Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Killegruer Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Kintyre > Killegruer Caravan Site Reviews

Killegruer Caravan Site
Woodend Glenbarr
Tarbert
Kintyre
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XB
Tel: 01583 421241
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 01/04/2021 to 01/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is closed until 31/03/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 31/03/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Vanlife 13 reviews from this member

 A small, simple site which has the tourer pitches on the front facing the sea and the statics behind, near the road so uninterrupted views. You may experience the weather coming at you but lovely sunsets are possible.

Not too far from The Argyll Hotel, Bellochantuy for food and drink and The Glenbarr Cafe & Shop in Glenbarr for provisions, tea and cake and meals. Ferries to the Isle of Gigha just up the road a short drive/cycle.

The Kintyre peninsula does not offer everything we're looking for but fine for a couple of days. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Saggyoldcat 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and Anne is friendly and very helpful. Static caravan owners that we met were all friendly too.

Good clean shower block, two showers in each section (men's & ladies). The location is perfect.

Campervans and motorhomes park right on the top of the beach and there is a path to either end of the site to access the shore.

We had a lovely time and will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janet C 1 review from this member

 Outstanding scenery with superb sunsets over Islay and Jura. Lovely quiet site with camping spot looking into the beach.

Anne is a wonderful host who gave us an extension cable as ours did not reach and even popped in to say goodbye on our last night.

We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jas01 1 review from this member

 We had a bad start due to a storm destroying our tent but thankfully managed to rebuild it and it was definitely worth it.

If your looking for a quiet getaway with wonderful seaviews and lovely beach walks then this is definitely for you.

We had a great time and are missing it already. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Algrassam 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely ten night stay at Killegreur campsite. The site is well run and we had a very pleasant greeting from the owner. Facilities are kept well and the showers were great.

The pitches are along the coast and we were treated to a visit from an otter one evening. Dolphins were seen a couple of months before hand too. My kids really enjoyed running out of the tent and dropping straight down on to beach to play. You are also allowed to have campfires on the beach too.

One note though, the site is exposed and if you intend on bringing a tent you need to be prepared for the wind. The site is in a good location mid way along the Kintyre Peninsula.

Campeltown is about a fifteen minute drive away and has a decent sized coop and tesco. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DMKay 4 reviews from this member

 What an amazing place. We only stayed 2 nights as that was what we had planned on our tour but wish we'd stayed longer. Fantastic beach location and only a small site so not surrounded by vans.

In fact every pitch faces the ocean. And campfires on the beach. Toilets and shower facilities are adequate, clean, and in keeping with the feel of the site.

It was the highlight of our Holiday and can't wait to return. Note. No laundry facilities! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa101082 1 review from this member

 From talking to Ann on the phone to book the holiday, to turning up on the first day she was nothing but helpful and could answer every question asked and accommodate every request.

The tent was pitched right on the beach with fantastic views over to Ireland and Campbeltown was only 10miles away. The tent pitches are substantial with lots of room and plenty of electrical hookup points. No problems with rain or drainage while staying despite some torrential rainstorms.

All facilities are super clean and have everything you would expect of a high standard campsite. The beach is fantastic especially for walking dogs (we took our springer spaniel). There is plenty to do in and around the campsite.

Looking forward to going back later this year. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 28 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nessie287 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 weeks last year and 4 this year, we had a brilliant time despite some awful weather. Thank you for a very warm welcome. The site is quiet, friendly and next to a lovely beach with some of the best views I've seen from a site.

The shower block was always kept clean and in good repair. We never had to cue either which is a bonus. The site is a short nice walk/drive to shop and cafe in Glenbarr and supermarket, leisure centre, tourist info etc. Are only a short drive away in Campbeltown.

Despite being close to the main road, we heard hardly any traffic noise. The beach is the children's playground. If you are looking for spectacular views, peace and quiet, this is the place to visit.

We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pawelwks 1 review from this member

 We had chosen the site because of its location for cycling and the ocean views it has. The owner is friendly and helpful and we met her on the first day, the site is cheap, very cheap even and is dog and child friendly. The toilet block is always clean, with no worries about the hot water in taps and showers all the time.

The toilet block has outside tap for washing dishes and toilet waste disposal for those with their own toilets. The water can be taken from a tap on the toilet block and two other taps along the campsite's road.

If you want to have internet access, the best is vodafone (by the noticeboard in the toilet block) but I am using '3' and could find a signal in tent, not the greatest but it worked fine. The nearest shops are in villages Glenbarr, 20-30 mins walk and Bellochantuy - Farm shop (5 mins driveway along A83 towards Campbeltown).

For bigger shopping you have to drive to Campbeltown which is 15-20 mins drive. In Campbeltown you can find Co-op and Tesco. Attractions nearby are mostly wildlife and great views you can enjoy in good weather conditions.

On Friday before we left the campsite on Sunday morning, there was a celebration of 50 year anniversary of the campsite with campfire on the beach and fireworks with drinks, guitar singing, etc.

The owner, as I mentioned earlier is helpful. By that I mean that in windy weather she looked after tents and when we were away our tent's pegs loosen so she hammered them back. Because she is really friendly all of holiday-makers where friendly orientated, too.

Yes, we definitely recommend that site, and hope to visit the site next time! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Baz1951 13 reviews from this member

 Next to the beach, what better location could you want?

Within 10 minutes of our arrival everyone on the site was invited to help the owners celebrate 50 years of the site with cake and wine.

Very friendly owner and a spotlessly clean site. Will definitely visit again 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Killegruer Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Killegruer Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Killegruer Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kintyre      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1171 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement