Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southview Leisure Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Southview Leisure Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Southview Leisure Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Burgh Road
Skegness
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE25 2LA
Tel: 0330 123 4954
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 322
Open: 01/04/2022 to 14/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Philco 1 review from this member

 Are stay at this holiday site was really good, site was very clean and shower block was the best I have been in for along time very very clean and well set out.

When we drove in you could see it was going to be nice holiday park.

I have already told friends of ours how nice it is and how nice staff were with us.

Thank you southveiw. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sue nicholas 0205 1 review from this member

 I love southview leisure park so much

We have been coming here for years.

Started with touring caravan then motorhome on touring park which has great facilities.

I then part exchanged it for a static caravan.

Loved it so upgraded. Then met Jack Johnson from sales who found me exactly what I wanted.

I bought 2 off Jack who was very helpful with everything from purchase to siting to after sales.

I can recommend Jack as a salesman who becomes every customers best friend so helpful long after purchase complete

I am now living the dream in my fabulous caravan here on southview. Only go home few days a week. The park is the best in the area with great friendly staff. We have made so many friends here

Its our happy place 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joyroo 1 review from this member

 The site was well maintained, shop etc. Water right near by.

However specifically asked when I rang up to book that toilet and showers would be open those dates and was assured they were. Was really upset to find they were not. We rang round quite a few sites and only booked sites with facilities as easier for us bring an older couple.

We let Reception know and got apology, but no effort was made to help us, or explain why we were given wrong information when we booked. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: ValAllen 1 review from this member

 Very nice site. Stayed in a private caravan. Chose site because it is dog friendly and has entertainment on-site. Would have been very good - but had to pay 40 up front to go into the entertainment bar-thought it was odd that I was warned it was non-refundable when I handed over the money.

Visited with elderly friends-huge queue when we went to the entertainment bar-the most disabled lady had to wait in the car whilst we queued in the cold and dark. Eventually got in at 9:15 pm just as the entertainment were going off stage.

Tried to get in at 6:00 the next evening-no chance-the queue was massive and not moving-not fair to take money from people knowing they would probably not be able to get into the entertainment.

Lots of families left the queue with all their young children disappointed-we totally understand the Covid situation-but would have been fairer to charge families on the door - then we wouldn't have wasted our money-especially poor when the management know this is happening and inform you the money is non-refundable-but still insist on money up front without warning people they may not get in.

We chose this caravan park because of the on-site entertainment because of the reduced mobility of members of our group of elderly people-so were very disappointed. We will not be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marie mckay 1 review from this member

 Just got back had great time

Just 2 gripes

Really dark ( not enough site lights) and shower block very cold and smelly (no windows)

All staff very helpful and polite especially Claudia off the entertainment team

Well done 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Terry 61 1 review from this member

 The caravan was very nice and in a good place to get to everything

The camp site was nice and clean

Had lots of things for kids to do

The meals were nice and good value for money

It also had a bus on site so you could use it to go to town 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 17 reviews from this member

 The park is kept clean with plenty of refuse bins water points etc for tourers, the pitches are hard standing, toilets and showers are clean and heated. Touring area is pretty central to for the amenities with the main clubhouse being a 4-5 min walk.

The entertainment is rubbish catering for kids all night, Bingo is at 5. 30 ! then from 6pm nothing for adults. Shop and chipshop were closed on Saturday from 5pm and new people who were coming in could not get nothing to eat or buy anything from the shop!

Fishing now has also changed. You used to pay at the lake when they came round now you have to get a ticket daily at 9am and can't buy in advance the night before or buy a 3 day ticket for your stay, which means you have a fair walk up to the reception every morning if you want to fish!

We had 2 breakfasts in the Boathouse absolutely awful burnt and tasted awful and at 21 a rip off.

Wouldn't go back again. There is a bus that picks you up from the park taking you in to Skegness only good thing about the park really. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johnandann 12 reviews from this member

 Stopped for two nights on a fully serviced pitch costing just over 40. Under the impression that the site was fully open (nothing to contradict that assumption on the website ) First comment at reception was 'you have been told we are not fully open ' Not a mega issue but poor communication on Park resorts side.

Found our pitch easily only to be confronted by a big 4wd parked in the middle of it. A quick bit of detective work and the owner was tracked down. It seemed to be custom for caravanners to occupy vacant pitches and those that didn't ignored the no parking on grass signs and converted the turf to muddy bogs ! The touring area (in common with most of the massive static site) suffers from totally inadequate drainage. Several pitches were under water and a lot (ours included) had areas of standing water on them.

The main issue we had was the state of the toilet block. The men's facilities were clean but had a really bad stench of urine.

The ladies were so bad that my wife was moved to complain at reception. All of the toilets in the block had sewerage backing up into them. She was told that ' someone had damaged a pipe and that they had awards for these facilities ' We saw no attempt to rectify this problem from Friday (when we arrived) to Sunday when we left. Given the number of tourers on site we found this appalling.

Gripes apart the staff were all cheery and friendly, the site is nicely planted with good sized pitches and the entrance is very impressive. When fully opened it has entertainment, a good range of restaurant's shops and bars. Children are well catered for with swimming pool and play areas etc. A bus comes into the park to take you into Skegness (3. 60 return) hourly. Another passes on the main road a half hour later.

We would return but are marking on our stay and would hope not to suffer these issues on our return 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gazal59 10 reviews from this member

 We spent a week here with family and friends a total of six caravans in all. We were on fully serviced pitches that were block paved for car and caravan with grass where you could put an awning if required. The pitches were a adequate size for what we needed for twin axle caravan awning and car. However the block paving was unlevel which collected pools of water when it rained, and the grass where you are expected to erect your awning didn't appear to be able to cope with the smallest amount of rain so the ground under our awning became like a mud bath.

Some of our friends who arrived before us were allocated pitches that were unfit for use and were expected to pitch up there. They got in touch with reception who sent someone down to the touring area to have a look and put some sand down on top of the mud so they could erect there awning. After a three hour drive this is the last thing you want, and because it was the Easter holidays there wasn't many empty alternative pitches. And really pitches should be prepared and ready for the next occupants.

After two days we had to go out and buy tarpaulin type groundsheets to put down to make it bearable on our awning floors. This I think is unacceptable because if proper drainage is installed when the pitches are built this whould avoid the grass flooding. We are all experienced caravaners and have only ever encounted this once before at Unity Farm at Brean Sands some six years ago.

During the course of the week the elsan point was blocked most days and you were expected to empty toilet waste in the toilets. I think they have this issue quite often when I spoke to some people who come often. The grey waste disposal point is next to the elsan point so some people were emptying toilet cassettes down there which was disgusting. One morning there wasn't any hot water in the shower blocks so when we phoned reception to inform them that we had been for a shower and that the water was cold they told us the boiler had broken down and they were waiting for the part. Well that was a lie because later a member of staff on the touring site told us they had ran out of oil and they wasn't expected to receive delivery until later in the day. And at about 1330 a tanker lorry turned up with the fuel and the hot water was back on at around tea time.

There is a swimming pool which was adequate and the water appeared warm enough, the changing rooms and showers are porta cabin buildings because they are still building but were nice and warm and the showers were hot enough. The shop is next to the pool complex and seemed well stocked.

We only used the bar once but did find it expensive. You have to walk through the amusement arcade to get to the bar. These places are designed to get as much revenue in as possible. There is a children's park beside the bar complex and it seemed clean and tidy.

Non of our party of 12 adults and 4 children would ever return to Southview, looking at previous reviews it has got a drainage problem on the touring site.

My advice to anyone with young children thinking of coming to Southview to stay on the touring site and thinking of erecting an awning is look elsewhere because if it rains it could ruin your holiday. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mog60 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, not too far from skegness. Great facilities. Good pitch size. Clean and hot showers. Good on site entertainment, indoor pool. Will be returning this month. Can recommend Poppies restaurant just up the road, great home cooked food. Have also stayed in a static caravan on this site for a short break Mon _ Fri. Great value for money. Would highly recommend this site. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southview Leisure Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Southview Leisure Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southview Leisure Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southview Leisure Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skegness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3267 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement