Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lleithyr Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Lleithyr Farm Holiday Park Reviews

Lleithyr Farm Holiday Park
Lleithyr Farm
Whitesands
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6PR
Tel: 01437 720245
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 85
Open: March 1

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clampit 6 reviews from this member

 Nice open sunny site with good views. Showers disappointing, disabled shower. Very disappointing. No heating in any of them. Asked owner who said they were due to be fixed that week. But no one came. Some good walks from site. Bit out of the way for travelling around to visit other places 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hangman76 3 reviews from this member

 It's rubbish. You'll hate it here! Is what I would love to say to keep people away and have it all for ourselves! but I can't :)

What an absolutely gorgeous and lovely campsite. Just had 16 nights at Lleithyr Farm in our trailer tent with electric hook up and are already making plans to return again next year.

The site is clean, with plenty of water points around. Showers/toilets are clean and well stocked with loo roll and hand soap. There is an amazing and well priced shop on site that pretty much sells everything you could really want and the owners are so welcoming, friendly and helpful, full of great local knowledge of where to go and what to see during your stay.

Kids will love the site, loads of room to run around, kick a ball, play in the playpark or venture down into the animal enclosure to see the goats, pigs, chickens, horses, ponies and the most friendly minature donkeys.

Be prepared though, we didn't quite appreciate that being 1/2 mile from the sea we would be battered with as much wind as we had. Wasn't a problem as we have loads of guy ropes and bought a storm strap from the campsite shop. But definitely tie yourself down by all means possible as it can and did get very blustery, mainly over night,

Beach is 1/2 mile walk from the corner of the campsite down to Whitesands Bay which is just beautiful. Loads of beach space at low tide, beautiful rock pools to explore and the beach cafe has excellent service, well priced and stocks loads of beach goodies and all important amazing ice-creams.

Wetsuit, Surf board and bodyboard hire on the beach too, the waves were pretty descent for a couple of the days, and then only flat for another couple of days, so if you like surfing/bodyboarding it's great.

St Davids (City) is 1 1/2 miles from the campsite and is beautiful. Full of friendly locals and enough shops to give you all the supplies or gifts you need from a holiday. Local supermarket is a NISA and is well stocked with everything you'd find in a supermarket. Local fruit and veg shop and butchers in the city and one of the best ice-cream parlours we've every been too about half way up the high street, amazing array of flavours and well priced too.

So much to see and do in the area, loads of sea cliff walks and a must is to climb Carn Lidi.

Overall, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Lleithyr Farm. Just don't tell anybody else about it :) 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Silvertravelleruk 1 review from this member

 We loved this site. The staff were friendly and efficient. We reported a blocked drain and it was dealt with immediately. The shower block was very clean and 20p bought plenty of hot water. There seemed to be plenty of green space and room for kids to run around, ride bikes etc. The only downside was that there is nowhere to let the dog off the lead - even the Coast Path which adjoins the site is open to sheep at that point - so you have to walk a few hundred yards down the road. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chaddite 14 reviews from this member

 Overall score 8/10

Approach is about 2 miles from St Davidís down a couple of fairly narrow at times road but nothing to be worried about.

It is a 15 minute walk from Whitesands bay which must be one of the most perfect beaches, wide and vast when the tide is out, very shallow and ideal for kids.

The site facilities are excellent, clean, modern and in good condition.

Ground is level, plenty of water points, and space between units.

Reception has a shop with many essentials for sale which is handy. St Davidís is a short drive away and has limited shopping facilities but then most of us donít come away to shop do we?

Local countryside and coast is breathtaking if you like to walk cant recommend it enough.

I would go again without any hesitation, highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greengrass43 8 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights on the site. Set in a peaceful location it is well set out and well kept. The shower block was clean and it has a well st ocked shop. There is a small area with a few friendly farm animals. St a Davids is roughly a 25 minute walk. The staff are friendly and helpful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Alex east 1 review from this member

 Wow what an amazing place, everything was perfect for my wife and I. Grass nicely cut and the pitch was flat. Toilets and showers were kept clean and tidy. The miniature farm, WOW! The area surrounding the site is just beautiful and unspoilt. We used the local taxi service franks which was also 1st class.

Thanks for a great stay. We will be returning!

Alex east. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jemima Puddleduck 2 reviews from this member

 Have been visiting this specific area for about 30 years, staying, in our younger days, on the Whitesands campsite, then over the years in cottages in St Davids and other campsites in the area. This is the first time we have stayed at Lleithyr Farm, though we know other friends who have.

Firstly, I would say that the 'choose your own pitch' approach is a big bonus. We have stayed on many sites where you are told where to put your tent, and end up jammed up close to other tents. This way you can create a little area of your own - not to be greedy, but just enough room so that you don't bother other campers or vice versa.

While we were there the site did fill up to capacity, but there was never an issue with space.

The field is great - nice and flat and easy ground to drive pegs into, and always handy for the facilities without being right next to them.

The owners were pleasant and helpful without being 'in your face', and the shop was a definite asset, as was the launderette especially after one night of rain, where some of our things got wet!

I agree with other reviews that the toilets and showers did not appear to be cleaned very well - even when it was clear that the cleaners had been in (the only way you could tell was that the spare toilet rolls were stacked neatly!) One morning, every toilet in the ladies block was dirty, and still the same in the evening. I'm sure that it would not take much to address this, and would make for a far more pleasant stay and better reviews.

My other bug-bear was the operation of the showers. I understand the need for 20p for 4 minutes in the shower, but the shower should then RUN for 4 minutes, rather than the extremely irritating need to constantly press a button in order to get a 5 second burst of water - a bit like in a public baths.

Maybe these are just gripes, but little things make a big difference to the quality of your stay.

All in all, this was a great site, beautifully located and very convenient for the beach, St Davids and some of the most spectacular walks and scenery in the UK! I would definitely go back. I just hope the cleanliness issue is addressed sooner rather than later. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sianangharadgrant 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed on the site thanks to a recommendation and had a lovely few days; if we hadnít already had another site booked elsewhere weíd definitely have extended our stay! The area is stunningly beautiful (I was brought up there but my husband wasnít and he agrees!); our days just filled up because thereís so many great walks on the doorstep and places to visit. The Celtic Coaster bus stops outside the site and other shuttle buses pass close by so itís a great location to walk from and bus back. We visited Ramsey Island for the day, walked around Treginnis to Caerfai, walked to Porthgain (infamous Sloop Inn), went to lovely SolvaÖÖ. Think we used the car once!

The site itself is well maintained with a definite owner presence, pitches are flat and people pitched considerately. Thereís a definite family feel but itís not loud at all, we were definitely able to relax with a good book! The shop is brilliant, we loved the morning pastries and you could turn up there having not done any shopping beforehand and be quite happy. We used the supermarket in St Davidís too, although bought meat and fish at St Davidís butcher plus crab and mackerel in Solva (although one evening a nice chap just gave us a few mackerel when he was cleaning themÖÖ delicious!). Also thereís pizza night two evenings a week plus other takeaway options on site. The Bishops and Farmers pubs in St Davidís are good for a few drinks (sun traps!) and the food going out looked good in both.

Other reviewers have mentioned the toilet/shower block Ė yes the one on the tent field can get busy but we showered in the one on the static field which was great, bit more roomy and more showers, toilets and sinks; also each day at about 7. 30 I had a chat with the lady cleaning them. I would guess that by the evening the main block has been well used so is just ready for the next morning clean! Showers are 20p for 4 minutes which usually bothers me but at this site it just meant that there were never any queues when we showered (ie: every day!) and for August thatís pretty good!

Would definitely return and recommend Ė thanks for a great stay! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dougie Mcfly 5 reviews from this member

 We visited the site as a family group. Site is impeccably maintained with a lot of attention to detail.

Shop was a great bonus and stocked a great array of goods, particularly liked the breakfast sandwiches and croissants/ pastries which was a nice touch. Also, pizza night once a week and a noodle/ curry takeaway bar on 3 nights, which were delicious!

Loved the animal farm for the children and the playground.

Our only criticism was that the toilets/ showers weren't very clean ? Also, they were old and dated and needed an update. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ntellingjones 1 review from this member

 Stayed here in August with our two children age 4 and 6 years.

The owners were always very helpful and accommodating and the site has spacious pitches and is well looked after. The shop is well stocked with some items reasonably priced but some a little overpriced.

My children loved the animal walk and visited the donkeys daily.

Whitesands beach is a 20 minute walk (with children and beach equipment) from the campsite, along a road which is quite busy with traffic going to and from the beach but most cars were very considerate of pedestrians.

Lovely walks from the site up into the hills and along the coastal path where we saw porpoise and seals.

St. David's city and the cathedral are well worth a visit, only a 20 minute walk from the site but again along the country roads.

Lovely play area for children which was a bit far away from our pitch but ideal for campers on the summer camping field.

TYF are an excellent company to use for adventurous activities particularly co-steering, based in St David's.

My only criticism of the site was the cleanliness of the toilets and showers which seemed to deteriorate throughout our stay. The toilets and showers were very well used as the site was full most of the time. But the toilets never closed for cleaning and I only saw a cleaner once. I think when they were cleaned the cleaner just did a quick wipe down. Instead of ensuring all of the walls, surfaces and floors were fully cleaned.

The state of the toilets did not spoil our stay as there are many really lovely features about the site and the surrounding area but I really hope the owners inspect the toilets and maybe employ better cleaners. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lleithyr Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lleithyr Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lleithyr Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement