Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Galloway Activity Centre

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas > Galloway Activity Centre Reviews

Galloway Activity Centre
Loch Ken
Castle Douglas
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG7 3NQ
Tel: 01556502011
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 5 Reviews
                7/10 from 5 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Great site in a lovely location.

Facilities were good and the whole place was clean and tidy with great views over the Loch.

Walking was limited so better for Caravans with a car as options were limited.

Free Wi-fi very good for a change, saved my data.

We enjoyed the site and the staff happy to return 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fuller 2 reviews from this member

 We had one night here. It would be a great place for activities but didn't have a family atmosphere. In fact there was only one other women camping - the others were men on a stag weekend.

The staff were very friendly. In particular the cafe lady who was great with the children. It wasn't their fault that their guests were awful but the extent of noise up to 4 in the morning was completely unacceptable.

The camp field overlooks the loch but is in fact an extended car park so we were surrounded by cars and white vans. It meant that we couldn't let the children potter on their own as it wasn't safe for them to do so. 
Management response: Thanks you for your feedback, positive or negative we do take feedback seriously and only by getting such feedback can we strive to improve our guest experience year on year (which we believe we are doing)

The Activity Centre is not simply a standalone campsite but in fact offers a wide range of outdoor activities and accommodation types to suit all abilities. Families are our bread and butter, and as you will see from "trip advisor" more often than not (4.5 stars out of 5 with 48 reviews) we do get it right. Sadly on the night in question both a Stag group were staying in the bunkhouse (although they were well behaved) and a large Fishing Forum were camping (who did not behave). This was not just to the detriment of our other campers but also our £5000 Mongolian Yurt they were camping in. They inflicted over £1000 worth of damage on this. Come the following morning the damage had been done, we moved them offsite and have written the main organiser of this forum and banned them from future camps.

Sadly this was the night you chose to camp, we could do no more but apologise and take the action above to ensure this doesn't happen again. I can assure you this is not the norm!

With regards to the campsite being a car park (in 2011) I fully accept your feedback and can proudly say we did listen and have taken action! In the winter of 2011 we constructed a second car park to accommodate enough cars for our busy outdoor centre, leaving the camping field car free (unless your camping).

I appreciate your review is not one of our finest, but hopefully we have shown that we do listen and we do act, Sadly this has been at the expense of your stay for which we have and again do apologise for.

We do hope you would try us again in the future.

Kieran Patterson
Centre Manager


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Derek + Carmen 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful site. The staff and owners are exceptionally friendly. The toilet/showers are the cleanest I have ever seen.The views are wonderful. We tried to book for this weekend but they are full (I'm not surprised). We have already re-booked for later in the year. My daughter was crying when we left - she always has such a brilliant time - very child friendly.

Keep up the great work! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leecaddick 5 reviews from this member

 We booked this site based on their website.

When we arrived the facilities where excellent, the location is gorgeous, right on Lock Ken and the activities are a big draw.

We saw Red Kite over the site as soon as we arrived.

However, we found that the tent field was being used as an overflow carpark. Which as it was a bank holiday was expected to be relatively busy. I was not really comfortable with this arrangement as there where no other tents on the site and I didn't fancy waking up in the middle of someone elses cars.

To the credit of the site we obtained a full refund straight away.

I personally feel that if they can sort out the tent field that this will be a very nice site. Unfortunately at the moment it feels like the tents are bit of after thought.

I will keep an eye on the site in the future and I would return without hesitation if the pitches are better. 
Management response: Many thanks for your great feedback. With regards to the campsite being a car park (in 2011) I fully accept your feedback, you can see we have had a similar complaint above regarding the car parking and can proudly say we did listen and have taken action! In the winter of 2011 we constructed a second car park to accommodate enough cars for our busy outdoor centre, leaving the camping field car free (unless your camping).

In addition to this we have constructed a Yurt village of 3 Yurts with landscaped gardens and private picnic area within the campsite, this gives our Yurts guest a more private space and also frees up camping space with Loch views for our campers.

Again many thanks for your feedback.
We do hope you would try us again in the future.

Kieran Patterson
Centre Manager


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrew.sharp3 7 reviews from this member

 Starting my UK tour here was a good start. A friendly welcome and freedom to pitch where I wanted.

Great cleaning and bathroom facilities which cannot be faulted, and free too. Fairly good farm shop, reasonably priced, sometimes with freshly laid eggs available. No wonder this place is popular with event holders!

The water tasted better this time, maybe due to me not using my roll-up water carrier!

Slightly oversold as a holiday park, but a restful place to visit anyway.

Needs to sort out the local signposting which point to a non-existent site to attract more custom. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Galloway Activity Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Galloway Activity Centre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Galloway Activity Centre dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Castle Douglas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder