Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Waterloo Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > The Waterloo Inn Reviews

The Waterloo Inn
Main Street
Biggin By Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0DH
Tel: 01298 84284
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 22
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 37 Reviews
                7/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jegordon 9 reviews from this member

Received very friendly reception on arrival and was shown pitch & location of services. We ate in the pub on the first night and found the food very good, again service very friendly. The pub had a very cosy feel and served good hand pulled beer.

Showers are near the entrance, used once but didn't like 2 showers sharing one drying area. However, the water was piping hot and the showers clean.

There are several pitches taken by seasonal tourers and felt some let the site down due to condition, i. E. , mouldy awning roof, overgrown around the vans.

Also I don't think there is a ruling on when to be quiet at night as 2 large parties behind us were still playing music and talking at 11.30pm.

Good value for what we paid and in a beautiful area with walks from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 32 reviews from this member

We have just had four nights at the Waterloo Inn over the August bank holiday.

We choose the location for walking in the area. The choice of walks from the site are endless. The Tissington Trail being the main one 3/4 from the site gates.

The site is a bit rustic in places and the pitches are a bit uneven depending were you are. We were on pitch one next to the gate and managed to get our motorhome fairly level.

There are only four showers and the toilets are in the pub. The showers are a bit basic but there was plenty of hot water. There is only one sink in each showers. Being bank holiday they really needed to be more showers but we managed with our own in the motorhome.

We used the discount given with the booking for Sunday lunch and had a nice lunch with drinks for about 20.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 49 reviews from this member

Had a week here end of July, 20 with EHU, showers we never used, toilets fine and clean. Ate in the pub twice, the food is great.

On the Tissington trail which we cycled both ways and took the bikes by car to the Monsal trail, which we both loved and thought was so much nicer than Tissington.

We had a lovely walk into the valleys from the pub, turn right out of site to bottom of road and opposite got through gate.

Very enjoyable week and a plus the weather was a lot cooler than the heatwave in the south.

The campsite is at back of pub accessed by either gate located at sides of pub, it's basically a horse shoe shape with tourers in the middle and seasonal pitches on the outside. Not many children as no play area but plenty of annoying yappy dogs

The front of the pub could do with a lick of paint and a freshen up with flowers as looking very tired for a village pub.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TRazledazzle 3 reviews from this member

We arrived here and was shown to our pitch my a very helpful man after booking in in the pub. We were given codes to showers and toilet and a discount voucher of 20% to use in the pub against a meal. The hard standing and electric hookup was good although the surrounding grass areas were very boggy, however it was February and snowing so this was understandable.

We couldn't get a tv signal but this may have been our aerial and no 3g the pub offered free wifi on site though.

The showers were very clean but basic, although the water was nice and warm the room was cold the toilets were located in pub these were also very clean. We had a meal in the pub in the evening and was really good value for money especially with the discount. The food was lovely and freshly cooked and the staff very polite and helpful.

It was a quiet site and very close to the Tissington trail and in a nice little village with lovely views

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

Stayed here last year and said we would stay again and we just have! Easy to book again over the phone and the paper work was all ready when we arrived. The site still suffers when the grass is wet and because the hard standings are still a bit too narrow it is difficult to get in position without going on the grass. However, this is minor. You still get a 20% discount voucher for food in the pub and we had a really good meal again. The toilet facilities, although rather limited and shared with the pub, are spotlessly clean. There is a convenient fresh water hose beside the outside washing sinks and the EHU's are modern and close to the pitches. I am sure this will not be our last visit.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights to take part in a local walking event. The owners are fairly new and are very helpful and friendly. We easily booked by phoning them and they were helpful when we later phoned again to check that the site was not too wet after a few days heavy rain and to book a table to eat in the pub. (Good pub and excellent food)

Some reviews comment on the boggy ground and as with many sites at this time of year, this could be a problem, but at least they now keep open beyond the end of October and we had no problem. The hard run offs are a bit narrow but OK. (mine is a 6. 36m van)

The toilets are linked to the pub - only 1 gents and could be busy if the site is full - but very clean and tidy. 2 good showers in a separate block, all accessed by key code.

The site is towards the top end of cost considering the overall facilities BUT it does include a 20% discount voucher for eating in the pub and if you do this it does make it good value. We would certainly stay there again.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RickScat 11 reviews from this member

Just spent five nights on this site. We have been before but are unlikely to return. Why? The site is getting tatty. It desperately needs some loving care. Hard standings getting overgrown, showers need some work, water taps all leaking. Very few sites let a group of young teenage lads on their own have free reign to make as much noise as they like.

Landlady very nice but their facilities are now below par. Also, they try to charge premium prices. They presently do not offer good value for money. Very sad as it is so handy for Tissington Trail and good walks.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nelly114 1 review from this member

Stayed here for the August BH weekend, and had a lovely relaxing time.

The site is basic but ok, you will need levelling blocks on most pitches but none appeared to be excessively 'slopey'. We had no problems with EHU unlike other sites I've stayed at and although the showers are basic, the toilets are clean and well maintained.

The pub itself is under new management and it shows, they care about the site and the pub. Good beers and excellent food meant we ate in the pub rather than cook at the caravan which was the original plan.

All in all a nice dog friendly site and pub which we'll being going back to.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Opal0313 24 reviews from this member

Arrived to a warm welcome. Spent 3 nights here. Was showed where everything was located. Ground was very boggy even though there was some sort of hard standing. Could have done with it been a little wider as you were straight out of caravan onto boggy grass and mud was treading in caravan. We spent most of first day helping others out as they were getting stuck. Did see the owner helping someone out who was also stuck, but it was raining all day. Had a couple of meals from the pub which were lovely not cheap but don't mind paying as they were large portions and delicious. Showers was basic but very clean, would have liked them to be more private. Toilets were the pub toilets that were accessible 24hrs again kept very clean. The site is at the back of the pub and we liked the size of the camp site small and quiet. Plenty of walks and country lanes around. Hartington village about 2 miles away, not a lot there village shop and 2 pubs. Would return to this site but not as a first choice.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Margaret Pritchard 1 review from this member

Small friendly site with easy access to wonderful walking trails and the Tissington trail for a spot of cycling. On the Buxton to Ashbourne bus route.

Ate in the pub two nights, good food with generous portions.

Facilities a little basic, only two showers for each sex, could do with a shelf or small table to hold clothes etc. Toilets very clean, shared with pub but 24 hr access for campers.

Ground a bit soggy after heavy rain, hard standing pitches but could do with better connection from the pitches to the access track.

We had a wonderful 3 day break and will definitely be back.

We have no children but site might be difficult, no special facilities and direct access onto pub car park and road.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019