Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burnside Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Site Reviews

Burnside Caravan Park
Keith Road
Fochabers
Moray   (Browse area)
IV32 7ET
Tel: 01343 820511
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 36
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 173 reviews from this member

Used the site as a stopover.

Good points - only 22 for a fully serviced pitch; free wifi; dog enjoyed her walks in the forestry accessed up 'the old road' above the site; children & teenagers can safely (& loudly) play until their parents shout across the site for them to come back at 11:00 at night when darkness falls.

Bad points - if you prefer a quiet site, it's not for you; litter - I filled a bag with plastic bottles & sweetie wrappers from around our pitch, no recycling at all; the showers were truly awful - ladies one barely a trickle that struggled to rinse off shampoo, men's shower had a broken temperature control & broken seat; the pool was shut when Reception was shut but the smell of chlorine filled the Ladies; pitches are crammed together like sardines, in touching distance; the surrounding trees attract midges that were brutal.

I don't want to come back, but it will suit families.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lolabell 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights. All pitches are fully serviced and the charge is 29 per night. The caravans are packed in like sardines. The wardens were not at all helpful. The launderette had two washing machines but tumble dryer was out of order. The shower block had a wet carpet on the floor, only three showers for the whole site, and of the 4 toilets one was out of order and only one of the remaining 3 had toilet paper. A real shame, this could be a really nice park with some much needed T. L. C.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scooter N 1 review from this member

Burnside is in a lovely setting close to Fochabers yet surrounded by woodland and a small stream. Fochabers has a great museum, garden centre, award winning chip shop, cafes and restaurants. The site mainly caters for static caravans but we found the regular visitors and staff very friendly. There were just 2 tents when we visited, ours and one other.

Reception was closed on arrival (Friday afternoon) but the manager was available by phone.

Facilities were adequate but a little down-at-heel looking, particularly the pool and changing area. Our overall impression was that too little money was being spent on maintenance. The shop is minimal but most things you would want can be found in the village.

We were very disappointed that the games room was locked for the duration of our 2-day stay.

There is a calendar of events for Saturday nights. On the Saturday of our stay, a resident of the static vans had booked the function room and a band to celebrate their anniversary. The music (loud and not very good) went on until midnight and kept us awake. We have a young daughter and didn't think this was appropriate for a site that looks at first glance to be family-friendly. The tent area is behind the function room.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ollythefrog 5 reviews from this member

A busy but very friendly site close to the small town of Fochabers which has all you need for shopping etc;

We stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. On the first night we were invited to a wedding anniversary function in the site bar. Everyone on site was invited as the hosts thought the noise may have been too much but by midnight everything was quiet.

Excellent for kids this site has a small pool for the youngsters.

The second day was spent at the local Highland games which is well worth a look.

I would stay again without a worry.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Studornoch 3 reviews from this member

This is a busy very family friendly site. Access to this site is very good. It is right next to, what used to be the main road. Fortunately fochabers now has a by pass which runs near the site so its easy to get to but now far enough away that traffic noise is now at a minimum. Very easy to find.

On arrival the reception was clearly sign posted and easy to spot. However it was not very obvious where I should stop and park to go and see the warden without blocking the place. Perhaps a sign on arrival would help. So I parked up and the owners were very pleasant and helpful. They showed me to my pitch.

My pitch was gravel and grass. It was reasonably level. It had power, water, and a tv point. Pitches are not very large and quite close together. Reversing my van in would have been very difficult as all surrounding pitches were full. But I do have a large van and I didn't have to reverse because nearby campers were very keen to help us push our van into place. Great tv signal from the tv point.

The childs play area was very well equipped. Lots for kids to do and play with. Good quality play equipment in good condition.

Toilets are clean and well kept. Showers had a good flow and temperature control.

Swimming pool on site was very warm and clean. It is not a deep pool and very popular with the many children on site so anyone looking for serious swimming may be disappointed. Sauna and jacuzzi were great. I did feel it was a bit much having to pay for the pool after paying 25 a night for a pitch with an awning.

Fochabers is a very pleasant small town which is now a lot quieter now the bypass has been constructed. There are good places to eat. A good chippy and a good ice cream shop. The area has lots of nice woodland area with plenty of well established footpaths.

The downside for us on this site is that they offer no baby changing facilities. We found showering our 18 month old girl very difficult. Even in the disabled shower room which has ample space, there is nowhere to lay down baby after showering her. A simple wall mounted changing station would have made a huge difference for us.

To sum up this campsite I would say it is a great family caravan park. Although the price is at the high side I think the facilities available make it good value

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Raidarray 2 reviews from this member

Arriving after the kids had returned to school, this has turned out to be a delightful relaxing place to stay. The pitches are large, if a little close together. Pitch posts have water, EHU, drainage and TV as a bonus. Shower & Toilet facilities are spotless but probably due a refurb - the same goes for the swimming pool, jacuzzi & sauna. Fochabers is a lovely place which is ideal for exploring this beautiful part of the country - lots of dog walks to boot!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flashtons 3 reviews from this member

Will not go back to this site, the site was messy covered in litter, lots of dog mess left by site users on well used path that cuts through the tents area and a definite noise hazard until gone 11pm every night of our stay, little or no enforcement of any kind of rules. You are packed in like sardines with no defined pitch space for tents or any rules regarding space between pitches Location is good facilities reasonable,

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angie1993 2 reviews from this member

We had a lovely 2 night stay at burnside our 2 kids enjoyed the play park and paddling in the little stream which was on the edge of the tent site. The toilet block was nice and clean and swimming pool fine n warm. There is a little ice cream shop in Fochabers with a great selection of flavours for cones. You can take a short walk to another play park in the town. We would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kld22162 11 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long weekend at Burnside. We have a 6 man tent although only 2 of us went. We hooked up to the electric point right next to the tent.

The camping area is to the side and round the back of the reception building. There was some beautiful spots around the back of reception with a stream running past. Unfortunately our large tent was too big to pitch round the back of reception, so we chose an area to the right of reception.

Despite the torrential rain the whole weekend our pitch must have had the best drainage ever! We were still dry come Monday morning!

The site itself is beautiful! Very picturesque! Lovely walks along the river/stream that runs through the site. The wardens were most helpful and nothing other than pleasant - very homely!

Now to the showers/toilets. Immaculate, the ladies toilets were pristine to say the least! Ample toilet cubicles, 2 separate showers (mira showers and a separate wet room with it's own toilet and vanity sink! This is the first time I have ever camped and the toilets had gas central heating in them! Sheer luxury!

The dishwashing facilities on site for campers was always clean and the 2 extra large sinks was ample for the campsite.

The shop on site was very minimal but to be fair the shops in Fochabers were within walking distance. We walked into town on Saturday night through the well lit pathway through the woods leading from the campsite.

Only one thing I would say was that there was a fair bit of traffic noise from the main road which runs along the top of the site. Although on saying that, earplugs dulled out most of the noise.

There is also a log cabin in amongst the camping pitches which was lit up at night with portable BBQ's for campers to use - very quaint - even though the BBQ's were all one-legged! But it was October when we went so I'd say the BBQ's had survived a long busy summer!

We didn't venture into the swimming pool but did have a look. Very pleasantly surprised at how big it was! As per the rest of the site, it was clean, as was the sauna room and jacuzzi!

We are definitely intending going back to this site - can't fault it! Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johari 9 reviews from this member

We camped at Burnside for three nights over the May weekend 2011. The tent area is located down behind the reception block, within the trees by the stream. Not a large area, but several large tents as well as smaller tents managed to squeeze in without it feeling cramped.

One downside was the back of the reception block, which had a lot of building materials stored there which was unsightly. We didn't use it, but there was plenty electric hookup points around.

There is a stream beside the camping area, which was very low at the time, and safe enough for the kids to paddle. However, I would be more concerned if it was higher. There is also a dammed section further up, which has a deep pool.

The toilet/shower block is kept very clean, but get there early as the hot water runs out mid morning. This also affected washing up too.

The kids enjoyed the play area, which had a new climbing frame, and we felt we could leave them to play there without worrying too much. The pool was a small rectangular pool inside what looked like a large greenhouse, but did the turn. It's only open for a couple of hours in the morning and afternoon, and the wardens were very strict about getting people out on time. In fact, a friend reported that the warden wedged the changing room door open in order to hurry people out. There is also a charge, 1 per adult, and (I think) 50p per child.

The wardens themselves were friendly enough, but through the day, it was not obvious where they were if the reception was closed. The site itself was quite noisy through the day, but this didn't really bother us as our kids were making noise too. It was quiet at night, and we slept OK. There is noise from the A96, but you hear this less in the tent area, it is worse if you're pitched up near the road.

Fochabers itself is a lovely town only a 10 min walk through the woods, and yes the ice cream is great. We also had a great day out at Spey Bay, and Baxters is worth a visit.

Pros

- child friendly site
- clean, well looked after facilities
- for families
- a good base to explore the local area

Cons

- get in the shower early as the water runs out
- charge to use the pool
- charge for wi-fi (5 per day) we didn't use it
- not for you if your expecting a quiet site

All in all, combined with good company and weather, we really enjoyed our stay at Burnside and would go back.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Moray   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3251 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019