Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Garlieston
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 8BS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 63
Open: 04/07/2020 to 05/11/2020
           16/03/2021 to 05/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 56 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site, having spent 6 nights at the nearby New England Bay site.

We got a friendly warm welcome and were allocated a hardstanding pitch with nice views over the bay. The pitches are minimum distance apart so pitching has to be precise. Pitches seem all nice and level. We had a bit of rain first 2 days and pools did form on the site.

The toilet block was controlled by a wrist band left at the door with only 1 in the block at a time, so we used our own toilet and only used the block for showers and usually without queuing. The toilet block is old style but clean and functional. There is only 1 very small basic shop at the garage in the village (not licenced)

There is a pub/restaurant, which looked nice but we didn't use it. We have a dog so great coastal path walks north and south and great walking in the, right behind the site, Galloway Estates.

A bus service does run from here to Wigtown and Newton Stewart Best to bring everything you need if coming here.

Lovely area and we would come back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fairliered 6 reviews from this member

 This was our fourth visit in two years to Garlieston, our favourite site. We love to pitch beside the harbour wall and watch the tide go in and out. Ann and Martin, the wardens, keep the site immaculate, with amazing floral displays, and are always willing to provide information about the area.

This is a beautiful, unspoiled area of Scotland, missed by campers who carry on up the M74 instead of turning left at Gretna. Garlieston village has a great, dog friendly pub, the Harbour Inn, with good value food and friendly locals.

The bus stop outside the site has regular buses to Newton Stewart, Wigtown, Whithorn and Isle of Whithorn. Our favourites are Wigtown, Scotlandís book town, with a great variety of bookshops and cafes, and Isle of Whithorn, which has an award winning pub with itís own brewery (Five Kingdoms).

There are loads of good walks from the site, which, along with the sandy beach, makes this a great site for dogs (and their staff).

We are already looking forward to going back again next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 This is actually two sites, one the "walled garden" is just over the road from reception and has its own facilities block, the pitches on here are allowed awnings.

The other site is by reception and over-looks the harbour. Mostly non awning pitches, but those at the back can have awnings. Its a little confusing when you book as they advise booking a non awning if you want this site - but when you arrive there are awnings.

Pitches here are a mixture of grass and gravel. They are smaller than normal, its fine if you are pitched next to another campervan / motorhome but if you have a car and caravan next to you it does mean you are sitting out next to the car.

The pitches furthest from reception back onto flats - the balconies overlook the site and the end 4 pitches are almost within touching distance.

There were only 2 showers in the ladies, and this did lead to queues in the mornings - evenings were fine. The laundry has a washing machine and tumble dryer and hot water to the hand wash sink. Everything was very clean and tidy as you expect from C&MC.

Reception doesn't sell any foods / basics such as milk / bread. They have a sign up saying its to support the local village shop. Shop is open 10-14 most days and about a 15 minute walk from site.

Views over the bay are beautiful, the small harbour leads to a great coastal walk of up to 7 miles. Also worth the walk is Galloway House gardens, you cant go in the house but the gardens are being restored by volunteers and worth an hour (walled gardens at Galloway House are advertised but they arent open to the public).

The village also has one pub that has a great reputation for food, no other shops, cafes etc. On a nice evening its a beautiful walk along the promenade to the beach at the far end of the bay.

This site is about the views, if you are lucky you get a fabulous view, if not then it could feel a bit squashed unless you go to the 'walled garden' side. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jtennyson 1 review from this member

 Just spent a very enjoyable 4 days in Garlieston. The site was extremely well run by a lovely couple who were very welcoming. Immaculate toilet/shower facilities. Site ticked all the boxes for us - nice sea view with nearby coastal walks and bike routes - more importantly a cracking wee pub/ restaurant on the edge of the site with friendly locals. Weíve booked to return in a fortnight - loved everything about it. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: VenessaR 8 reviews from this member

 Nice site, quite small, though, and no chance of getting a nice view over the harbour! However, leads on to walk round sea front, so not all lost, and dogs can be let off lead there.

Biggest problem was absolutely nowhere to buy milk etc when garage shut ie most of the time.

Paid for 2 nights, stayed one as I found it rather boring, but if you're into Bailey Bridges, this is the site for you! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cathy + Brian 6 reviews from this member

 The site is excellent and so well maintained by Anne and Martin, this is our 5th visit over the years.

The gardens and the grounds are so well looked after as are the toilets and showers, hope Anne and Martin are still there next time we visit, they are full of local knowledge and so friendly. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Headgardener 35 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this charming site right on the waters edge (when the tide is in!) although there is another part of the site in the walled area across the road. There are toilet blocks in both areas and they are what you expect on Caravan and Motorhome Club sites together with wash up facilities. There is a mix of both hard standings and grass pitches. The pitches next to the sea wall are non awning so that the views are not obstructed.

My wife is currently wheelchair bound and the wardens could not do enough to ensure our stay was was very enjoyable and happy. They are a couple of the best wardens we have ever come across. A huge 'thank you' to them both.

The small shop/post office is now closed as the lady owner died but the garage has now started stocking a few essentials and will get your newspaper if you order it the day before.

We had an evening meal in the local pub but it was not for us. If you want your plate piled high and are more concerned with quantity rather than quality it might be the place for you.

There are a couple of very reasonable eateries in both Wigton and Whithorn. The lifeboat 'View' cafe in Whithorn is ideal for a light lunch and there is plenty of parking even for MOTORHOMES. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dylan125 1 review from this member

 On arrival the site looked gorgeous, flowers and hanging baskets everywhere. Checked in and met Ann the warden running it with her husband Martin. Ann gave us a choice of availability but was so great to advise us of the Walled Garden and asked us to have a look and come back to her. Her advice was on top oF the mark, what an amazing spot to stay for 7 nights-showers and wash up next to us and washing up, waste and motorhome service point, brilliant! The facilities were fantastic. Ann supplied us with so much information re beach/dog walks(as we have 2 dogs, invaluable) bus stop pick-up place and gave us a timetable which was so great to have and very easy to work out. Nothing was a bother for Ann in fact she was really concerned that I had a chest infection, and on that she was right, but I declined the advice to see a doctor as we were moving on and thought probably wrongly that it would go away, anyway all I'm saying is that she was so caring and it felt like home, in fact so much WE DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE ! What better review can you get. Martin never stopped, cutting grass, planting more plants, looking after new arrivals and helping us out when our hose wouldn't reach the water tap (our fault, not the sites) which was very much appreciated. A great site, well run and very very clean. We will be back and look forward to seeing Martin and Ann again. Brilliant ! 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chasszle 1 review from this member

 We booked into this site for a couple of days and ended up staying eleven. It's one of the nicest sites we have stayed and we have stayed at many over the years, it's a super site very pretty, we stayed at the waters edge side and it was lovely watching all the different birds arriving, at times it was like being on a ship as the tide came up ! At low tide all the birds were feeding this is a bird watchers paradise with several types of sea birds and as a river flows out into the sea we saw kingfishers as well and one day we opened the blinds and there was 12 swans arrived, as it was October we didn't expect such good weather but it was nice every day and we could sit out along the front of our camper and watch over the sea views which are amazing, the toilets are spotless the site is well run. We will look forward to visiting again, nothing bad can be said about this site, The site even though so quiet is close to the quaint village a short walk away where there is a dining pub, a post office for daily papers, and lovely other close villages to gave a run out to, good for bikers and walkers,

Plenty of space around the vans, the wardens are lovely and even though we had only booked two days originally and put us on the sea view side did all they could to let us continue there for the extended stay

They are so accommodating, and even though it was October several days throughout the week that we stayed they were fully booked up! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulgough 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 4 nights and had a very enjoyable time. We went for a non awning pitch overlooking the harbour which was grass but stood up well to our constant movement off site. ( thanks to the wardens who assured us it would be ok!) Generally the facilities looked a little tired but were clean and functional. The wardens seemed passionate about their role and from our observations tried their best to please everyone which was very commendable.

The Wigtown Book Festival was in full flow while we were on site which we visited on two separate occasions which had something for everyone. We also went to Whithorn and spent the whole day immersed in it's history.

Beautiful walks from the site along the coast in both directions.

Petrol availability was easier than we thought either from the garage at Garlieston although opening hours were restricted or from Wigtown.

Overall an excellent site. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2439 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December