Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Tanylan Farm Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Kidwelly > Tanylan Farm Holidays Reviews

Tanylan Farm Holidays
Tanylan Farm
Kidwelly
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA17 5HJ
Tel: 01267 267306
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 15 Reviews
                6/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scotwel 2 reviews from this member

 Checked in but given no map or details of the facilities.

Flat pitch, good size with own water tap and ehu.

Long walk to showers and toilets unless you cross a field which is unlit so would not do it when dark.

Toilets not the best, really need a proper clean and the grill along the wall under sinks is extremely dirty. Why they think puting bleach blocks on it helps I don't know. It needs a good scrub every day.

Shower block the same, grids full of hair and build up of sludge.

Large number of youngsters gathering by toilets at night, smoking, drinking and swearing.

We were placed in a seasonal pitch area and it was very noisy and some of the occupants near us swore loudly at their children morning noon and night.

It seems most people there are seasonal and know each other. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Etnem 1 review from this member

 We usually camp in the Gower but our favourite site was fully booked so we did a quick search and ended up here.

My husband did the check in and said the owners were very nice, giving some information on the campsites rules and a map, all very standard and satisfactory.

Shown to our pitches, we had booked for a large 6 man, a medium 4 man, 3 cars and 3 dogs. Dogs were free! The pitch was ample big enough for us all until the sited caravan owner next door arrived and insisted we were parked in her spaces. In that case, they were nowhere near big enough for what we paid for.

The biggest thing to note with this site is that it's full of sited tourers with huge awnings and multiple cars. There were only around 5 tents when we were there. The vans and pitches were in various states, some very well maintained but the majority not so, unfortunately. There are lots of pitches with broken furniture, BBQ'S, bits of wood etc piled up around them. There is a notice in the toilet blocks from management stating the requirement of season holders to keep their pitches maintained after complaints, but it doesn't seem to be adhered to.

Unfortunately, it seems the seasonal pitch holders rule the roost and do what they want, seemingly unchecked by the owners, we didn't see anyone who worked there the whole weekend.

Most vans have large Tv's in their awnings which can be heard when you pass, meaning if you're unlucky enough to be pitched in a tent beside one then you will spend your day listening to classic rock and your evening listening to Stella! Not forgetting BBC breakfast from 8am! The TV was turned down around 10:30pm, but was still audible.

The toilets, showers, and washing up areas are clean and tidy. Huge showers with lots of space to dress. Nice warm water and push buttons which stay on for a good amount of time. There is however a horrible stench around the amenities blocks most of the time, maybe owning to the large volume of people using them (there was never a wait for dishwashing, showers or toilets mind) or the chemical waste disposal being located there too.

The site has new tarmac roads and is well maintained, the path down the adjoining static holiday site is not though, I don't know who this belongs to but there is lots of liter along it.

There is no shop on site only a few vending machines but the nisa on the adjoining site is well stocked. From here you can access the estury which is good for a walk with the dogs but not the cleanest again. Lined with unattractive chalets it's not the prettiest location, but on a sunny day, looking across the water and the fields it's ok.

We didn't use the facilities on the adjoining Park so can't comment, but it maybe handy for younger ones if the weather is wet.

We won't return as we prefer a more scenic, quieter location without the noise from the adjoining holiday Park cabaret, other holiday makers sound systems and TV's. BUT, it's a pretty central site with regards to days out in the car with good amenities. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ki_user 6 reviews from this member

 On arrival the people were very welcoming and helpful. Showed us where to pitch. The ground where we were was level and free from rocks when pegging out and the grass was neatly cut.

Facilities were good, but for the first 3 out of 5 days there was a really bad smell coming from the toilet block. It was really nice to have a shower with lots of space in it for a change.

They have a games room which may be a bonus for some people but looking at the facilities in it, it didn't really draw us in. The kids spent most of the time on the climbing frame/slide.

I did get the feel that the owners had a bit battle with site maintenance, unlike most of the sites we have been to where you rarely see litter dropped. On a number of occasions I had seen it, also beer cans and bottles, so you can't attribute it to the kids. General cleanliness could have been better also.

I think the pitch fees were a little high, but not a bad site all in all. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DAVE0690 3 reviews from this member

 What a wonderfully warm welcome to a great site.

The owners (I assume) welcomed us with open arms and couldn't of been more accommodating without offering up his own bed for us!

The site was immaculately clean both around site and all the facilities, toilets, shower, games room.

The grounds were excellently kept and although it seemed the grass was perfect, it didn't stop the team shaving a few mm off the top whilst we were there.

The Seasonal residents were also very friendly.

Although we had paid for the use of the facilities of the park next door, we found that we rarely used it as we stayed on site for most of the holiday and thoroughly enjoyed.

Overall, Great site will definitely be visiting again.

Thanks for a great holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dogtent3 1 review from this member

 Nice site in a strange location. Down a 2 mile single track road not really near anything of interest, you will need to travel to tenby or camarthen for any days out.

Pitches are flat and spacious but the showers and toilets were disappointing. Although the shower and toilet blocks have good facilities. They are filthy! The walls and floors are disgusting. I did not see a cleaner during my week stay and there is no cleaning materials to do the job yourself. For £24 pitch fee I would expect the showers to be cleaned daily. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentzareus 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were shown to our pitch, which was a good size and almost flat, but had to ask about location of the toilet block and nearest stand pipe. When booking I had requested a pitch near to the toilet block due to mobility problems. It was only when we got there that we were informed that such pitches do not exist. Trips to the showers became family expeditions in our car and I had to resort to using a bucket in the night! The only time in 6 years of camping.

When we were there there was a problem with the drains. The women's toilet block stunk accordingly, not sure about the men's.

The shower blocks were warm with spacious cubicles with a seat at a good height. Only one day was there no hot water. They were cleaned daily but the walls and floor could have done with a good scrub.

The on site shop stocked only a few basic items.

We did not explore the private beach as it was accessed via a steep climb and longish walk.

Llanelli and Carmarthen are the nearest shopping places. The local beaches are the estuary with a long walk to the sea at low tide and no rock pools! We spent most of our week on Saundersfoot beach which I would highly recommend.

There was a climbing frame on a field near to our pitch but my grandson did not use it as it did as it was rarely used. He usually uses play areas as a meeting point to make friends. There were plenty of other children on the site but families tended to keep to themselves. There were only 3 or 4 other tents, the rest of the pitches were occupied by caravans, mainly seasonal campers.

We had an electric hook up but this only had a low voltage so shorted out if we used our small fan heater at the same time as the kettle. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emsley 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed in August, upon booking we said that due to mobility problems, we need to be next to the showers, upon arrival we were not near the showers and told they would not have said that as they do not book people near the showers, apart from the regulars. I explained due to mobility problems this was essential and there exact words were 'ow yeah that is what they all say', I explained that I was not in the habit of lying, and also on our booking form it stated in their handwriting near the showers, if they had said at the time of booking, they could accommodate this, we would have gone elsewhere.

When we arrived there was no water, this was not their fault but upon arrival they did not mention that there were no toilets, showers or running water available, as you can imagine on a bank hol weekend with no water, toilets, the whole place stank, also throughout the week, the drains were blocked so the place always smelt disgusting, it was also dirty all over, with empty beer bottles and cans across the paths etc, the electricity also kept cutting out, and at one point the whole site had no electricity, again not their fault, but it was just the could not care less attitude, that was frustrating.

We had to pitch up and stay as we had driven for 6 hours, and would not be able to get in anywhere else. Our pitch was 2 metres from a working train line.

They advertise children's play areas but its just a wooden play hut, suitable for under 5's, but unlike every other campsite we have stayed on all of the children stayed in the caravans and did not mix. The campsite was also noisy, we got used to the trains going past, but you can hear the entertainment from the sister campsite, also other campers, playing music, till 1pm in the morning, when asked to turn the music down, we were sworn at, the whole place did not feel particularly child friendly or safe.

The site is 2 miles down a single lane track you constantly have to pull over to let other drivers go past, and you tend to get stuck for 20 - 30 mins behind cows. This site is a long drive 45 mins to get to the decent beaches and shops, food places etc.

The internet is expensive how they work it. We have been camping for many years, and I have never felt the need to write anything negative in the slightest about any campsite, but felt that I should write about this. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara4562 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a weekend to try out a Motorbike Track Day at Pembray ~ found the site only a few miles from Pembray so ideal. Itís a lovely site, very level ground, friendly/helpful staff, good facilities, lovely large clean showers, good washing up facilities although water temp a bit low especially in the evening, great idea of the use of a freezer, did not use the shop so cannot say, but everything we wanted was there and worked well. Well lit at night and walkways paved so no wet feet. Residents helpful and chatty. As for the trains we found them unobtrusive and pleasant to hear rumbling past occasionally. Used the site next door for a few meals, which were very reasonable but mainly stayed at site with own food and a BBQ. Made to feel very welcome and would definitely use again. Very good rates too, as everything included in one price, not £1 for this and a £1 for that, which adds up. ~ recommended ~ 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milktray 1 review from this member

 I have visited Tanylan over the years with a Caravan when my daughters were young up until they were teenagers when we stopped going there as teenagers want to do their own thing.

The improvements to the site are excellent it was good before the changes but now everything is so well thought out from the walkways to the showers and washing up facilities, to the freezers for extra storage which is a such a good idea especially in a tent. We will definitely be visiting again and this time with grandchildren. Our friends and I were very impressed with the site everything was so clean and other campers friendly and courteous. Booking in so easy and teh owners very helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellenmothersdale 3 reviews from this member

 I would agree with many parts of the other reviews for this campsite. There are a number of really good features and some which are challenges.

As stated in another review, it is 2 miles along a single track road with passing places to get to the site - unfortunately I did meet a motorhome coming the other way and had to reverse with the van as he just sat there - not helpful.

The owners however were very helpful as I was on my own with my children and helped me position the van on a lovely level pitch by the children's play area.

It's a short walk to the beach which is fine for rock pools and sandcastles and there is a Park Resort but we did not use it. Lots of great places to visit nearby so days out to Dinefwr, Botanic Gardens and Kidwelly.  


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tanylan Farm Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Tanylan Farm Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kidwelly      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5603 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements