Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Northwich > Forest View Caravan Park > Reviews

Forest View Caravan Park
The Forest View Inn
Gallowsclough Lane
Oakmere
Northwich
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CW8 2TG
Tel: 01606 889500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 31 Reviews
                6/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sammy1965 1 review from this member

 I've been on this site now for 5 months

It is clean and always kept tidy

The owners mike and carol are a lovely couple, nothing is too much trouble for them

Toilets and showers are always cleaned 2 to 3 times a day

I would highly recommend a stay at this camp site.

The new renovated pub is outstanding 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Suzie2poos 11 reviews from this member

 Be advised that the price on this campsite's website is incorrect. When we approached the pub to pay for our pitch we were initially quoted £20, our look of shock must have hit home because this was then ammended to £15 without hook up or £20 with. We queried this because the website clearly states £12. 50 without EHU and £15 with. We showed the evidence of the website pricing on our phone and after two phonecalls to the owner they were happy to accept this and produce a receipt of payment. We were told that the price changed a couple of years ago when the site was refurbished, however this contradicts another UKcampsite reviewer's quoted price from a couple of months ago. I would not have been happy to have paid the higher price quoted because this site simply does not match up to other sites who charge that amount.

The pub's website also mentions food available, this is no longer the case and the pub is only open from 4pm until late. The pub has more of an air of a small members social club than a country pub but there are loads of really lovely pubs close by. The bar is not as well stocked as the pump clips/tap labels suggested (they had one lager on tap and one beer on pump, out of the five taps and three pumps available).

That said, once settled, we had a decent stay here. The location is great and the views are wonderful, especially with the donkeys, horses and ponies trotting around the adjacent field. We visited Jodrell Bank and Beeston castle as well as Delamere Forest which is within walking distance of the campsite.

The showers and toilets are basic but clean and functional (the refurbishment mentioned earlier was simply the removal of a couple of urinals to make them unisex as far as I could tell).

We found the site to be really peaceful and quiet. Trains do run close by but there is very little noise apart from that. The site could do with a tidy up especially an area next to the toilets covered in debris which looks like the remains from the removal of a static caravan that previously sat there. During our stay our section of the site gradually built up with dog poo, despite the signs requesting removal and there were a couple of dog fights from dogs off leads, again despite signs requesting leads. That said these appeared to be owners that knew each other and the dogs were otherwise mostly at peace.

Despite the few issues mentioned, all in all if you just want somewhere with no frills to park up for the night this is a decent choice and this site really should be busier than it is. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Amy1992 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site with even better views! Owners could not be more helpful offering lifts etc - even buying specific drinks for us.

Shower was fantastic too! On site pub is very welcoming with a beer garden too! Will definitely revisit as itís such a lovely place to relax.

The price was brilliant for what we had - can not fault it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Damokat 1 review from this member

 Despite previous reviews this place has upped it's game.

The new shower block is clean and modern, the showers are hot and powerful and the views are stunning. There are plenty of forest walks nearby in the lovely Delamere Forest.

The place is laid back and the site/pub owners and staff are friendly and approachable. The site is quite small and intimate and we are looking forward to going back next weekend for the bank holiday. Looking forward to the live entertainment in the pub!

At £15 a night with hookup this was well worth it, and better value than more expensive sites that don't have the same hospitality and views.

They had no problem with us having a firepit and they welcome dogs. It is a sun trap and sunny evenings are a joy looking down the valley to the forest.

Fantastic for bird watchers and star spotters alike. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vmerrills 4 reviews from this member

 Disgraceful, dirty, scruffy.

Toilets and showers not cleaned, no elsan disposal, no grey water disposal, dog mess everywhere by owners animals.

Pub is scruffy and dirty. Avoid. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Larrame 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from a great weekend on this site. On our arrival we went into the pub to book in and was greeted by the most friendliest welcome from the owners and barmaid we have ever recieved on a caravan park.

We were parked up by the owner who informed us where all facilities were located, and also made sure that our friends were able to park next to us when they arrived. The site is clean and tidy and we had a lovely view over Delemere Forest. The pub has a fantastic menu to suit everone's taste and great entertainment at the weekends.

Overall we had a fantastic weekend very relaxing and really enjoyable, we would like to thank the owners, bar staff and everyone else who made us feel so welcome, you will definitely see us again as we are planning to revisit in the next few weeks. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rosie999 3 reviews from this member

 Well here goes, arrived on the Friday and was shown a couple of spaces where we could pitch up, so we chose wisely and away from the roadside due to having 2 dogs, which were always tied up to the post. Was not shown where the toilet block was and when I did find it, it was stuck in the middle of the permanent static homes etc. Over the weekend we realised that the owners dogs were roaming free and fouling everywhere. Shower worked ok but was full of mould/damp and felt dirty, no hot water in the sinks. The pub food was good. Out and about from this location was brilliant. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lozsheffy 12 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a great weekend on this site, My husband and I went with another couple for our friends birthday.

Although there is only a small space for tents, it was big enough and had a lovely view of Delemere Forest and the horses, cows and a donkey in the field.

We stayed for 2 nights, the owners of the pub are really friendly and helpful. It was £15 for a 5 man tent each night and they let us take our fire pit to use off the grass.

There is a shower and toilet block for you to use, which is just basic but clean. There are mainly residential and touring caravans on site but everyone are friendly.

It is very quiet in the mornings and at night we had music on until 2am and there was no complaints.

The pub had a singing due on called 'Native' on the Saturday night which were really good. Would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsL86 1 review from this member

 Just stayed at this campsite for one night as we were going to a gig at delamere forest. I have had to come on here and write a review straight away because we loved it so much!

Upon arrival we discovered that we had brought a tent with no poles or pegs and one of the locals lent us his tent and even came and put it up for us.

The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us (especially Alice!) we paid £20 for 6 of us to camp so was a bargain and also paid £5 and were given a lift to and from the gig. After the gig we went back to the pub on site were there was entertainment on, was very lively, everyone up dancing and having a great time. Stays open late as well.

We've decided to go back for a weekend because we enjoyed it so much. Would definitely recommend it if you want to have a laugh n a few drinks! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Batters way 1 review from this member

 We are currently at this site as I type. We arrived today with our two dogs and our small caravan.

I have read the other reviews, and understand what some people have wrote. However, I've just had a wonderful meal in the pub on site which was great. Our dogs loved it too as they where allowed to stay while we had our dinner.

The owners have already gone out their way to help us out, we arrived with no cash to pay them for our stay. They simply told us to set up chill out and sort it later which we did once we got to a cash point. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Forest View Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest View Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Forest View Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Northwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4167 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement