Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Greengrass Park Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Brandesburton > Greengrass Park Caravan Park Reviews

Greengrass Park Caravan Park
Hempholme Lane
Hempholme
Brandesburton
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO25 8NA
Tel: 01964 542112
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 23 Reviews
                6/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil -c 1 review from this member

Me and my wife have just spent four days here and it was brilliant !. I found the site by looking on here, I called last minute for a long Easter break and the owner took pity on me as it was last minute and managed to squeeze me in. On arrival I was greeted with a warm welcome and shown to my pitch, he helped with the hook up and showed me around, we found the site to be what ever you wanted, you could join in with the water sports or go fishing, have a drink in the club house with music/karaoke or have lazy day by the lake. We made full use of all the facilities like the laundrettes showers & toilets which where spotless. The bar also does really good food which means you don't need to go off site. There are shops nearby if you needed anything and a couple of takeaways. I didn't want to leave today as I felt so welcome ! I will definitely be coming back

Regards

Phil & Donna

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Teraivyyr 3 reviews from this member

We found the site OK by using the directions provided, but it is a long way from anywhere. Very quiet, and seems to be almost entirely used by people making use of the fishing lake.

We only found the person in charge by accidentally cycling past the caravan he was using, which was on a different part of the site to the one indicated by the sign!

The toilets were OK, but we didn't use the showers.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: A dixon 3 reviews from this member

Upon arrival there was no recollection of our booking, eventually we were shown to a grass pitch, which we were told was a tent pitch. Also on arrival we were charged more than we were expecting to pay as the website didn't mention any charge for awnings or dogs, however this has since been changed after our complaint.

The electrical charge is a rip off, you are alloctaed 5 per night and this seems to just drain away, were went out for the day and came back to less on our meter, we ran short of electric on our last evening at the site but was told we had to pay 10 to top up and we were very reluctant to do so just to see us through the night.

We were also not informed that there was no hot water for hand washing in the toilets of for pot washing, when we asked about this we were told there had been no hot water since october and the reason for this was that the boiler has packed up. The toilets were very dirty and could do with a mop leaving in there.

The other disappointing thing about the site was that the showers, clubhouse and park were a fair walk away through woodland, this was not ideal as we have small children and this walk was very difficult in the dark.

The site is in a lovely location and could be fantastic with some alterations and money spent. The site was very friendly. None of the above review should reflect on the staff working there they were very friendly and helpful and where just doing their jobs.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul- n-linda 5 reviews from this member

Came here as 'first timers' with a second hand tent we got off ebay, so we had no idea what to expect (or even if we had a complete tent!) The owner was very friendly and the pitch we were given was flat and close to a water supply.

Toilets were nearby although the ladies door did not shut properly which was a bit off putting. The main showers, shop and clubhouse were a short walk away through the woods so take a torch at night.

We did not use the showers as we only stayed overnight, but the egg butty from the cafe was lovely and cheap and the people in the clubhouse were friendly and again very reasonably priced.

The warden kept checking we were ok and made sure dogs were on leads and noise after 10 was not loud. The watersports seemed well organised and overall for 10 a night for two of us, we would revisit this site.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowler1 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from this and I have mixed feelings about it.

On the plus side, the staff are very friendly and the site is in a very nice location, on the lake. The club house area is good and they had a temporary license, which seemed to go down well.

I also have a few little niggles.

The toilet and showers were not clean, but this could be remedied by a mop being left in each of them, but it was also down to the quality of some of the guests.

The electric is metered, but at 10 for the card very expensive. We only used 1.50 on our visit and was money down the drain.

However the price of the stay was excellent value.

For future development, I would lose pitches 48 to 49(where the toilets are)and erect a full shower and toilet block, on that side of the lake. I would not worry if there was a price rise to help this happen.

Finally, DO NOT FOLLOW YOUR SAT-NAV UNTIL YOU GET CLOSER OR PAST BEVERLY.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leona+briony 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night, as it was conveniently located for a nearby function we were attending.

When we arrived, there was no-one available to book us in, so we came back later. The owner couldn't remember our telephone booking (yes, with the same person), but eventually remembered, and showed us to our 'pitch': clearly not an official pitch, but a bit of grass under some trees between the access road and some permanent pitches.

There was a small play area for the kids, and food was available (at a reasonable price), though we did not try it.

The toilet and shower block appeared to be adequate.

The clubhouse was noisy (but that's what clubhouses are for), though the noise carried on well after the clubhouse closed. We were woken at 12am and 2am by someone driving to the toilet block with their very loud car stereo on very loudly.

The site is adjacent to a large lake used for watersports. Everything is set up around this, and if you are not here for the watersports, then I would find somewhere else.

This was our first camping trip, and we had planned on staying for a 2nd night if the first went well:. We went home.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hullad 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site to test our new van out. Very nice nice with a big lake which was not the easiest place to get to but was pleasant in the morning walk.

Did not use the shower block or toilets as we had our own in the van. The club house was nice what I so of it.

Not a lot of things to on the site and the weather was not the best so did not venture to far away.

There is a nice Chinese takeaway in the village of Dacre which has to be the best we have tried. There is also a costcutter shop which stocked a lot of food.

Would we go back? yes we would but not until the summer so we can go for long walks and there are tons and tons of rolling fields in the area.

The owner is a pleasant guy to talk to and made you feel welcome and nothing was a chore to him.

If you like a remote place this is the site for you. We went when nothing was open and think we were the only tourers there

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Somanyhands 5 reviews from this member

Visited this site as we couldn't get booked in anywhere else last minute.

Site was tricky to find, as others have said, but we liked it a lot as it was spacious, not very full and in a lovely setting.

The tent site is a fair walk from the showers (which are situated through the other side of some woods, near the other touring area) but you can drive round.

Facilities seem good although we didn't really use them. Small playground for kids (in main area) and adequate toilets in the camping area.

Our kids (aged 9 and 5) loved it and, for the price, we'd definitely go back again

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eralc21 1 review from this member

Me and my Partner have visited Greengrass Park twice now and would definitely recommend it, we had a great time whilst we were there.
The second time we went they had done some improvement to the site, new toilet blocks with extra toilets (which are very clean) and have now put on more entertainment in the clubhouse.
Staff are very friendly and welcoming onto the site and show you to your pitch on arrival. There is also a barbecue area where you can buy food (which is very nice) and sit near the Lake. The site offers Watersports for people to try and you can also go fishing.
The only downside to the site is that the shower block is a fair walk from the tent pitches, we found it easier to drive round. The site is also hard to find if you don't know where it is, maybe better off asking for directions when booking.
Overall the site is great and ideal for a get away for the weekend. We'll definitely be going back there in a few weeks!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping joe 2 reviews from this member

We have just got back after the Easter weekend and I will be honest we had an absolutely fabulous time. Just a couple of negatives, If you are following your sat nav be warned it may take you down a farm track about 2 miles long don't do it you come to a locked gate and if you are towing a caravan you will have a few problems.
It would be a good idea to take a torch as the toilets are in a wooden porta cabin with no lights, there were two toilets and two sinks always clean. The shower block is a fair walk or a short drive very clean with hot water none of these things were a problem for us.
When we arrived at the site we were greeted by very friendly staff they took us to our pitch, we had a fab weekend my children aged 12 and 15 loved the water sports and nothing was too much trouble we were made to feel very welcome
We ate at the chip shop in the village. I would definitely recommend it and all in all we had a brill weekend and we will definitely be going back

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Brandesburton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2442 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder