Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Ballachulish > Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA
Tel: 01855 811397
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2024 to 26/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: BivvyBoy 37 reviews from this member

 This is an easy site to find and access as it's a straight turn off the A82, and you're there.

The wardens Simon, Rupert, Graeme and Karen were all brilliant, and made sure we enjoyed our stay. We were offered a choice of pitches based on what sort of view we wanted or if we preferred the evening sun.

The site has a nice wee shop with most things you might need. The facilities block isn't very central to the site but is clean and well kept. There is a hummock in the centre of the site with picnic benches and great views up the Glen to the mountains.

Our pitch seemed massive, so we had plenty of room for the awning and the car. It isn't too far to any of the water and grey waste points. There is a mass of woodland around the site, so our birdfeeder was in full time use, with Chaffinches, Tits and Robins galore.

The immediate surrounding area is beautiful, and if you like getting into the mountains you are spoilt for choice, as you have the mountains of Glen Coe to go up, but you're 45 minutes away from Ben Nevis, Aonach Mor, and Carn Mor Dearg.

There's a small information point in the site with good walks highlighted for you. Next to the site is a NTFS visitor centre, which is basically free. It has a cafe and plenty of information about what to do in the local area. It features a recreation of an 18th century turf house, and some nice short woodland walks. The cafe opens at 0930 so I assume you could stroll up for breakfast.

Further afield, Glencoe village is about a mile to walk to along a dedicated footpath away from the busy main road. There's an inn, a Nisa minimarket and a garage /minimarket there plus a visitor centre. Ballachulish has a good sized Coop, but if you want anything bigger, it's a drive to Fort William to Morrisons, LIDL or ALDI.

There is a bit of road noise from the A82 but it quietens down by the evening, it's not intrusive. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gari 11 reviews from this member

 My first time at this great site.

Access is very easy, hardstanding pitches are great, views astounding, several walks from site and there is a path to Glencoe village.

Facilities were generally very clean and the staff very friendly.

Only minor gripe is there doesn't seem to be any way to change the temp of the showers and they were a bit too hot for me.

I've stayed at Bunree a couple of times but personally I think this site has the more dramatic views.

If you haven't stayed here, it is definitely worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jo Treby 30 reviews from this member

 Great site in the Highlands. Next to the Glencoe visitor centre. Lovely welcome by the staff who showed us to our pitch.

Because of my disability they offered us a choice of pitch near the facilities block. Also told us that we can request a pitch near the facilities when we book.

Disabled toilet/shower room was really well equipped made life so much easier for me. Only complaint on that front was the combination lock was too high to reach if I had been in a wheelchair. Needs to be at chair height a simple fix.

Would recommend this site. Great place to go walking for the able bodied lots to explore.

If in Scottish Highlands again would definitely choose to stay there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a good three day day at Glencoe and had excellent weather.

The location is good - about 1. 5 miles from Glencoe village and roughly the same to the Clachaig Inn. Visitor centre next door to the site is worth a look.

The site is an excellent base for mountain walks, cycling and getting onto the water.

Staff very helpful and facilitate excellent. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cazbix 29 reviews from this member

 Very nice welcome when we arrived, they showed us to our pitch and explained where everything was,

This site is ok we were near the facilityís, but if you was at the far end of the site itís a bit of a walk, we were on a hard standing pitch which was quite large,

The toilet block has 6 toilets, 4 showers a few modesty cubicles as well as wash hand basins, could do with updating,

Glencoe Town is not far from the campsite with a restaurant pub, with a Pizza place at the back very nice too, there is a fish & chip and CO-OP nearby,

This site is great for walkers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: JonDoe 15 reviews from this member

 Liked;

Location - great for Glencoe and only 45 mins from Fort William and Ben Nevis. Waking up and having the spectacular views was a treat each day. Shops nearby as well as a fishing tackle place.

Facilities - Well kept, plenty of toilets and showers and I never queued for them. Dishwashing inside! Camping areas have backpacker shelters, very useful.

Staff - very friendly and helpful. Thank you.

Disliked

Ground not entirely level on the smaller tents area.

Shop not stocked with much but there is a co-op nearby.

Unavoidable issues - rain! the ground was saturated but unless the owners can magic the bad weather away. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Sue6 38 reviews from this member

 The upside; Fabulous location and good walks from the site.

Dog friendly. Good facilities.

The downside; Its a bit of a walk to the nearest, busy, restaurant. (I did not walk it to see how far it was. ) 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nnnccc 29 reviews from this member

 Liked this a lot. Would have stayed longer but could only get one night. In a good location, walking distance to Ballachulish/Glencoe village which I did do as weather lovely at night but not a lot open by the time I got there.

Site was well laid out, good level pitch and decent size. Contactless check-in but was shown to my pitch. Good amount of service points around site,

Toilets could be a bit of a trek depending on where your pitch was but they were of a very high standard and plenty showers/toilets for size of site.

Onsite laundry was a good addition as been a while since I'd got any washing done so a big thumbs up there.

Very picturesque site, surrounded by mountains and just loved watching sunset on those.

I would certainly go back as like to be able to explore area a bit more. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rtayl112 9 reviews from this member

 Staff were very helpful following my late arrival. Site and facilities were up to the normal Camping and Caravan Club clean standard and the pitch was reasonably level and access good only spoilt by some very loud snoring from a nearby tent but that is no fault of the site.

The views around the site were stunning especially when walking to the shower block in the early morning mist.

The only downside was that I was totally eaten by midges, my legs looked like a mass of red spotted bites and some are still visible seven weeks later and this was despite putting what I thought was a good insect repellant.

Would I go back? - not at this time of year and not in a tent and if I had to I would do more investigations into reliable midge protection. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Highlander09 24 reviews from this member

 Another visit to this site as an overnight stop. We booked via the club website and were not disappointed.

The welcome was great, very Covid19 aware and we even got a discount on our prepaid booking as the motorhome we rented was in the privilege scheme.

Facilities were excellent although there were no stools in the showers and the usual mops were missing (Covid19 measures).

Definitely on the list for another visit. 
via mobile


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ballachulish      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46470 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement