Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Killegruer Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Kintyre > Killegruer Caravan Site Reviews

Killegruer Caravan Site
Woodend Glenbarr
Tarbert
Kintyre
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XB
Tel: 01583 421241
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 01/04/2022 to 07/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Drifter10 15 reviews from this member

 Booked Killegruer when I couldnít contact the original site planned and so very glad I did.

Beautiful location right on the shore. Lovely Sandy beach to walk along and chance of spectacular sunsets. Far enough off the road to not hear the traffic just the sound of the waves.

Our pitch was flat enough not to chock. Lovely owner who popped by to say hello on arrival even though pitch was reserved with our name and when we left she called in even though pouring to say goodbye. Very welcoming.

Facility block old but spotlessly clean. Ideal for getting the Gigha ferry which we did to cycle the length of the island. Recommend the village shop there for takeaway coffee and varieties of gin they sell! Also a meal at the boathouse is a must.

We didnít have time to visit the community run gardens but a recommended day out. Site is also well placed for touring Kintyre. Good village shops at Glenbarr and Muasdale and Tesco in Campbeltown.

A great base for touring the area and relaxing by the sea which is probably why it was fully booked even in early May.

Thoroughly recommend this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ellimc 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with great facilities.

Owner Anne was really nice and very helpful.

We enjoyed our wee break

Would recommend if your looking for somewhere nice and relaxed with lovely beaches. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Phowel 1 review from this member

 Great camp site

Location fab and warm and friendly staff

Shower facilities great and pitch was to our liking

Would visit again

Cheers

Paul and lisa 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joyce2 1 review from this member

 Just back from a fantastic two night stay at killieguar camp site and what a fantastic host Ann is, very welcoming and gave advice about surrounding area,

Toilets spotless and pitch a great size overlooking the sea over to Gigha, Jura and Islay.

Beach was fantastic, with access at either end of the site, with white sands clear water, which gives you the overt unity for kayaking, snorkelling or paddle boarding ( nine of which I done we were there for some R&R🤣)

We just had a fantastic few days watch for dolphins and porous, but didnít manage to see this time😩 maybe next time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Vanlife 17 reviews from this member

 A small, simple site which has the tourer pitches on the front facing the sea and the statics behind, near the road so uninterrupted views. You may experience the weather coming at you but lovely sunsets are possible.

Not too far from The Argyll Hotel, Bellochantuy for food and drink and The Glenbarr Cafe & Shop in Glenbarr for provisions, tea and cake and meals. Ferries to the Isle of Gigha just up the road a short drive/cycle.

The Kintyre peninsula does not offer everything we're looking for but fine for a couple of days. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Saggyoldcat 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and Anne is friendly and very helpful. Static caravan owners that we met were all friendly too.

Good clean shower block, two showers in each section (men's & ladies). The location is perfect.

Campervans and motorhomes park right on the top of the beach and there is a path to either end of the site to access the shore.

We had a lovely time and will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janet C 1 review from this member

 Outstanding scenery with superb sunsets over Islay and Jura. Lovely quiet site with camping spot looking into the beach.

Anne is a wonderful host who gave us an extension cable as ours did not reach and even popped in to say goodbye on our last night.

We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jas01 1 review from this member

 We had a bad start due to a storm destroying our tent but thankfully managed to rebuild it and it was definitely worth it.

If your looking for a quiet getaway with wonderful seaviews and lovely beach walks then this is definitely for you.

We had a great time and are missing it already. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Algrassam 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely ten night stay at Killegreur campsite. The site is well run and we had a very pleasant greeting from the owner. Facilities are kept well and the showers were great.

The pitches are along the coast and we were treated to a visit from an otter one evening. Dolphins were seen a couple of months before hand too. My kids really enjoyed running out of the tent and dropping straight down on to beach to play. You are also allowed to have campfires on the beach too.

One note though, the site is exposed and if you intend on bringing a tent you need to be prepared for the wind. The site is in a good location mid way along the Kintyre Peninsula.

Campeltown is about a fifteen minute drive away and has a decent sized coop and tesco. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DMKay 4 reviews from this member

 What an amazing place. We only stayed 2 nights as that was what we had planned on our tour but wish we'd stayed longer. Fantastic beach location and only a small site so not surrounded by vans.

In fact every pitch faces the ocean. And campfires on the beach. Toilets and shower facilities are adequate, clean, and in keeping with the feel of the site.

It was the highlight of our Holiday and can't wait to return. Note. No laundry facilities! 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Killegruer Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Killegruer Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Killegruer Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kintyre      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12393 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement