Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Elgin > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
West Road
Elgin
Moray   (Browse area)
IV30 8UN
Tel: 01343 542813
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 34
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: User 239904 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights, first impressions, tidy site, mostly Pemberton Statics around the place, we were given a tourers pitch, lets say only just hardstanding close the toilet block.

The size of pitch was or is very tight, 1" off the track on the front "2 to the rear. Its ok, but the site is very small. The memory of site owner is not that good, came back after a days golf, need water, started to fill, owner approached us full steam shouting from 50yds away *Are you booked in* this she did several times closely followed by her husband.

We had to find the receipt to prove we paid for two nights and we were still entitled to stay one more.

That said, we wouldn't stay there again, as we have found a NiteStop in the vicinity that we will definitely use when up there again. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Firefly555 6 reviews from this member

 Have stayed on this site about five times over the years. It's a mixture of tents, hardstandings & statics around the edge. On the plus side the price is very reasonable & I can't remember it ever going up but because the pitches (which they allocate) are small & close it has a very crowded feel.

The facilities are kept really clean but are very old. Five of the doors in the ladies cannot be locked & the lighting is atrocious.

I did my ablutions at different times on every morning I was there ranging between 6. 30am & 10. 30am & because there is no natural light & you are not able to switch a light on (although there is a timer it doesn't work in the morning) you cannot see a thing, very frustrating & unnecessary really.

To get hot water at the washing up sinks you have to use a 20p coin but you pay for the cold water to run through first & then don't get any hot! You can walk into Elgin from this site but you have to cross a very busy, very fast moving A road. It's about 2. 5 miles but not an enjoyable walk. Elgin is a good size town with good facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swifty53 3 reviews from this member

 Brill stay twice in two weeks. John and chris are great and keep the place spotless. We will be going back there shortly for weekend.

We have a dog and he has a great time chasing rabbits that he cant catch.

There is a nice river running along the back that my dog cant wait to get into and then there is elgin that you can get a bus into from the top of the road and lossiemouth is only a few miles from the site 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swifty53 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here two or three times last year

great place

very peaceful

plenty of walks for dogs, even a field for letting then run

very tidy

would recommend anybody trying it

you can get a bus into elgin from the top of the road so if you want to go out for a meal and a drink you don't need the car 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LouH 9 reviews from this member

 A nice little caravan site that houses a lot of static caravans but many were not occupied during the week that we were there.

Owners really friendly and always on site.

The pitches are not level and it took us a while to get our unit level, some of the motor homes who came to the pitch next to us abandoned that pitch and moved to another. Pitches are allocated by the owner and initially we were confused as to why what looked like the prime pitches right on the river and level were not being given out. The night before we left (Fri) saw the site fill up and these pitches were used, there was very little space there and some of the motor homes were struggling to get in out.

Anyone is welcome including work vans and caravans in need of some repair, this did mean that there was noise early in the morning as the workers were leaving for walk.

Facilities were dated but spotless and I liked the radio playing in the background.

Laundry on site was adequate but only 1 washer and dryer with token bought from the owner.

Nice dog walk available although another camper told us about this not the owner. Nice walk into Elgin with Asda and Tesco Supermarkets.

A good base for exploring Speyside and the Whisky Trail. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vannet 3 reviews from this member

 This is a hidden gem, lovely site very friendly the site is on the river. There is a small play area. Toilet and showers very clean. There is a bus outside of the site. Or 15 main walk into Elgin lovely town, caught the bus and spent the day in Nairn. Went for a walk on the riverside. My husband loves fishing so early in the mornings he was at the river. Was booked for 2 nights at 15 a night very good. Ended up staying for another night. Enjoyed it so much hope to go back in 2weeks time for the weekend. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: St Kilda 2 reviews from this member

 As our last trip of our first season this was a very pleasant campsite.

Although it appears to be predominantly static caravans, there are a reasonable number of pitches for visitors too.

The facilities were excellent with spotless toilets and showers and as previously commented on, a nice little walk around the site for our dog.

The site is well placed for lots of tourist activities from visiting the nearby beaches at Lossiemouth to taking in the whisky trail.

It is also well placed to take a train trip into Inverness for those in need of some retail therapy. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: M Mess 1 review from this member

 To be honest we were not expecting very much from the main road it looked very small, but as we pulled in it opened up to a very well maintained site, the owner came out to greet and welcome us.

We don't ask for much from any site as long as there is a walk for our dog and that the toilets are clean, we could not fault them on both accounts, the walk was great a well sign posted round the site and dog bins (most sites have a lack of these)the friendly horses in the next field were a nice surprise.

The toilets were very clean, tiles a bit dated but very clean never the less, showers were new and immaculate.

Lots of wild life round the river and an abundance of quite tame rabbits running through the site

There is no doubt that we will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tanya999 6 reviews from this member

 Small well kept site, beside river and woodlands. Very clean toilets. Showers hot but slow water flow. The shop has very very few items.

There are a good number of privately owned static caravans and a lot of the pitches for tourers are rented as 'all year' pitches, so best to book, as it is a busy site.

Bus stop at entrance to the site. There is a hotel across the road, with leisure facilities. The road is extremely busy and if turning right, you may have to wait some time, due to heavy traffic. We found this to be a very friendly site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Arcadia 11 reviews from this member

 Just back from a few days break at this quiet site.

Good points -

Easy access to day trips such as the promenade park at Nairn, the beautiful beach at Findhorn, great walk at Culbin were you can climb a tower to see a fantastic view over the Moray Firth, we saw seals at Port Gordon and dolphins at Channory Point (get info from Seal & Dolphin centre at Spey Bay which was worth a visit and has a nice coffee shop)and shore walk at Findochtry. All these activities are free and the campsite was very reasonable at 16 per night for 2 adults, 2 kids & dog.

Near good selection of places to eat & lots of supermarkets.

Not so good -

Shower block needs updating as lighting poor, mens showers very basic & some tiling needs repairing.

Not particularly child friendly if kids over 10 - owner chased our kids from the park having just walked past us - we would have preferred she say something to us directly rather than greet us then moan at kids. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Elgin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2866 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement