Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nantcol Waterfalls

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Llanbedr > Nantcol Waterfalls > Reviews

Nantcol Waterfalls
Cefn Uchaf
Llanbedr
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL45 2PL
Tel: 01341 241 209  or  07919448898
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 23 Caravans: 62 Tents; 2 Bell Tents Hire: 2 Glampi
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 141 Reviews
                9/10 from 141 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mandreed 24 reviews from this member

 Stunning site in a beautiful location. What a find!

The pitches are a generous size and were generally in good condition. There is a mix of pitch types, several with EHU and some with hard standing. There is some glamping accommodation too.

The facilities are in a central courtyard area in 2 buildings, housing male and female washrooms (3 basins in each), shower rooms (2 male, 3 female - 50p cards must be purchased from reception for a 5min shower) and toilets (5 ladies cubicles, 2 male toilets and 2 urinals) There is a family room and a laundry room and two external, but sheltered washing up areas.

The small shop/reception area was staffed by the best and friendliest people. Excellent customer service, both on site and prior to our arrival. You can buy drinks, snacks and ice creams and a few camping bits. They also freeze cool blocks, charge mobile phones and hire fire pits.

There is no phone signal in the campsite! If you walk up the hill you can get connected to the outside world.

There is no defined 'children's play area' on the campsite, but the woods, trees, rope swings, streams and open grassy areas were perfect places for ours to play. Watershoes are handy if you are splashing, building dams or playing on inflatables in the river (and wetsuits too if its a cooler day!)

The riverside walk from the campsite takes about 1. 5hrs and is a good ramble with wonderful waterfall views.

There are several local shops to pick up groceries but no big supermarkets, however there is a small Co-op in Barmouth that is well stocked, and a lovely deli in Harlech.

The Victoria Inn pub in Llanbedr does great food and is very popular so do try and book a table in advance.

The area had lots to offer in terms of beaches and walks and is a good base for exploring further afield. We went over to Anglessey for a day, rockclimbing in Blaneau Ffestiniog and Llanberis. We also went wild swimming at Cwm Bychan, which was an idyllic and peaceful place, but reached via a very long, windy and narrow single track road!

We visited a few beaches along the coast, but if you fancy a mix of 'charm and cheese' try Barmouth with it's enormous beach and pretty estuary. A trip to King Arthur's Labyrinth and craft shops at Corris was another good day out.

Harlech castle is great for an hour or two with views out to sea. Zipworld (Llechwedd) is also a great day out, with mix of activities to suit ages/bravery and budget! We ran out of time to take a trip on the steam railways. Maybe next time.

The whole family enjoyed this site. It suited both our primary school and older teenage children (and is parents) we would not hesitate to return to this area and to this campsite. It's a gem! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: TheBigPL 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Stream running through with great walks up to the waterfalls.

Pizza available when we stayed.

Nice walk to the pub too, and some great cycling (hilly!) on the doorstep.

Only negative is the use of tokens for the showers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raymon 1 review from this member

 Very nice site very friendly and helpful. Liked it so much we are back there in a weeks time for more holiday's hopefully for more than a week.

Very quiet but always people turning up. These people must come here a lot because it's very hard to find and the single track road isn't for the faint hearted. I've damaged my motorhome step last year but still came back, cautious, but okay this year.

People who run the site are very helpful

Overall this site is up there with the big boys and I have been on some big site's 9/10. Would be 10/10 but Road hurt my motorhome 🤔 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RachFletch 1 review from this member

 This was our first family camping trip as we have a 2 year old and a 7 year old so thought we would wait until our youngest could enjoy it more and wow did the kids love it here.

The site feels really safe and everyone was really friendly.

Great facilities and really clean toilets toilets showers. There is a washing room with washing machine and dryer. £3 for the washing machine and £1 for the dryer.

Shower cards are 50p for 5 mins but they are hot and it's plenty of time to go in with your kids.

The river, waterfalls are lovely and welcomed on a hot day. If you like swimming then maybe bring a wetsuit as it's cold 🥶 but refreshing.

There is a shop on site that sells refreshments and icecream also a wood fire pizza stand too which start at around 8 or 9 pounds.

Well worth a visit, we were really impressed and my partner is booking up again to take our son for the bank hols. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hippybythesea 5 reviews from this member

 The site is one of the best sites Iíve been to, it was lovely, clean and well looked after.

The owners and everyone who works there were really friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.

Plenty to do great for kids and adults alike, there are some amazing walks and great waterfalls and pools if you fancy a dip,

NB the shower are token only that you can purchase from reception.

Also try the icecream very nice :) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andypsmith 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and great location. Some great walks from the site. Owners were very helpful and friendly. Facilities were superb. The site was very quiet, peaceful and tranquil with the sound of a waterfall as a backdrop to lull you to sleep.

Definitely worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aniesteph 3 reviews from this member

 We've just got back from a two night stay here. The site is lovely and the views are amazing. It's clean and the hard standing pitches are roomy. The showers are operated on a token system, which is fine, but they take a while to warm up if they haven't been used for a bit!

Word of warning, if you are following a sat nav DO NOT follow it when you are near, go through the village of Llanbedr and enter that way. Otherwise you will be finding yourself going across very VERY narrow farm land with no where to turn around!

Other than that hairy beginning, the site is nice, it gets very busy as is obviously a popular site in the area. Price is a little dear, but you are truly paying for the views which are fantastic! 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Uksmudge 3 reviews from this member

 Visited as a family group - 6 adults and 2 kids and a dog in 3 tents. Wonderful site to relax, sitting next to its own waterway. Pitches are huge with electric in some areas. Single facilities block clean and tidy. Staff are super chilled. Reception has a few items if you are short on items. Our kids loved playing in the pools in the stream created with some DIY dams. A few rope swing dotted about too. Access to the hills and woodland behind the site, so you can see further up the waterway and some more of the waterfalls. Already planning to revisit when we can find another free weekend. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 39 reviews from this member

 Over the years I have heard many campers praising Nantcol Waterfalls Campsite and I've seen it recommended in magazines, guides and online. It gets high scores here on UK Campsites as well as on Tripadvisor and Google reviews.

Recently I had a chance to see if the place lived up to all the hype when I stayed there for three nights. I wasn't disappointed.

The scenic setting is really stunning. The crowning glory is, as the name suggests, the series of beautiful waterfalls rising beside the site offering wonderful picturesque walks. It is so relaxing to hear the water in the background as you doze off at night. There is a picnic area with benches and tables beside the burbling river - delightful.

The site has a laid-back vibe and we got a warm welcome from the owner. Everyone was very friendly.

We paid £8 per person per night (plus a quid a night for the dog) which included two tents and the car.

The facilities are clean and modern in two separate purpose-built blocks. The hot water was a bit on-and-off during my stay but everything was spotlessly clean. There are toilets, washrooms, showers (paid for with cards lasting about 5 minutes), a laundrette, a covered area for dishwashing, and there are mains sockets for mobile charging.

Talking of mobiles, there's no reception in the valley bottom but you only have to walk a couple of hundred yards up the hill at the back of the site to get a good signal. You can also use the site's WiFi for a modest charge.

I can imagine Nantcol gets quiet hectic during the school holidays but during my weekday visit the place was delightfully peaceful. There was a mix of tents, camper vans and tents.

The ground is stony in places so bring rock pegs. In between the stony bits, the site is soft and prone to be muddy, especially where people drive off the roadways on to the grass.

The nearby village of Llanbedr has two pubs and both serve food. There are also a couple of shops in the village.

As other reviewers have noted, the lane to the site is single track with passing points; it can be a bit awkward if you meet a big vehicle or a caravan but nothing that can't be handled by any competent driver who is used to country roads.

Camp fires are allowed - there are many scorched circles on the grass - and logs are on sale. The site is very dog-friendly and there are lots of paths to walk your pet.

To sum up, this is a no-frills campsite in a great location with superb scenery, immaculate facilities and very helpful and friendly owners. I highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caira 2 reviews from this member

 Whaw and whaw again, this has been the most beautiful place I have ever been to. This was our very first trip to Wales and we loved everything about the site and location so much, we already booked our stay for July 2018! The owners are very friendly and helpful, clean facilities, laundry room with 2 large washing machine and very powerful tumble dryer ( currently only one as the other one was out of order) the campsite itself is peaceful and with some amazing views, woods, hills, stunning shallow river going through the camp making kids happy, close to Shell Island for a trip or visiting Harlech, Porthmadog or Barmouth, I could go on and on, I think if there is a paradise, that's what I would want it to look like :) 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Nantcol Waterfalls child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Nantcol Waterfalls?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Nantcol Waterfalls dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanbedr      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45819 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement