Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hillside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Thirsk > Hillside Caravan Park Reviews

Hillside Caravan Park
Canvas Farm
Knayton
Thirsk
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO7 4BR
Tel: 01845 537349
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 4th Febuary-4th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 143 Reviews
                10/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: FLETCH191 1 review from this member

 Great location, very peaceful and great views. Nice pub down the road. If you are a runner or mountain biker, there are some great routes very close to the site.

The only issue was that this site has decided to open but without toilet/shower facilities. I understand that this is their decision, although other sites we have used this month, have opened their facilities.

In light of their decision I was quite disappointed that the price of a pitch had not been reduced to reflect this. For that reason I would not recommend this site during the current Covid situation.

Regards Mr Simon Fletcher 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobtent 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderfully peaceful part of the site, on the super pitches near the lake, couldn't ask for better. No road noise, no light pollution, just lovely views around. Massive size pitches, very private.

Can't wait to return, will be requesting same part of the site, as it's so peaceful.

One of the best sites we have stayed on, in almost 15 years. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: KateJ 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site. The views from the pitches are lovely, as it is set in the beautiful Hambleton Hills.

The facilities are very good, clean and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jillywidd 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site, well maintained and quiet with superb facilities.

There is plenty of space between all the hardstanding pitches which are all super pitches.

Toilet blocks have underfloor heating which is great when weather is cold. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mario snr 7 reviews from this member

 Once again a lovely stay here with our twin grandchildren age 4, the only problem for them was the play area very wet and muddy and they so wanted to play there, a very quiet site that is about two miles from main road into Thirsk, but plenty of places to visit around and about.

The main toilet block only has two men's showers so could get bit busy during main season, just need to be aware that the showers do take a few goes to get the temperature correct as can go from freezing cold to very hot quickly, I assume that the caravans that are at the furthest point use their own facilities, there are more showers by the main entrance but think these used mainly by people stopping the glamping pods.

Upon our arrival noticed that they had removed the long flower bed outside reception which we felt was great as having a long caravan gave you a better swing through the gates to the main site, upon leaving they have placed a number of large wooden planters which we feel will restrict the swing in through the main gate, overall a lovely site the staff most helpful and friendly.

We are stopping off here next year on the way back down from Scotland. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: MAKEMBABE 13 reviews from this member

 This is an amazing sight, the pitches are well spaced out and all the services are at hand. All the staff are very friendly.

The facilities are the best very clean, warm, disabled facilities are exceptional and we will definitely be back.

Very dog friendly. They have put in a lot of thought in to everything that we could possible need, a lovely coffee lounge with loads of room, books, magazines, games, cd, dvd's, tv and a lovely coffee machine.

The shop has all you might need the laundry rooms are well equipped all in all a fantastic place. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Russell Thomas 7 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting in immaculately cared for site. Superb pitches and great views.

Well situated for the western Cleveland hills, good walking or cycling on your doorstep.

Nearby Northalerton and Thirsk for shopping etc.

Showers and washrooms very warm and cleaned to a excellent standard

Cannot think of any negatives for this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JPCW 1 review from this member

 Beautifully maintained campsite in a quiet location with easy access to Thirsk, Northallerton and further afield in Yorkshire.

The super pitches on Lakeside are excellent and to be recommended.

The owners and staff are particularly welcoming and flexible.

You won't want to go elsewhere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidgosling 4 reviews from this member

 This was the second time that we have stayed at the site and we thoroughly enjoyed the very spacious and fully serviced pitch. The site is also great for walking direct from the site.

There are numerous permissive paths on the owners' land adjacent to the site which link with public roads and footpaths. Our dog loved it.

The only downside to the site is the location and possible adequacy of the toilet block. Quite a long walk from our pitch ( no. 43 ) and although there are some more toilets /showers in the reception block, they are even further away.

As well as the distance, I do wonder how adequate the facilities are - only two toilet cubicles and two showers for over 50 pitches seems inadequate.

However, I have to say that, while we were there, we never had to queue and the facilities were well maintained.

We would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Chrismorgan9 1 review from this member

 Our second stay at this lovely site, this time with our 15 year old granddaughter, who very much appreciated the free WiFi in the comfortable coffee lounge!

Excellent customer service right from the time of booking. I mentioned that my husband is registered disabled so we were allocated a pitch near the disabled wetroom which is located in the same building as the reception and coffee lounge. There are two other washrooms here, one with a walk in shower and one with a bath which must be a boon to families with toddlers!

Lovely pub, the Dog and Gun, in nearby Knayton - booking advised, especially if you want to take dogs. Good walks for the dogs around the site!

Short distance by car from many places of interest including Thirsk, Northallerton, Rievaulx Abbey, etc.

We will definitely be back! 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hillside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hillside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hillside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thirsk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement