Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Broadholme Lane Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Belper > Broadholme Lane Caravan Park Reviews

Broadholme Lane Caravan Park
Broadholme Lane
Belper
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE56 2JF
Tel: 01773 823517
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Malcol 1 review from this member

 We have been going to Broadholme lane caravan site for a few years now and never had any problems. The owners of the site are really friendly but not intrusive and will help you any way they can.

The site does not have showers or a toilet block but the bins, grey waste and other wastes and water are all under cover and always kept clean. I have never seen children on site so not sure if it is adult only, best check.

The site pitches are hard standing on three tiers well drained with 16amp electric so no tripping out and the grass between always well kept. It is a dog friendly site with dog walks but I don, t have a dog so I don, t know how big these walks are.

Site prices are £16. 00 per night for your unit inc. Electric, awning and car space. The site is approx one mile out of Belper so not far for shopping and a pint. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Speedmook 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely small site. Reasonably priced at £15 per night including EHU. No showers or loos which is fine by us. Seems to be well kept.

Approx 20 minute walk to Belper on A6 which has a footpath all the way. Plenty of hill walks to do locally.

Fisherman's rest is closeby. Dog friendly but currently not doing hot food.

Some noise from road and railway but it wasn't intrusive.

We will return! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shirls1 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Great size pitches. Grounds kept immaculate.

We really had a great relaxing stay and will certainly keep going back.

So close to Belper and a great pub just minutes away. Dog friendly too. Canít wait to go back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KeithChesterfield 12 reviews from this member

 Reasonable site but no toilets/showers and own facilities will be required.

Levelling blocks needed on some pitches.

Combination of Grass and Hard standing pitches.

EHU to all pitches.

Dog walk area.

One mile walk to Belper along busy A6.

Local Pub does not serve meals but you can order a take-way to be delivered.

No Motorhome grey water waste outlet unless you have a very long pipe to reach the grate.

The road outside the camp is quite busy, surprisingly so for a minor road, but the noise is not intrusive.

Campsite lights go out at midnight and main entrance gate is fastened around that time.  


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Genieb 10 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Clean, tidy, re-cycling, hard standings and the grass around mown without cuttings left on top. Very nice couple, pay on arrival and shown to pitch.

There are no toilets/showers. Not needed as we have our own. Beautiful scenery and wonderful places to visit.

Easter and the weather not great but there is plenty to do and see.

Would certainly use the site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deb64 1 review from this member

 We first visited this site at the beginning of May and enjoyed it that much we have just returned for this bank holiday.

The site is on 3 levels and I would say holds about 15-20 caravans. We have stayed on the top level both times, the pitches are very generous and very well maintained.

There is no toilet or shower block, which when you have your own facilities isn't a problem There is a small dog run at the back of the site which is great if you have them, our three boys love it, especially the cockers who need to let off energy.

The site is run by a lovely couple who are hand should you need them but are not intrusive. I think it is also better suited for adults.

There is a lovely pub 5 minutes walk away called the Fishermans Rest with owners that are very welcoming and it is also dog friendly. Belper is a short drive or a 20-30 walk away.

If you are looking for a quite time away with a pub in walking distance you can't go wrong at Broadholme. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Broadholme Lane Caravan Park is set on the eastern flank of the steep dale formed by the River Derwent as it flows through Belper on its southward sojourn through the Peak District. As such, the site is formed in three terraces: a hard-standing line alongside Broadholme Lane itself;a second tier of grassed plots; and a top tier of hard-standing plots, from which - whilst (as an earlier comment has pointed out) you cannot actually spot the River Derwent because of the trees - you can at least relax to the vista of sheep-dotted meadows on the opposite hillside. Both the main Derby-Sheffield railway line and the busy A6 road also follow the river, although the noise from passing trains and traffic isn't seldom too intrusive.

All plots come with electric hook-up. Meanwhile, there is a shelter located between the second and top tiers within which can be found the water tap, an elsan point and recycling bins, as well as tourist information leaflets. However, there are no toilets and showers - the absence of which probably explains why Broadholme Lane remains a very keenly-priced site to stay on (£13 per night all-in).

However, if your caravan or motorhome has its own facilities then it is undoubtedly a very pleasant site to stay on, located as it is within an easy drive of all the great Peak District destinations - including Ashbourne, Matlock, Bakewell, Buxton and all the pretty Derbyshire villages in between. Crich Tramway Museum, the Heights of Abraham and Kedleston Hall are also within half-hour's drive, as are the Ecclesbourne Valley, Peak Rail and Midland preserved railways. Walkers, meanwhile, can enjoy a day exploring ever-stunning Dovedale; and cyclists likewise the abandoned rustic railway lines that comprise the Tissington and High Peak Trails.

Whatís more, if you want to ditch the car for the day then the hourly 60-mile long Transpeak bus service stops at the bottom of the road and connects the camp site with the city of Derby on one direction, as well as snaking its way through some truly spectacular scenery to link Matlock, Darley Dale, Bakewell, Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell and Buxton in the other (with two-hourly extensions to Stockport and Manchester if those campers of more mature years really are smitten with concessionary bus pass wanderlust).

Closer to home, Belper itself is a delightful little town with Morrisons and Co-op supermarkets for filling up the larder. It is about twenty minutes walk from the site (or again, the Transpeak bus service will do the journey in five). There are plenty of restaurants and country pubs both there and nearby. Meanwhile, if you don't want to trek too far at night then the Fisherman's Rest pub next door to the site is a very friendly and reasonably priced establishment, with meals from £6-£10 per head.

We enjoyed our stay at Broadholme Lane and would recommend it to anyone who wants a handy base for exploring the wonderful countryside that Derbyshire boasts. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lolchris 20 reviews from this member

 Wow what a fantastic campsite.

We went with friends and the site owner was extremely friendly and could not do enough for us.

The plots are hardstanding or grass, quite large with plenty of room.

One designated place for water, waste and tourist information.

A relaxed and peaceful site.

20 min walk takes you into Belper town centre.

This site is an excellent base to explore the Derbyshire villages, Denby Dale, Matlock Bath, Ripley and Cromford etc.

A bus stop is situated outside the site if you want to leave the car behind.

A lovely dog walk at back of site.

Just down the road through the cemetery is another dog walk.

The fishermans rest pub, next door to site was closed for meals but just 5 mins up the road is a lovely pub Spankers Inn.

We enjoyed it so much we have rebooked to go again in a fortnight. So much to see and do. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sbtx3 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a weekend here. Firstly, have to say the site was absolutely spotless. The bin and waste area was also really clean and tidy, bins always being emptied. The pitches were a good size, we stayed on hard standing and grass. You have to use your own toilet and shower etc, as there is none on the site, but this is stated anyway.

One gripe we do have is that you can't actually see the beautiful views of the Derwent Valley from the site as the trees are all too tall. Which is a real shame. We didn't take our dogs with us this time, but there is a dog exercise area. Not the biggest, but I'd say it was adequate. One more thing, is there is a lot of traffic noise from the busy A6 which runs close to the site, along with the train. Didn't bother us in the slightest, but if you're not a fan of traffic noise, maybe this site is not for you.

For £12 a night with water and EHU, we'll defo be going back, a lovely affordable site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suejoy13 7 reviews from this member

 Well wow what a quaint little site this was, we came here on spec to try our new (to us) caravan out as we have upgraded from tent to caravan.

This site was just beautiful easy to find the owner was so nice and helpful helped us guide the caravan in. The site was very small and had no amenities but it didn't matter it was perfect for a weekend, and we picked the hottest weekend so far this year.

There was a dog friendly pub about 5 mins away from the site which was a bonus a little field for the dog to run around in,

This site is open all year round and I looking froward to going back in the autumn for another weekend break 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Broadholme Lane Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Broadholme Lane Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Broadholme Lane Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Belper      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1515 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December