Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Square And Compass

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Square And Compass > Reviews

Square And Compass
Station Road
Darley Bridge
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2EQ
Tel: 01629 733255
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 22 Reviews
                6/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lubeelou 4 reviews from this member

 The camping field wasn't open when we went but we were allowed to park our campervan for one night in their car park opposite for free if we had something to eat in the pub.

We had mince beef and onion pie and chips, the meal was really nice, the people in the pub were friendly.

There is one wet room/toilet for women and one for men accessible by a pin code lock so it can be used in the night when the pub is closed.

This is a great overnight stop. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: K5vda3 2 reviews from this member

 Nice and relaxed had to find the water tap,

Staff very friendly

Pub nice and clean, good food

Will definitely return. Dogs are allowed on site and in the pub which is a bonus because I have 2 dogs.

2 showers with hot water.

The cheapest campsite I have ever stayed on £5 per person 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nickh2 1 review from this member

 First time camping trip for my little girl and myself, so was a little apprehensive as to how things would pan out. As soon as I met Mandy and the staff my apprehension was eased.

So friendly and relaxed, first impressions and gut feeling are very important and you guys nailed it. Had an ace weekend and memories made for my little girl that Iím sure she will look back on with joy.

A real family atmosphere, relaxed vibe and we enjoyed it so much we have booked again for next weekend! Canít wait. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikep1 1 review from this member

 Very warm welcome from the land-lady on arrival, explained everything we needed, including best way to get to Matlock across the fields,

Only downside was toilets and shower block was next to the pub where the pitches were across the road, only a couple of minutes walk but would of been better if closer. 2 x toilets / showers, very clean

Would have no issue going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: VWanderlust 1 review from this member

 Stayed in the car park next to the field as the field was very boggy in places.

The pub itself is lovely and Mary and Simon were the perfect hosts. Food is good and the portions are hearty - great value for money.

Shower facilities have recently been refurbished into modern wet rooms with plenty of hot water and were kept clean despite the muddy foot traffic.

Had a great stay and would stay again but as a group would prefer to stay in the field where we could set up camp together. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MattBW 1 review from this member

 The location is beautiful, and there is a walking route right into Matlock, and plenty of other walking or cycling options too.

We have tried the area several times and without exception every campsite we have visited in this area seems to accept people on beyond their capacity and this was just the same.

In a nutshell the campsite was over-filled. Advert says 15 pitches, there was at least double that, maybe more. Like many campsites in the area there were no designated pitches just a free for all.

We were told to find a place to camp, we really struggled and yet several groups arrived after us too. Some parts concerned me as a fire risk and tents were so close together. It is right next to a road too so maybe no suitable for very little children and in the morning for some reason people driving past at 6am honked their horns.

The pub is a bit tired looking, but food and drink was good quality and there was even entertainment in the evening. The staff were friendly, welcoming and pleasant. There is also another pub within 5 minutes walk and the food there was good too.

There are 2 toilets for the campsite, which are also shower rooms. They were a little grubby but functional and fine but you can have quite a wait if it is as busy as it was this weekend. For the amount of people on site this was woefully inadequate.

It wasn't expensive, a cheap stay and a decent location, good staff just a bit cramped and over subscribed. However I feel the price reflects what you get to some degree. If you want a base to explore from it is great, but if you want to spend time on site probably not so good.

May suit large groups who want to camp close together although you may need to get there early or book ahead to ensure this is possible. I doubt we will go back. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: NigelHoll 2 reviews from this member

 We went as a group of triker friends, with trailer tents and standard tents

Must admit the grass was long

But the new tenants had only opened on the Friday we arrived

They have great plans & I believe they will deliver

We were all made welcome by the staff & locals, we usually attract a bit of attention when we arrive in convoy

Yes there are only two toilets which double as showers, but they were spotless

The food on the Sat night was very good

We will be back again in May for a Warm Up Rally & really looking forward to seeing what they have done 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lesleyc363 4 reviews from this member

 1) the grass was long for pitching the tents on.

2) there was only two toilets for the whole camp that had 100 + people staying there. Dire.

3) the showers were in the toilet cubicle, so if people were using the showers, then no toilets were available?!?!

4) the showers were filthy, not just the floor but the shower tray, sink and toilet.

5) the camp was next to a fairly busy road.

6) the pub did meals, but not on a Sunday & it was closed on the Sunday night.

Me & the party wouldn't go back, would only recommend a one night stay max.

Terry, the meeter & greeter was pleasant though. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caton.p 3 reviews from this member

 After visting this site many times, I think its going down hill fast. The wardens dog was left to roam round and do its mess, I had to ask him twice to pick it up, as it was next to our tent, which was not good.

Had good times at this site, it's in a lovely spot, to visit Bakewell and Matlock which has a lot of nice shops and pubs, also found a lovely pub up the road from the camp site, The Church. The food there was lovely, two sunday dinners for £10.

The toilet and showers need a good clean at the camp site. Seems a shame it's gone down hill ! Hope thing's get better. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oldbikerman 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived without booking, we never usually book campsites, we like 'seat of the pants' biking, and after all you can always go somewhere else. Landlady at pub was great and we duly paid for two nights.

This is a great spot, and we spent two lovely days around Matlock and the railway, and had several really good meals in 'The Compass' at a wondrously low price. Top marks for that.

Site facilities are basic and adequate for a couple of bikers (took a friend this time) and for anyone else come to that. I love sites that are quiet and small, although the field was perhaps bigger than we first thought, not that that is of any matter.

A good shower and toilet is in the pub, accessible all day round. Fees are good value. Would use this site again if we need to go Matlock. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Square And Compass child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Square And Compass?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Square And Compass dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3181 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement