Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Wee Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Lochcarron > The Wee Camp Site Reviews

The Wee Camp Site
Croft Road
Lochcarron
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV54 8YA
Tel: 07876 642355
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Lovely small campsite on the Croft Road behind the main road in Lochcarron.

There are 3 rows of grass for tent pitching, then two rows of hardstanding for campervans / caravans. Pitches are wide, fine for a car & caravan but probably no room to site outside. The pitches arent that long - would guess anything much over 7 metres would be blocking the row which would prevent other vans entering or exiting.

Facilities block is as old of the hills, washing up area, 2 loos and 2 showers. Its very clean, the showers are piping hot with good water pressure. Outside there is a full range of recycling.

Prices are set by vehicle and person, for us in a campervan, electric and 2 people £17. 50. Owner doesn't live on site, calls around a couple of times a day to collect money or you can leave in the honesty box.

Site was very quiet when we stayed, just 5 campervans and 2 tents. Village is good for a walk or a coffee / drink but not much to hold you there.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madmags22 1 review from this member

Lovely little friendly site. Toilet block is basic but OK, although quite small when the site is busy. Great view of Loch Carron as site is stepped up the hill behind the village. Lochcarron has all the basics you'll need with garage, petrol, shops and a good bar serving good food in the hotel down the hill on the lochside. There are craft workshops on the edge of town with information and everyone we spoke to in the village we found to be very friendly, we were actually quite sad to leave.

We were stranded here for a while waiting for our car to be fixed. One day to get about we got a bus to Strathcarron station (about 3 miles away) and went on the fabulous scenic line to Plockton & Kyle of Lochalsh (other way is inverness). Hire cars are available from the garage if needed (and the garage has free tea & coffee available).

They plan to upgrade the campsite toilets and do a few things for next year.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 9 reviews from this member

I stopped here as a last minute decision whilst driving through Lochcarron on a lovely sunny evening.

Spaces are a little tightly packed, but the clue's in the name. Facilities are unisex, which doesn't bother me, but may bother others. They were also basic, but clean. The showers need more hooks and or somewhere to put your clobber such that it doesn't get wet.

I've only a small van, so the printed price list looked pricey just for me in it. However, when the friendly owner came to collect, without me having to say anything, he discounted the usual price, which was much appreciated.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Razamataz 6 reviews from this member

Loved this wee site, as others have mentioned it's small. But totally adiquate

At this time of year while driving route 500 the roads and sites are quiet.

So the cheerful owner gave my Hymer my pick of pitch which offered fantastic views of Lochcarron.

100 yards from Main Street and local Hotel.

Will be back

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iyogajulie 1 review from this member

We loved this 'wee' campsite tucked up the back of Lochcarron.

Nicely tiered pitches with just enough breeze to minimise the midges.

Simple facilities maintained with much TLC, and a lovely owner full of stories from the area if you have time to chat with him.

We'll be back.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shanxpony 10 reviews from this member

I have used this site many times over the years. Until recently it was run by a very friendly elderly lady, but it appears to have changed hands (this probably explains the closure due to illness last year).

I was prepared to forgive the small toilet/shower block in the past since the owner used to work hard and only charged £4 per person per night. However, the new owners have seen fit to double the price, were nowhere to be found during the day, and left the toilets without loo roll for the whole time I was there. Whilst it is still the same small and likeable site in a great location, value for money has gone down considerably. It needs to be either cheaper or they need to invest in some modern facilities before I would return. Real shame.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Donqi 1 review from this member

As we - my partner, her son and our Bernese Mountain dog - were travelling Scotland with our caravan, we had a serious breakdown with our caravan.

Once we were towed to the Lochcarron Garage and we were helped so kindly and friendly by everyone arround!

The people of Lochcarron must be the friendliest people arround the whole world!

While we had to wait for parts to be sent to Scotland to the Garage we met the wardens of the Wee Camp Site. They are so lovely and friendly people!

THIS CAMPSITE IS COMPLETELY OPENED(!) and is not closed as mentioned in one review prior.

The campsite is basic, but everything is clean and in order!

Once our caravan is repaired, we will come back to Lochcarron next year to visit this campsite and have a good time with the wardens at the bar in the nearby hotel!

Kind regards,

Markus

Markus (at) maehlmann. Org

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maximiliaan 1 review from this member

We have camped here in 2012 and we enjoyed the site, the view and the surroundings. The facilities were basic but clean. Previous reviews mentioned an excess of water on the lower terraces, but the soil was dry then, so no problem there.

Much to my chagrin I found out in June 2013 that the Wee Campsite is closed for visitors, due to illness. So check first if you would want to visit next year.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keithydee 21 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site was a 2 night stop over.

This is a nice small site, terraced as previously mentioned however the terraces are just 2 steps up a bank so no issues there and steps are not required.

There is a small adequate toilet block, unisex with 2 toilets and 2 showers all free, washing up is done in a single sink in the same block and the washing up liquid is provided, there s a washing machine run on an extension cable for £1.50 a go.

The drainage on the site isnt the best, avoid the back upper terrace corner nearest the trees, the whole site gets waterlogged in heavy rain.

The soil is soft and thin with slate or small stones underneath, metal pegs seemed ok, plastic pegs had to go in at a shallow angle, too shallow to hold guys down in wind.

Dont miss the waterside cafe, good food and friendly staff.

All in this is a nice sight in a lovely location, the only drawback was the water pooling on the terraces, the top one in particular.

£4 per person under 5s free, we would go back again!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diverjo 1 review from this member

Have stayed here several times over the past 2 years and its a lovely site that I regularly return to.

What isn't often known about the site is the price we pay to stay there is to cover the running costs of the site, with the rest being donated to charity on a regular basis according to the info in the small toilet block.

Yes the campsite is small, on a steep incline with 4 plateaus and the toilet block only has 2 showers and 2 toilets, 4 sinks a washing machine and drinking water tap outside, but it is clean tidy and in a lovely area of the highlands.

There are a cpl of hook up points on the lower levels enabling 6 connections at each hook up point.

The Lochcarron hotel is a few minutes walk away as is the Rockvilla Hotel for meals and the village also houses 2 garages, butchers, large spar shop, post office, bistro, cafe etc.

As with all sites on the western highlands at the height of season midges are a problem so I suggest usual midge repellent and nets.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4783 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019