Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Dinas Island Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport > Dinas Island Farm Reviews

Dinas Island Farm
Dinas
Newport
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA42 0SE
Tel: 01348 811217  or  07971 594103
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 16
Open: April -october

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 31 Reviews
                9/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ClaireWayne 1 review from this member

 Wow ! our favourite campsite just got better !

The new shower block is fab couple of teething troubles with water pressure but no biggie itís already being sorted,

Canít wait to go back again

Neil and Lynda are fabulous hosts. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dockmedic 1 review from this member

 What a hidden gem of a site. We were made to feel welcome on arrival, given a choice of pitches. The shower blocks are brand new and very spacious also free to use.

The toilets are clean though at first glance my wife did cringe but agreed that she couldnít fault the hygiene of them.

Easy walks to 2 fantastic beaches and pubs if needed.

Over all I couldnít really fault this site. We had an amazing time. Thank you. 👍👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hlc1 1 review from this member

 A lovely quiet campsite, perfect for our needs. The hosts were friendly and extremely helpful. Fantastic views from the campsite, a short walk to the local pub serving fantastic food.

A great location to explore the coastal path. The facilities were clean with free hot showers.

Excellent value for money would highly recommend staying here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bigmuncher 1 review from this member

 Spot on. Very reasonable price. Free piping hot brand new showers. Very friendly owners who will go out of their way to help you.

Lovely views and access to pub beach and great walking. Suggest people ignore the rather harsh review and look at the value for money. No charge for showers dogs or fridge etc.

Many thanks we will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 217 reviews from this member

 This is what camping is all about, just how it used to be and is absolutely perfect in my opinion.

I enquired by email and received a quick response saying it was £5 for the main field or £10 for the superior field, which offered better, uninterrupted views of the coastline, so we packed up and headed down there. This price was for me and the dog in a campervan and included free use of the showers, washing up, toilets, etc.

The site is easy to find once you know it, but it is down a track which end up at a beautiful beach with pub and you drive past this and continue back up the hill and the farm is a further half a mile or so up the drive. I would suggest getting your supplies before getting there, unless you plan to go out and visit the area. I chose it as a base to walk and relax.

We parked up and checked in at the farmhouse and were met by the owner who showed us to the fields and where the facilities were. We chose the more expensive field and it was well worth the extra money for the view. Both fields offered electric hookup if you want it and are pretty flat. We did not experience any problems with the pitches, wind, etc.

The facilities were in a shed and were very clean, well maintained and perfectly usable, I did not spot any cobwebs. They were well stocked, had hand wash and a towel, however I didn't use the towel, just let my hands drip dry. The shower was a power shower and the temperature and shower head were both adjustable, the shower had no door but it is set back in a cubicle and the curtain did the job of keeping your privacy with no chance of anyone walking in and seeing anything. My clothes or shoes did not get wet and there was a chair and hooks in there too. There is a fresh water tap by the washing up sink. There was recycling in place and this was housed in the large barn that is alongside the main camping field.

There is a small pub with beer garden at the bottom of the driveway offering stunning views over the beach and coast line and the choice of drinks and food was good. The prices were reasonable however we could not eat there as they had run out of food by 4pm on a Sunday, gutted as I had heard great things about the food there.

We did some walking from this site and chose to head down the hill to a beach and then walk the perimeter of the island and ended at the pub. This was a fairly easy walk and was around 4 miles to the pub and it offered up some stunning views and was very relaxing and then back up the driveway, the hill is not as steep as it looks and it was easily done.

There is no play area but with the fields to play in, who needs dedicated equipment when you can enjoy the outdoors and there was plenty of space for kids to run around and play.

There is plenty of walking in the area and if walking is your thing you will not be disappointed and take in the stunning views.

I would 100% choose this site to stay at when in the area again and will definitely return, hopefully again this year, but definitely next year if I don't make it back to the area this year. A great site, in one of the best locations I have stayed at. Well done to the site owners on offering us such a great place to stay. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stubb-z 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a weeks stay based on the good reviews, but honestly I think everyone else must have been staying at a different campsite to us!

Let me start by saying the owner is lovely, she bent over backwards to help when we arrived, offered to help us pitch up in the wind and was there on hand if needed. The site itself is a pretty standard site apart from the view which is what you are basically paying for. In honesty, its not worth paying the extra (double the price) for the pitches with the 'view' - while it is undeniably beautiful, the two fields are small and literally side by side, the view from both fields isn't that much different to be honest. The camping fields are nicely kept, but the position means no matter where you pitch (even under the single hedge line) you are exposed to the wind, and because the site is at the very top of the island it gets windy!

Our biggest gripe was the facilities. It is advertised as having basic facilities, which we knew before we went and would have happily coped with (that's what camping about right!? - we weren't expecting the ritz!), however nowhere did it mention that they were old, dilapidated, poorly kept and disgracefully filthy - I wish I could upload pictures with this review to show you just how bad they honestly were - I don't think you would believe me!

The facilities are part of a barn and are an old wooden unit that has been purpose built. A single toilet for ladies and one for the men to service the entire campsite. Not a major issue except that both men's and women's toilet pans were caked with black filth, they looked like they hadn't been cleaned for years (honestly, like something from the young ones!). The men's side had a single small urinal mounted on a wooden backboard - this had no water to it at all, and the wood had soaked in the occasional splash - it absolutely stank! Surprisingly, the showers were also mounted in an untreated, poorly lit wooden cubicle, closed with an old dirty shower curtain (giving no privacy from the rest of the toilet block - no lock on the doors only on the toilet cubicle - anyone could walk in and see you showering if they wanted to!). The wood had rotted and was black, and the bare concrete floor was covered in slimy green algae - you had a black rubber front door mat to stand on under the shower! There was a single filthy hand towel to dry your hands with which wasn't changed during our stay, and the bin was emptied once at the end of the week as it was overflowing.

As the toilet block is part of the barn, it was littered with loose pieces of hay, many many cobwebs, other dark farmyard offerings and many squashed toilet roll holders. I think the standard of the facilities was set by the 'mens' and 'womens' signs on the doors being drawn on in biro!

To sum up, It really upset me to find out that my kids were holding in their number 2's (we have our own toilet for number 1's) so they didn't have to go to the 'horrible smelly toilets' - my eldest (10) wouldn't even clean her teeth in the sinks - the facilities were that bad!

Would we go back? Lovely area, beautiful view, but. Not a chance! - top end prices for bottom end facilities - don't even get me started on the old rusted campsite 'fridge freezer' in the corner of the open animal barn! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cate88 22 reviews from this member

 Decided to try this site based on the good reviews whilst touring in the area. Its not a site you just happen across, a bit off the beaten track, narrow road down to a small beach and then up a fairly narrow road to the farm. But this meant the site was quiet even in August.

We had a decent sized pitch with electric hook up. Toilet and shower is housed in a shed type building, toilet could have been cleaner but the shower was great, really hot and free. One washing up sink but only cold water available for this, so had to take a kettle of hot water with us.

Great views across the bay and beautiful sunrise in the morning. Good walk on the coastal path down to a lovely cove and beach. If you like peace and quiet, good views and don't mind slightly basic facilities then I would recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Webbhq 3 reviews from this member

 This site is a basic field and fairly basic but clean facilities at the side of the farm barn. The owners were friendly and the views were stunning across the headland towards Newport (Pembs). There was plenty of field for the kids to play ball games in. The facilities were a bit draughty but there was hot water and it was clean. The site is exposed and was windy when we were there but this was compensated for by being able to walk from the site to the beautiful beach at Cwm Yr Eglwys down through the woods of the peninsula. The other side of the peninsula has a pub which is very popular for drinks and food (though the beach there is a non-swimming beach). Would revisit in better weather! Good pubs in Newport too. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 39 reviews from this member

 Such a wonderful spot - spectacular views from our pitch and a wonderful walk around the headland on the coast path. There is a beach either side of the headland so always a choice when the day is windy - one will be sheltered!

Owners very helpful & friendly on the phone as they were away at the Royal Welsh Show but Dav the shepherd welcomed us and explained where everything was.

Lovely short grass field, EHU available, clean facilities with hot showers located by barns.

This is a working farm and it was great to see the sheep & the working dogs - the dogs are very friendly & will come and say hello. We didn't get the chance to try the baking but it sounded delicious - homemade cakes & bread made on the farm are available to order.

Child friendly - absolutely - the farm is above two beaches.

Please don't be deterred by comments regarding the track - the main road outside my house has more potholes. It is a steep drive, but not an obstacle in any way.

A really relaxing spot & we would love to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Essendy 8 reviews from this member

 We chanced upon this site after talking to a National Trust employee whilst walking around St Davids, further down the Pembrokeshire Coastline, and he suggested we visit Dinas Island.

The welcome was friendly and the site and facilities are basic, but they are described as such and the good price reflects that. The showers and toilets are perfectly adequate. The only point I would make is that the washing-up facility has no hot water and is outside. Not an issue during our stay as we boiled water with the electric hook-up and it didn't rain.

The road to the site is fine and we walked down to The Old Sailor pub for a drink. The opening hours of the pub are worth checking before you go though.

The walk around Dinas Island offers amazing views and is a must on your visit if you are able.

Overall, a lovely remote site that is a great base to visit this unspoilt coastline from. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dinas Island Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dinas Island Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dinas Island Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4445 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements