Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Killegruer Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Kintyre > Killegruer Caravan Site Reviews

Killegruer Caravan Site
Woodend Glenbarr
Tarbert
Kintyre
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XB
Tel: 01583 421241
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: April To Beginning Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janet C 1 review from this member

Outstanding scenery with superb sunsets over Islay and Jura. Lovely quiet site with camping spot looking into the beach.

Anne is a wonderful host who gave us an extension cable as ours did not reach and even popped in to say goodbye on our last night.

We will be back.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jas01 1 review from this member

We had a bad start due to a storm destroying our tent but thankfully managed to rebuild it and it was definitely worth it.

If your looking for a quiet getaway with wonderful seaviews and lovely beach walks then this is definitely for you.

We had a great time and are missing it already.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Algrassam 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a lovely ten night stay at Killegreur campsite. The site is well run and we had a very pleasant greeting from the owner. Facilities are kept well and the showers were great.

The pitches are along the coast and we were treated to a visit from an otter one evening. Dolphins were seen a couple of months before hand too. My kids really enjoyed running out of the tent and dropping straight down on to beach to play. You are also allowed to have campfires on the beach too.

One note though, the site is exposed and if you intend on bringing a tent you need to be prepared for the wind. The site is in a good location mid way along the Kintyre Peninsula.

Campeltown is about a fifteen minute drive away and has a decent sized coop and tesco.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DMKay 4 reviews from this member

What an amazing place. We only stayed 2 nights as that was what we had planned on our tour but wish we'd stayed longer. Fantastic beach location and only a small site so not surrounded by vans.

In fact every pitch faces the ocean. And campfires on the beach. Toilets and shower facilities are adequate, clean, and in keeping with the feel of the site.

It was the highlight of our Holiday and can't wait to return. Note. No laundry facilities!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa101082 1 review from this member

From talking to Ann on the phone to book the holiday, to turning up on the first day she was nothing but helpful and could answer every question asked and accommodate every request.

The tent was pitched right on the beach with fantastic views over to Ireland and Campbeltown was only 10miles away. The tent pitches are substantial with lots of room and plenty of electrical hookup points. No problems with rain or drainage while staying despite some torrential rainstorms.

All facilities are super clean and have everything you would expect of a high standard campsite. The beach is fantastic especially for walking dogs (we took our springer spaniel). There is plenty to do in and around the campsite.

Looking forward to going back later this year.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nessie287 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 weeks last year and 4 this year, we had a brilliant time despite some awful weather. Thank you for a very warm welcome. The site is quiet, friendly and next to a lovely beach with some of the best views I've seen from a site.

The shower block was always kept clean and in good repair. We never had to cue either which is a bonus. The site is a short nice walk/drive to shop and cafe in Glenbarr and supermarket, leisure centre, tourist info etc. Are only a short drive away in Campbeltown.

Despite being close to the main road, we heard hardly any traffic noise. The beach is the children's playground. If you are looking for spectacular views, peace and quiet, this is the place to visit.

We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pawelwks 1 review from this member

We had chosen the site because of its location for cycling and the ocean views it has. The owner is friendly and helpful and we met her on the first day, the site is cheap, very cheap even and is dog and child friendly. The toilet block is always clean, with no worries about the hot water in taps and showers all the time.

The toilet block has outside tap for washing dishes and toilet waste disposal for those with their own toilets. The water can be taken from a tap on the toilet block and two other taps along the campsite's road.

If you want to have internet access, the best is vodafone (by the noticeboard in the toilet block) but I am using '3' and could find a signal in tent, not the greatest but it worked fine. The nearest shops are in villages Glenbarr, 20-30 mins walk and Bellochantuy - Farm shop (5 mins driveway along A83 towards Campbeltown).

For bigger shopping you have to drive to Campbeltown which is 15-20 mins drive. In Campbeltown you can find Co-op and Tesco. Attractions nearby are mostly wildlife and great views you can enjoy in good weather conditions.

On Friday before we left the campsite on Sunday morning, there was a celebration of 50 year anniversary of the campsite with campfire on the beach and fireworks with drinks, guitar singing, etc.

The owner, as I mentioned earlier is helpful. By that I mean that in windy weather she looked after tents and when we were away our tent's pegs loosen so she hammered them back. Because she is really friendly all of holiday-makers where friendly orientated, too.

Yes, we definitely recommend that site, and hope to visit the site next time!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baz1951 13 reviews from this member

Next to the beach, what better location could you want?

Within 10 minutes of our arrival everyone on the site was invited to help the owners celebrate 50 years of the site with cake and wine.

Very friendly owner and a spotlessly clean site. Will definitely visit again

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SMEESH 4 reviews from this member

Been going to Killiegruer on and off since I first started caravanning nearly 30 years ago with my first 200 2 berth glass windowed caravan special and can honestly say apart from the new toilet block has not changed a bit since my last visit last year.

Still holds the peace and tranquillity with panoramic breathtaking views. When I say new toilet block think it has been up for a while now. For a shoreline small site the toilet block is more than adequate and meets every campers needs and kept up to a good standard of cleanliness. If you want decent 4g Wifi and Freeviw telly don't come here but with the onset of satellite and they Dongo things you can bring your technology.

Beautiful shore line beach walk to the Argyll Hotel in Bellochcantuy. That will get rid of your city cobwebs. Although I have seen the hotel owners come and go over the years in the struggling tourist industry the hotel has very good reviews for food and drink.

Have witnessed porpoise slowly swimming past off shore. Have seen sea otters chasing salmon at the mouth of the River Barr near the site but my best memorys of all are the panoramic sun sets over Jura and Islay. Will live with you for ever.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ancell 1 review from this member

The family have been camping and now caravanning here for three decades so it suits us rather well.

We like the dramatic location facing the Atlantic next land the USA.

There is a long beach mostly sand for several miles and the sunsets eagles gannets and otters are the big draw for us.

We did see otters from our caravan window two years in a row.

I am disabled and need a stick to get around so the disabled toilet with shower is appreciated.

EHU gives no problem for microwave heating or kettle just remember the maximum load.

The signal for Vodaphone and Giffgaff that's O2 is excellent.

My wi-fi ipad is 3 and that works ok.

The toilet block has been spotless in june.

It is a children's paradise if they like rock pools and beach life bring kids wet suits surfing is possible but there is an excellent beach five minutes drive away.

Glenbarr cafe shop and garden centre is nearby excellent food gas can be obtained there.

Dogs are welcomed by Ann the owner who like her father Neil before her is very friendly and helpful.

Remember it is a west coast beach site we have had two dry sunny weeks but be prepared for any weather.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Kintyre      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5842 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019