Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Garlieston Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Garlieston
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 8BS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

This is actually two sites, one the "walled garden" is just over the road from reception and has its own facilities block, the pitches on here are allowed awnings.

The other site is by reception and over-looks the harbour. Mostly non awning pitches, but those at the back can have awnings. Its a little confusing when you book as they advise booking a non awning if you want this site - but when you arrive there are awnings.

Pitches here are a mixture of grass and gravel. They are smaller than normal, its fine if you are pitched next to another campervan / motorhome but if you have a car and caravan next to you it does mean you are sitting out next to the car.

The pitches furthest from reception back onto flats - the balconies overlook the site and the end 4 pitches are almost within touching distance.

There were only 2 showers in the ladies, and this did lead to queues in the mornings - evenings were fine. The laundry has a washing machine and tumble dryer and hot water to the hand wash sink. Everything was very clean and tidy as you expect from C&MC.

Reception doesn't sell any foods / basics such as milk / bread. They have a sign up saying its to support the local village shop. Shop is open 10-14 most days and about a 15 minute walk from site.

Views over the bay are beautiful, the small harbour leads to a great coastal walk of up to 7 miles. Also worth the walk is Galloway House gardens, you cant go in the house but the gardens are being restored by volunteers and worth an hour (walled gardens at Galloway House are advertised but they arent open to the public).

The village also has one pub that has a great reputation for food, no other shops, cafes etc. On a nice evening its a beautiful walk along the promenade to the beach at the far end of the bay.

This site is about the views, if you are lucky you get a fabulous view, if not then it could feel a bit squashed unless you go to the 'walled garden' side.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jtennyson 1 review from this member

Just spent a very enjoyable 4 days in Garlieston. The site was extremely well run by a lovely couple who were very welcoming. Immaculate toilet/shower facilities. Site ticked all the boxes for us - nice sea view with nearby coastal walks and bike routes - more importantly a cracking wee pub/ restaurant on the edge of the site with friendly locals. We’ve booked to return in a fortnight - loved everything about it.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VenessaR 8 reviews from this member

Nice site, quite small, though, and no chance of getting a nice view over the harbour! However, leads on to walk round sea front, so not all lost, and dogs can be let off lead there.

Biggest problem was absolutely nowhere to buy milk etc when garage shut ie most of the time.

Paid for 2 nights, stayed one as I found it rather boring, but if you're into Bailey Bridges, this is the site for you!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy + Brian 6 reviews from this member

The site is excellent and so well maintained by Anne and Martin, this is our 5th visit over the years.

The gardens and the grounds are so well looked after as are the toilets and showers, hope Anne and Martin are still there next time we visit, they are full of local knowledge and so friendly.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Headgardener 35 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this charming site right on the waters edge (when the tide is in!) although there is another part of the site in the walled area across the road. There are toilet blocks in both areas and they are what you expect on Caravan and Motorhome Club sites together with wash up facilities. There is a mix of both hard standings and grass pitches. The pitches next to the sea wall are non awning so that the views are not obstructed.

My wife is currently wheelchair bound and the wardens could not do enough to ensure our stay was was very enjoyable and happy. They are a couple of the best wardens we have ever come across. A huge 'thank you' to them both.

The small shop/post office is now closed as the lady owner died but the garage has now started stocking a few essentials and will get your newspaper if you order it the day before.

We had an evening meal in the local pub but it was not for us. If you want your plate piled high and are more concerned with quantity rather than quality it might be the place for you.

There are a couple of very reasonable eateries in both Wigton and Whithorn. The lifeboat 'View' cafe in Whithorn is ideal for a light lunch and there is plenty of parking even for MOTORHOMES.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dylan125 1 review from this member

On arrival the site looked gorgeous, flowers and hanging baskets everywhere. Checked in and met Ann the warden running it with her husband Martin. Ann gave us a choice of availability but was so great to advise us of the Walled Garden and asked us to have a look and come back to her. Her advice was on top oF the mark, what an amazing spot to stay for 7 nights-showers and wash up next to us and washing up, waste and motorhome service point, brilliant! The facilities were fantastic. Ann supplied us with so much information re beach/dog walks(as we have 2 dogs, invaluable) bus stop pick-up place and gave us a timetable which was so great to have and very easy to work out. Nothing was a bother for Ann in fact she was really concerned that I had a chest infection, and on that she was right, but I declined the advice to see a doctor as we were moving on and thought probably wrongly that it would go away, anyway all I'm saying is that she was so caring and it felt like home, in fact so much WE DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE ! What better review can you get. Martin never stopped, cutting grass, planting more plants, looking after new arrivals and helping us out when our hose wouldn't reach the water tap (our fault, not the sites) which was very much appreciated. A great site, well run and very very clean. We will be back and look forward to seeing Martin and Ann again. Brilliant !

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chasszle 1 review from this member

We booked into this site for a couple of days and ended up staying eleven. It's one of the nicest sites we have stayed and we have stayed at many over the years, it's a super site very pretty, we stayed at the waters edge side and it was lovely watching all the different birds arriving, at times it was like being on a ship as the tide came up ! At low tide all the birds were feeding this is a bird watchers paradise with several types of sea birds and as a river flows out into the sea we saw kingfishers as well and one day we opened the blinds and there was 12 swans arrived, as it was October we didn't expect such good weather but it was nice every day and we could sit out along the front of our camper and watch over the sea views which are amazing, the toilets are spotless the site is well run. We will look forward to visiting again, nothing bad can be said about this site, The site even though so quiet is close to the quaint village a short walk away where there is a dining pub, a post office for daily papers, and lovely other close villages to gave a run out to, good for bikers and walkers,

Plenty of space around the vans, the wardens are lovely and even though we had only booked two days originally and put us on the sea view side did all they could to let us continue there for the extended stay

They are so accommodating, and even though it was October several days throughout the week that we stayed they were fully booked up!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulgough 9 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 4 nights and had a very enjoyable time. We went for a non awning pitch overlooking the harbour which was grass but stood up well to our constant movement off site. ( thanks to the wardens who assured us it would be ok!) Generally the facilities looked a little tired but were clean and functional. The wardens seemed passionate about their role and from our observations tried their best to please everyone which was very commendable.

The Wigtown Book Festival was in full flow while we were on site which we visited on two separate occasions which had something for everyone. We also went to Whithorn and spent the whole day immersed in it's history.

Beautiful walks from the site along the coast in both directions.

Petrol availability was easier than we thought either from the garage at Garlieston although opening hours were restricted or from Wigtown.

Overall an excellent site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caz100uk 2 reviews from this member

This site is lovely! Located overlooking the sea next to the harbour wall, it is fantastically maintained and a credit to the Club. Loos/shower facilities immaculate, cleaned every single day, water pressure excellent in showers. Privacy cubicles for showers, sinks and toilets. The town itself is only very small with only one convenience store which is also the Post Office. They don't accept cards but you can draw money out of the PO to spend in the shop part. There is a local pub which is dog friendly but we didn't get round to going, but it gets excellent reviews. The club site and town are extremely quiet and miles from anyway really, not a lot going on. About an hour's drive to Stranraer down A roads but be warned, there are little petrol stations or service areas on the A roads so make sure you have enough petrol, the Garlieston petrol station has closed. Checkout of the site is by 11am though we were late and didn't actually leave til around 12pm, but it was no problem. There are many tall trees around the site which made it impossible for us to get a signal with our satellite dish but that was down to the location of our pitch, other people had their dishes up and worked perfectly well. Lovely walks on the beach with the doggies. Not sure I would return though but ONLY because of the remote location, the site itself is immaculate, and the staff very helpful, was really lovely. No club house and no entertainment so probs not suitable for children. Waste disposal facilities excellent and immaculate, and no splash back at the toilet disposal! Two shower/loo blocks available with washing up facilities but can't remember if they had a laundry room. Elec hook-ups at our pitch which had a hard standing. Awnings not permitted overlooking the sea but are allowed further back (not far at all though) in the park.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

We stayed at Garleiston for 3 nights as a stopover from the Scottish Highlands, on the way back home to West Norfolk.

A super little site – a bit compact but, with three separate areas, it was reasonably quiet & relaxed.

We walked both ways along the coastline, south to the ruins of Cruggleton Point & north to the fort at Eggerness. It was, of course, de rigueur to stop off at the welcoming Harbour Inn for refreshments afterwards!

What we weren’t aware of, until we drove into the village and saw the entrance sign, was the local connection to the testing of the Mulberry Harbours used in the Normandy D-Day landings. There is little physical evidence of this event now but there is a notice board just outside the site giving relevant details.

Such is the dominance of the site in the village, you do wonder how the pub & Post Office survive during the winter months when the site is closed.

Nonetheless, a laid back site in an area that is a bit off the beaten track.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019