Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Le Jardin De Sully

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > St Pere Sur Loire > Camping Le Jardin De Sully Reviews

Camping Le Jardin De Sully
1 Rue D Orleans
Sully
St Pere Sur Loire
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
45600
Tel: +33 02 38 67 10 84
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 66 reviews from this member

Access to this site is straightforward along decent D roads, with room for units to pull in off the road for checking in. Entry is through a barrier beyond reception, with ANPR for exit and entry (first time we’d come across this in France).

It is a medium sized site, with a snack-bar, small playground, adult and children’s pools (closed in April), a crazy golf and lots of grassy space for ball games etc. There are some wooded areas and trees but the site has an open feel with lots of space. It was very quiet day and night during our stay.

There are some statics, permanently sited vans and a variety of rental accommodation but these are all in different little areas around the site, so do not affect the touring pitches.

We received a friendly welcome on arrival from the helpful lady owner, were quickly checked in and given a free choice of pitch (in small groups as described below), all large, each with a water tap and 10 amp electricity supply. The pitches were gravel hard standing, with some trees and patches of short grass growing on the less used parts of the pitch - not the most visually attractive but practical for a site open all year round and fine for sitting out (they were much better than I’ve made them sound!). We chose a pitch overlooking the Loire, close to the new toilet block.

New secure boundary fencing is almost completed and there is access through a gate to the path running alongside the Loire (perfect for us for dog-walking, leading in one direction to a wooded area with a trim trail, and in the other to the village and the bridge across to the town and the chateau). The toilet block is open sided but covered, with unisex facilities, but there is a fully enclosed (and therefore much warmer) section with a smaller number of showers and toilets which we used at this time of year. The showers were generally nice and hot, but could be a little unpredictable!

Bread can be ordered for the following day and you get 2 hours free wi-fi per device per day.

The situation of the site is excellent, right by the Loire, and an easy walk (or cycle) to the large SuperU in one direction and in the other to the pleasant small town of Sully and its chateau.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes

We stayed here overnight so we could visit the town. The site was easy enough to find from the ACSI book instructions. We were checked in quickly, given a map of the site, and invited to choose our own pitch. The site is flat, and the pitches are grassy and well kept when we were there. They are mainly in clusters of 4 or 6 on a circular roadway. Then there is a woodland area which was being used by tents, also a selection of pods, tree houses, and mobile homes.

The sanitary block was nearby, there was a sign up to say it will be renewed at the end of this year. In the meantime, there is an old fashioned block of limited facilities, plus a portable cabin with a few more. And at the back is another lot of showers plus washing up undercover.

The site seems to offer quite a lot in the way of leisure activities, plus bar and snack bar.

There are gates onto the riverside, and a pathway along to the town, about 10 mins by bike. Town has the lovely chateau, and is well worth a visit.

We would be happy to use this site again, once the new sanitary block is built.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 22 reviews from this member

Won't add very much more to previous reviews - great location and super-friendly staff.

We cycled along the Loire and visited the chateau - all very easy to do from the site.

I suspect the central facilities (clean but dated) will be under pressure during the busy season but I was the only person using the showers when we visited in September. The block near reception have more facilities but it's a bit of a trek for Campingcar owners.

We also suffered poor weather which didn't help but we will return as the site serves our (out of season) purposes.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Caropal 1 review from this member

We are delighted with this site and stayed twice as long as e intended. The surrounding area is so beautiful. The town of sully with the chateaux is a good walk away 15 minutes at least. There is a lovely Chinese/Thai restaurant not gas from the bridge as well as pizza places. The chateaux is well worth visiting. There is a bar on site and a nice play pool for kiddies as well as an inflatable pool for others along with sun loungers. You can order bread from the site and they were really helpful and pleasant. Plots weren't huge but big enough for our 7. 1mt motorhome plus sun canopy. Ours had a lovely view of the Loire. There are washing machines and a drier using tokens from reception. Taps at each emplacement and electricity. Play area, fishing, crazy golf, table tennis. Cycling very popular from the site and they lend bikes out from the site. Good site for dog walking too. Toilet facilities clean although look dated. We would definitely come back here.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

Travelled 3 weeks in The Loire region, this was our least favourite site. We ended staying just one night on acsi. I'm not sure why we disliked it so much but being 40 degrees heat wave may have contributed. Check in was fine very helpful, chose our own pitch. It's very dusty, gravelly rather than any grass at all. The showers were very basic, wifi wouldn't work, the pool is some kind of inflatable type structure and due to the heat was full of people and kids had some polystyrene rides that were provided in the pool making it far to small for the amount of people. Cycled to the town. Saw the chateau. Had a pizza which was on the roundabout as you entered the town with what seems liked 100 lorries driving past you, I felt like I was sitting on the motorway. Just didn't get any appeal at all from visiting here.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TotnesTravellers 24 reviews from this member

This site is well situated on the banks of the Loire. There is a supermarket 10 mins walk away and the town of Sully with reasonable facilities is about the same distance. There are pleasant walks along the Loire from the site too. The château there is interesting. The welcome and service here was very good. The facilities are a little dated but were clean and adequate. We would certainly use it as an overnight stop again and would be happy to spend a few nights there.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DonalS 3 reviews from this member

This campsite is our favourite in France and we visit whenever we cross over. We use our own facilities in the van so we have not used the on site facilities. The pitches are level and is hard ground, mainly grass. The situation of the site is great, being in walking distance of Sully town, with shopping, restaurants and anything you want on market day. There is also the chateau to visit. Walks along the Loire river are excellent with a profusion of wildlife and birds. The owners are very friendly and helpful and maintain the site to a high standard. We understand that they are intending to build a new toilet and shower block once all the paperwork is completed.

We will be visiting again this Easter. Overall an excellent site that is open all year and can be either a stopover or a longer stay, we have used it for both.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeanff 10 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights - 15 Euros plus 2E electric a night - a superb location - and well set up with power points and water taps between every two pitches and close enough to top up with water easily. Pitches are grass but fairly level. Only one shower block open near the office - but it is not too far to go. Showers are fairly basic and the light can go off as it is on a timer - but they are OK. There was a toilet and washing up point nearer to where we parked - which was on the back edge of the site with a view of the Loire river! We walked from the site along the river into town - across the bridge - with great views of the chateau. Town is quite small but nice to browse around and there is a 8 to 8 shop for provisions although there are large supermarkets on the outskirts on each of the main roads.

We did explore the nearby nature reserve - but didn't see the beavers! It was very dry everywhere so they may have given up and gone away on holiday! There is a lot of bird and general wildlife in the reserve and also along the Loire banks itself. It is a relatively quiet and undisturbed part of the river. The cycle path along the Loire is superb - you can take a route past the nature reserve or just join the path outside the camping site which follows the D60 road for a while before picking up the river side route. It was a great ride down to the next town St Benoit to see the Basilica.

On site there are plenty of facilities food and play areas for kids in the high season - but it is nice to be there when it is quieter - and adults only!. You can still use the tennis court which we did as we had our own raquets and balls - and presumably the crazy golf.

Overall - we were sorry to leave - as the weather was getting better - and it would have been nice to stay another night.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Portybelle 3 reviews from this member

A very well situated site literally by the River Loire with fantastic views over to the town at Sully. You can walk along the riverside paths and over to Sully in about 15 mins. There are plenty shops and restaurants there and the fairytale looking chateau is well worth a visit. We saw beavers in the river which was a delight! Ideally situated for exploring the chateaux of the Loire as well as the many towns. Orleans was a lively place with plenty shops. There is a bar/restaurant on site but we didn't use it. Plenty supermarkets nearby.

However, on the negative side, the sanitory block left a lot to be desired. Only two toilets which is not enough and the looroll holder as empty our entire three night stay. One hot shower inside (ladies) which was fine but the outside cubicle showers had no hot water supply when we were there and neither did the dishwashing sinks - we had to get hot water from the inside sinks. If these facilities were upgraded it would be a great site.

There are two 'swimming pools' but they were more the sunken paddling pool type and it was too chilly when we were there to investigate. There is an 18 hole crazy golf on site which, although it's seen better days, was good fun and was free!

Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chugalug 3 reviews from this member

We used this campsite as an overnight stop on our way to Spain. Toilet and shower was adequate but basic. We didn't use the shower as it was open to elements and it was -10c! There was no shop or bar open on site in January. Campsite nicely situated along the Loire with a pleasant walk along the river and across the bridge into the town.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near St Pere Sur Loire      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4263 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019