Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of L Oree Du Bois

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Les Mathes > L Oree Du Bois Reviews

L Oree Du Bois
225, Route De La Bouverie
Les Mathes
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17570
Tel: 0033 0546 224 243
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 341
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: GEORGEBB 1 review from this member

Great site if you have slightly older kids in my view. Its quite far down the coast so mostly french and dutch. The entertainment for the kids is in French as is often the case. The restaurant food was lovely.

The office staff were fantastic on local area and spoke perfect English. The pools were great for older kids, they do have a great little paddle pool for younger kids but there's never a sun bed available.

Didn't bother us too much but like most big sites its hard to get a sunbed in July/August. We have a big caravan 8 meters and and full size awning. Once erected there was 2 meters to the boundary hedge, so 8 meters wide at the back, maybe 8 meters deep usable, there was a section for the car and the private toilet block.

This was a downside for us because with young kids they didn't have a small space to play. Our dutch neighbours had older kids, they had enough space for their loungers so not an issue for them.

The site entertainment looked really professional - we don't bother much with that sort of thing but for older kids it looked really good. Its a longish cycle to the beaches. We had the two young boys in a trailer. Quite a cycle, again with older kids it would be lovely instead of quite hard work.

The beaches are lovely and the kids loved the atlantic waves. Older kids body boarding. Surf schools. The zoo is a great day out not far in a car. Meschers-sur-Gironde and Talmont-sur-Gironde can be done in the same day, lovely day out.

The Indian forest next to the campsite is not part of the package, our boys loved it, it caters for all ages and a really fun day or morning. All in I would recommend it, ticks a lot of boxes. The pitch killed it for us, the sandy ground was a pain, the caravan steps kept sinking. I had to make up things for it.

The size means if you have a large van and full awning the private facility pitch doesn't leave much room. There was a handful of bigger pitches at the back of the site next to the Indian forest side.

Restaurant food was good, takeaway the usual, chips were ok but the rest just chicken and pizza - as said staff were really good and the pool attendants very vigilant. The slides went into quite a deep pool, slides were a big highlight at our last place. Not great here.

Hope that helps. Message me if you have any specific questions glad to help. Forgot the fun park, we had two fun nights there. 2. 5 euro for a go on things so not too expensive for a fun night out. You can walk, there is crazy golf, and go karts, quad bikes. This site and area have all the entertainment for kids.

I cant really hand on heart comment on cost. I find France expensive now with the exchange rate, I spend £100 euros on groceries there and £100 at home. Eating out is 50-60 euros? Same as at home. What can I tell you? Every holiday costs plenty

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Ainemarieburke 1 review from this member

Just returned after 3 weeks here, via Venue Holidays in a mobile home. (Very nice - would recommend, but not cheap)

We are looking to camp in our new Air tent next year so really took time to inspect the site with this in mind.

Good size pitches and lots with private sanitation available if you want to pay the price. The Toilet blocks all look brand new and were quite modern and clean when we inspected them a few times. And well located to the tents.

Tents tended to be together on the right side and mobile homes on the left with a few exceptions to this.

Washing Machines are 4. 50euro and take a fair amount of washing.

Nice shop on site, well stocked and lovely fresh bread every day Super you about 10 minutes away - but gets very busy! (Especially on Saturdays!) Has a petrol station too.

Bikes to hire on site also.

Swimming pool gets very busy but doable and has 2 types of slides.

BBQ stations dotted around the site but you may wish to avoid a pitch near these as you can have the three bbq's going for a few hours at twice a day.

Entertainment was very good with pool side bits going on (we were not at the pool for these) and a kids club. Our 2 girls ( 4 & 7 only enjoyed the day they practices for the 'got talent' night as none of the animators spoke English (It's a French site so didn't expect them to) and so they felt excluded and just went into the playpark.

The evening entertainment was good. Their own cabaret night was very funny and the language barrier was no issue. Some good bands who sang in English also.

Happy hour at the bar from 6. 30-7. 30 and the lovely staff. The restaurant and take away food was good when you couldn't be bothered to cook. (after 3 weeks this was me!)

Indian forest ropes adventure next door was great and would highly recommend. You get 2euro off for being from the campsite.

Some loud fireworks in the week and you could hear a gentle hum from Luna Park which is open to 2am (a fun fair) but this was not an issue for us.

Lots in the local area to see and do and La Rochelle not too far away and very beautiful - as was Royan and Saintes also.

Would return definitely, kids had a great time and made lots of friends as so many English campers there.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Warbis66 28 reviews from this member

We decided to stay at this site after reading good reviews and also because we were able to book a ready tent through Venue Holidays.

The campsite was a very comfortable 5 hour drive from St Malo. The campsite is well posted and easy to find from Marennes.

The campsite is very well laid out with the pool bar and takeaway in a central location and then avenues around that.

The campsite is in a really good location well situated for some amazing beaches all of which can be accessed by cycle paths. (NB you need to go on a road first from this site before accessing cycle paths)

Our pitch was pleasant however Venue had not maintained the pitches and the ground is just thick sand, so not pleasant in the rain, or spread around the inside of the tent!

There appears to be plenty of animation activities for those who wish, however there is music every night at full volume from 9. 30 until 0000hrs which we found far too loud and intrusive. (bring ear plugs)

The swimming pool is rather lovely, lots of different bits including slides to entertain everybody, but when the sun is out it was very busy. (are you getting the theme here busy!)

Campsite shop is one of the best I have seen, expensive but that is to be expected and the couple who run it are absolutely charming.

THe campsite is very pretty and each pitch is separated by hedgerows. What lets this place down is the loo blocks. THey are very dated, I believe dirty and although they were cleaned regularly they appeared to not notice the brown marks that could be seen on some of the walls. They just need an overhall as they are dark and gloomy and my youngest was never very keen to go there on her own.

Next door to the site is Indian Forest which in my opinion is one of the highlights of staying at this site. It is like GO APE but better and for only 12 euros you can have 2. 5hours of climbing. Well worth a visit.

This area has charmed us and we will definitely return, lush beaches, good weather, lovely forests and excellent cycling, but I wouldn't go back to this campsite. If they make a few changes then it would be fantastic, but they need to sort things out before I would return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LisaHatherell 4 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 2 weeks with our 2 young children aged 5 and 7 years. Overall we absolutely loved this site - the swimming pool was exactly the right level for our girls who are both reasonable swimmers. It has lots of interesting features, jacuzzis, lazy river, two slides which they could both manage on their own and it was spotlessly clean. It was hard to get a sunbed after lunchtime. The guys who supervise the pool are very good at monitoring which sunbeds haven't been used for a while, and removing towels left purely to reserve beds. This seemed a fair system to us.

Another feature our kids loved was the play area. The equipment was first rate and there was very bouncy rubber matting covering the entire area. It is a sizeable play area with enough equipment to keep a wide range of age groups occupied.

There is a lovely bar - it looked pretty recently built to us. We ate in the restaurant a few times as the prices were similar to local restaurants and the service was good. We can manage to order in French, but they provided us with menus in English, and the staff spoke English (although they appreciated our efforts to speak French!) The drinks prices were not at all cheap - 7 Euros for a pint of lager - but they have a Happy Hour each day where certain drinks ( draught beer, carafes of wine, local cognac and lemonade) are half price.

We used the on-site shop most days for bread and croissants, but they had a good range of other things and the prices seemed OK. The couple who run the shop are lovely- really polite and helpful.

Entertainment-wise, we enjoyed the live music and attended the Paella night, which was great. The Karaoke and Discos weren't up our street, but the older kids on site seemed to enjoy it. One comment I would make is that the volume is very loud. We were pitched close to the pool, which was great in the day time, but at night we had to give up on trying to go to bed before midnight as the noise was literally shaking the van! We will be re-booking for next year, but have already noted the numbers of the pitches we like which are further away from the stage! Another thing to note is that we didn't feel we could use the Kids Club (Grizzly Club) as the staff who run it didn't speak any English at all and they weren't keen to let us stay with them. I know we can't go to France and expect everyone to speak English, but when dealing with young kids who haven't had any experience learning a language, maybe it is an area to be improved. Having said that, the site, although predominately French, did have quite a few English and Irish families so our girls soon made friends at the pool.

We found the shower and toilet blocks a bit dated. They were very clean, but the showers are tiny. This was an issue for us at first as we had to try and shower our kids and literally struggled to shut the door if we were standing in the cubicle with them. However, on day 3 my husband discovered the disabled shower cubicle which was bigger, so we used that when dealing with the children.

The pitch we had was fine, it wasn't huge, but we managed to get our van, awning with annex and car on there and still have a decent area for tables and chairs. We were a bit miffed that they wouldn't let us use a Cadac, so had to use the communal BBQ areas. However my husband grew to love this as he enjoyed chatting to everyone else while he cooked. He made some good friends standing around there!

The local area is lovely. We did quite a few bike rides and there is no need to go on a main road as the cycle paths are great. The beaches are excellent. The one at St Palais Sur Mer had nice toilets and was close to cafe bars and shops. The beaches closest to the site are a couple of miles away and offered good body boarding and surfing. We had a day at the Zoo- highly recommended, but found it hard to drag the children out of the pool at the site. We were forced to sunbath and read books instead of doing lots of day trips (it's a hard life!) I would agree with a previous review about the traffic being nightmare-ish at times. It seems to back up from the Zoo at La Palmyre for quite a few miles at times, which was frustrating when we just wanted to pop to the Supermarket quickly. There are routes you can take to avoid this through smaller villages etc. With the aid of a sat nav.

On balance, we are all agreed that we would return to this site without hesitation. We had a brilliant time!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Marky2027 1 review from this member

Positives first. Large and lively site. Absolutely first class pool complex with slides, lazy river, kiddies pool. Nice well stocked shop with friendly staff (although the chap is spitting image of Renee from allo allo!). Excellent addition of kids park (in place of tennis courts) that entertained our two for ages. Happy hour in the bar from 6 or 6.30pm (can't remember which) and most drinks were half price. Good access to la Palmyre zoo which is well worth a visit. Lovely beach at La Palmyre (5 mins by car) with nice beach front cafes. Great outdoor softplay complex there called yoopiland that kids loved. Royan very cosmopolitan resort well worth a visit about 20 mins by car. The site always had evening entertainment which kept the kids happy. (aged 6 and 9). Most of it was in French though!

It does have some negatives though. The pitches (mobile homes) are very close to each other to the point of hearing your neighbours moving around in their van. The bar is quite pricey outside of happy hour and not much choice. Depending on the time of day the traffic could be a nightmare on the roads surrounding the site. Most of the traffic was for the zoo. It could be difficult to get a sun lounger from mid afternoon as the pool gets very busy then.

Overall though we would definitely recommend this site as we have just booked for next year making it our 3rd year in a row. We would say that you would be hard pushed to find a better pool and beach and they are the deciding factors that made us book again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hutchuk 3 reviews from this member

Overall Excellent.

The site is absolutely 'French' - though the reception staff speak superb English - but they are totally gracious towards the few Brits on site. Entertainment totally French but we like it that way - otherwise we would have gone to Bognor!

Pool complex is superb - you will not see your kids ( or the husband.)

Supermarket on site run by a delightful French couple and they have a good range at prices comparable ( sometimes better) to the local Super U.

The weather and local beaches - if you can call 3 miles to the nearest beach local - is generally superb. We got one day of rain in 3 weeks.

Now the downside.

The site is 5 miles outside of the nearest town and 3 miles from the nearest beach so you will need transport - either cycle or car. There is public transport and we were told it's good, but must admit saw very few buses.

The bar prices are crazy. Nearly seven euros for a pint of lager and over two euros for a childs coke. A bottle of wine is fifteen euros and it's the stuff they sell in the shop for under two euros. Food is expensive. I moaned to my wife and all she could say is 'well it's because they have to make a living in only 16 weeks.' The cost of living generally in this area is between 50 and 100% higher than the U.K. Everything is expensive - well apart from the wine!

The pitches are mostly of a generous size but it is a work of art getting a caravan in situ. Don't worry though, because there is plenty of help on hand. From out of nowhere 5 staff turned up to help us manoeuvre our caravan. Our site had it's own shower block, which is extra but well worth the money.

And the pitches are expensive but ask if we would go back, the answer would be a massive 'YES!'

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maddiermb 1 review from this member

I have been to this caravan site for the last nine years. I am fourteen and as soon as I turned up I made new friends. I found it very easy to communicate with all the staff apart from the owner who dosent like speaking English. I have seen the new developments and I feel although the shop is quite dear and its easer to cycle down to one of the other campsite shops I have to admit I love it there.

The atmosphere there is amazing and I love just how friendly the staff are. When I think of all the good things about this campsite one of the main things is the discounts although don't try to get a taxi anywhere because for 10 miles it costs 100 euro

I have been to this site often and yes you would think than I have seen everywhere and done everything but I havent I have barley scratched the surface on the campsite and its many surroundings.

All in all I say this is the best campsite I have every been to and that I will ever go to

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Faulknerf1 8 reviews from this member

This was our second holiday on this site - so yes, we like it!

It is a well equipped site with plenty going on for our 14 year old daughter. Ping pong, tennis, boules, etc and entertainment every night - this can be heard all over the site but stops at 11.30.

Pool complex is great for all ages - flumes, jacuzzi, lazy river, lots of sunbeds.

We used one of the pitches with the individual bathrooms which was great. These pitches are spacious but access to some of them can be difficult. I was not overly impressed when I looked at the communal showers, I thought the cubicles were the smallest I have ever seen.

Right next door to the site is 'The Indian forrest' which is a tree top adventure park and you get a discount. My daughter said it is the biggest and best one she has ever been on, it cost her 14 Euros and she was there 2 hours.

We biked it everywhere - 20 mins beach, 20 mins La Palmyre, 30 mins zoo. Luna Park fun fair 10 min walk.

On-site shop well equipped but very pricey - Champion supermarket(and fuel) 10 mins drive in Arvert.

Sometimes the area can be busy with traffic, especially on market day or when there was horse racing on.

A great site (if you don't mind it being busy)but you do pay for it! We were sorry to leave.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Minicamper2001 3 reviews from this member

A return trip for us, using Camping Cheques in low season. We like this site, the welcome is always good, they are helpful in reception,and good English spoken. Open from 9-12 and 2-7. They have a good range of tourist info leaflets, and 'what's on' type publicity too.

The wi-fi cost 2€ per 30 mins, or 4€per hour. There is also an internet booth if you don't take your own laptop, but it was quite a bit more

Whilst we were there, there was no entertainment organised, but a stage was being set up outside the bar/restaurant next to the pool.

They run a happy hour from 6.30-7.30 with most drinks half price, rather than the usual 2 for 1 promotions elsewhere, and this seemed quite popular.

The pool complex was welcome as we had some lovely sunny days, sunbeds were free, and sun around the pool til early evening. It closed at 8. There was a laid back attitude to the rules, we saw kids in bermudas and also t-shirts swimming, and the attendant was turning a blind eye.

The sanitary facs were well maintained, clean and plentiful. We found the water in one block consistently much hotter than the other however, so I advise checking with the 'locals' if you are choosing a pitch, and don't want a bit of a walk for a hotter shower or shave.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pau406 6 reviews from this member

Loree Du Bois is an impressive campsite with a recently extended pool & slide complex. The communal shower blocks were always clean and there were sufficient so that we never queued for a toilet, shower or washing up spot. The only possible criticism would be that those of a larger size - think of people you wouldn't want to sit next to on a plane - might struggle with the shower door arrangements. I echo the comments about the shop & on-site restaurant, both are above average.
 
Pitch 41 floods. We were on it & after 14 hours of continual rain we were 3" deep in water. However with the help of a few strategically sited holes it dried within 4 hours. The rest of the site seemed fine we were just unlucky with the weather. That's camping.
 
A pair of families we got talking to were unhappy that the adjacent pitches they had booked weren't as adjacent as they wanted - and I could see their point.
 
The Indian Forest adventure park has already been mentioned & our kids loved it. The nearby Cote Savage lived up to it's name & we've two new surfers to show for it. La Palmyre is a lovely little town with a good market & plenty of spots for eating & drinking. The cycle paths that Cris-cross the area are first class & there are plenty of forest paths you can also use.
 
In short we're certain to return to the area soon & would seriously consider rebooking this site. It is easily reachable in a day from Le Havre following an overnight crossing with LD Lines.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Les Mathes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4551 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019