Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Vaenol Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn > Vaenol Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Vaenol Farm Caravan Park
Aberdovey Road
Tywyn
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL36 9HS
Tel: 01654 710232
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Parahandy 14 reviews from this member

 Saw the site by chance on previous visit to area, Its isn't obvious they take tents but thankfully they do so thought I would give it a try. Easy access off main road, level pitches some with electric hookup. The Toilet/Shower block is dated but Clean/ adequate & there seems to be another one in the process of being built.

The sites lit and there's some wi fi coverage.

If you want shops there's a large Coop down the road( closed Sundays. A few takeaways in Twynn, The Victorian Slipway Pub's 10mins drive away nice on a summers day near beach.

Overall thought site offered excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemski79 1 review from this member

 We have stayed on this site before but in one of the static caravans but have never camped on the site before. When we arrived there was plenty of room and had pick of a pitch so set up our tent and brother in laws campervan and awning. We also had an events tent with us which made a massive difference as there was going to be a few of us camping.

The next day we had some friends arrive with their tent and as the camp site is so big there was plenty of rom next to our tent.

The field was great for the kids to play football, frisby, rounders and cricket which was great. Dogs are allowed on at no additional fee but are requested to be kept on a lead and all mess picked up. We did however let our dog off the lead but kept an eye on her all the time and made sure that all mess was picked up.

The toilet and wash room were adequate although I would say that they weren't as clean as they could be but to be fair the amount of people using them they cant be spotless all the time. I would say though that one must is a pair of Flip-flops for in the shower. Showers had hot water so were fine. There were two showers in the ladies so sometimes there was a bit of a wait for a cubicle.

This campsite is about a 15-18 minute walk to the town and the co-op is about 10 minutes walk but we just popped in the car. There is a small shop on site but this is only open between certain hours a day. There is also a laundrette to wash and dry your washing if need be with plug sockets if you need to charge your phone or use power but there is a cost for this.

Overall this site is well kept, local to amenities, not far from the beach (15 min walk)and large enough for the kids to have fun and run around. We will definitely be coming here again to stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stocky13 24 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the bank holiday, This site is basic but flat and clean and tidy. The owner is very trusting not rushing to get her site fees off us. It has a small shop, WiFi which you have to pay for 2 per day bit slow though.

The one down side to the site was one or two of the permanent touring caravan owners dog was left tied up barking most of an afternoon grrrr

Tywyn Town is small but has enough shops for food.

It has two pubs a Bistro that was buzzing we did not use it though.

A Balti take away/restaurant which was ok.

Also has an Indian restaurant Chinese and a cinema.

The beach is nice enough the train station in walking distance cheaper to catch train into Barmouth than drive.

Over all we had a good holiday and we would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Wallydaw 3 reviews from this member

 The site is level, with 3 fields, one with electric hookups and is kept clean and tidy. However, the toilet and showering facilities are rather tired - I have been in better public toilets - and definitely inadequate when the site is full, there being only one block for the entire site. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful and the camping fees reasonable.

The site is not far from the Cambrian Coast railway line and we soon found out that the first train goes by at 5:30 a. M. It woke us up and must have been very annoying for visitors using the static caravans next to the line!

A plus is that the site is only a 10 minute walk from the Talyllyn Railway but a minus is that walking to the beach involves negotiating a housing estate. Tywyn itself has a faded charm but seems to be making an effort - good local fish and game, real baker. The beach south of Tywyn is lovely - miles of sand backed by dunes. The seafront itself is pretty dire, backed by interminable static caravan sites.

In all, not that bad but not a site to return to, I am afraid. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rperrin77 1 review from this member

 This site is amazing. Such a lovely area. Facilities are clean. On site laundry is a great asset.

Perfect location for getting out and about in the region

Close enough to town and beach.

Cannot fault this site. Excellent value for money. You pay per person per night, not per tent.

Owner is very polite and customer focused.

First visited in 2004, then back again in 2013. Was so glad to see that nothing had changed and the site was still as lovely as I remembered.

Took my son on his first camping break here, and he adored it! Looking forward to many more summer breaks here!

Will shall certainly be visiting again :-) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma39 2 reviews from this member

 We camped here at the last minute due to our tent not withstanding the strong sea winds further up the coast. We were not disappointed. The site is perfectly level and the tent field is sheltered by a hedge. The shop had closed for the end of season but there was a phone number to ring for bookings and enquiries and the owner was friendly and helpful.

The showers and toilets were clean and there was loads of space for kids to play or ride their scooters round. I think it was very good value at 15 for the night for 2 adults, a child and a dog.

The site is in walking distance of the co-op and local shops and is also near the Talyllyn railway which is a fab day out and does a lovely, big, veggie cooked breakfast (as well as plenty of meaty alternatives!)The weather was a bit bracing for a visit to the beach but we will go back and use this campsite again 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crazychris 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a week on the site with our tourer. We were welcomed warmly and shown to our pitch which had a wonderful panoramic view.

It is such a shame that the facilities for waste disposal and toilet and showers were what seemed a long walk from the pitch as the weather was very very wet. The cost was very reasonable and when additional guests arrived to spend the night in our awning there was no additional cost. The location was very good and for Wales I feel it was value for money. Very peaceful and relaxing visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maccas4 1 review from this member

 This was our 3rd visit to the site this year. We went for 10 days at Easter, Royal wedding weekend and have just returned from another week. Each time the site has been brilliant. Situated just outside Tywyn you are within walking distance to the beach the Co-op and Spar for supplies. A 5 minute drive will take you into the lovely Aberdovey.

On site the toilets are clean and basic, I have not experienced the showers (use caravan) but I have it on good authority from the other half that they are good. Hot water at all times, not 5* but clean and functional.

There is plenty of space for the kids to run around - lots of fun had with cricket, football and kite flying. However, there is no dedicated playground but lots of open space.

The price was very reasonable at 16 per night which included awning, electric and water. There is a shop on site but only open at certain times, the owner is always available either by phone or visiting the site and is very approachable and pleasant. I would recommend this site to anyone wanting to visit this lovely area. We're definitely booking again for next Easter. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SimonRV 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from our second visit to Veanol.

Have found Shaan (landlady) to be polite and efficient at all times, site is well maintained, and she always does her best to accommodate everyone.

Facilities are good, mens showers could do with a thorough deep clean, but overall standards are well above average.

My other half used the laundry facilities to dry our towels etc, and found them good value at 1 per 15 mins, they are big machines, much bigger than at home, so well worth the money (so I'm told)

Just one thing. Beware of upsetting the lady who earns her keep by overseeing the site when Shaan isn't there. A lovely lady who takes her part time job far far too seriously! Those who have visited will no doubt agree!

Overall a great and clean site, and we would recommend (and have) to friends.

Value is Fabulous @ 16 per night inc electric hookup. And our motorhome is 30 feet long.

Look forward to visiting again 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tink09 1 review from this member

 Vaenol Farm I've been going there for 3 years now, the reasons I return is it's perfect placement between beach and shops such as the co-op. The facilities are nice toilets and showers, disabled bathroom. The tent field has loads of space for ball games and children to play.

There's a shop on site with handy opening hours morning and evening, it is expensive but if you need something its handy when the co-op has closed at 4pm Sunday.

There's also a laundrette with plugs for hairdryers and mirrors also in the communal washing up area which is set out well and next to the toilets.

The warden's very friendly there are a few rules such as keeping the noise down after 10pm which is acceptable. The site's very friendly.

We paid 6. 00 a person a night, which I found good as there was a group of 7 of us all ranging from 16 to 23 yrs old. We had four tents between us, so really we all could of had a tent each if we wanted as you pay by person not tents. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Vaenol Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Vaenol Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Vaenol Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tywyn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3652 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement