Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dinas Island Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Dinas Island Farm
Dinas
Newport
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA42 0SE
Tel: 01348 811217  or  07971 594103
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 16
Open: April -october

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 189 reviews from this member

This is what camping is all about, just how it used to be and is absolutely perfect in my opinion.

I enquired by email and received a quick response saying it was 5 for the main field or 10 for the superior field, which offered better, uninterrupted views of the coastline, so we packed up and headed down there. This price was for me and the dog in a campervan and included free use of the showers, washing up, toilets, etc.

The site is easy to find once you know it, but it is down a track which end up at a beautiful beach with pub and you drive past this and continue back up the hill and the farm is a further half a mile or so up the drive. I would suggest getting your supplies before getting there, unless you plan to go out and visit the area. I chose it as a base to walk and relax.

We parked up and checked in at the farmhouse and were met by the owner who showed us to the fields and where the facilities were. We chose the more expensive field and it was well worth the extra money for the view. Both fields offered electric hookup if you want it and are pretty flat. We did not experience any problems with the pitches, wind, etc.

The facilities were in a shed and were very clean, well maintained and perfectly usable, I did not spot any cobwebs. They were well stocked, had hand wash and a towel, however I didn't use the towel, just let my hands drip dry. The shower was a power shower and the temperature and shower head were both adjustable, the shower had no door but it is set back in a cubicle and the curtain did the job of keeping your privacy with no chance of anyone walking in and seeing anything. My clothes or shoes did not get wet and there was a chair and hooks in there too. There is a fresh water tap by the washing up sink. There was recycling in place and this was housed in the large barn that is alongside the main camping field.

There is a small pub with beer garden at the bottom of the driveway offering stunning views over the beach and coast line and the choice of drinks and food was good. The prices were reasonable however we could not eat there as they had run out of food by 4pm on a Sunday, gutted as I had heard great things about the food there.

We did some walking from this site and chose to head down the hill to a beach and then walk the perimeter of the island and ended at the pub. This was a fairly easy walk and was around 4 miles to the pub and it offered up some stunning views and was very relaxing and then back up the driveway, the hill is not as steep as it looks and it was easily done.

There is no play area but with the fields to play in, who needs dedicated equipment when you can enjoy the outdoors and there was plenty of space for kids to run around and play.

There is plenty of walking in the area and if walking is your thing you will not be disappointed and take in the stunning views.

I would 100% choose this site to stay at when in the area again and will definitely return, hopefully again this year, but definitely next year if I don't make it back to the area this year. A great site, in one of the best locations I have stayed at. Well done to the site owners on offering us such a great place to stay.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stubb-z 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weeks stay based on the good reviews, but honestly I think everyone else must have been staying at a different campsite to us!

Let me start by saying the owner is lovely, she bent over backwards to help when we arrived, offered to help us pitch up in the wind and was there on hand if needed. The site itself is a pretty standard site apart from the view which is what you are basically paying for. In honesty, its not worth paying the extra (double the price) for the pitches with the 'view' - while it is undeniably beautiful, the two fields are small and literally side by side, the view from both fields isn't that much different to be honest. The camping fields are nicely kept, but the position means no matter where you pitch (even under the single hedge line) you are exposed to the wind, and because the site is at the very top of the island it gets windy!

Our biggest gripe was the facilities. It is advertised as having basic facilities, which we knew before we went and would have happily coped with (that's what camping about right!? - we weren't expecting the ritz!), however nowhere did it mention that they were old, dilapidated, poorly kept and disgracefully filthy - I wish I could upload pictures with this review to show you just how bad they honestly were - I don't think you would believe me!

The facilities are part of a barn and are an old wooden unit that has been purpose built. A single toilet for ladies and one for the men to service the entire campsite. Not a major issue except that both men's and women's toilet pans were caked with black filth, they looked like they hadn't been cleaned for years (honestly, like something from the young ones!). The men's side had a single small urinal mounted on a wooden backboard - this had no water to it at all, and the wood had soaked in the occasional splash - it absolutely stank! Surprisingly, the showers were also mounted in an untreated, poorly lit wooden cubicle, closed with an old dirty shower curtain (giving no privacy from the rest of the toilet block - no lock on the doors only on the toilet cubicle - anyone could walk in and see you showering if they wanted to!). The wood had rotted and was black, and the bare concrete floor was covered in slimy green algae - you had a black rubber front door mat to stand on under the shower! There was a single filthy hand towel to dry your hands with which wasn't changed during our stay, and the bin was emptied once at the end of the week as it was overflowing.

As the toilet block is part of the barn, it was littered with loose pieces of hay, many many cobwebs, other dark farmyard offerings and many squashed toilet roll holders. I think the standard of the facilities was set by the 'mens' and 'womens' signs on the doors being drawn on in biro!

To sum up, It really upset me to find out that my kids were holding in their number 2's (we have our own toilet for number 1's) so they didn't have to go to the 'horrible smelly toilets' - my eldest (10) wouldn't even clean her teeth in the sinks - the facilities were that bad!

Would we go back? Lovely area, beautiful view, but. Not a chance! - top end prices for bottom end facilities - don't even get me started on the old rusted campsite 'fridge freezer' in the corner of the open animal barn!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cate88 22 reviews from this member

Decided to try this site based on the good reviews whilst touring in the area. Its not a site you just happen across, a bit off the beaten track, narrow road down to a small beach and then up a fairly narrow road to the farm. But this meant the site was quiet even in August.

We had a decent sized pitch with electric hook up. Toilet and shower is housed in a shed type building, toilet could have been cleaner but the shower was great, really hot and free. One washing up sink but only cold water available for this, so had to take a kettle of hot water with us.

Great views across the bay and beautiful sunrise in the morning. Good walk on the coastal path down to a lovely cove and beach. If you like peace and quiet, good views and don't mind slightly basic facilities then I would recommend this campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Webbhq 3 reviews from this member

This site is a basic field and fairly basic but clean facilities at the side of the farm barn. The owners were friendly and the views were stunning across the headland towards Newport (Pembs). There was plenty of field for the kids to play ball games in. The facilities were a bit draughty but there was hot water and it was clean. The site is exposed and was windy when we were there but this was compensated for by being able to walk from the site to the beautiful beach at Cwm Yr Eglwys down through the woods of the peninsula. The other side of the peninsula has a pub which is very popular for drinks and food (though the beach there is a non-swimming beach). Would revisit in better weather! Good pubs in Newport too.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fionavan 39 reviews from this member

Such a wonderful spot - spectacular views from our pitch and a wonderful walk around the headland on the coast path. There is a beach either side of the headland so always a choice when the day is windy - one will be sheltered!

Owners very helpful & friendly on the phone as they were away at the Royal Welsh Show but Dav the shepherd welcomed us and explained where everything was.

Lovely short grass field, EHU available, clean facilities with hot showers located by barns.

This is a working farm and it was great to see the sheep & the working dogs - the dogs are very friendly & will come and say hello. We didn't get the chance to try the baking but it sounded delicious - homemade cakes & bread made on the farm are available to order.

Child friendly - absolutely - the farm is above two beaches.

Please don't be deterred by comments regarding the track - the main road outside my house has more potholes. It is a steep drive, but not an obstacle in any way.

A really relaxing spot & we would love to return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Essendy 8 reviews from this member

We chanced upon this site after talking to a National Trust employee whilst walking around St Davids, further down the Pembrokeshire Coastline, and he suggested we visit Dinas Island.

The welcome was friendly and the site and facilities are basic, but they are described as such and the good price reflects that. The showers and toilets are perfectly adequate. The only point I would make is that the washing-up facility has no hot water and is outside. Not an issue during our stay as we boiled water with the electric hook-up and it didn't rain.

The road to the site is fine and we walked down to The Old Sailor pub for a drink. The opening hours of the pub are worth checking before you go though.

The walk around Dinas Island offers amazing views and is a must on your visit if you are able.

Overall, a lovely remote site that is a great base to visit this unspoilt coastline from.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Teeko 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic place to stay to do the coastal path around Dinas Island. Delighted to see our first Dolphins in the Bay. Only down thing on our stay is the private road up from the beach is in desperate need of minor repairs to the pot holes! As it could deter the non hardy camper from driving up to the camp site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tinabean136 1 review from this member

Just returned from a wonderful stay here. The area is beautiful, lots to do and see, the views from the site are amazing it's a real gem.

Being a seasoned camper we have stayed all over the country and this has to be one of the most relaxed campsites we have stayed at. From the relaxed and friendly welcome, to getting fresh baked goods delivered it was fantastic. The facilities were of a very good standard as far as campsites go for us, the lovely hot showers - with endless hot water were the best. The site is great for children to explore, fly kites, ride bikes or play ball games. Lots of space to run around.

We did electric hook up for the first time and loved not having to refreeze ice blocks - however there is a fridge freezer in the shed to use. There are great recycling facilities here too. There a shop in Dinas Cross (Mace) which sold everything and had a cracking good wine and food selection too.

We tried Linda's bread rolls and the buttercream iced sponge cake it was delicious.

Linda and Neil are a smashing young couple who look after their guests and nothing is too much trouble.

Be aware that your sat nav may take you down a dead end - follow the road round from Dinas Cross to Pwllgwaelod beach (which is fab) and up the private road to the site.

We will be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ALAMO2008 2 reviews from this member

This was on our list of future campsites to stay at after we had explored the road to it first. Had no choice when our intended site outside Newport said there was no room for our Campervan and friends fist outing in their huge new caravan. At 14:00 hrs we arrived at the road which takes you down from Dinas Cross to Pwllgwaelod beach It is narrow but has passing places - only met one car. Luckily and by accident we had avoided the Poppit Rocket Shuttle Bus (Cardigan to Fishguard) at 13:33 and 14:15 At the beach road end, you can look up the hillside to the farm to see if anything is coming down. The Farm concreted road from the beach was narrow with no passing places really but few visit this site anyway and at this time everyone was out for the day. The site had more guests than usual and had opened a second field with hook ups only 3 were left. We had great views of Newport Bay and the sea as well as Carn Ingli mountain range. Fantastic weather. Although only one shower and toilet for each sex, we never had to queue. Powerful hot shower unlimited hot water. The Farmers wife came around to greet us. She is very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for her. Only 5 pppn plus 4 for hook up.

The owner took orders for Home made bread and Bara Brith and Welsh cakes which she delivered throughout the site at 09:00 a. M. The next morning. She also prepares merals to order, all home cooked on her Aga. A Walk down through the woods to Cwm Eglwys Bay rewarded you with crystal clear clean water with no seaweed or jelly fish sheltered position from wind. You could have been anywhere in the Med. The Pwllgwaelod beach on the West side of the island was sandy but with a cooling wind and seaweed. Great food at The Old Sailors right next to the beach. (Pub Closed Mondays) When we left at 13:40 hrs no problem going down concrete road then met only one car when we drove up hill to main road. Now we know what to expect, it would not deter us from returning to this friendly farm with fab views.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eserve 1 review from this member

We have stayed at Dinas Island for the first time this weekend and as other reviews have said. 'WHAT A GEM!'

If we take the only negative that I think are valid in other reviews, the narrow road, then this is a very very minor issue. It's only a couple of hundred yards long and there are plenty of passing places. The beach at Pwllgwaelod which the road serves is not manic by any stretch of the imagination so the traffic volume is low. The chance of meeting another vehicle whilst on this road is negligible.

Now on with the positives.

What a beautiful place. The view is breathtaking. The site is compact and very relaxed which suits us just fine. Admittedly the facilities are better on other sites but everything you NEED is here. There is an atmosphere of welcome as soon as you enter the gate. It is obvious that this is a friendly place as everyone does everyone else the courtesy of saying hello. This is something that is sadly missing on other, more formal sites we've been to.

Lyn and Neil seem to work incredibly hard making everyone feel at home as well as tending their 2500 sheep.

This is one place we will be returning to and very soon.

I must go now and get some sleep as we have enjoyed our stay so much we are staying an extra night which men's that I have to leave at 5:30am tomorrow morning to get home for work.

Come and stay at Dinas Island. You won't regret it.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


149 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019