Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newtown Cove Caravan Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > County Waterford > Newtown Cove Caravan Park Reviews

Newtown Cove Caravan Park
Tramore
County Waterford
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 051 381979
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April 5 To September 30

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DEMENTEDAUNTIE 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights so we could visit Waterford, which is easily reached by a regular bus service from a stop a short walk away. That meant we didn't have time to visit locally other than a walk down to the cove, which is pretty. The first night of our stay there was a storm which knocked out the power to the boiler several times, the last occasion needing an engineer to visit so no hot water and a delayed departure on our last morning.

The family room has a huge tv but was very cold and not very welcoming. You can get free wifi in the family room, but as it was often locked and the signal weak it was not ideal. The pitches are close together, though as we were really pre season, this was not a problem and we were invited to pick a spot most protected from the storm. You do pay for showers but this is quite common in Ireland. Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ositstomc 2 reviews from this member

 Family of 4 travelling in a large Conway trailer tent. Very impressed with the campsite, toilet block was immaculate, campsite well kept and overall a very well presented site. Pitches were more than adequate in size no issues with manoeuvrings on a weekend that was near capacity.

Friendly helpful staff seemed to working around the clock.

Price was inline with all campsites in Ireland, €35 incl electricity per night.

Although the campsite does have WIFI available I found this a complete waste of money as response was poor at best even during quiet hours.

Overall, a quiet small site in a fab location close to all amenities, local cove is lovely, beach is a childs dream, Splashworld is heaven on a wet day and the all year carnival is great fun for all the family.

Will return to this site in 2014 :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 3-6-6.com 16 reviews from this member

 Immaculate campsite with lawns mowed every day, spotless toilets, lots of facilities. However is pretty expensive and everything seems to be charged extra: spent 25 Euros on laundry, have to pay for showers (1 Euro lasts 5 mins) and bath, cooking and even hairdryers. WiFi is 10 Euros per week. This all seems a bit steep when you are already paying about 40 Euros per night. Pitches are small and very close together, though well-maintained and hard standing. Very busy, felt crowded, and had to take a key every time you needed the toilet which seemed a little OTT and very inconvenient for the kids. There is a small basketball/hurling court and sand playground for the kids but it is right in the middle of accommodation and so probably annoying for older, non-kid orientated travellers. A great deal of rules, including no cycling which seems a real shame considering how many families were here. In a 29 foot RV with car it was VERY VERY difficult to get around the busy site and almost impossible (15 mins of shunting) to use the dump station. Is located through a housing estate and has a roundabout, so quite hard to get into. Staff were very friendly and helpful, but reception did not stick to its opening hours. Walkable is Newtown Cove which was small, covered in litter and full of seaweed. Its about 3km to walk into Tramore itself, which has a big sandy beach and lots of facilities. Would probably not recommend to those seeking space and relaxation: but probably good for those who want to meet an awful lot of other campers, lots of kids and who like their rules! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Angharad71 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site which is convenient for Waterford. There's a lot there for children- play area, games room and regular films in the TV lounge. The downside was that there were lots of children roaming and screeching until quite late at night.

The toilets blocks were very clean- though it is one euro for a shower or bath.

Within walking distance there is Newton Cove beach which is a pretty little stony cove with good swimming and diving. There is nothing else really in walking distance, but you can walk up to the main road and get a bus to Waterford or Tramore.

Food and drinks can be found in the Rocket pub which is about 15 minute walk up a narrow country lane. It is a very friendly place and very child friendly.

The biggest drawback for this site is the size of the pitches. Cosy isn't in it! Our guy ropes were touching next door's wheels and some units had guy ropes crossing over. They really pack you in and consequently it feels quite cramped.

In short it's a handy spot but if you want to be able to walk around your tent/ caravan without walking into next door's awning perhaps it would be best to ask for two pitches! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buttercupw 12 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and well organised site. Facilities are immaculate. We did find the pitches small and pitches are very close together. This is a popular site and it is very very busy. There is a good children's playground located in the middle of the site but if you are pitched near it its quite noisy. Location is excellent and getting to the site is easy - nice wide roads giving easy access. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 Newtown Cove was our first stop during our two week tour of Ireland. The trip from Rosslare took about 90 mins, but we had to depend on road signs and a map as the sat nav was hopeless, but the site was easy to find. We were allocated a pitch that was not huge but ideal for a motorhome.
We stayed for 2 nights and the weather was scorching so we sat out for most of it. Near to the site is a cove where the locals were swimming in the sea but I didn’t brave it! There is also a pub nearby that served great food. The shower cost €1 a wash but you get loads of time. All the other facilities here are great. Only downside the TV reception is dire. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ex-pat 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site three times over the years, because the cove nearby is the best fun place I know on the South coast for experienced swimmers and rock-divers. This is because the tides are relatively predictable and safe here, and there are always local swimmers there to warn you if it's likely to get rough. One part used to be a 'men-only' bathing area in the bad old days - the sign is still there!

The site's been pretty full each time we went, it's great value for an elegant area with fine local walks, so do book. It has good pitches, facilities and shop, a sandpit and playground, and apparently more in the last two years.

But for proper football you'd need to go the 2 miles down to Tramore strand. There are lovely buildings in town, though it's hard to think of a UK equivalent for the front with its fairground - some resort near Liverpool or Cardiff, in the Sixties, but cosier? Maybe it's changed, but they all look better after dark, and the smell of diesel and chips - pure nostalgia! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sarac 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site during our tour of Ireland. The site is very well kept and the toilets / showers are very clean and efficient, although you only get 5 minutes in the shower which was very quick for me with long hair! My only nag was some of the pitches are small and too close to each other (including ours).
Newtown Cove is about 2 miles or so from Tramore, but in agreement with the other reviewers, don't even go there. Its a horrible tacky place with fun fair, overpriced junk food, and a filthy beach. On the other hand, Dunmore East which is just around the coast is picturesque and clean. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cauliman 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for one night on our way to Cork from the Roslare ferry port. We were struggling to make it for the 10pm curfew but the owner did keep the gate open until we arrived about ten minutes late which was helpful of him.

There don't seem to be many campsites in Ireland (probably because it rains most of the time) but those that do exist seem to be very well kept - and this is no exception. The grass, hedges etc are very well tended and the toilet block is immaculate.

The pitches are well marked but as the site is quite formal there isn't much room for kids to kick footballs.

Tramore isn't a particularly nice town, unless you're mad keen on fairground rides, and you cannot really walk there from the site.

However the village of Ardmore just down the road is one of our favorite places in Ireland with a wide sandy beach and a round tower which was used by early Christian monks as protection from invaders (Vikings I think). There is a coastal walk around the headland at Ardmore which takes a couple of hours and is well worth the effort.

This is a good site but it gets quite busy so it's definitely best to book ahead. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulbambi 37 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very friendly and helpful owners, the walk to the cove was about 1 mile downhill and had a fantastic walk into Tramore around the coastal path, it felt along way with a 6 year old in tow shouting are we  there yet! Tramore is not a brilliant place but has all the mod cons you would expect, a little fun fair,pubs,takeaways galore.  Just down from the campsite is a very well stocked spar shop.  The showers at this site are brilliant, they have slate floors! and the showers are on a token system but lasted a very long time.  The only issue I had was that it was so immaculate it was like parking in someones back garden, but hey that is not really a complaint. Would return if we were in the area again. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Newtown Cove Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newtown Cove Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Newtown Cove Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8014 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement