Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alltycoed Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Cardigan > Alltycoed Campsite Reviews

Alltycoed Campsite
Poppit Sands
St Dogmaels
Dyfed
Cardigan
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA43 3LP
Tel: 01239 612673
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/01/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckysue 1 review from this member

 My partner & 2 children aged 7 & 4 stayed here for 3 nights in August 2016. We had 2 nights in a tent and then on our final night we stayed in one of the lovely yurts on site. We had an amazing time! There is such a lovely feel and atmosphere to the site. The owners are so friendly and warm and very laid back. The view from where we pitched out tent was picturesque, such a beautiful view and one I shall never forget, waking up was a joy. Also the sky at night was so clear the stars looked incredible.

After our 2 nights in the tent the wind picked up so we decided to have our final night in a yurt, the yurt was beautiful, so homely with a wooden double bed in the middle and then 2 single mattresses underneath to pull out and an air bed. A stove with a gas bottle was also provided. Outside there was a fire pit and logs can be purchased from the farm, the kids loved toasting marshmallows on their final evening. We all slept like babies and didn't wake until 8:45 it was that comfortable in the yurt.

There is a amenities block with toilets and showers, the showers cost 20p per 2 minutes if you pop £1 in you get a good 10 minute shower, the showers were always hot and never ran out of hot water. There is also a sink outside to wash up pots and pans etc. Car parking is also on site.

A definite 10/10 from me, my partner and the children. We will be returning next year and can't wait. Thank you so much.

Becky, Tom, Jude and Annabella 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PrincessJelly 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights in August. The site is up a long single carriage way road, which was in good condition with the hedges well trimmed on both sides.

The site is partly on a slope but there are some flat pitches to be had on the lower field nearer the toilet block. We managed to snap up one of those!

The toilet and shower facilities were good, very clean and recently built. There is a nice picnic bench outside the toilet block with benches, and scattered around the rest of the site are more picnic benches. The owners were very hospitable and delivered a burner for our camp fire, we used it both nights for marshmallows and when we returned from our day out someone had kindly emptied it for us.

The yurts looked good, but were fully booked for our dates so we did not get to have a look inside. I think they are quite simple though.

The site is on a working farm, and the children got to feed the goats which they were happy about. There isn't a play ground for the children but they don't really need it with so much space to run around. There is a tyre swing, which was more than enough to keep them entertained.

Cardigan has all the shops you need, including a Co-op and a Tesco. We spent the day in New Quay on a dolphin spotting trip which was good fun. New Quay is about 40 minutes away. We also went to Aberystwyth, which is a larger town with a nice castle and great rock pools. It is about an hour away though.

I would highly recommend this site. Beautiful view. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Alan Duncan 1 review from this member

 This is a really fabulous spot for a campsite – it may be the last farm down a narrow lane beyond Poppit Sands, but that means no traffic noise so all the more peace when you get there, great walking from the site, and fantastic night skies too. The fields do slope a bit but without the slope there might not be the view. And what a view, overlooking Poppit Sands and the Teifi estuary mouth – we were lucky enough to see Dophins in the bay two mornings.

The big plus about this site over other sea view campsites east of Cardigan is that it is east facing and tucked into a fold of a hill, so it is relatively sheltered and a suntrap; the sites overlooking the sea at Cardigan Island Farm and Mwnt looked quite windswept in comparison. Also, the facilities a clean and new, there was always hot water even when the site was quite busy, and the showers were a very reasonable 20p per two minutes. It’s a friendly site – a mix of families and couples when we were there, and the owners are helpful, but leave you to enjoy yourself.

We planned to camp at Allt Y Coed for 3 nights then go into a B&B, but stayed 6 nights in one of their yurts which was a bargain with al fresco dining and that view (to stay in the simple yurts you do need all the camping gear except a tent). 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil the Hawk 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of August beginning of September. WOW! We think we have found heaven on earth! So peacefully, and an amazing location. This place is so beautifully it brings the best out in all who stay there! Great facilities and the owners are great hosts, we often talk about our wonderfully time here so I thought it was about time I attempted a review (my first review of anything!) Thankyou, Phil & Tracey. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mellewis1588 8 reviews from this member

 We went to this site to walk part of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path which is accessed from the campsite a short walk away through a gate. It is perfectly situated for the path.

The site is accessed along a really long narrow track which in a BMW X5 is quite challenging! It is on the side of a gentle slope with some almost flat areas to pitch tents. We had three smallish tents and two vehicles - it is charged by the person per night so there didn't seem to be much problem with pitch size. Toilets/showers are in pretty good condition, charging £1 for 10 mins.

All in all a comfortable site with good amenities and fantastic views over the bay. I'd definitely stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lanoonoo 1 review from this member

 Well, what a special place this is, we are a medium sized family 4 children ages between 3 & 13.

We were going to take out tent but decided to hire one of the yurts that they have available for hire, and we are so glad that we did, the yurts were just perfect, no fancy interior, just a good quality yurts with a clean floor and bed, mattress and cooker provided if needed, fires, logs on request for outside,

The yurts had lockable doors, key provided and not once did we get hassled about anything whilst we were there, and if we had a query the pleasant owners were very accommodating, the site itself is on the Pembrokeshire coastal path, so there were walkers passing through occasionally, the view from the field is very special, just gives you that holiday feel, no light pollution, just the sound of nature and a few farm animals, I would say that this is a family site, as always you have to have respect for others campers so as long as you are not making lots of noise you will not get any hassle off the owners, they are very fair people and make you feel very comfortable during your stay, the lane to the camp site is narrow, but wide enough for a van, and a few passing places so nothing negative about that unless your driving is useless, the toilet facilities and shower facilities were very high standard, very clean being a new build and even had warm floors! I think you get 2mins in shower for 20p so having spent lots of money building this block they are not being greedy and certainly not over charging as a consequence,

They have several fields, and some good pitches, the yurts are built on decking so are all level

Whilst we were there we had scouts on their summer camp, they stayed in a separate field away from the yurts and main camping field which again was very thoughtful for either parties from the owners, another tick in the box.

They even had summer toys for the kids to use which I have never seen on other camp sites, we of course returned them to their spot once we had finished.

The beach - Poppit Sands

Beautiful ! Car park £5 for the whole day £3 half day

We travelled to Tenby to go to Oakwood theme park, it took us 45 mins, so you can get about quite easily

Tesco supermarket 10 mins drive from the campsite, nice little place called Newquay is about 25 mins drive and worth the day out, Dolphins a plenty! Guaranteed at that!

I will be returning to this campsite,

Very impressed,

Nothing constructive or negative to say

Thanks. See you next year :)

Nick Lisa and Kids 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gulliver7952 11 reviews from this member

 Spent 7 nights here at the start of the July Heat Wave.

Arrived at the site at mid-day to a nearly empty site.

The site is in two fields the lower (smaller) has the new immaculate shower/toilet block. 2 showers per gender plus disabled loo/shower. Showers 20p for 2 minutes or multiples of. I found 60p (6 mins)was more than enough. The coin meters are outside of the showers so you have to do a bit of prep work before you put you money in. Or use the disabled as the meter is inside. You get a one minute warning buzzer before the money runs out.

Two Belfast sinks with hot water for washing up outside. Water tap is also located on the end of the block.

Picnic tables on the patio.

This field also has the flatist area for camping opposite the showers.

The higher part of this field has 4 Yurts on Decking.

The upper field has one Yurt near the gate and a shed (garage size)with a freezer and electric sockets for charging phones etc. It also has a settee and table, so could be used as a wet weather shelter?

As has been stated before, there are not too many flat places as it does slope a bit. So you have to think carefully how and where you pitch.

I managed to find a flatish spot at the top end of the field. You also have sea views. The down side to this spot was the trees blocked the sun in the evening.

There is no children's play park but the field was big enough for them to play ball games without intruding of the few (4) tents that were there.

It is worth noting that there are two cottages/small holdings beyond the field which have access via a rough track the other side of the hedge.

An aluminium horse box being dragged up the track at 6am makes a bit of noise. (these are working farms)

There are numerous foot paths from around the site (OS map OL35) and is the start of the Pembrokeshire Coast Path.

The nearest beach is at Poppit Sands about a mile and a half back down the lane. It's walkable but it's all uphill on the way back. Nice beach cafe and Life Boat Station and car park.

The water is shallow (tide goes out a long way) and is looked after by Life Guards. People were still in the water at 9pm.

The lane from Poppit is single track with few passing places, so when driving up/down you do need to be aware of where the nearest passing place or gate way is. Most of the cottages apart from the Youth Hostel (half way up) appeared to be empty. (holiday lets?)

In the 7 days I was there I only met 3 cars coming the other way.

You will also meet walkers heading for the coast path.

Nearest shop is in St Dogmaels. Ruined Abbey worth a visit. Free parking.

Tesco's Northern end of Cardigan (5 miles).

Didn't see any Dolphins locally, so drove the short distance to Newquay. They were swimming in the harbour.

Other beaches nearby are.

Llangranog, Penbryn (N. T. ) Tresaith, Aberporth.

This is a very peaceful site with superb views and for the price very good facilities.

The only downside I can think of is some might find the drive up from Poppit Sands a bit hairy. But that is what makes this site what it is. Special.

The owners are very laid back, I had to chase her mid week to give her the pitch fee money.

When I decamped I noticed that the Kitchen Tent had a couple of holes in the ground sheet. When I lifted the ground sheet I found a mouse hole in the ground. Don't think he appreciated me pitching on top of his home. :) So watch where you pitch. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rurallondon 1 review from this member

 I stayed at this campsite for two nights at the beginning of June in order to have a base from which to walk a section of the Pembrokeshire Coast Path.

Having read reviews of the site before I set off I was sure that it would be the place for me and was not disappointed.

The campsite is set in a wonderful location overlooking Cardigan Bay and Island. I was the only visitor for my two nights which I guess was a shame for the owners Barry and Helen but perfect for me as I was in dire need of a breather.

I loved the campsite it was so peaceful and relaxing. A new toilet/shower block had recently been built and I have never seen anything cleaner or more comfortable over many years of pitching up.

The campsite also has a number of Yurts for hire and barbecue facilities so would be great for family's and groups.

The only negative? issue I could force myself to point out would be that for camping there is not a lot of flat ground to use. Being the only visitor I had the pick of the pitches so no problem on this visit.

After walking 20 odd miles on day one I spent the second just dossing and enjoying the fantastic weather, believe it or not?

The owners were great, the site was on a working farm and the surrounding area beautiful. Steep road to the site which I walked and cycled once each time phew, but cant wait to return! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jill Weedon 8 reviews from this member

 Well, we loved this site. As previously stated, the approach road is narrow, steep and long and the last mile of the journey got my heart going as my van had to squeeze through in places.

The new shower block is still being built but looks like it will be great when finished, so we had to use the basic facilities this summer. And, yes, I did have to put up with sleeping on a slope. However - what a view!

And what lovely people Barry and Helen the owners are -they bent over backwards to help us. We had a very lovely week here and would recommend it to anyone who prefers old fashioned simple camping (farm noises, starry skies and campfires) to clubhouses and tumble driers.

Also tried two pubs in St. Dogmaels and had a great meal with river views in one, and a really good pub quiz in the other. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susie777 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved this site. Really friendly owner, couldn't do enough to help. We didn't mind at all that the facilities were basic, their website had already informed us of this and yes the road to it is narrow but no problem if you are a decent driver and the site was very reasonably priced. They had just put up some yurts and we had a look inside them, really luxurious and tastefully done out. The view is breathtaking, the best of any site we have been to as it overlooks the bay and Cardigan Island, will definitely be back. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Alltycoed Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alltycoed Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Alltycoed Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cardigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6412 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement