Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pont De Fournil Camping

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Pont De Fournil Camping Reviews

Pont De Fournil Camping
St Laurent Des Hommes
Mussidan
Dordogne
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24400
Tel: 0033553819752
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6 - 8
Open: 01/06/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buckcello 1 review from this member

 A fantastic campsite that is very well run and very well organised by the owners/host. Very relaxed feel, well priced, friendly, welcoming and completely safe and secure, where everything and anything that a person can possibly need has been carefully thought out in advance.

The site accommodates tents, caravans, camper vans and also has guest houses/Gites on site.

Private and clean hot shower cubicles, two lovely large lakes, tennis court, BBQ's allowed, Wi-Fi available, washing machine, communal fridge and freezer, indoor washing up area, information given, beautiful pool to take dip in, boats to use as desired.

We turned up for the night and ended up staying a week. That says it all! Highly recommended and Big Thanks goes to the campsite owners who are professional, helpful, accommodating and do everything they can to give information about the local area and the surrounds. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: B4bardsley 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic stay in Pont De Fournil having stayed for 3 weeks in our touring caravan. The site is set on a gorgeous river that slowly meanders around the campsite ( River L'isle) with a lovely fishing lake in the middle. The site has 10 huge pitches with electrical hook-ups and would accommodate large caravans or motor homes with plenty of room to spare.

The setting is stunning and set on a large wooded area with a green in the middle which was fantastic for our kids to play cricket with the other children. The great thing about the site is its rural and tranquil setting, unlike some of the large touristy sites that you find in the Dordogne. The shower block is immaculate and cleaned twice a day and the showers have plenty of hot water. There is a laundry and wash room attached to the shower block with various sports equipment free to use including tennis rackets for the tennis courts and a book exchange point.

All the pitches have some shade but also lots of opportunity to soak up the sun, essential for our ritual evening wine, watching the sun go down over the river!

The village is a short drive ( or cycle ride in my case) and is lovely and sleepy. There is a bakers selling fresh bread and the like and also some small shops to pick up the essentials ( including English newspapers if you feel the need). There is also a bar but we have never been in as we prefer drinking outside our awning! Montpon and Mussidan are the two nearest towns, about a 10 min drive away. There are plenty of supermarkets in both but we tended to use the Liddle which had everything we needed ; particularly the cheap wine.

Bergerac is a 30 min drive and is gorgeous to visit; particularly the markets. One of our favourite places is Archachon and the dunes (largest sand dune in Europe, unmissable but go when it's cooler).

This is our fourth visit to this campsite and we absolutely love it. We always stay for 3 weeks ( teacher !) and will be going back again next year. Our two children ( 9&12) love the fact that they can roam free and safely on the site and make lasting friendships with other children. They loved playing in the free canoes and boats and swimming in the river. The swimming pool also got loads of attention too.

Finally the owners, Karen, Ricky, Betty and Keith ( all English) are fantastic hosts and will do all they can to make your holiday fantastic. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Noswap 1 review from this member

 We had a really nice stay here, stayed for 1 week fished the lake and river with good results.

Toilets nice & clean and we had a big pitch very close to the river and enjoyed a glass of wine or 2 on the river bank as the sun went down

We enjoyed the cycling in this part of the dordogne quite flat and not far to local towns and villages.

Plenty of space for children to play in the centre of the site and good canoeing on the river and lake

This site has only 7 or 8 pitches and all our neighbours were really nice especially Norma & Eddie who let us finish our last meal in there awning as it rained and we had packed everything away

Overall a nice quiet site to get away from it all, we will return soon

John & Ruth 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Z - J Bodnar 1 review from this member

 Stuck in paradise!

Whilst touring France in the Easter holiday we had car trouble and pulled in to this small family campsite. It was pre season so the site was not yet open. Despite this the owners took us in and helped us whilst we arranged for our car to be fixed. We ended up staying there for two weeks in this iidilic location. There is a river running at the bottom of the site, a gorgeous fishing lake, tennis court and swimming pool. The pitch was large with 16 amp electric hook up, don't forget your European adapter!

As always we used our own facilities whilst the owners were preparing for their season, they were busy upgrading the spacious shower blocks and retiling the gorgeous swimming pool. There are also three lovely Gites overlooking the lake.

