Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Ballachulish > Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA
Tel: 01855 811397
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2022 to 26/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Sue6 38 reviews from this member

 The upside; Fabulous location and good walks from the site.

Dog friendly. Good facilities.

The downside; Its a bit of a walk to the nearest, busy, restaurant. (I did not walk it to see how far it was. ) 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nnnccc 26 reviews from this member

 Liked this a lot. Would have stayed longer but could only get one night. In a good location, walking distance to Ballachulish/Glencoe village which I did do as weather lovely at night but not a lot open by the time I got there.

Site was well laid out, good level pitch and decent size. Contactless check-in but was shown to my pitch. Good amount of service points around site,

Toilets could be a bit of a trek depending on where your pitch was but they were of a very high standard and plenty showers/toilets for size of site.

Onsite laundry was a good addition as been a while since I'd got any washing done so a big thumbs up there.

Very picturesque site, surrounded by mountains and just loved watching sunset on those.

I would certainly go back as like to be able to explore area a bit more. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rtayl112 6 reviews from this member

 Staff were very helpful following my late arrival. Site and facilities were up to the normal Camping and Caravan Club clean standard and the pitch was reasonably level and access good only spoilt by some very loud snoring from a nearby tent but that is no fault of the site.

The views around the site were stunning especially when walking to the shower block in the early morning mist.

The only downside was that I was totally eaten by midges, my legs looked like a mass of red spotted bites and some are still visible seven weeks later and this was despite putting what I thought was a good insect repellant.

Would I go back? - not at this time of year and not in a tent and if I had to I would do more investigations into reliable midge protection. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Highlander09 22 reviews from this member

 Another visit to this site as an overnight stop. We booked via the club website and were not disappointed.

The welcome was great, very Covid19 aware and we even got a discount on our prepaid booking as the motorhome we rented was in the privilege scheme.

Facilities were excellent although there were no stools in the showers and the usual mops were missing (Covid19 measures).

Definitely on the list for another visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Englis 1 review from this member

 Nice clean place to stay. It has everything you need to make your stay comfortable and has a small shop.

Plenty of places to visit and the walks are great too, we liked the walks up to Ben Nevis but you need to be reasonably fit for this route. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JMurphy 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 1 night in mid May. It was like a trip down memory lane as we used to go there an awful long time ago.

The site is much better laid out nowadays and has good quality hard-standing pitches. The midges are still voracious. Ouch!

The staff were really friendly and helpful, the facilities are quite good but it's a long walk to the toilet block from the far end of the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 118 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night en-route to Skye. For what we needed (late arrival, early departure) the site was absolutely perfect. The camping pitches are gently sloping and sheltered but there are still great views of the mountains.

The facilities were absolutely fine, and the wardens helpful. You will not be able to park right next to your tent but this makes for a nicer feel.

This would make a great base camp for walking around Glencoe. If you like a great pub with good beers and atmosphere, visit the Clachaig Inn about 5 mins drive. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ScotMan 1 review from this member

 This site just has everything going for it : location; scenery; walks, climbs and cycle runs; friendly and efficient wardens;

Well-equipped facilities block located discretely in woodland.

Top marks all round. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soozndave 6 reviews from this member

 Very picturesque site surrounded by the mountains of glencoe and only a mile walk to the village. Was a bit disappointed by the standard of the tent pitches, the ground was very bumpy and boggy in parts and we struggled to find an area flat enough for our fairly large tent.

We moved to the next field which was slightly better but the grass was pretty long and could have done with a cut. There is only one toilet block which is a bit of a trek and it closes at 10. 30 for cleaning, which I felt was a bit early.

Saying that, it was lovely and clean and the showers were some of the best Iíve seen on a campsite. The facilities were limited for a ccc site, you had to pay to use the freezer for ice packs and there was no microwave to use.

Iíve never had to pay to use a freezer before. We booked in for 3 nights but left after 2, the drizzle and long grass combo was soaking us through from the feet up and there was no play area for the kids so they were a bit fed up. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ellelouise 1 review from this member

 Arrived a bit later than we intended so pitch we got was not the best. Most of the best pitches were taken by a large group from Germany, not that it was a problem.

The site is generally in an oblong area which in the centre is just a bumpy hill where some tents were pitched.

Only one toilet block at the entrance which closed in the morning for cleaning 10. 30 to 12pm‼️

Have to use the disabled family toilet when the block is closed.

At the time I went there was a queue for this one toilet. I asked the cleaner if I could use the toilet in the block but she was not happy at all about it.

Think as this a club site someone needs to review the facilities at this site‼️‼️

Until they build another block Iím afraid I wonít be returning to this site as a matter of fact we had booked 3 nights only stayed one then left to go to Invercoe on Kinlochleven. Much nicer. No code, no fuss, no problems and beautiful views. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ballachulish      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3088 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement