Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stairs Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Hartfield > Stairs Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Stairs Farm Certificated Site
Jib Jacks Hill
Maresfield Road
Hartfield
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN7 4DQ
Tel: 07526 618841
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 12 CCC Only
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Christinaaskew 1 review from this member

Beautiful site very well maintained facilities are adequate.

Nice location

Only downside was a man who kept showing up and telling us the rules and telling us we were not allowed to play music and that was 7pm. Not sure who he was but it looks like he has a caravan permanently on site

This is the only thing that would put us off staying there again
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrplskinner 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, lovely clean toilets and showers, cut grass, ideal location very short walk into hartfield, BUT ground lumping due to mole infestation.

Great view from site over rally field and securely locked, and generally vary good site

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Christina b 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site within walking distance to Hartfield village with shops and pubs. The facilities were basic but clean with 2 toilets and a shower water and CDP.

We were there 3 days and jumped on the buses to Tunbridge Wells and East Grinstead and also went into Ashdown forest and Pooh Corner.

We will return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Guidofawkes 1 review from this member

This is our 2nd visit to Stairs farm and we love it. It holds a maximum of 5 tourers/caravans and is nicely spread out so you aren't right on top of each other. Very quiet with only a little road noise.

If you like a walk this site is ideal as you can follow the paths straight off of site without the need to drive anywhere. The village is a 10 minute walk across the field where you will find a nice pub with ample outdoor space and good food.

All in all if your after small quiet site with just enough facilities this is ideal. The only thing that I would like to see improved is the toilet shower cleanliness. To many cobwebs and spiders.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris+jan 11 reviews from this member

Stayed for a weekend with family & another caravan.

Basic site with hard standings, EHU, 2 two toilets & a shower.

It was a bit muddy and had to keep off the grass, but what do you expect this time of year.

Site was very quiet, with a gate leading to some lovely walks.

You can even walk to the small village though the gate and turn left, then next gate on the left, follow your nose till the church & follow the lane into the village.

The kids loved it running wild in their wet body suits.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jdunnet 4 reviews from this member

This is a great, simple, campsite. Facilities are basic (two loos, one shower in one loo), water and electric hook-ups. It's well looked after, and hard standings are available for winter use.

There's a gate direct from the site to a local footpath, leading to many miles of superb walks.

Well recommended and good value.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eder 1 review from this member

The owner is fantastic, extremely accommodating and very friendly.

The site is spotless tranquil and a great location for short breaks.

Noticeably, for a CS site there are flushing toilet and shower facilities which are useful and lovely and clean.

The field has been mown each time we have visited.

Would recommend 5stars

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigpresh 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night as a group with two tents and a gazebo.

The toilet/shower facilities (located in the corner of a large barn) are basic and not particularly pleasant; the toilets themselves were clean, but the rooms had lots of cobwebs with dead flies, spiders etc, so cleaning wasn't done too much it would appear. The shower room had a chipped painted concrete floor, an electric shower (free to use, I believe - as we were only staying one night, we chose not to shower in there, and instead waited to get home), a toilet and a sink. Besides the electric shower, there was no hot water provided, and signs asking that the shower not be used for washing-up purposes.

The bins were located right near the main entrance, a good walk from the actual field; we kept our rubbish in a bag, threw it in the boot and dropped it in the (nearly-full) bin on our way out. (There's two wheelie bins by the entrance gate; one for rubbish and one for recycling.

While we stayed there were no staff visible; we had paid in advance, and were sent the combination for the gate padlock a couple of days before our stay by text message.

I only observed one drinking water tap in the field, near the toilets and shower. There were electric hookups dotted around the field, but we were advised when booking that they were out of action (not a problem, as we did not require a hookup).

The field itself was of fairly poor quality - not very level in many places, with excessively long grass and lots of molehills - likely less of a problem for caravans, more annoying for tents.

At least one of the caravans had children running around the field until quite late at night, with no real attempt to supervise them, which was mildly irritating - but the fault there lies with the caravanners in question, not the site. As the field is closed in and well away from roads etc, it would probably be quite suitable for well-behaved kids to play.

As a basic site, it was acceptable enough - but the facilities do not reflect the price paid, in my opinion.

Hartfield village was pleasant, however; my Winnie-the-Pooh-obsessed friend certainly enjoyed visiting the 'Pooh Corner' shop, and going to Pooh Bridge. I was more taken by a visit to the Anchor Inn pub, which just happened to be hosting their first beer festival whilst we were there, so we sampled various tasty ales.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bridle73 1 review from this member

Lovely location and very tranquil, however facilities were very poor value for money.

Totally inadequate rubbish bins overflowing with rubbish for whole of stay as was the small unlidded bin in the toilet which was shared with farm workers and which guests were asked to keep clean.

Wet-room style windowless shower, chipped painted concrete floor always wet and muddy from previous campers, light and shower operated by dirty cords hanging from ceiling, no socket for hairdyers or shavers. Generally quite unpleasant to use and no cleaning equipment in evidence to clean up after use.

2 small recycling boxes on the site overflowing with beer cans and mainly seemed to be used by the occupants of a static van parked by the gate, (who also used the toilet facilities which we were expected to keep clean).

The only 'lovely view' was of the local church spire as the site was mainly dominated by 2 huge, ugly, modern barns. (Could be camouflaged with a row of trees?) plus the static van.

'Customer Service' non-existent during our visit.

This site could be perfect if more effort was put in by the owners to update the facilities and improve its unkempt appearance to bring it up to the standard of other certified sites which we have recently used and which have been considerably cheaper or, if in this price range had much better facilities.

However, we found some delightful walks from the site and a visit to the Ashdown Forest Visitor Centre at Whych Cross was very informative. We will be visiting Stairs Farm again and it would be nice to see some improvements.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laatkins 3 reviews from this member

We stayed over the bank holiday weekend, when we arrived we were met by the guy who was nice and told us where we were etc.

The bathroom and toilet are basic but we have no problem with that, we asked if we could leave late on the Monday and they sent a nice text saying no problem!, which was great. We liked the fact that we could just get on with our holiday.

The village shop, pub and pooh shop are about 5mins walk from the site.

The village it self is very quiet and lovely to wander around, the shop stocks every thing you could possible want and they are very friendly and welcoming. We didn't go to the pub, so can't comment.We did hear some areroplanes but not many and they wouldn't be any thing you wouldn't hear any where else! It was a relaxing and quiet break with a great location to other area's if you wanted to go out.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and will going back again.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hartfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6309 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019