Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Outer Bounds Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Llanrhystud > Outer Bounds Camping Reviews

Outer Bounds Camping
Bwlch Gwynt
Llanrhystud
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 5EH
Tel: 01974272444  or  07847076038
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 9
Open: March Until November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Runningman856 3 reviews from this member

 A site that really defies categorisation! It has only 9 pitches so it's quiet. Very quiet! It's well off the beaten track, and you'll encounter few others around other than your fellow campers. The pitches are spaced apart and separated by hedges and wild blackberry bushes, but most are small and most are sloped (even the flatter pitches had bumps and ridges), and the overall impression gives the look and feel of wild camping. Be warned that only one pitch can be accessed by car, so you'll have to carry everything from the car parking area by the entrance (not ideal if you have a large heavy tent). The facilities are VERY basic. In fact this is my gripe about the site - you're paying standard rates for sub-standard facilities. However, if basic is what you want then you'll probably not be bothered. There is a toilet/shower block which is an ancient farm outbuilding. You have to press a button and wait for up to an hour for the water to get hot for a shower. There is one tiny sink with no hot water for washing. One of the two showers was broken. You might not be bothered by any of this, but to me, I was a bit surprised to be paying the same fees as sites with much better facilities. Obviously, there is no wifi. I had to walk around to get a phone signal (Virgin).

To sum up; It's very basic. More suited to smaller tents. If you like roughing it and value privacy and peace & quiet then this is for you. If you like mod cons then it won't be to your liking. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 21 reviews from this member

 Had a great weekend away at this little hideaway campsite. The site can be hard to find but our sat nav did get us there. They have great directions on their website if you don't trust yours.

The owners are lovely and met us on arrival. We were lucky to have the site all to ourselves so we got to pitch where we liked.

The house and the toilet block are on one side of the road and the site on the other. Don't be put off by having to cross a road. We saw or heard zero traffic the whole time we where there as you really are off the beaten track.

The site has nine pitches in total varying of different sizes, all are sheltered, some on slopes and others are level. You have to book the pitch you want before arrival as it all depends on your tent size.

Don't be put off by not being able to drive to your pitch either, we take the world with us when camping. Its only a short walk from the small car park to all the pitches through little paths in between the trees and hedges. Wheel barrows are available to lug the bigger bits of gear you might bring.

I'd suggest that this site isn't for first time campers. Its a rustic back to basics camping experience, there's no on site bar, shop or even hot water (apart from the lovely hot showers) Just the site I've been looking for.

The facilities on site are basic though there is a washing machine in the unisex toilet block. There's two showers and two toilets, wash basins and that's your lot. The hot water has to be turned on and left for an hour before you can shower, so a bit of planning ahead is needed. The block is made of reclaimed materials and really does look awesome. The facilities where clean and well looked after. Even if the site was full I don't think you would have any problems. In the camping field there's a communal area for everyone to get together, there's a covered long bench, fire pit, swings, a slide and a washing up sink (cold water only). Its also where the drinking water tap is.

Fire pits are dotted about for you to use near your tent, bags of wood are under a tarp near the car park at the entrance to the site, an honesty tub is attached to the fence for buying large bags of wood. Its really cheap, 1. 50 for kindling and 2. 50 for logs. One large sack lasted me all weekend. The amount of wood you get would normally be 20 if they were in those green netted bags.

This site is great for star gazing, no light pollution what so ever. Sat outside my tent in front of a fire and not a soul in sight, no road noise. Absolutely perfect.

I'd recommend this site to anyone who has been camping a few times. Couples, families alike, Being a small site in the middle of nowhere is perfect for kids.

Bring everything with you, There is no near by shops. The town of Aberaeron is a 20 minute drive away and is a great place to visit for the day, Its got great pubs and restaurants, The chippy is excellent also. You either have to drive to Lampeter or Aberystwyth to find supermarkets.

We will be visiting it again next year, I just wish it didn't take four and half hours for us to get there. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MezandTom 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely, lovely campsite. Very quiet and out of the way but the website directions were fantastic. Everything is basic but clean. The shower/toilet doors are made with reclaimed wood. The toilet block is tiled with a different type of reclaimed tile for every row. There were jam jars with flowers left on the window sill and a good selection of information on the local area as well as a few novels and a box full of readers digests. The only thing you have to pay for is the washing machine. The toilets are very close by and we never waited. The lovely lady gave us pitch 1 right next to the play area so our young children could run right out of the tent and play. Each of the 8 (only 8!) pitches is sheltered and very private. You know exactly who should be on site because it's so small so you feel safe letting your children run around. There were two other families with children and our kids just ran around together getting up to mischief and having a whale of a time. It really made the holiday for our daughter. There was a box of outdoor toys and a box of indoor toys which we borrowed on a rainy day. I can see if you don't appreciate rustic then it's not your type of campsite but we loved it (and I'm a must have hot showers on the campsite type). It's very eco-friendly - hence the reclaimed materials and very good recycling bins - which means that you have to turn the hot water on a while before you take your shower. Not a problem for us but if you don't like planning ahead it could be a problem. Only thing missing was a freezer, especially as the local shop didn't stock ice and Aberystwyth is a 20 minute drive, but a freezer wouldn't fit with the eco-friendly nature of the site. There were a few electric hook-up pitches though. Value for money is excellent. We were surprised at how little we paid. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul stanyer 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights mid september.

A fantastic site, only 9 pitches most seemed pretty level, each had a fire pit and each was very private with trees/hedges/bushes on 3 sides.

There is a small toilet/shower block, that was clean and also had a washing machine.

This place is well out of the way, about 4 miles from the nearest town /shops/pub, which was perfect for us.

We were a little apprehensive that we couldn't take the car to our pitch, however the furthest away from the carpark is only about 100yards so carrying all your stuff is not a problem.

Some of the pitches are 'snug' and most would not fit more than one tent, so if you are in a family group with more than one tent, you may not all get on the same pitch.

I have put the rating for child friendliness as 10, there is a small play area, however there is little else for them to do, other than play in the woods, build dens, watch the Red Kites flying nearby and just generally be kids.

To sum up, if you want a simple quiet 'wild' camping experience then this is the place to head for and we can highly recommend you pay it a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lmrt 11 reviews from this member

 Ceredigion is the only 'main' area of Wales we haven't visited so thought we would head there this year. I had seen this campsite advertised last year so went straight for it, and were glad we did.

As others have said, this is a basic site, which suits us down to the ground, but I must admit as we approached and saw the wreck of a truck on the left just before the cottage we did wonder what we were coming to HOWEVER the site is great!

There are only nine pitches and each one is very much on it's own with bushes and trees between each pitch, only a couple have electricity (again not an issue for us), but each pitch has it's own spot for a fire if that's your thing.

Facilities are simple with two toilets and two showers (always very clean) and a place to wash your dishes, although no hot water.

There is also a play area for younger (pre-teen) children, and that's about it!

All of this adds up to campers who want very basic, but clean facilities, a rural retreat, a bit of peace and quiet, and a good base to explore the area.

Oh, and it was good value too.

The only two negatives (if you can call them that) were that the pitch we were on sloped a reasonable bit which wasn't great and it would be nice to have a tap in the toilet block that was hot - but I think the practicalities of this here wouldn't be easy.

Recommended! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mickas 1 review from this member

 We found a hidden Gem of a site in our favourite part of Wales.

A warm welcome followed by peace and quiet. No silly rules and a relaxed attitude. Within a few minutes of our arrival We said to each other that we would definitely come again. Nice to have a camp fire and kick back with a beer in the tranquil surroundings. Definitely recommend this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnny78 2 reviews from this member

 Booked for a week, stayed for 2

What a wonderful site this is, a short drive from the coastal town of Llanrhystud, which has a great secluded beach.

Lovely, friendly owners.

I was camping on my own for a bit of peace and quiet, when I turned up I was lucky enough to be the first one there, so had my pick of pitches.

Bar b ques and campfires allowed, which always adds a touch of 'proper' camping feel

I would definitely recommend this site without hesitation, and will be going back.

During the week, chatting with other campers, (a mixture of couples and families) they all had a similar view of the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PrincessLulu 1 review from this member

 I think you would be hard pushed to find a more beautiful spot to pitch a tent. This is the perfect place to unwind. Soothed by birdsong, sheltered by trees. The pitches are so well spaced out and individual, there is one, I'm sure, to suit every camper.

We chose a pitch at the top of the site, a level circle, enclosed on three sides by trees. Logs are 2. 50 a sack from a pile at the bottom of the site, it is just lovely to while away an evening with a fire. I doubt there are many gems like this left. If you want some peace and tranquillity, this is the place to come. Serena gave us a warm welcome and kept the facilities spotless. There are two showers and two loos. It was brilliant to be able to go for a shower together and share the soap! There is a big picnic table which gets the sun into the evening, we sat here to enjoy a takeaway curry and a bottle of red. There is a washing machine and room for kids to play. A few miles down the idilic winding lane is Llanrhystud, here there is a pub with food, a post office and a costcutter attached to a garage.

We left feeling relaxed and happy. A lovely place to stay.  


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robo710 18 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at this campsite. Has to be one of the most peaceful sites that we have been on as we were the only people on the site this week apart from the early morning bird song where earplugs come in handy. The site is a place to chill out. Pitches are well spaced out to give some privacy rare on most sites. We were on pitch 8 which was the largest on the site with EHU like to have some comfort. Most of the sites seem to have a degree of sloping but not too severe. Facilities are basic but clean. Some form of hot water for washing up would be nice. Campfire wood is available at a reasonable cost. Makes a good base for touring the Cardigan area at a reasonable price. All in all thoroughly enjoyed. Would use again 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blondie81 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a wonderful 2 nights at Outer Bounds. The campsite only has 8 pitches each in its own secluded area surrounded by trees and wild plants.

If you want a peaceful back to nature camp site then this is for you. There is a small toilet/shower block which is very clean and best of all is FREE. There is a small freezer for you to keep iceblocks should you need it and even a place to charge mobiles is you need access to the wider world.

The owner has very thoughtfully erected a waterproof canopy over the long communal bench which was a god send on our second night when the rain turned heavy. We sat at the table with our camping stove, cooked and chatted whilst listening to the rain.

There are 2 swings and a slide on site along with a box of assorted bats/balls/toy cars to keep younger ones happy, there were only 2 children staying while we were there and I confess there probably are sites better suited to the needs of more energetic youngsters, it depends on how happy the children in question are at back to basics, good clean fun that involves a little self imagination.

We drove into New Quay during the day which took just over 30 mins, closer to home there is a smaller village with a few shops and a pub ( around a 10 min drive).

For us as a couple I can't praise this campsite or its owners enough, it was perfect for the kind of 'get away from it all' break we were looking for. Peter obviously works very hard to make this campsite look as natural as possible whilst maintaining lovely flat pitches and meandering walkways, it looks as though you've stumbled upon a secluded glade in a wild flower woodland where there just happens to be a ready made fire pit and wood for sale (just 2 a bag).

If you go camping for the Saturday night campsite disco and the games arcade then this is not the place for you, but if you like that wild camping feel with just a touch of convenience then, like us, I'm sure you will love this place! 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Outer Bounds Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Outer Bounds Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Outer Bounds Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanrhystud      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5386 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020