Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Thorney Lakes & Caravan

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Langport > Thorney Lakes & Caravan Reviews

Thorney Lakes & Caravan
Muchelney
Langport
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA10 0DW
Tel: 01458 250811
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campernologist 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from a 4 night stay on this lovely site. This site majors on peace and quiet as has already been mentioned. It is all very easy going - you can go where you please, and the site has top notch super-clean facilities - it is clear that the owners (Sally and co) really care and that is not always as universal as you would hope for in campsites in our experience. Site is a good base to explore the surrounding countryside, we'll definitely be returning again. Just down the road in Kingsbury Episcopi is the community shop which has all your essentials and more besides, also not far away are several locations brewing and selling their own cider and other local produce (hic !) and offering free tastings. We visited one at Bere near Aller (just outside Langport) which we would recommend highly.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pippy27 1 review from this member

Camped for 6 nights. This site is so quiet and relaxing. Facilities are great. 2 big fields to choose to pitch with no rules as such just your common sense, electric hook ups available on both. Big shower/toilet rooms with plenty of hot water whatever time of day you use them nearest to farmhouse, smaller block on 2nd field. Washing up area with washing machine, electric sockets for hairdryers/phones etc. No charge for these but a possible donation instead. No play area but plenty of room to play outside. A lovely walk to 2 lakes where you can sit or fish or just enjoy a stroll. Lovely wildlife. Lots of lanes to travel to nearest villages or towns but all very picturesque. Sally the owner is lovely and was very helpful in our hour of need lending us tools when our car broke down and we met very friendly people on site who also helped us. Would most definitely return. Dog friendly too.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AL53HX 18 reviews from this member

After a misunderstanding as to where we could pitch (site was full with a rally weekend) we settled in for our four night break, next day, the rally caravans moved on and we had the site to ourselves along with a few others. Must agree with the majority of the reviews about this site, it is great, plenty of dog walks, two good size fishing lakes and very few rules to follow(common sense prevails)the toilets in the area we pitched were basic but adequate for our needs, the ones next to the farmhouse were more spacious and better equipped.

It is situated near to Langport and reasonably close to Yeovil(nice town)and Taunton, the roads around the area can be a little tight for large caravans but not too bad.

The only downside with the site itself was the toilet floor, it had rained all of the Saturday night/Sunday morning, and with the combination of wet grass and wet floor, my other half slipped onto her back, luckily no great harm was done but it is something that should be addressed, I told the site owner who did express concern, so I suggested a non slip entrance mat, as other sites use them with good effect.

All in all, a good site that we will return to in the future

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minerva14 24 reviews from this member

This site is wonderful for dog owners like us. There are plenty of walks on site around the perimeter of the owners fields (watch out for the guinea fowl) and on down to the fishing lakes. A fairly short way along the road are public footpaths and you can walk for miles in various directions, all off road, beside the river or drain channels. We did over 23 miles in 3 days and didn't pass the same way twice. We didn't see too much in the way of shops, pubs etc, but then we weren't looking for them. If you like countryside and nature, and walking or cycling, this site is for you. The site itself is very level and you are able to pitch more or less where you choose. Fish and chip van calls on a Friday evening. The owner, Sally, was very friendly and helpful. They were setting up for the annual Scything Fair in one of their fields which people were coming to from far and wide and I understand they have a scything competition, music, stalls and entertainments, all powered by solar power. The facilities are very adequate, plenty of hot water, although we used our own for the most part. All in all a lovely place to stay and we will return later in the year.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kayjo 5 reviews from this member

Spent one night while en route to Devon and visiting family in Langport. Very friendly welcome - especially appreciated as we had looked at Abbey Farm site nearby but found it deserted. Spacious site with no marked pitches. Good facilities with really large shower/washing cubicles. Lots of hot water with no continual pressing of buttons! Definitely hope to return.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fluffchucker 18 reviews from this member

Thorney Lakes has got be one the best campsites to relax or be as active as you want to be. If you love fishing there are 2 lakes (6 acres in total ), if you have dogs well this is almost doggy heaven(acres and acres of open fields to explore ). Some have said that there should be children's play park, but actual caravan site is wide open space where they can football, rounders, fly a kyte, just old fashioned play. There are numerous guinea fowl down by lakes. All the facilities are kept spotless. Ample recycling points. Ideally placed to tour the area, Would definitely recommend Pendras fish & chips in Langport ( 3 mile away ). All in all just a wonderful campsite for anglers, dog walking, or just relaxing !

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kentryn94 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay as part a group of 25 campers/caravaners with other friends staying in the self contained cottages which adjacent to the site.

The site is wonderful, very pretty, peaceful and relaxed. It is dog friendly with some lovely local walks and there is a large enclosed field which we were able to use for exercising our dogs.

The toilet facilities are fabulous with the shower/wet rooms being spacious and clean.

As we were camping I used the washing up area, which again, I cannot fault. The area was immaculately clean and there was always plenty of hot water. There is a large mirror and 2 plug points in this area so there is facility to use an hair dryer if you don't have an electric hook.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Susanjo 11 reviews from this member

Stayed two nights at this site, and found it to be enchanting. Stayed once before, 14 years ago, and I knew the owner then wanted to upgrade the facilities, and now they have been and very nice they are too. But the charm of camping in an orchard is still there. We were blessed with glorious weather and sitting out until dark, and then breakfasting in the morning sunshine was very pleasant. Great cycling in the area, with some beautiful villages- and South Petherton a lovely town with great shops- and the community shop in Kingsbury Episcopi is very well stocked with friendly local ladies. Definitely one to return to.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thepunnetts 1 review from this member

Spent 5 nights here during the week before the Bank Holiday. We had electric hook up for our tent and found an ideal pitch without any problems. Sally is very welcoming and just says 'go where you like'.

The new shower/toilet block is exceptional. The shower rooms have toilet and wash basin and are simply huge - easily room for a family of three in the event of an overnight deluge!

I was amazed at the condition of the grass all over the site. There had been heavy rain but there were no mud patches or tyre tracks anywhere. I threatened to take some turf home with me.

The lakes are lovely for an evening stroll and seemed busy with fisherman.

Plenty of room when we were there for football and badminton and our 12 year old soon had friends to play with each night.

The nearest shop up the road is amazingly well stocked - selling wine, beer and local cider too.

Overall we were most impressed and hope to return next year for a break.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sjd224 4 reviews from this member

Just returned to caravanning after an absence of 25 years, so much of my last week was 'new' to me. However, really impressed by this campsite, and spent an extremely relaxing week there, no pressure, no hassle, weather great.

Central EHU's mean that vans and tents that require it seem to radiate from these central points like a bursting flower when the site becomes busy, as it did just before we left. No fixed places to pitch, the friendly welcome from the lady of the site was just 'go where you like', and so I did. Toilet block was large, always available, massive shower rooms alongside the equally large toilet cubicles. Though I'm not a user, the washing up facilities for tents was very good. Waste sorting bins in front of the block had me trotting across as soon as I had something I could easily sort, waste disposal and grey water disposal easy and accessible. Loads of space for children, none of which caused any problems for this middle aged couple. The short walk to the lakes in the evening is highly recommended. Take binoculars!

Downsides? Quite a distance from local attractions, so a car for the towns, or a bike for the beautiful churches in the villages essential. On arrival, I was asked if I was there for the one night or longer, despite having booked a full weeks stay in advance. Fortunately, loads of space, so not an issue.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Langport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3806 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019