Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Ballachulish > Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA
Tel: 01855 811397
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04 to 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 88 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night en-route to Skye. For what we needed (late arrival, early departure) the site was absolutely perfect. The camping pitches are gently sloping and sheltered but there are still great views of the mountains. The facilities were absolutely fine, and the wardens helpful. You will not be able to park right next to your tent but this makes for a nicer feel.

This would make a great base camp for walking around Glencoe. If you like a great pub with good beers and atmosphere, visit the Clachaig Inn about 5 mins drive.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ScotMan 2 reviews from this member

This site just has everything going for it : location; scenery; walks, climbs and cycle runs; friendly and efficient wardens; well-equipped facilities block located discretely in woodland. Top marks all round.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soozndave 6 reviews from this member

Very picturesque site surrounded by the mountains of glencoe and only a mile walk to the village. Was a bit disappointed by the standard of the tent pitches, the ground was very bumpy and boggy in parts and we struggled to find an area flat enough for our fairly large tent. We moved to the next field which was slightly better but the grass was pretty long and could have done with a cut. There is only one toilet block which is a bit of a trek and it closes at 10. 30 for cleaning, which I felt was a bit early. Saying that, it was lovely and clean and the showers were some of the best I’ve seen on a campsite. The facilities were limited for a ccc site, you had to pay to use the freezer for ice packs and there was no microwave to use. I’ve never had to pay to use a freezer before. We booked in for 3 nights but left after 2, the drizzle and long grass combo was soaking us through from the feet up and there was no play area for the kids so they were a bit fed up.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ellelouise 1 review from this member

Arrived a bit later than we intended so pitch we got was not the best. Most of the best pitches were taken by a large group from Germany, not that it was a problem.

The site is generally in an oblong area which in the centre is just a bumpy hill where some tents were pitched.

Only one toilet block at the entrance which closed in the morning for cleaning 10. 30 to 12pm‼️

Have to use the disabled family toilet when the block is closed.

At the time I went there was a queue for this one toilet. I asked the cleaner if I could use the toilet in the block but she was not happy at all about it.

Think as this a club site someone needs to review the facilities at this site‼️‼️

Until they build another block I’m afraid I won’t be returning to this site as a matter of fact we had booked 3 nights only stayed one then left to go to Invercoe on Kinlochleven. Much nicer. No code, no fuss, no problems and beautiful views.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janey47 22 reviews from this member

We stayed here for just one night in appalling weather conditions. The views are simply stunning looking out over the Loch.

The hard standing pitches are extremely narrow and we sank into the sodden grass while entering and exiting the habitation door.

The shower block was freezing cold with no form of heating switched on at all. The showers themselves were ok with reasonable hot water.

I am trying not to let the dreadful weather colour my view of this site but with an outside temperature of only 9 degrees there should have been some heating on in the shower block.

There is a covered picnic area I would think would be useful if you're camping in a tent.

I would return to this site for the views in warmer weather.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 81 reviews from this member

This Site exhibits all the good and bad features of C & C locations with the added drawback of needing more attention than the Club seem willing to give.

First the good - as ever, the on site personnel are helpful and knowledgeable and you know exactly what you're going to get in terms of showers and other amenities. In good weather, this is an ideal location to hit the Hills and magnificent scenery of the area. We did not visit in good weather. It can be a long walk to the one toilet block in the rain.

Now for the less good - the dead hand of C & C branding and procedures is everywhere. Not only is there a code to access the Site but another for both sets of toilets and laundry room. Clearly the Club is worried about illicit use of toilets by non members. Unlike almost every other Site we stayed on, there is no free Wifi which we had in even remote parts of Mull.

Toilets are getting a bit tired and in need of painting but I guess there is no budget for that.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Damaca 30 reviews from this member

This was the fourth year in a row we have stayed a couple of days at this site. We love the views, the peace, the local walking opportunities and the nearby Glencoe visitor centre with its excellent café, shop, free wifi and reliable weather forecasts.

However, the site is looking a bit tired and is in serious need of some TLC. When we were there, 4 out of 8 cubicles in the mens' toilet block were out of order, as were 2 out of 4(?) showers. Everywhere was in need of a coat (or coats) of paint. And why are they so paranoid about outsiders, in this remote place, using the facilities block? It is a pain to have to remember the secret code when one is in a hurry to go. Many sites in much busier places don't bother with this. They have also constructed a fence next to the block, so that one cannot just leave the site on foot, via use of the facilities, without making an annoying little detour.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

We stayed at Glencoe C & CC site for three nights in July 2016. The site is simply laid out with adequate hardstanding pitches all around the perimeter road, all with EHU. There is a separate grassed area for tents.

Unfortunately the weather was pretty dire during our stay so we didn’t do as much as we originally planned. There are walks on forest tracks around the back of the site which seem to be associated with the nearby Visitors Centre.

Glencoe village is a half hour walk away along a wooded path parallel with the main road. There is a Nisa store in the village as well as monument to the infamous massacre in 1692.

We took the motorhome offsite one day and went along the A82 to one of the parking area giving access a walk into the Lost Valley where the Campbells hid their stolen cattle. How they managed to get them up there through a rocky ravine as anyone guess! We were also “serenaded” by an enterprising bagpipe player at the car park!

The site itself only has one amenities block which was perfectly adequate but might struggle when the site is full with caravans, motorhomes & tents.

Whilst there is no digital TV reception [at all!] there is a free Wi Fi connection at the café in the Visitors Centre.

Overall a well run C & CC site – a credit to the club.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanncamper 3 reviews from this member

One of the best sites we've visited, been numerous times over last 3 years as only 1 hour from home. Staff always polite and helpful, great area for exploring. Toilets and showers spot on. Only downside, if you can call it a down side, you need a dish for TV. Not the end of the world ! You can live without TV. An absolutely gem of a site.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scotiajo 1 review from this member

Just returned from a wonderful 4 days here. We were met by one of the managers( Maureen ), who showed us to our pitch. She said we would get the best of the sun on the pitch (31) (if it came out) which it did and she was bang on, the caravan was bathed in sunlight for most of the day, we even lit the BBQ and sat out for dinner. The site is surrounded by the most stunning mountain views. It was so relaxing. The site itself is immaculate with lovely planted troughs and boxes throughout. The toilet and sower facilities are warm and very clean, dishwashing and laundry facilities are also available. The site managers Stephen and Maureen are so friendly and helpful. They were available to help or chat anytime, they made us feel so welcome. This was our second visit to Glencoe and we will definitely visit again, it is one of our favourite sites.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4962 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019