The owners are English but had a good knowledge of the local area as they have lived there for many years.

We explored the local villages on bikes picking up fresh bread each morning from the local bakery. There are several supermarkets within 10 minutes drive. There were amazing places to visit nearby including St Emilion, and Brantome. We also spent some time on the river in the owners little boat going through the lovely countryside. If you are adventurous you can go through the locks and explore the villages further away.

Despite the traumatic car problems, we had an amazing stay thanks to Karen, Ricky, Keith and Betty opening their site for us. We will definitely return to this lovely place in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pegasus2 1 review from this member

 This was our second stay at Pont de fournil we just love it. With it being a small CL type of campsite it suited us rather than the larger commercial sites. It had everything we wanted, a nice shower block with piping hot water, which were cleaned every day, unfortunately the odd camper did not wipe the shower cubicle out with mop and bucket provided by the owners. It had a utility room with sinks for preparing food and washing pots and also a fridge freezer which came in useful in the hot weather. In the corner of the room were information leaflets of places to visit, which was very handy.

They were also a few books for you to read if you wanted to chill out. They were plenty of things for the children to do, swings, table tennis, tennis court, pedalo, rowing boat, canoe with life jackets all provided free of charge and a nice swimming pool which was a godsend in the high temperatures.

There were many places to visit in the Dordogne, Bergerac, Brantome, Perigeaux, St Emillion, Bordeaux (use Tram Park and Ride so easy), last but not least Arcachon(dunes) absolutely stunning. Shopping is no trouble, there are two large supermarkets and a Lidl ten minutes drive and three minutes drive to the local village where there is a bread shop and a general store.

We hope to go back again and meet two couples we made friends with who had invited us to a birthday party and a Sunday roast they were such lovely couples. The campsite has a road running along side which has the odd lorry or tractor and local traffic, we soon got use to it. We would certainly recommend this site to anyone. The owners were always there if you wanted any help but gave you plenty of space also. Thank you Karen, Ricky, Betty and Keith for a brilliant holiday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MelSiCarrington 6 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as we were looking for a small campsite in the Dordogne area, we stayed there at the beginning of September (once all the kids were back at school) which meant we were the only campers on site (and a couple staying in a gite), this was great for us as we had almost exclusive use of the swimming pool which was kept very clean, it is not heated but was warm enough for us, we also had use of the canoe and rowing boat which we took out a couple of times.

The shower block was what we expected, a decent shower and toilet area with mirror, however the shower did get inhabited with bugs (which you can accept as campers) but it wasn't very clean.

The campsite was centrally located to many towns, we enjoyed Bergerac & Saint Emilion, as well as supermarkets at Mussidan and Montpon, the local village of Saint Laurent Des Hommes is small but has a nice bar with friendly staff and a lovely bakers. The owner was helpful when we needed but gave us space and privacy too. Overall we would recommend this campsite but think the facilities may struggle when at full capacity. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracyannie 2 reviews from this member

 What a find, we've recently returned from a fabulous 2 weeks at Pont De Fournil and will definitely be returning! From the moment we arrived and were shown to our pitch we were welcomed by everyone, even given a beer and a lemonade before the van was unhooked by the wonderful couple next door to us. The site itself is in a beautiful, relaxed setting with the pool and lake on one side and the river the other. Although there is a road running alongside it, it is a relatively quiet road leading to the local village and mostly seemed to be used by local traffic and agricultural vehicles which after a while we just didn't notice it. Having a caravan obviously means we don't need to use all the facilities in the utilities and shower blocks, but there were 2 large washing areas as well as a washing machine which was very useful indeed! The showers were a little tired but the water was always piping hot and powerful. Although there were some issues with the edge of the pool, the owners were aware of this and told us they were dealing with it. Despite this the pool was a godsend in the baking hot weather and was certainly welcomed by all. Whenever we have been on holiday before we have always done a lot of exploring of the local area but to be honest we rarely ventured out. The supermarket in Mussidan was a 5/10 minute drive away and had everything we needed, and Bergerac is definitley worth a day out for. If you like camping in busy places with tons of facilities and entertainment this is not going to be for you, but if you love just chillin' out with great company and your children having the freedom to play and entertain themselves we would highly recommend Pont De Fournil. Thank you Karen, Ricky and Betty for a fabulous holiday 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meps 8 reviews from this member

 Its a while since a review has been posted about this site. We went on previous reviews but were quite disappointed, we agree that the pitches were huge, right by the river with free use of boat etc. Was lovely. However we were pretty much left to our own devices on arrival, didn't see the owner (knocked on door of house to book in) and didn't see them for a few days. Seems like the personal touch has been lost a bit. We were not told much about the area, apart from being directed to a folder in the room where the washing machine was but generally thought a bit of effort and TLC is needed here. The toilets/showers got pretty grim throughout the day because the toilet was in the same room as the shower so full of grass and mud in no time. The main road was really noisy due to HGV's trundling past starting from the early hours. The pool was in need of some TLC with edges broken and sharp. The toilets are quite a way from the pool so if kids need a wee 'mid swim' they had to go all the way across the field to the toilet block. Locally its a long way from main attractions in the Dordogne like Sarlat although trip to Brantome well worth it. Its also about 7km from nearest hypermarket but Boulangerie and newsagent is about 1. 5km away. Probably won't be coming back to this site, overall opinion - soul-less! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matthewandalice 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two weeks in August and had a great holiday.

Weather was incredible- 2 weeks of unbroken sunshine. We booked as the pitches were described as large and we had a huge pitch with shade and EHU.

Booking process was slightly problematic but a couple of phone calls/emails sorted it all out.

With 4 young children the pool was an absolute jewel. Yes the sides are a bit broken but in 30 degree heat it was very welcome.

The site has a fishing lake and is on the river Isle. There is a canoe and rowing boat (minus a rollock making rowing difficult!)

Toilet facilities are a little tierd but plenty of hot water. Talking to other campers we all felt that they could have benefitted from a refurbishment but more importantly they could perhaps be cleaned more often.

Not much interaction with owners who could have maybe done more in terms of information about local markets/things to do. Most of their information file was full of reviews by past campers. My wife found a list of local markets at the tourist office and placed it in the kitchen area.

That said the benefits of the site outweigh any small issues there may have been and we are likely to book for 2 weeks next year.

St Emillion is well worth a visit as is Bordeaux.

Mostly English campers staying for a week or two which allowed our children to make some real friends and for us adults to have chats over the odd bottle of red wine !

Very quiet after 10pm as nothing on site in terms of entertainment and miles from nearest town.

We were not disturbed by the road which is not the main/busy road some previous posts refer to. The area is rural and so the odd truck/combine/tractor is to be expected.

Overall a great little site which we all enjoyed which afforded us peace and a very relaxing holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JimClews 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from two idyllic weeks at Pont de Fournil.

On arrival we were met by the friendly owners and shown to our pitch which overlooked the beautiful river, and was only 30 seconds away from the toilet and shower block.

The pitches are huge and well spaced, some are under trees for shade and have hardstandings for vans.

The shower block is kept clean, and we didn't have to queue for a shower during our stay. Next to the shower block is a utility room with washing up sinks, a washing machine (3 per wash) and also has a fridge/freezer which is free to use - given that the temps were up in the 30's during our stay, the fridge and the ability to refreeze our iceblocks made the whole trip much more pleasant (and kept my beers icy cold!)

The swimming pool is clean and larger than it seems in the photo's and very welcome on a hot day. The owners also provide a small rowing boat and canoe free of charge (with life jackets!) for use on the river (l'Isle). There's also a fishing lake and you can fish on the river with a French permit. We didn't catch much, but given the day time temperatures that's not suprising!

We had a couple of rainy days and one spectacular storm, but other than that the weather was great, even late into August (25 to 35 degrees!).

Locally the shops at Montpon and Mussidan are excellent - the Inter Marche at Montpon is larger and open on Sunday mornings.

We visited Brantome, Perigeaux, Bergerac and Bordeaux, all of which are worth a visit. Top tip for Bordeaux is to use the Tram park and ride, 3 for all day parking and four tram tickets into the city and back!

The owners helped us out, and I can't fault their level of service - they're unobtrusive, but there when needed!

I'd recommend Pont de Fournil to anyone! 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pont De Fournil Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Pont De Fournil Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pont De Fournil Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Pont De Fournil Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dordogne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3256 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement