Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Garlieston
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 8BS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 63
Open: 16/03/2022 to 05/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Delzer 19 reviews from this member

 We didnít realise how far away we were from this site so we were later getting there. We got a lovely call just to let us know where to pitch if we arrived after reception closed. We were in the site beside the water.

As stated on some reviews the toilets are a bit dated but spotless and plenty available.

Brilliant walks and bus stop just outside site.

Brilliant hotel where you can take your dog. Food was lovely we ate there one night.

Popular site as it was full the 3 nights we were there.

If you want to get away from everything this is the place to be for compete peace and quiet.

Because of its location we wouldnít go back as itís a bit off the beaten track for us.

Weíve always wanted to visit and glad we did. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 246 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From the A75 at Newton Stewart take the A714 to Wigtown and then the A746 signed for Whithorn. A few miles south of Wigtown filter left onto the B7004 to Garlieston.

You will reach a garage at a cross roads, turn left here and make your way down to the seafront and turn right. Because of parked cars this road is essentially single track so look well ahead to make sure your exit is clear.

The entrance to the site is on the left just before the road narrows. Donít forget that arrival time is 1. 00pm.

The Garlieston CMC site is in a wonderful location looking out over Garlieston Bay. The site is divided into two sections, Harbourside and the Walled Garden, the latter being across the road from the site reception, this section could probably be more sheltered if it was windy?

In total there are just under 60 pitches, 30 awning pitches on hardstanding, 3 awning pitches on grass and the rest being non awning and about equally split between hardstanding and grass.

Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps using CEE17 blue connectors. Some of the bollards are unusually tall, I assume to protect them against high tides? There are no TV connection points on the but reception is rated as good.

There are toilet blocks in both sections but the larger one in the Harbourside section contains a laundry and information room where as the Walled Garden has the motorhome service point which has an open grill waste water drain.

Both blocks are of the older variety so clean and functional than that being luxurious. Other than the toilet blocks there are no other service points. There is site wide WiFi which can be purchased online if you are not already a subscriber.

We were able to use the 4G data on our phones to connect the laptop to the internet. A fish and chip vans calls once a week, see details at reception. Other than toilet chemicals the site does not have its own shop.

This site can be a destination in its own right and for a couple of days its easy enough to while your time away wandering around the village and harbour. There are cycling and walking opportunities from the campsite. The Harbour Inn serves lunch and evening meals but they also do coffee if you prefer.

The local garage you pass on the way into the village also has a small shop selling essentials. However, if you donít wish to take your vehicle off site it might be sensible to have adequate provisions with you?

There is a fairly regular bus service on the route between Whithorn and Newton Stewart. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 37 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location right next to the sea, site split into two by a service road to the small fishing harbour.

Site badly needs refurbishment to the facilities blocks and would benefit from a reduction in pitches to give more space, some are very cramped.

Good TV signal and WiFi reasonable.

Nice Pub within two minutes walk and plenty to do in the area with some wonderful walks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 202 reviews from this member

 We visit the Machars regularly, we enjoyed our first visit to the Club site at Garlieston and will come back again out of high season. Iíd booked a grass pitch, no awning, hoping for a front row view of the bay.

The welcoming warden allocated us a hard stand pitch overlooking the water, as the site was barely half full Ė we were very pleased, as the walled garden part of the site is enclosed, partly within sight of the adjacent CS, and could be anywhere.

Facilities are kept clean; the showers were busy even though the site was half empty; when one block is being cleaned, the other is open, which is good. Thereís a big play area in the village, 5 minutes walk from the site.

Looking at the site map, the ďno awningĒ hard stand and grass pitches are only those located right beside the harbour wall. Given the oddly tall EHU stanchions, and knowing Garlieston is in an area thatís been subject to coastal flooding, Iíd guess this edge of the site is the first to get wet when the sea tops the wall.

Excellent long coastal walks which our dog enjoyed on a lead, both can be a loop (details and 1:25, 000 map in the information room). One north around the bay is signed to Innerwell Fishery and comes back via Eggerness Farm. The other goes south to Rigg Bay (Mulberry Harbour history) and returns through policy woodlands past Galloway House, down the quiet road to the crossroads outside the village. The walled garden on the estate is closed until funds are raised for repairs, but it does open for special events like Apple Day.

A bus goes hourly to Wigtown (book & antique shops), on to Newton Stewart (for supermarkets), or via Whithorn (an interesting Priory and the Whithorn Dig, check opening times) to Isle of Whithorn (pretty harbour) and on to Port William (a less pretty harbour).

Off the bus route but nearby, we can recommend the Torhouse standing stones (B733); Sorbie Tower (B7052) home of Clan Hannay; and Rispain Settlement near Whithorn (A746). Cruggleton Church (B7063), on the other hand, has a disturbing atmosphere thatís hard to explain (though there are websites that try).

Birdwatching is excellent, on Garlieston Bay at low tide and by the rocky island south of the harbour: chuffed to see Little Egrets and a Red Necked Diver. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 25 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site split into two sections. One within a walled garden area, the other next to the water and split by a little stream.

Very quiet and situated in the village. A nice wee pub which does meals is 5 mins away.

Facilities were of the usual high standard.

A nice walk along the waterfront through the forest and into a nearby country estate. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kiakia99 2 reviews from this member

 A very well maintained site with extremely friendly staff.

Beautiful views over the bay and lovely seashore /woodland walks. Fish and chip van visits some evenings.

Local pub (150 yards) serves meals with a friendly welcome.

Will go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 72 reviews from this member

 We have just had an enjoyable 3 days at this small level site right on the harbour. The staff were friendly and helpful and kept the toilet and shower block clean and tidy.

The village has a pub which serves food and a fuel station which is also a small shop, but we didnít use either of them. We did have fish and chips from the van in the village on Friday night which was lovely.

We walked in both directions along the coastal paths, which started off OK, but became increasingly overgrown the further away we got. We had to fight through brambles in places.

We also drove to the Isle of Whithorn and had a great walk along the coast there followed by lunch outside at St Ninians Tearoom.

This is a beautiful part of Scotland, well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shane3 1 review from this member

 Superb position of site excellent facilities & such a relaxing place. Very welcoming staff.

It was lovely on the evening to watch the wildlife in the sea.

The harbour Inn well worth a visit very welcoming with lovely beer garden.

Already booked for next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nethernut 2 reviews from this member

 First visit here, stayed in the walled garden area. Very welcoming wardens, beautiful village.

Covid regulations but toilets kept immaculate & showers, laundry facilities open too.

Good sized pitches, we didnít have ia sea view, the other half of the site has that, but the walled garden was peaceful and you didnít feel hemmed in.

Lots of good walks from the site and some very good cycling routes too. Small shop at the garage on the edge of the village, pub with restaurant in the village both a short walk from the site.

Fish and chip van comes to the village on Friday evenings, parks up just along from the site. Good area for dog walking either in the woods or on the beach.

Will definitely use the site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 73 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site, having spent 6 nights at the nearby New England Bay site.

We got a friendly warm welcome and were allocated a hardstanding pitch with nice views over the bay. The pitches are minimum distance apart so pitching has to be precise. Pitches seem all nice and level. We had a bit of rain first 2 days and pools did form on the site.

The toilet block was controlled by a wrist band left at the door with only 1 in the block at a time, so we used our own toilet and only used the block for showers and usually without queuing. The toilet block is old style but clean and functional. There is only 1 very small basic shop at the garage in the village (not licenced)

There is a pub/restaurant, which looked nice but we didn't use it. We have a dog so great coastal path walks north and south and great walking in the, right behind the site, Galloway Estates.

A bus service does run from here to Wigtown and Newton Stewart Best to bring everything you need if coming here.

Lovely area and we would come back. 
via mobile


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3432 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement