Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glan Byl Farm Caravan & Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Glan Byl Farm Caravan & Camp Site

Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0RD
Tel: 01766 530644
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rod umney 2 reviews from this member

We booked this site for two nights as it was very close to my daughters house whilst visiting our grand children, Site warden was very helpful and very friendly. Toilets were some of the best we have ever used at most sites and I would rate 5 out 5.

All in all we will definitely use this site in the future. You get a view of mountain range and of the sea.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janicef 2 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site with superb showers, which are free, and lovely clean toilets it also has constant hot water for washing dishes, again free. The owners, Robert and Fiona, are very friendly and always on hand to help and if they donít happen to be around there is always Barry and Sue who are the caretakers. Between the four of them nothing is too much trouble and whether itís raining or not someone is always willing to help. The site is fairly quiet with a lot of seasonal pitches(does have touring pitches too all with EHU) and all the regulars are very welcoming and friendly. There is plenty of space for children to play and is dog friendly. On the whole Iíd like to keep this lovely site a secret all to myself but I would recommend it to everyone.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smithie 5 reviews from this member

If your looking for peace, quite, relaxation, superb views, friendly campers and the most helpful hard working owner this is the place for you. The site is clean and well kept there are a few hard standing pitches. The shower block is newish about 4 years old always kept immaculately clean. Plenty of hot water.

The site may be next to the main road but you can hardly hear a thing same as the cement works. The owner is very friendly and will help you as much as he can, he runs the cement works, a farm and the camp site but will still find time to chat to you. While we where there he had 3 orphaned lambs in a pen and all where welcome to join in with feeding the lambs my wife feed 1 and so did a couple of kids

The views are stunning which ever way you look. Porthmadog is 10 mins away with a large Tescos, Aldi and Lidl, Blackrock sands is 20 mins away. Going back you bet love the place

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wazza332 1 review from this member

We are first time campers and were looking for a small camp site in Criccieth and found Glan Byl on this website. We spent a 7 days here during the first week in August and had a fantastic time despite the weather.

As mentioned by previous reviewers the campsite is adjacent to the A487 and a concrete company. However, the site is an extremely well run family business and we could not have been made more welcome. Robert and family were extremely pleasant and helpful recommending places of interest to visit.

Even though we were in our tent (with EHU) we hardly noticed the road as the site is well screened by trees and hedges. We also had our dog with us and the owners have set up a sizeable dog exercise area at the top of the site, which was an excellent facility to have use of.

We did not notice any of the comings and goings at the concrete company and were impressed with the facilities available. There is a new toilet and shower block, which is immaculately clean and appeared to have endless hot water.

The grass was well cut and the site is on a gentle slope and well drained. We were not blessed with good weather and had some torrential rain during our stay. Despite this there was no standing water and the site quickly dried out.

This was a fantastic week away for us and we will definitely recommend Glan Byl as a really well run and friendly camp site. We will definitely be going back!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kavs 9 reviews from this member

Spent time here over Whit and did not want to come home.

On first sight it did not look promising as the field is on a slope, next to a cement works and along site a main road.

Soon sorted the slope out with a chock, never heard the cement works and the main road didn't bother us and certainly did not hear it during the night.

My brother and his three children camped with us and they were in a tent and they all slept soundly too. It may be because there are two rows of trees to break up the noise. Good dog walk.

The facilities are excellent and the showers superb. There are a number of caravans on a seasonal pitch and the occupiers were the friendliest people we have met on any site.We were even given a bottle of wine to go with our BBQ.

The children loved it here and although there is no children's play area there is enough space for ball games etc without disturbing anyone else.

I would recommend this site. Very good rates, very friendly people and an excellent spot for touring the area which has a lot to offer. Only five minutes from Porthmadog.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Erinclare 1 review from this member

Visited this site about Five Years ago and never turned back. We decided to leave the caravan and visit all through the season. The site has a very clean shower block and a disabled facility which is great for my 11 year old daughter. The owners of the site are very helpful and nothing is to much to ask. The views over the bay are beautiful and the site itself is kept well.

There is a cement works near by the campsite and the trucks go out but this doesnt bother us at all and you don't really realise its there. The site has become a 2nd home to us and there is a lot of campers who come back year after year for the season. Would recommend to anybody a friendly clean site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tsm1971 2 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a lovely week staying at Glan Byl. We are a family with 2 boys we went in a tent with no electrics and was situated right next to the concrete factory, which I was worried about after reading some of the reviews but I can say I only heard them once in a morning it is not in your face and if anything the cows and sheep are nosier in the other field. You are situated near the main road but that's camping for you. There is no park for the children but this was fine as the kids make friends with each other and make their own entertainment. My boys enjoyed the open space and played boules and cricket.

The site owner works on the concrete factory and is also the milkman for the area as well, he is one of the most friendliest campsite owners I have ever met very accommodating, there is no set time to be on or off the site.When I phoned to book he just took our details no deposit and when we got to the site he let us pitch up and get settled before we paid. It is a very relaxed, friendly atmosphere and we will definitely come back to this site if we did this area again.

The showers are spacious and hot.2 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies.20p for a powerful hairdryer.Showers are free. Indoor washing up area 2 large sinks and a washer and a dryer which you just ask the site owner for a token to use.

This is a good base for seeing the sites recommended are portmeirion, harlech castle and sygun copper mines, in easy reach to many beaches. A good place to eat is the foxes cross it is signed post off the main road and is up the hillside out of the way a bit but the meals and the company is fantastic.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wilbur113 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site for first time. Electric hook up available. Toilet and shower facilities very clean. Showers are free with lots of hot water. You will need 20p for hair dryer. Views are good depending on where you are indicated to park your van.
The downside of this site is the concrete works next to the site, if you are parked at the bottom of the field you get the noise of the passing trucks to and from the site.
Three pubs in Tremdog serving food approx 2 miles away. We ending up leaving the car and got a taxi back to the site which cost £5.40. Lots of others places to eat in Cricceth or short car drive away. Good coastal and country walks with great views not far from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janicef 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time in the August Bank Holiday. What a super site, quite a small site which I find appealing. The toilet/shower/washing facilities were very,very clean. The showers, which were free, were fantastic they had constant hot water and I would go as far to say they were better than the shower at home. Overall the site is a very friendly site, other campers and owners included, I would recommend this site and will certainly be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Softtopchick 11 reviews from this member

Were back! Yes we visited this site early on in 2007 and as indicated then, we have returned. This is a first for us. Never have we been to the same site twice.

I can say I was not disappointed. Everything was as I remembered. This time we returned with 2 other family groups and 1 ended up pitching their for the season! Toilets still excellent. Owner is one of the nicest people - nothing is too much. Site fees are one set fee £15.50 regarless of extras such as how many people, dogs, awning etc - absolute bargain.

Guess what, we are going back at the end of the season for a break. Quick get a gun and shoot me I am doing everything I thought I would never do! I must be getting old and enjoying caravan life too much.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4789 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019