Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Residence Du Campeur

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Provence - Cote D Azur > Saint Aygulf > Camping Residence Du Campeur Reviews

Camping Residence Du Campeur
Saint Aygulf Cedex
Saint Aygulf
Provence - Cote D Azur   (Browse area)
83370
Tel: 0033 04 94 81 01 59
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 11/04/2021 to 13/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyphil 9 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have been to this campsite. It's clean the grounds are well looked after and it has the bonus of each pitch has its own toilet/shower/washing up unit on the pitch. It worked really well. The pitches have hedges giving you some privacy but are are not on the big side but work. The entertainment was not great but they tried, and the bar & restaurant we gave up on as staff unhelpful bordering on being rude. The pool and facilities are open to the general public and was a bit upset by this as we were never told as this put pressure on the pool and sun loungers as the pool was on the small side for the size of the campsite and the sunbeds you had to be lucky to get one. The WiFi was next to useless and you could get 15min free at the reception and then log on again, but so many people were doing this it made it in unworkable. The paid WiFi was again very very poor and not worth it. The mobile reception with O2 and Vodafone was rubbish. You never got a 3g signal so again internet which I needed to be in contact with work was hopeless. The town Frejus was nice and lots of places to eat, and the beaches were clean and sandy. You can walk to the beach from the campsite it takes 40 minutes but there is also a free bus that takes you to the beach as well. The weather was in the 30c all the time and the night life on the campsite was quite after 12am so that was nice. There are water parks, fun fairs and go karts near by and also supermarkets. The Spar shop next door to the campsite is great. I would not visit again as felt unhappy about the general public being able to wonder around the campsite and use the facilities even though they are suppose to get a wrist band and pay. I would not rate it as 5 star but 4 star site. Not many English so if you have small kids be warned. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atko 11 reviews from this member

 I've given this site an average of 8 out of 10 and we enjoyed our stay, mainly due to the location to the A8 motorway and ability to travel to nearby places like Nice etc. The beaches at Frejus and fantastic, but don't bother with St Agulf as beaches are terrible and nothing really happens in town. Oh, if you visit the local theme park you must go the the tourist office and get a card as this gives you half price discounts on rides and some rides you cannot use without this card.

Anyway, back to the campsite. The only things I would add to other previous reviews are OMG this site is very noisy with entertainment going well into the morning and the pitches are rock hard. My rock pegs which have never failed me struggled to hammer into ground.

I would go back, but not in a tent and would ensure I was as far away from the noise as possible.

Atko 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kotisan 3 reviews from this member

 First of all I'll qualify what I'm about to write by saying I wouldn't hesitate at going again, but this is some information, if you are camping, that you should be aware of.

The pitches are gravel/hardcore - these are not grass pitches and even rock pegs are not sufficient. Take the nail like pegs and a heavy lump hammer.

This is not a quiet site and the entertainment goes on until midnight - for us this was okay as most nights we were up eating and chatting but do not rely on the booking agent, as we did, if you request a 'quiet pitch' as it appears that this is an issue the managers of the site come up against more than once when these instructions are not passed onto them. Thankfully, the management were really helpful when rectifying their oversight.

The electric hook ups are Euro hook ups, not the ones that you usually get in the UK - you will need a converter which are available in the UK. The site office were not able to provide us with one.

The mosquitoes are particularly ravenous - take a blue light thingy or stock up heavily on repellent.

The pool police, as they state on their website and in their brochure, are particularly strict - although polite with it. Swimming shorts are not allowed and you will not be allowed in with them. Budgie smugglers or those James Bond type things are the only swimwear men are allowed to wear. If you forget to buy some, they're available at a local Decathlon [10 mins down the road towards Frejus]. The pool police are also not adverse to taking towels from unattended loungers if you 'reserve' them for too long without using them.

The camp supermarket closes at 8. 00pm - so if you're driving from the UK bare this in mind if you will be arriving late. 8. 00pm is the latest check in time but arrangements had been made to leave the pitch details with security when it looked like we were going to arrive late. Carrefour is about ten minutes away by car and is open 24 hours.

The site is perfectly situated for travel to both Monaco and St Tropez within an hour by car. Nice is even nearer.

The local beaches, even in high season, are gorgeous, plentiful and due to the sheer amount of them are uncrowded.

La Paddock is an excellent beach front restaurant. This is on the road to Saint Maxime from Saint Aygulf. It's not cheap - cost about E300 for a table of eight - three courses. But if you love great food, in an idyllic setting, served by really friendly, patient staff - you will thank me for pointing out this little gem.

Take a trip to Roquebrune Sur Argens - quaint old village with gorgeous boutiques and bars.

In my opinion, don't bother with Aqualand. It's unbelievably dirty, two hour queues per slide and vastly overpriced.

There's a pizza van in Saint Aygulf that you must simply use. My tummy is rumbling just typing this out.

Other quick points. 24 hour security. Coded gate entry. En suite bathrooms on all pitches - a little tired but still very handy and very practical. Nice craft/evening market on the site. Stunning weather when we were there - 90+ degrees every day in July/August. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrismartinuk 4 reviews from this member

 I have used this camp-site 3 times over the past 10 years or so. It has always been a truly fantastic place to stay. Always friendly, and always clean and tidy. A really nice pool with a slide for kids and a nice deep pool to cool off in the heat.

The tent pitches are decent although can be a sod to get pegs in due to the ground. The pitches are big and each with its own toilet/shower unit. Each time I have stayed, I have been allowed to choose my plot!

Waste management is superb, as is the local facilities.

Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Netherfield 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 2.5 weeks at this site. Has a great time and weather was fab - 34 to 35 degrees every day with no rain. Camping pitches were of a reasonable size - they moved us to a plot big enough to pitch our Diablo 900 and we still had plenty of outside room. Great thing about this site was the facilities on each plot - toilet, good sized sink & draining board and shower. It was compact and bijou - but all you need for camping! Swimming pool areas were good - this year they have added slides, a plunge pool and another paddling pool with slides for toddlers. My children are 10 and 13 - they were happy enough with the facilities - games room, pool etc where they could hang around. There is a restaurant on site that served good food. A supermarket just outside the site that sold freshly baked bread, croissants and pain au chocolat - yummy! Downside was the evening entertainment (didn't use that much but not good what we did see!) - everything geared up specifically for the French - even bingo was completely in French (good job I am quite fluent or we would have been lost!) we have been on other sites that usually quote everything in French and English - this ensures that most nationalities can understand what is going on as there were a lot of Dutch and Germans on the park as well as British people. All in all, good site with good faciltites, reception staff helpful, good base to tour area - St Tropez, Monaco, Nice, Cannes - even Italy within easy reach. Would recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Captain Caveman 18 reviews from this member

 The unique feature of this site is that each pitch has its own toilet and shower block. Not that there’s enough room to swing a cat, but it contains a modern and clean toilet, sink with drain area and hot shower. Perfect for younger children who can nip to the loo unsupervised whenever they want. There is a power point (French style) both inside and outside the shower block.

The pitches are reasonably sized, and will be big enough for most of the larger tents. There is plenty of space to park your vehicle slightly away from your pitch. Don’t forget a metal mallet and rock pegs though! The boundary hedges are reasonably well maintained although the pitches themselves all have a covering of ‘crush and run’ and are peppered with weeds. Not comfortable under bare foot even when covered with a groundsheet. Most pitches have shade from tall trees.

The facilities are first class. The bar has entertainment and dancing on most nights and can be heard throughout the site until about midnight. No early nights here. A nightclub then takes over, but this is on the perimeter of the site and the noise is tolerable. One evening during our stay the basketball court was turned into a big-top for a visiting circus. Be warned- the French still like to ‘persuade’ animals to perform tricks by hitting and whipping them. There are two children’s’ play areas, one of which is large, modern and very well maintained. There are three pools for varying ages of children and adults. The staff were very polite, and even when I was thrown out of the pool for wearing shorts instead of trunks they managed to sound apologetic. One note of warning though- the bar staff must believe the British to be fundamentally rude as they were having a running bet on how well mannered the British customers were when ordering drinks from them. There is a tennis court, 4 boules pitches, basketball court, mini-golf for one Euro, a games room and an open-air cinema (French language only to my daughter’s disappointment). There is also a well stocked (but slightly expensive) supermarket on site as well as a restaurant and pizzeria for take-aways. There is a laundry with free use of irons and ironing tables. There is no facility to freeze ice-packs, but a local company will rent you a fridge for the duration of your stay.

Campus and Eurocamp are both represented on this site, so information may be gleaned from their brochures prior to arrival. Their staff also lent us a clothes-airer so I give them a big thumbs-up!

Next to the site is a nature reserve that will take to the beach at St Aygulf. It’s about a 40 minute walk or a 15 minute cycle, but it’s quite uneven in places. The lake is used by model boat enthusiasts and is teeming with fish, right up to the shore.

St Aygulf has a very fine sand beach that is extremely busy. A free car park next to the Botanical Park is within easy walk of the beach and the town centre, rather than paying £3 on the coast road. Frejus and St Raphael both have pretty ports and sea fronts, especially in the evening. Stallholders line the front for about a mile selling genuine crafts as well as the usual tourist stuff. St Tropez is within an hours drive, but set off very early as the car parks fill up fast. There is a Geant hypermarket in Frejus and a Carrefour hypermarket on the road from Frejus towards the A8 toll road. Highly recommended is a trip to nearby Roquebrune. There is not much to do there but it is a beautiful village to stroll around.

I will stay here again next time I’m in the Frejus/St Aygulf area. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Residence Du Campeur child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Residence Du Campeur have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Residence Du Campeur dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Aygulf      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Provence - Cote D Azur

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1844 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement