Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Old Hartley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay > Old Hartley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Old Hartley Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Old Hartley
Whitley Bay
Tyne and Wear   (Browse area)
NE26 4RL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 59
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

This site has the most fabulous views - every pitch looks out over the sea towards St. Marys Island. Pitches are all hardstanding with ehu, the pitches at the bottom have the least slope but still need levellers.

Facilities block typical C&MC high standards, problems with plumbing meant limited hot water and signs up asking to limit use. The motorhome service point is on a slope and has a heavy man-hole cover - not ideal for disposing grey water easily.

We noticed that after 5pm, when office shut, notice on door to say site only accpets pre-booked units. From that would seem they don't accept arrivals after 5pm that arent booked (although gate is opn until 10pm). There isnt a late night arrival area.

Lovely walked from the site, good paths down to St. Mary's Island and onto Whitley Bay. No actual dog walk but the cliff path runs by the site so perfect for dog walking.

This is a lovely site, if club invested in levelling pitches and the moho service point was improved would be even better.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 17 reviews from this member

Just spent another three night stay at this fabulous site. The Wardens are really friendly and helpful and the site has probably the best views of any site. It was very very windy when we stayed but we thoroughly enjoyed the stay as the site offers plenty of cliff top walks, beaches and a good walk over to the Lighthouse. Our dog enjoyed the beach! The facilities are exactly as you would expect from a CAMC site - the only thing is TV reception is not good and it would be a finishing touch to provide TV aerial points on the electric bollards which the CC has on many other sites. Highly recommend this site - we have stayed several times before and will do so again.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From A1 and A19 follow signs Whitley Bay. At seafront take road toward Blyth. At the Hartley roundabout take third exit to site.

This site is situated on the low cliffs just north of Whitley Bay with magnificent views out over to St Mary’s Lighthouse. This is a very popular member’s only site which is open from early March to early November. There is quite a pronounced slope from reception down to the furthest pitches. In total there are 59 pitches all with hardstandings. However if you are used to other CMC sites the area of hardstanding is small and they have to be approached over grass. Larger caravans and motorhomes will overhang the hardstanding area. Some form of levelling will be required on almost all pitches. Awnings are not allowed on this site. On the plus side every pitch is capable of sea view. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and they are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. Despite TV only being rated as fair there are no co-ax TV connectors on the electric bollards. We also found it difficult to get our satellite to lock on to a signal which I suspect was due the tall radio masts next to the site. This problem might be dependent on where you are pitched. The single toilet block is situated at the top of the site near to the entrance. It is clean and serviceable without being luxurious. Given the popularity of the site there will be times of day when it is under pressure. Included in the building is a separate disabled toilet, a small enclosed washing up area and a small laundry room. In front of the toilet block is the only fresh water supply and grey water disposal so a long way from many of the pitches especially as waste water has to be lugged up a steep hill! To the side of the toilet block is the motorhome waste point which is a bit difficult to get into and also requires heavy drain covers to be lifted. There are no facilities on site for children. There is site wide WiFi which I found to have a reasonably consistent signal but obviously restricted a bit in bandwidth. The 4G signal in the area also seems quite good. Reception sells a few essentials including gas.

This site has excellent public transport connections with a bus at fifteen minute intervals between Blyth and Newcastle. You can alight in Whitley Bay and join the Metro system. Within a short walk of the site is St Mary’s Lighthouse which can be visited via a causeway at certain states of tide. You can also climb to the top for a same fee and 137 steps! There are good cycle routes from the site all along the coast. The beautifully restored “Spanish City” at Whitley Bay is now open and is worth a visit even if only to have a coffee. For basic food shopping there is a small Sainsburys, and an Iceland in Whitley Bay next to the bus stop back to the site. For those with transport there is a larger Sainsburys not far from the site. There are several places to eat locally the nearest being the Delaval Arms although I have personal experience.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

Arrived at 11. 50 and the office was shut but a lovely welcome when the warden opened up at 12, picked plot 12 which overlooked the sea and lighthouse. The facilities were as you'd expect very good and very clean. Our pitch was reasonably flat but quite a bit of the site is sloping so would need chocks. Had a walk along the coastal path into the nearby Seaton Sluice which has a couple of supermarkets, three or four pubs. We called in the closest one to the site which was dog friendly called the Delaval Arms and received a warm welcome. Monday we walked along the coast into Whitley Bay which took about 30-40 minutes, a very pleasant walk. Whitley Bay wasn't as big as I thought it would be but nice enough to spend a few hours and quite a selection of cafe's and Pubs. The day after, which was cold, we had a small walk and visit up St Marys Lighthouse and a visit to the Pub. Will revisit in the future, the view is probably the best we ever had, certainly coastal

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LozzaS5 19 reviews from this member

Great well run and pleasing CAMC site with wonderful views and cliff top walks. All pitches require

Levelers but many have a great view as a result of the slope towards the sea.

No Awnings but a good thing to ensure views for most and could get windy.

Facilities as expected for CC site. Well run without being officious. Helpful wardens. Sometimes tricky to find takeaway and eat in places at certain times or days so some planning required. We chose this site as wanted to be close to Kingston Park for Newcastle Rugby but also enjoyed great bike ride to Whitby and beyond-busy in parts but great fun.

Will return

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

This is a nice site, overlooking the sea and in easy reach of Whitley Bay.

Excellent facilities and friendly staff.

We had to leave early due to electrical issues, but not the fault of the site.

Lovely site.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahbeen 8 reviews from this member

A stunning location with great views of the St Marys' lighthouse. Nearly all the pitches afford views of the North Sea. Great sea air and very breezy, wonderful to blow out the cobwebs. We used the bus service which was efficient - we even went into Newcastle taking just under one hour.

The site is averaged sized for a Caravan Club Site with around 60 pitches. Motorhome drop point too. No play area which is a bonus for us.

Good dog walking but watch the cliff edges. We shall return!

Managed some great photos of the area - good light!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site overlooking the coast and St Mary's Lighthouse.

Site staff are really helpful and they keep the site immaculate.

You have to cross grass (on a sloping site) to get to hard standing pitches. We had trouble getting off after heavy rain.

Overall, excellent site!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

This must be one of the best located Caravan Club sites in the UK. Situated overlooking the North sea and St Mary's Lighthouse, it's a lovely spot. The site overall is quite sloping but the majority of hardstandings are 'fairly' level, the toilet & shower facilities are immaculate and the wardens were very friendly. There is a footpath / cycleway running alongside the site which gives easy access to Whitley Bay, Seaton Sluice & Blyth and when the tides out you can access St Mary's Island and watch all of the seals basking on the rocks. There is also a 'strange kind of pub' situated at the site entrance (i'll let you be the judge on that one !) all in all great place and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireWillby 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this so we could visit friends. What a lovely site with stunning views and well located. The facilities are clean and well kept. Although this was our first visit I am sure there will be many more.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Tyne and Wear

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019