Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castel Domaine Des Ormes

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Dol De Bretagne > Castel Domaine Des Ormes > Reviews

Castel Domaine Des Ormes
Epiniac
Dol De Bretagne
Brittany   (Browse area)
35120
Tel: +33 02 99 73 53 00
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 13/04/2024 to 22/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lambdrover 1 review from this member

 First off this place is huge. It has every conceivable amenity that any family would need. Iím not going to begin to list them.

We ate in the Club Restaurant which was only ok. Fabulous ambiance but the food wasnít up to standard and really could be better. This is France after all.

We were pitched in the Ďpremiumí pitch area which is beautifully located within what appears to have been a walled garden in former times. The pitches are very generously sized but can be tricky to get into with a 26 foot twin axle caravan. Thank god for motor movers. If the pitches were fully occupied then unhitching and getting the car out of the way first would be a must. Luckily for us there was only one other pitch occupied so we were able to manoeuvre relatively easily.

One major shortcoming that we find is very inadequate means of emptying the chemical toilet cassette. We were told to empty it where the motor homes dump grey water in a grille in the ground. In effect this is an open sewer and quite shocking from a health and environmental point of view.

For this reason alone I would not return with a caravan, and canít see anything else to convince me to return. Donít get me wrong, it is an excellent site. But given the sanitary conditions I canít see how the Caravan and Motorhome Club class this as an accredited site.

Our pitch has a water tap and drainage. The drainage is not set up to accept the grey flexi pipe running directly into it as there is a 6-8 inch wall surrounding it. Water canít climb! So use of the waste master is required.

There is a shed containing fridge. BBQ, table and 6 chairs and sun umbrella. All of this requires payment of a Ä100 deposit. Electric on our pitch requires the two pin French plug kit to connect to the caravan. Some pitches have the regular 3 pin system so maybe make sure you have the necessary kit to cover both systems.

Cost for 3 nights in June Ä176. 76.

All in all itís a super site but needs a rethink on some basic issues. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Declang 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2017. Its more like a holiday village than a campsite. Being a 'Les Castels' site, we knew it would be top notch, but we didn't expect it to be so big with so many things to do on site.

Everything was spic and span, lovely welcome and easy checkin, although not too impressed with the premium pitch - it only had a riser with 4 taps on it in the middle of the hedge, but no waste drain on the pitch.

The fancy new WC block was nice and plenty of showers/loos/sinks, etc, but there was no chemical loo disposal point, so my logic of picking a pitch close to the WC block was a bad one and I had a much longer walk to the older block to empty.

Can't really fault the site or its facilities. Everything was fine.

There are several restuarants, although they were not all open, a take-away ( with great Pizza !), a bar that showed popular sports and also had an outdoor patio overlooking one of the pools and one of those big trangular rope mesh climbing frame things. There was even a small supermarket ; Biggest shop on a campsite I have seen yet with everything you could want !

We also used the laundry machines which weren't busy.

We did the water skiing & used the zip lines. Both excellent. You book and pay in advance at a specified 'hut' and then bring along your voucher. The zip lines seemed to be all done at the same time - there was nobody doing it all day and then everybody seemed to do it together, so I guess they gave everybody the same time slot.

Teenage kids loved the pools also.

There seemed to be lots of 'kids camps' for the smaller kids and they were quite busy.

There were many families with small kids and it seemed like the parents simply went to the bar and the kids were let run wild.

One morning about 6:00am there was maintenance work going on at the WC block. That was noisy and annoying. After about 20 minutes of noise I had enough and was just about to get up and complain to them about the noise when they finished work and left again. I mentioned it to reception and they didn't seem overly concerned about it, but did apologise.

One night there was a muisc festival in the nearby village which went on to about 1:30am. Sounded like it was on the pitch next door ! Very loud.

Another night, there were people making a lot of noise walking by, shouting and singing. Thats fine, have fun, but not at 2:00am when most people are trying to sleep.

I mention the noise because there are signs around the site about the rule to be silent after 11:00pm amd that anybody being noisy can be evicted, but it was far from silent late at night.

The location was a little remote. We visited St. Malo, Dinan, and Mont St. Michel, each being around a 30 minute drive from the site. Roads weren't the best, but not too bad.

It is a very big site with lots of statics of varying styles, spread over a huge area. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Greenp 19 reviews from this member

 Well landscaped beautifully rural/ forested location with lakes and elegant grounds-combining 18th century rustic charm/ walled gardens, mansion with 21st century commercial tack. The size and intelligent landscaping disguises the fact that there are 1000s of units and growing across the estate. I would not want to wish to visit peak season as the facilities though good would struggle with a full site. It was lovely in April. Weather was brilliant 80% of time, 20% fair/ bit cool.

Indoor and outdoor pools across estate including hotel can be used. Not alll open in April. Not enough changing rooms, had to queue and change in the disabled toilet.

Really recommend taking bikes for children as they absolutely loved cycling round the roads and tracks of the site.

Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely little village nearby St Leonards only short walk across the forest, shop and bar open limited times outs of high season. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clf86ha 16 reviews from this member

 Seriously can't believe this site is on acsi,

This place is huge and warrants a few days at least, just to get around the place.

The site offers every activity you could wish (even helicopter rides) for and certainly is NOT the site to go to if you just want to sit still!

The pitches (even on acsi) are huge and the sanitary facilities rival a 5* hotel.

Staff speak excellent English 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ljhomer 3 reviews from this member

 We love this campsite. It is very big and having stayed there 3 times, with a planned short visit on the way home this year, I don't think we've actually managed to get round it all.

We book Castels premium pitches and these are within a walled garden type area and you feel like you're on a much smaller site. Pitches are big here with IM07 the biggest which I've managed to book again. Staff are all really friendly and very helpful. Night security even offering on one occasion to help us get pitched quickly as they knew the was a hail storm coming.

It's a great site for visiting Mont St. Michel, Dinan, and a whole bunch of other local towns.

If this campsite were further south so that the weather would be a little more guaranteed we would return year on year, but for 2014 we are venturing down to the Vendee and just staying at Des Ormes for the last 2 days before catching the ferry from St. Malo which is only 20 minutes away making it good for a last couple of days chill before home without a huge drive. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hutchuk 3 reviews from this member

 I won't ramble on - I'll give it to you brief.

This campsite is large and has everything for a family. It is not for adults seeking a quiet time.

Our two girls - 11 & 14 - and Dad, thought it was absolutely fantastic. The pools are amongst the best you will find on a campsite. Mum thought it too noisy and too busy.

The staff speak such good English that you would think you are in England - in fact I would say 80% of all the guests are English - which really annoys the 10% French (the other 10% made up of mainly Dutch) My wife likes to go to France to be French ( she isn't French by the way, but from Yorkshire) so it didn't please her either.

The shop has little choice so it is best to drive in to Dol (5 miles away) for provisions.

The fast food restaurant is very poor and a waste of money - plus the food is dreadful. The other restaurants are fine, but you would find much better in Dol.

A great campsite to use as a gateway in to France, or a short stop over to & from the ferry. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maryc58 2 reviews from this member

 This was our third campsite in France on this trip and if I am honest my least favourite of the three. When we arrived we found a car parked on our pitch! After a quick look around we decided to go on the empty pitch next door, my OH unhitched and I went back to the reception to let them know - girl was nice but said that particular pitch was booked out and sent me to an adjacent field.

This was a bit of a pest but we just hitched up again and moved, however, I noticed the first pitch was not used during the five nights we were there and the car remained parked on the original pitch on and off throughout our stay.

The site itself was large and we enjoyed archery, pitch and putt and horse riding. The pitch and putt was 21 euros for myself and my son which I thought was steep for half an hour!

We also had balls from the driving range literally whizzing by our ears! We ate at the restaurant on the site, it was good but very busy. The site was fine but not really for us, I would not be rushing back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: SpampMan 23 reviews from this member

 Having previously stayed here in a tent, we thought we would try it again in a mobile home. The reception area is as I remembered it, welcoming staff - that's the Les Ormes staff - the mobile home company's staff were nowhere to be seen.

We were last here in 2004. Since then the site has grown dramatically. Many more touring pitches have been given over to mobile homes and it looks like there is an entire new field of mobiles too. There is a new indoor pool & slide heated to tropical temperatures and a wave-pool alongside it. This was pretty good, but even at Spring Bank holiday it was quite busy - it will be packed in the Summer hols. And there's the rub - the site can now accommodate more people, but the facilities, though good, I think will not - there is the same bar, shop, take-away and restaurants as before.

Nearest supermarket is still the SuperU at Dol-de-Bretagne, which is way cheaper than the site shop. Also good fuel prices.

Conclusion: it remains a very good site but I think it will be too crowded in the summer. Visit again? perhaps - depends on time of year. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike bond 11 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site having spent two weeks there. On the whole I would say that it was a good holiday, mainly because I have a 14 year old daughter and 12 year old son who enjoyed the facilities - there is plenty to do on site.

It is a very busy site and it is huge. The touring pitches were a good size and well drained and situated on the outer edge of the site. There are some pitches that overlook a lovely lake which was popular for coarse fishing.
We were near the toilets / showers, which were typical of the continent, adequate and clean. Did not queue for showers as most people were in statics with their own facilies. Water could have been hotter.

They recycle bottles on the site and the bins are by the toilets. If you like a lie in ask for a pitch away from here. Firstly because there are a lot of empty wine bottles on this site and the bins are emptied regulary - and early. Secondly, it amazing how many early-rising campers enjoy smashing bottles into the bins at 6am.

The general noise levels varied. The first week was very quiet. There is a bar and entertainment on the site. It seemed to calm down at about 11pm. The second week there were a few idiots making a bit of noise but I have experienced worse. There were large groups of kids, some well below the legal age who were drinking but we never saw any trouble.

There is no doubt that this site is geared for the British. Just about all of the staff spoke English. The site is about 30 minutes drive from St Malo ferry terminal. Perhaps I shouldn't have been so surprised that the site appeared to be enhabited by 75% Brits with a few French and Dutch but this took the edge off it for me. It did have the slight feel of a Haven site at times.

However, the facilites are second to none. There is a driving range and golf course, adventure training type course and the pools were great. Horse riding, archery were also available as well as artificial football pitches The shop was quite good and not a rip off. The staff in reception were very helpful.

There surrounding area is lovely, very rural. Dol De Bretagne is a nice town with a great market on Saturdays. Some nice bars / restaurants and a very good Super you supermarket (with petrol station). It is less than 10 mins drive from the site. We ate in very simple place a couple of times, think it was called Bar Boris in the main street (there is a parrot just inside the door). The welcome was genuinely warm (No English spoken) and the best moules & frites around.

St Malo, Dinard and Dinan are well worth a visit. If you like shellfish you have to go to Cancale. There you can see the oyster beds but don't do what we did and stop in the first restaurant we came across. Go to the where the oyster beds are sited and get them twice the size and half the price.

We also visited Bayeaux (2 hours - probably 30 mins less if you turn your satnav off) and saw the tapestry which was impressive. The American WW2 cemetry overlooking 'Omaha beach' is a very moving sight and the visitors centre is excellent, informative and sensitively presented -definitely worth a visit.

Rennes is the nearest city - about 45 mins south with a big shopping centre on the outskirts which I can't remember the name off.

This is definitely not a site if you want a quiet time. If it were not for my kids who moan for England given the slightest opportunity, I would not go again. But it is not the rowdiest site I have ever been on despite its size and the drunken teenagers, so I would do it again without too many concerns if the kids wanted to go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: FATBIRDSCANTFLY 3 reviews from this member

 The best campsite in the world! Very family friendly making it easy for children and adults to make friends. Fishing is excellent with massive carp. The games room is jam packed of lots of different things.
Bike hire, pedalo hire and high wires were reasonably priced. Lots of different places to visit like Dinard and Cancale with a good local market of saturday's in Dol. Close to both Dinard airport and st.Malo making it easily accessible. Super you in both Dol and combourg are good places to get your shopping from.
Brilliant place to visit with large plots. Visited 4 times now and will definitely be visiting again next year! 5* site LOVE IT! 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Castel Domaine Des Ormes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel Domaine Des Ormes have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel Domaine Des Ormes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel Domaine Des Ormes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dol De Bretagne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58989 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement