Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hillside Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hillside Caravan Park
Canvas Farm
Knayton
Thirsk
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO7 4BR
Tel: 01845 537349
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 4th Febuary-4th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 135 Reviews
                10/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidgosling 3 reviews from this member

This was the second time that we have stayed at the site and we thoroughly enjoyed the very spacious and fully serviced pitch. The site is also great for walking direct from the site. There are numerous permissive paths on the owners' land adjacent to the site which link with public roads and footpaths. Our dog loved it.

The only downside to the site is the location and possible adequacy of the toilet block. Quite a long walk from our pitch ( no. 43 ) and although there are some more toilets/showers in the reception block, they are even further away. As well as the distance, I do wonder how adequate the facilities are - only two toilet cubicles and two showers for over 50 pitches seems inadequate. However, I have to say that, while we were there, we never had to queue and the facilities were well maintained.

We would certainly return.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Chrismorgan9 1 review from this member

Our second stay at this lovely site, this time with our 15 year old granddaughter, who very much appreciated the free WiFi in the comfortable coffee lounge!

Excellent customer service right from the time of booking. I mentioned that my husband is registered disabled so we were allocated a pitch near the disabled wetroom which is located in the same building as the reception and coffee lounge. There are two other washrooms here, one with a walk in shower and one with a bath which must be a boon to families with toddlers!

Lovely pub, the Dog and Gun, in nearby Knayton - booking advised, especially if you want to take dogs. Good walks for the dogs around the site!

Short distance by car from many places of interest including Thirsk, Northallerton, Rievaulx Abbey, etc.

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brianrotti1 3 reviews from this member

Hillside is excellent. It has great facilities.

Staff are extremely friendly and knowledgable about local area and if they can help they will.

We go back there twice a year every year.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elliecat 1 review from this member

Very friendly welcome when we arrived. Facilities very clean.

Pitches excellent size and well thought out. Had a very relaxing weekend and will certainly return.

Village pub excellent food.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brianrotti1 3 reviews from this member

We come to this site every year. Pitches/facilities first class.

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Personally I would not go anywhere else. Fantastic location.

Excellent walks for people and dogs. Pub in village absolutely superb.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ellowhinn 1 review from this member

This is a brilliant site on the edge of The North Yorkshire Moors. Ideally situated for visiting Moors or Dales.

The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful and the site is calm and restful and well kept.

All pitches are super pitches, with water and grey waste drainage. Also there are some very large spacious pitches with a good stretch of grass between each.

The shower blocks are very well kept and are very warm in the chilly weather. There are a number of local pubs with good food which are within five minutes drive.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BessyBus 1 review from this member

This was our 2nd visit but with a 4 year gap between, we enjoyed our stay the first time but then left the motor home world for a few years and have returned as caravaners, all I can say is fantastic!

Lovely site, beautifully kept and maintained, the super pitch was great, the privacy space between the pitches works a treat. Dog walking area is perfect for our four legged child!

The toilet blocks was spotless and the chemical waste area was all immaculate.

Definitely will be back - sooner rather than later!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 16 reviews from this member

An excellent site, well kept and good facilities. The pitches are well spaced and on most spaces there is an option to go tow bar in or out.

The recently updated toilet block is kept clean and has several nice touches. We would have preferred to be able to adjust the shower temperature rather than it be preset. The infra red button is probably a slight improvement on the push button type.

A nice touch was the hand washing sink in the chemical toilet emptying.

Our dog enjoyed the dog walks round the fields with a cooling off dip in the stream on the way home!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donns 2 reviews from this member

We had a family get together, over 4 nights, with our touring caravan and 2 'camping pods' - and it was wonderful. We had a fully serviced pitch next to the pods and so we were together but separate.

With plenty of space for playing, fantastic facilities, friendly owners and wonderful views I cannot recommend this site enough. This was our third visit and I am sure there will be many more.

Pauline D

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Michael Dinnage 1 review from this member

Needed a convenient place to stay whilst visiting Thirsk.
After the initial apprehension of the single track road leading to the site, especially as we have a vey long unit, the access proved to be more than okay,

The welcome was exemplary and they couldn't have been more helpful when realising that, as I've already mentioned, our unit was one of the longest they had encountered. They juggled their bookings so that we had a pitch that would accommodate us, and not many sites would have gone to that trouble,

The staff tried to keep the facilities clean, but unfortunately whilst we were there the people who used them didn't show much respect and very soon after the toilet block had been cleaned it was fouled again. This is no refection whatsoever on the staff who had the thankless task of cleaning up the mess on a daily basis.

On a more pleasant note the fully service pitch that we had chosen had all the connections for drinking water, grey water waste, electrics and TV connection. It was a mixture of gravel hardstanding and grass and very well maintained. I would however recommend strong awning pegs as the ground can be extremely hard.

The site is very open and well laid out and there are plenty of walks attached to the site so if like us you have dogs, it's ideal.
There is a small general shop in the reception area (try the ice-cream!) and a wonderful Coffee Shop which is a must try.
Overall this site is to be recommended.

If you do have dogs and can get to Thirsk, then a visit to 'Bliss' the most dog-friendly cafe is a must. The food, especially the breakfasts, are well worth a try, and your dog even gets it's own treats upon arrival. It was packed when we visited on a Saturday morning with other cafe's nearby nowhere near as busy. Just maybe they should look at what Bliss is giving it's customers!

Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2555 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019