a 5 minutes drive (to the visitor centre, less for other areas of the forest. Woodbridge has an excellent Co-op with lots of local produce and there is a fishmonger, a butcher and a green grocer all in the same alley. There is a store in Eyke itself but we didn't visit it.

There was a little road noise discernible from our pitch, (tents keep out absolutely zero noise), but it tended to be around rush hour, and the weather was very still so the noise carried. It didn't bother us, and I'm a country lass so am rather sensitive to these things!

At the time of our stay they were constructing a wooden lodge for holiday lets at the far end of the field. It appeared to be robustly constructed (not a plastic type prefab) and there are plans for 3 more. Given the great location of the site I'm not surprised this is being instigated.

We really enjoyed our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to go again if we decided to visit that part of Suffolk again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nomad66 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the weekend as we wanted to visit Woodbridge. The site is only 3 miles from the town centre and there is a regular bus service from the village (Eyke).

The site was pretty full but very quiet :-) Every pitch is flat with electric hookup and there are plenty of clean showers and toilets. You'll need 20p for the shower but that guarantees hot water for 4 minutes. The pitches are pretty large and easy to access, no difficult manoeuvring no matter how large your caravan/trailer is.

We arrived on the Friday evening, set up and walked to the village pub (it's less than 1/2 mile away). There is no pavement initially but that was no big deal. It's a lovely pub with plenty of atmosphere and we were made to feel very welcome by the locals. They only serve food between about 18:30 and 20:00 and we arrived just after that. But the chef cooked us fish & chips which was excellent!

My only criticism is of the waste/toilet water disposal which needs improving.

Overall it's good site in a decent location with all the essentials and we would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angloger 1 review from this member

We stayed in September. Toilet facilities are good and for the disabled very good. There was some traffic noise during the day but not really noticeable and I only heard one vehicle late evening. We stayed here four nights and I will stay again, in the future. Customer service is very good! When we stayed there, the grass was a little too long.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nich1973 1 review from this member

Fantastic find - camping as it should be, nice quiet site, no entertainment, no bar. Basic, but sufficient site with very clean toilets and showers, ice pack freezing facilities and microwave for campers use. A small playground for children. Staff all really friendly. Communication when booking easy and efficient and confirmed when received deposit by post etc. Price very reasonable for 4 people, tent/caravan and EHU :o)

One recommendation to the owners would be floor mop or squeegees in the showers to wipe floor clean/dry for next user.

Note - Need 20p's for the showers (20p gives 4 minutes)

Didn't make it to local shop or pub. There is no footpath from the campsite some of the way in to the village and the road is quite busy with fast moving vehicles.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pesky85 1 review from this member

Just got home from a stay at Gralyns - our first camping trip!

This campsite is reasonably priced, quiet, with a good range of facilities. This is mostly popular with caravan users rather than tents, there was only one other tent whilst we were there.

A great location for daytrips, especially if you take dogs as Rendlesham Forest (with miles of walking routes) is only a 5-10 minute drive away.

There are a couple of play areas for the children which came in handy, too.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bi6als 1 review from this member

Very nice, quiet, peaceful site. Only 4 others on site for most of our stay.

Toilets / Showers are a bit lacking but if youve got a fully loaded van, its ideal.

We didn't have any problems with the noise mentioned in other reviews. We were in the back field so may have been sheltered but the road that passes isnt really busy.

Unfortunately, the owner was in hospital during our stay but her sister and husband were running the place. A very pleasant helpful couple.

The area is very pretty, the highlights being Aldeburgh, Orford and Walberswick.

We found the shops a bit pricey but being from Yorkshire we often do.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sam44 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from four days camping at this site with three other adults, two children - 14 and 9, and 4 dogs.

The site is in a good place for touring around Suffolk with plenty of things to do nearby. There were not that many people on site, I think approximately six other units and as we had read previous reviews we asked if we could go in the back field which is away from the main road. You could still hear the traffic in the morning but not too badly.

There is a park on site for the children which kept them entertained. There is also woods nearby to walk the dogs and this is a peaceful site. The downside of this site though is the toilets/shower facilities, these definitely need updating. There are no proper sink facilities to get washed in for women only hand washing basins but there are for men. However if you want a cheap site for camping this is the one.

If you want a good place to eat we found The Cherry Tree in Woodbridge very good value for money and very good service.

Places to visit nearby I would recommend Southwold - the Pier, Thorpeness and Aldeburgh. The other good thing about this area is that most of the beaches allow dogs on which was a bonus.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Squiggs 6 reviews from this member

We have used this site twice before and were happy to come here again. There are lots of regulars on site who are all extremely friendly. The facilities are basic toilets,showers and pot wash. There is also a fridge for campers and a washing machine. Great play area for the children. All in all a good basic affordable site in a great location for exploring Suffolk.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulhb 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site for the bank holiday weekend, although it rained most days we found the site to be reasonably kept, kids had plenty of space to play, pitches were a good,size but a little

Disappointed with the toilets and showers, all very basic. Suffolk is a wonderful county to visit so don't be put off going there, lots to see and do.

Places to visit, Bawdsey, Orford Ness, Sutton Hoo, Rendlesham Forest, Local town of Woodbridge, Snape Maltings, Southwold, Walberswick and lots more.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scojen-09 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent our first family camping weekend at this site and we had a great time!

On arrival we were given a pitch on the front field but having previously read the reviews of others highlighting the close proximity to the road I asked if we could go on the back field, and this wasn't a problem. You could still hear the noise of the traffic from the main road early morning but that didn't bother us.

The facilities were good albeit possibly in need of a little updating / redecorating. They were certainly adequate.We all enjoyed our early morning showers.20p for 7 minutes of good hot water! There was only one sink for washing dishes but as there were more caravans than tents this wasn't a problem. The 'kitchen' room also had a washing mashine, tumble dryer, microwave and kettle.Although we didn't use these. Our 10 yr old had a great time with the other kids at the playground beside reception and a couple of other swings in the back field.

The location of the site was great for visiting historical places (we used our car to get around).We managed to fit in Orford Castle, Sutton Hoo and Framlingham Castle as well as a look around Woodbridge on our visit!

We would use this site again and would recommend it to anyone who wanted a decent basic campsite.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2903 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019