Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ty Isaf Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Ty Isaf Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Ty Isaf Caravan And Camping Site
Llangynog Road
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7PP
Tel: 01678 520574
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Slowroad 60 reviews from this member

 A traditional site in a nice location not far from Bala. It's on a working farm so there's things going on from early to late - I like this.

If you don't like the farm view there's a field with a hill view! The facilities are clean and worked fine, might get busy when there's a lot of units, not hugely spacious.

There's a little bit of road noise. BTW the map on this web site shows the campsite on the wrong side of the road.

A friendly and thoughtful owner. Campfires are allowed. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kev-rob 1 review from this member

 Amazing site. Due to Covid we were advised to bring our own toilet and shower.

We arrived at the Pitch I selected only to discover it was a little small within minutes the owner arrived and re arranged us to a much bigger pitch.

The place is amazing minutes from Bala Lake Railway. Total peace and tranquillity.

Campfires are allowed not bonfires or music - great to relax. Camping on a working diary farm passing the milking sheds and goats amazing. Lovely site going back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rachel8077 12 reviews from this member

 It's a few years since we first visited Ty Isaf so I thought I'd leave a fresh review.

The site is pretty much unchanged since we first discovered it - still very much a traditional farm site. There are goats - with a kid, very cute - and cows with calves. The fields are spacious, no need to worry about being cramped amongst other units.

Fields are well set up, plenty of EHU and water points. Campfires are permitted, and logs and kindling are available to buy at the little on-site shop.

The facilities are - as others have mentioned - perhaps a little dated if you are used to large touring sites. But they are clean, and the showers are free and the hot water is endless. There is a little play area for children, and there is very little traffic moving around the site so it felt very safe.

The big thrill this trip was the edible garden - by the shop there are now planters stocked with gooseberries, blackcurrants, tomatoes, rocket etc. , all available for visitors to pick and eat. A lovely touch!

There is something very welcoming about this site, we always come away feeling relaxed. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Spiritburner 20 reviews from this member

 We used the main, top part of the site as we wanted hookup. We had a large field with loads of space it being early in season. This is a working farm site so expect some noise from animals, machinery & the usual farm equipment & junk lying around. Owners very friendly & helpful & facilities clean if a little dated compared to posher sites but more than adequate. I believe the lower part of the site by the river has a portaloo if you don't fancy a walk up to the facilities at the farm. Handy spot for the Revolution Bike Park, a few miles down the road & not too far from Bala for shops & eating out. This is one we'll be going back too. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smoggydunc 7 reviews from this member

 I have been looking for a camp site like this for years- on arrival the owners were really helpful and friendly and we were shown to a road to drive down to the River Camping. Actually it was more of a track but as we got to the field it was incredible. Lots of space and we could literally pitch our tent a few metres from the river. It was stunning with incredible views- this was what I had wanted and desired and for only £6 a night!.

I had some lovely walks up the hills and had a day at Bala on the lake and tried fishing on the River Dee. Also saw a number of Buzzards and a red kite which was a total bonus. I loved how you could complete camp fires with no hassle from the owners and the fact that there is only one sign of what you can and can’t do on the site. I felt so relaxed and just sat watching the countryside and the children playing on the “tarzi”- my dog Rocky loved it also.

But this camp site will not be to every ones liking- a porta loo and a tap in the field is your amenities so to have a shower you have to walk or drive back to the farmhouse- that may get on some peoples nerves with getting out of the car at every gate to open and close and especially as we had torrential rain and the track became a mud slide so some cars may struggle on it.

So basically if you desire a bar, entertainment, noise and amenities on your tent step this camp site will not be for you but if you want to enjoy the countryside and views, watch the animals and wildlife, relax in peace and quiet and “muck it” a bit then this site will be is perfect for you and for just £6 a night its incredible value. I will be going back – superb site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chazmummy 6 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, it is quiet and some farm animals, and has a chip van at the entrance if you are feeling lazy. It is not to far to drive in to bala, bala lake and the train station. It a bit more of a drive to porthmadog, which has a lot more shops and the beach. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ste and Heather 3 reviews from this member

 Wonderful hosts who allowed us to stay here for the Welsh Rally weekend with a couple of other family members staying in their tent, even though they had actually closed for the season! We paid on arrival with the amount being fair for two (£5/person/night).

Disaster struck when our pump for our air bed went kaput, as the campsite is in the middle of nowhere we were low on options but the owner very generously dug out a spare air pump for us to use instead. Letting me know to give her a shout if we needed anything else.

The site itself is set on a large field with rolling hills and beautiful scenery surrounding it, even considering the time of year. The office is set in a converted static and has helpful touches like coffee, sugar sachets with stirrers and leaflets about the surrounding area, with a sign saying they are a 'no music' campsite, which was reassuring. Campfires are permitted (would have been a cold night if they weren't!)

The walk to the facilities weren't the cleanest that we've seen with a few empty beer bottles etc littering the grass, but nothing that would put you off completely. (Take a torch for the night walk to the loo!) The toilets themselves were very clean with hot water, mirrors and showers. The people who worked on the farm were very helpful and friendly with one digging out the air pump for me and then pointing out the lights for the shower block when he saw me struggling.

Our only gripe was that despite the No Music policy there was a large group of people in the field next to us (we couldn't be sure if it was connected to the campsite or not) who set off fireworks late at night, stole the benches from the farm, played loud music and drove their cars between the fields this went on until around midnight, with us having to be up at 6:00am for the rally the following morning. With us leaving so early this was the only reason why we didn't mention this to the owners but as aforementioned if they were unconnected to the farm they cannot be held accountable, and wouldn't put me off staying again as I'm not usually up so early during winter camping.

Would we stay again? Yes but next time I'll pour water on their fireworks ;)  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrWilsonsbetterhalf 3 reviews from this member

 I love the peace and quiet of this place, stunning views and no air pollution the stars are really clear here. The lower field is were we stayed the children loved the stream and the site is enclosed and safe for them to be free range! this site is very basic in the lower field as there is no electric or showers, just a porta loo and a tap for water but this was fine.

You can go up to the farm to use the showers and they were good and hot if a bit dated.

The owners are friendly and welcoming and Bala is just lovely lots going on tin the village and the local swimming pool is good too

We will be back 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S11Steve 4 reviews from this member

 Second time at this site as the kids loved it when we stayed for one night earlier in the year. We opted for the lower field next to the river - no EHU or shower block, but a couple of portaloos and a fresh water supply was adequate, with a short drive over the hill for the shower block at the main farm.

We shared a huge field with two other groups, it was quiet and safe for the kids, with the river being no more than thigh deep and not fast moving. Plenty of trees to climb, open fires on the ground, pay per person, and no limit on site of tent or gazebo.

It is basic, but that is exactly what we wanted. Showers were clean enough, water was hot and staff were really friendly and helpful. Bala is a lovely town a few minutes drive away, with lots of activities nearby to entertain the kids.

It's good to go basic and get back to nature. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joyce and John 7 reviews from this member

 We had a very friendly and helpful welcome when we arrived. We were given information about the site and the area.

The campsite is on a working farm so it was very interesting to see the day to day work going on there. For us it was a perfect centre for our walking holiday.

There was a very generous allowance of space between the tents, even though it was August. The toilet block was always very clean with plenty of soap and toilet paper.

The location of the site about 10 minutes by car out of Bala was fine. In Bala there were all the possible shops and amenities you could require. The only small criticism is that the recycling arrangements were a bit haphazard and there was no clear labelling of the different bins. Apart from this, we had a wonderful stay there. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ty Isaf Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ty Isaf Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ty Isaf Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3787 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement