Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forfar Lochside Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Forfar > Forfar Lochside Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Forfar Lochside Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Forfar Loch Country Park
Craig O Loch Road
Forfar
Angus   (Browse area)
DD8 1BT
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 72
Open: 02/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From A90 take A94 into Forfar. After about a mile, at traffic lights, turn left. The entrance to the Country Park is about 90 metres on the left but is not that obvious!

There are signs including a small caravan sign. Probably the best indicator is a sign opposite the entrance that signs to a car park with a caravan symbol to the right but it is here you turn left and make your way down to the campsite.

Forfar Lochside is a nice campsite on the edge of the Angus county town of Forfar, it also adjoins the Forfar Country Park. The site is open from early March to early November and non-members are accepted.

There are 63 pitches, all but 12 are on hardstandings, 8 of the hardstandings are serviced pitches. In the centre of the site is a large grass area which can be used for tents. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and use CEE17 blue connectors and are rated at 16 amps. The electric bollards have a co-ax TV connectors.

These are free to use but you must provide your own cable. There are a couple of service points for water and waste water.

The motorhome service point is at the site entrance and has open grills and can probably take two motorhomes at a time. The central facility block contains the reception as well as the toilet block which is of an excellent standard.

There is also an enclosed washing up area and a laundry. There is site wide WiFi and the 4G signal is good. There is not much on site for children but there is a gate directly into a large playground in the adjacent park. Reception sells a few caravan accessories and ice cream and newspapers can be ordered.

This campsite is quite a good touring base for the coast and Perth and Dundee, the latter having the recently opened V&A Dundee. Glamis castle is only a few miles away. There are bus connections from Forfar to Dundee and Brechin, not far from the site.

For shopping there is an Aldi supermarket only a few minutesí walk from the site but there other supermarkets nearby. Next to the site is the Lochside Country Park which is a nice open space for walking, particularly with dogs.

The circuit around the Loch is 5kms. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jehpesto 13 reviews from this member

 Needed somewhere to stay while visiting an elderly relative and also needed to take campervan out for its first trip of the season! I normally opt for CLs but this site is in a very convenient location and looked nice. And it is.

Amazingly good value (£26 for 2 nights with hook up) brilliant level hardstanding spacious pitches, spotless facilities (and plenty of them), hairdryer, very good showers with plenty of hooks and space, plenty of bins, taps and waste disposal points, plus very friendly wardens.

And just a 5 - 10 minute walk into Forfar to get bus to wherever. I have seen one or two reviewers who weren't keen as it has a "municipal" feel. I do understand what they mean but for me it was actually quite reminiscent of some of the great municipal sites there are in France, in that is quiet but also quite conveniently urban! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 41 reviews from this member

 An immaculately kept site within easy walking distance of the town and shops. Even in late September, the site was very busy - mainly with motorhomes and campervans. It is, however, not a place I would choose as a destination in itself. I have never thought of the site as a place to relax and the centre of Forfar has a very run down air about it. To compensate, there are several good supermarkets and independent shops - treat yourself to a 'Forfar Bridie' for lunch.

We chose to stay at Forfar because of its easy bus links to Dundee. These run every 30 mins from outside the police station, a few minutes walk from the site.

Generally, a good base for exploring the area, rather than a place to stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jolly_camper 34 reviews from this member

 Been coming here occasionally and now it is a CAMC site, the addition of security fencing and the neatness of the site shows through. Ultra clean toilets have separate room for showers which makes sense as you don't get to share toilet smells and shower steam. The new motorhome service area at the entrance was a neat addition as well. The warden uses a silent trolley for his site jobs, rather than the usual noisy tractor, lovely.

Forfar has an ever-changing social status and a short walk from the site, usually something for everyone. For my visit, there was a lovely fragrance of 'tumbledrier bounce' as we walked the town streets, no idea where this came from and certainly not the nasal experience mentioned in the other review!

Good cycle routes nearby, a big kiddies play area, a loch as well next to the site. Some pitches have limited satellite reception with tree cover. Don't even get me started on the CAMC pitch parking nonsense, making half the pitch unavailable. Blue posted pitches are without awning giving more room for most, white posted pitches mean you park in the middle, losing half the pitch. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandy MacP 7 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a fairly pleasant 3 night stay at this popular caravan park. Staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and we were both given a key each for the loos. We had a fully serviced pitch which was a bonus. It's a well kept site, toilets are immaculate, warm and being able to shower to the accompaniment of Ken Bruce was entertaining. Forfar is a short walk away, it's an unremarkable wee place, has a sprinkling of pubs and is very well served with the big supermarkets. Tesco, Asda, Aldi and Lidl are all there so you're not short of choice in that regard. The only real negative was the almost constant strong and pungent odour of manure which was clearly being spread on nearby fields - it stank! Nice site though, I'd return but maybe only for a couple of nights as there's not a huge amount to do in Forfar. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mobene 5 reviews from this member

 Just had a weekend at forfar club site. The site is a nice size, (not too big) well kept, it was very quiet even with a rally there and was virtually full, toilets were immaculate and my husband said the wardens are very friendly with a sense of humour, (not always the case we find)(I didn't get to meet them). I would have given it a 10 but the surrounding area let's it down. There is a council run park alongside the site and I think come the summer months with the light nights you could get some noise. Wouldn't stop us going back though as it is 30 minutes from home and a lovely site next to a small loch with ducks 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iainm1015 3 reviews from this member

 We have now been to this site four times in the last year. It is a very well kept site and the wardens are very friendly, hard working and helpful. Showers and toilets are first class as you would expect The pitches are nice and level and in great condition. There is a small play park on site and a public play park next door, accessed via gate with access code, which also gives access to Forfar Loch. This is a 2. 5 mile walk or cycle and is child friendly. Nearby shops and supermarkets are plentiful in Forfar. There is a tyre services nearby which we had to use as we had a puncture on our caravan. There is also a car valet service nearby which does a great job and they also have a mobile service for caravans. If I could be picky, I would say that some caravan/motor home owners still do not adhere to the 5mph limit, which can be annoying when you have young children nearby. This is not confined to this site and affects other sites. Having said that, I would have no hesitation in recommending this site and we will definitely be back again. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Canyaker 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely well kept site with friendly staff. Not too big to be impersonal. Toilet/shower facilities amongst the brightest, cleanest and roomiest I've come across. The site is close to supermarkets but also directly accesses a very good country park, excellent for dog walking. (there is a large loch in the country park but with the usual British restrictive obsession of discouraging anyone from even thinking of trying to use the waters for any purpose - but I digress) I really would recommend this caravan park. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Headgardener 35 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to the Forfar Caravan Club site - we had been looking forward to it for some time. The site is easy to find and has good access - entrance and exit is controlled by barriers.

Booking in was typical Caravan Club style - business like, go and find a pitch, come back and tell us which one and get the card for the barriers and keys for the toilet/shower/information block.

We found a pitch with a view of the loch. We were very surprised how few pitches had a view of the loch as the name states 'Forfar Lochside'. I think it must have been an Estate Agent that thought up the name! The site is not lochside at all but situated within a public park which borders the loch. There is a 5 ft. High fence round the site.

The facilities are first class as you would expect. The pitches are well spaced out and there are several fully serviced. There is a children's play area within the site and dogs can be walked in the park. The park is very popular with dog walkers not connected with the site and most are not on a lead and we saw several big snarling dogs running wild. It was too frightening to take our very small dog for a walk there and instead took him elsewhere.

As previously stated there are plenty of supermarkets in Forfar and a reasonable selection of shops in the town centre.

We would not return due to the problem with dogs in the park. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moraycamper 2 reviews from this member

 A very clean and well maintained site with good facilities. The pitches are all flat with most hard standing although some seem quite close together. The grassy tent area behind the amenities block is convenient though also used by kids for games so lots of kids may impact on campers and vice versa!

Situated on the edge of town it's handy for Dundee, the coast, Angus Glens, or just the leisure centre next door and a walk / cycle round the adjacent loch - though path is a bit wet/musty at times.

Forfar is a small town but well provided for by supermarkets close to the site.

As it's in town some traffic noise is heard at night but not too loudly.

Would use the site again if in the area. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Forfar Lochside Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forfar Lochside Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Forfar Lochside Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Forfar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5863 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement