Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Garrison Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Isles Of Scilly > Isles Of Scilly > Garrison Campsite Reviews

Garrison Campsite
St Marys
Isles Of Scilly
Isles Of Scilly   (Browse area)
TR21 0LS
Tel: 01720 422670
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Estherfinch 1 review from this member

The site is lovely, but some hooks in the ladies' showers in block A would make such a difference! Also the shop opening hours were quite limited which made it hard to get back to the site in time to pick up charged phones etc.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woodya10 8 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to the Scilly Isles and certainly not our last. The campsite is very good with flat large pitches in very good condition. The location is fantastic, 5 minutes walk to the town, 5 minutes walk to the sea. We had an electric hook-up which was very good. The only down side was the shower/toilet block which tended to be dirty all week long. We only saw it being cleaned once. It costs £1 for a 5 minute shower, which I thought was fine and once you've sorted out a routine for putting the pound in and running into the correct shower, it was all fine. Basically one of the best laid out sites we've been to in a fantastic location (the sunsets are amazing when viewed from the gun emplacements). We would recommend this site to anyone, but beware of the shower/toilet block. We liked it so much we're booking it up for next year.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 176 reviews from this member

Have to agree with all aspects of previous review so really just an additional update. This is an unspoilt, natural site with breath-taking views, however don't expect 5 star toilets, they are functional and clean and yes there is that dreaded £1 charge for a shower-ok if a single traveller. Luggage transferred to and from the quay to site and back again for a small fee. Lovely site to introduce children to nature if you can drag them away from the modern age. A steep climb back to the site from Hugh town is a nuisance but there are taxis. Paid £9/night for a single traveller in April. And the shop was shut during my visit as it was out of season but no problem as there was a supermarket and pubs down the hill.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SmallB 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here Sept 2013 for a week in a tent without hookup. The site is very large with two main areas each of which has its own toilet block. Within these two areas however the fields are split up into smaller areas by hedges and trees which makes the site very private and cosy.

The owners are helpful and friendly and there is a shop selling most of the basics including trangia meths, gas, eggs (sold individually), bread, wine etc. The shop did have some restrictions in opening times although it was very quiet when I was there so probably not much point in staying open all hours.

One of the toilet blocks was shut when I was there as the site was so quiet so I camped near the one furthest from the shop. Facilities are perfectly in order for camping and I'm not sure why other reviewers have mentioned cleanliness as they were fine when I was there. Also there are hairdyers (20p), laundry (£5), iron (20p), clothes dryers (50p for 15 mins).

The washing area was large and clean and there was also a stock of items that previous campers had left which was a really lovely touch, items left included cooking oil, pasta, sun cream, bowls, washing up liquid - all manner of useful bits and pieces. I've seen this only on one other site in Iceland and always wished sites here would do it more. I did my bit and left some unused trangia meths, a lighter and a nearly full tub of shower gel.

The only downsides I had of the site were the showers which were £1 each for 5 mins. The water was plentiful and hot when you were in but you have no control over when the shower comes on or the temperature or power of the water. All you can do is put in your pound (in a machine outside of the shower) and it comes on and there's a mad dash to get in for as long as poss. You really do need a strategy and plan to use these showers! Tip: roll up your trouser legs before you put the money in as they will get soaked.

The only other downside for me was the sheer amount of signs everywhere saying you can't do this or that or you should put this there or not put that there etc. Seemed a bit of an overkill.

Overall I would definitely recommend the site to others and would definitely use it again if on Scilly. It's well run, peaceful and a pleasure to stay in.

Ps: the birds on the site are an absolute joy, very tame and will eat out of your hand and perch on your feet.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 176 reviews from this member

Third time to this large, very sheltered site on top of the Garrison and as mentioned previously your luggage is efficiently transferred to and from the quay. Yes the toilet block is a little basic but clean and functional and as to the showers the £1 cost probably relates to the delicate water supply of the islands and 5 mins is adequate for myself but perhaps not for a family. Very quiet at night with plenty of tame birds to feed, some out of the hand. The site shop sells most basics including some interesting local bottled beers otherwise most things are available from the town at the bottom of the hill, for those not wanting the walk back a taxi is £4. The nearest bar is the Dungeon bar in the Star Castle hotel which is open to non residents and saves the walk down the hill.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CornishGazza 1 review from this member

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. No complaints whatsoever, we had a great five days based here. The service from the owners and their staff was excellent, courteous and professional. Thoroughly recommend the collection / delivery service for bags to and from the Scillonian that the campsite offer. It's worth every penny of the small fee that is charged.

We found the facilities to all be functional and clean and what we expect from a campsite. The grounds are well maintained and there's wildlife aplenty if your up and about early enough. The location is simply stunning with beautiful walks and some great history right on the doorstep.

The showers have come in for some negative reviews but we had no problems during our stay with hot water throughout. Five minutes is more than enough for a decent wash!

Overall a great experience that my wife and I will look to repeat next year.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LovedayLorelei 1 review from this member

This is a beautiful campsite because of its postion and the views that surround it but we are a family of 5 and we have camped many times in England, France and Italy and never had to pay full price for the children. It's a whopping £11 per person per night, adult or child, for the summer holidays 2012 and as others have mentioned, charging £1 for showers just adds insult to injury. I can't believe there are no concessions for the children, I'm afraid it just adds to the general feeling you get everywhere on the islands that they don't really want to encourage families but well-off retired people.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CAMPTASTIC1234 1 review from this member

PROS:

Fabulous position

Level pitches

Electric hook up

Sheltered site

Large but well carved up fields so each area feels intimate

Playing field and play park next door

Shop on site

Kit transported to and from quay to site (for a fee)

CONS:

Only campsite on St Mary's so no motivation for owners of site to offer competitive rates or facilities

Everything costs and costs a lot. The pitches are expensive, it costs to freeze your freezer blocks, it costs to charge your phone, it costs to have a shower and it costs (a lot) to do your washing.

The showers are the campers major cause for complaint; £1 for 5 minutes and the facilities are poor and outdated. The coin operated boxes into which you feed your quid are outside the shower cubicle meaning you lose at least 30 seconds of your valuable 5 minutes rushing back into the cubicle and stripping off for your shower.

If you're showering kids, it's even more chaotic. There are no shelves in the showers and the floors are filthy. For the prices campers are paying, the showers should (in our opinion) be free but at the very least, a couple of suction shelves for shampoo etc and a wooden shower mat to stand on while

You only have to spend 5 minutes in the shower block to hear someone complaining about the facilities. There is no denying that this is a wonderfully positioned site and given the cost of SC and hotel accommodation on the Scillys, the best value for money for many holiday makers.

It's a shame because as seasoned campers, we know that its the little things that make somewhere special and equally, the little things that can cloud a memory of wonderful holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joncombe 6 reviews from this member

This is the only campsite on St Mary's so if you want to camp here it's your only choice, so it's just as well it's a good one.

The site is very large with probably at least 10 different fields to use and you can even camp in the old moat. There are two toilet blocks each with toilets and showers and one also has a laundry. The site is large, mostly flat and there are loads of picnic tables about which is a nice touch.

Looking at it's location you might expect it to be exposed but it is in fact really sheltered so despite it being quite windy for a couple of days during my stay it wasn't a problem. The line of pine trees around the edge of the site probably helps. During my stay the site was really quiet too.

There is a footpath through the site to the Garrison walls where you can get good views over the other islands and watch the sun set.

The site has a shop which was open 9-10am and 5-6pm whilst I was there. There is also a Co-op in Hugh Town that is open 8am to 10pm daily (except Sundays when it is open from 10am to 4pm). It is about 10 minutes walk (although up hill on the way back so might take a bit longer).

The site is well located for the town and also the boats to the other islands. I used the helicopter and a shared taxi/minibus transfer from the airport costs £3. 50 each way. I believe the site also offers a transfer from the ferry if you come on the boat (but beware it leaves Penzance early!).

Electric hook ups are available. Note that cars are not permitted on the site which makes it nice and quiet and it's not a problem since there is no car ferry to the islands anway!

Only really one negative, the £1 charge for the showers is a pain as you have to make sure you have enough change. I imagine it a particular nuisance for families. I would rather the owners added £1 to the fees and dropped the charge for the showers.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr & Mrs Mungo 7 reviews from this member

What a brilliant campsite! Loads of room to space out amongst the hedged fields. We were lucky enough to have a whole field to ourselves for the week. Local celebrities included blackbirds, sparrows, starlings and thrushes which were all very friendly and keen for our crumbs. Rabbits and hedgehogs too, so keep your food nice and safe.

Very good layout with views to the sea and large toilet and shower blocks with plenty of hot water. Showers were £1 a go but lasted for 5 mins. Laundry room if you needed it.

Lovely walks just outside the campsite around The Garrison, but the best thing was the fabulous welcome we had from Terry & Jackie in the shop, where nothing was a problem.

The town was 10 minutes walk away (15 coming back) where all the shops, restaurants, pubs and ferries are there at your disposal.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isles Of Scilly

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019