Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camac Valley Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Dublin > Camac Valley Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Camac Valley Caravan And Camping Park
Green Isle Road
Naas Road
Dublin 22
Dublin
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: +353 1 464 0644
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 163
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We took the new tolled tunnel out from the Dublin ferry, only €3 non peak times and cuts out some of the busier city roads. The campsite is easy to find and very straightforward, approx 25 minutes from the port.

On arrival there were 6 or 7 other units, still super speedy check-in within 5 minutes and all relevant information re buses to city etc. The Open Top Tour bus calls at the site in the morning, if you only want to go to the city and not to the tour its €2. 50 one way.

The pitches were very big, room for caravan, car, awning and similar awning space again for chairs etc. All pitches had water taps, grey drains and ehu.

Loos were clean and well maintained, showers an extra €2 a head, we didn't use so cant comment.

Despite the site being very busy on a Saturday night it wasn't at all noisy. There was some road noise but we pitches at far end and that limited.

Lovely park next door for walking, cycling etc. Nothing much else around the site as its a large business park area although there was a restaurant / bar within 10 minutes walk.

Overall a lovely campsite which has the bonus of being easy to reach from the ferry, as with most campsites in Eire more expensive than in UK at €30 (£27) plus €2 each for showers if used would be €34 per night for a couple.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Eshardy 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night to be near the ferry home.

The receptionist was very helpful, giving good information about the bus into Dublin and the sites facilities.

Each pitch has hard standing, plus a grass area and hook up, water tap and grey waste on the pitch.

There is a large amenities block, we used the showers( 2 € for a token) and the toilets were clean. There is a washing up area and laundry, but didn't use.

There is free wifi but we found the connection intermittent.

Other people have mentioned the road noise, I was glad I had ear plugs as it is a continuous low drone.

We went into Dublin on the bus, cost € 6. 60 return, worth doing.

Bit expensive at €27 for one night plus charge for shower, but good for one night if you want to be near Dublin for the ferry.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Linda Morrison 13 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights at this site at start of tour of Ireland. Easy access from main road and although some road noise we weren't disturbed by it.

Easy access into city centre by bus from gate (45 mins journey). Spent 2 hectic days site seeing & soaking up the Dublin atmosphere.

On arrival reception staff very helpful & provided a vast amount of information and we were advised to choose a pitch from those available. Facilities kept clean although could be updated (signs in toilet block advising some taps not working) large shower rooms with plenty of space for changing. Token required for showers but found this to be typical in Ireland. Big campers kitchen with washing up sinks.

Each pitch surrounded by hedges & lots of trees throughout site giving it a very rural feel with grey squirrels seen most days.

Many people appeared to use this site as a one night stop over (possibly for Ferry from Dublin)

In our experience campsites in Ireland are more expensive than in UK !

Would recommend this site for visitors to Dublin & will stay again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeanff 10 reviews from this member

Big site with pitches well separated and whilst busy over the Bank holiday pitches are well spaced unlike one site we stopped at near Athlone where the supposed 40 pitches had turned into 100!

Great location for a few days stop to explore Dublin prior to departure to Ferry port.

Good facilities, helpful reception service and information sheet. Showers require 2E tokens - good size cubicles with fixed heads (never ideal for women!) and no temperature control. Buses stop right outside and run to Fleet street (Centre of the city) for 3. 30E (exact fare) or the hop on hop off red tourist bus picks up and drops off in the city for 2 euros or you can buy the one (19E) or two day (22E) sightseeing ticket. Good value for getting to and from town although last return hop on hop off bus is 4. 30 p. M. Public bus is much later if you want to stop for a meal. There is a lovely big public park next door if you want to just chill or do some fishing. Site not handy for shops but take away menus can be used and food delivered at a small charge.

This site is used by a lot of British campers. The problem is that a lot of British vans do not have a compatible TV for Irish TV reception. The consequence is that people were using the Wifi for streaming TV from the internet and getting a reasonable signal for ordinary purposes was very hit and miss.

Site is near to a major road and there is some traffic noise throughout the night but you get used to it.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Axlehurn 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site, with easy access from all directions around Dublin. Site is spacious and pitched generally separated by low hedges and mostly hard standing. Each pitch has water, electricity and grey water disposal. Staff are helpful and friendly, and the facilities are clean and well maintained considering that this generally a busy site. This is the perfect place as a first and last stop on an Ireland trip as it is only 30 minutes from the ferry terminals. We use this site every time we go to Ireland

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Samanthani 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for one night prior to catching a morning ferry from Dublin Port.

The site is well-equipped and handy for Dublin. Good play park for kids. Small gripe is that showers are extra (don't know if this is usual in S. Ireland), and a token is needed from reception. Unfortunately, reception was closed for the time we were there due to our fairly late arrival and early departure.

Adjacent to the campsite is the excellent Corkagh Park. (For dog-owners, there is a lead-free pen in Corkagh Park, although it's not signposted. )

If you're departing early, you'll need to inform staff so they can give you the code for the exit gate.

I'll probably return to the site (would definitely return if showers were included in the price).

Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roadhogg 9 reviews from this member

As this site is opened all year round we decided to make the most of the fine weather & have an unexpected new year break, & what a gem we found.

This is without question one of the best sites in Ireland with very large hardstanding pitches, each of which has it's own electric, water & grey waste disposal.

The grounds are immaculate & the hedges surrounding each site are very neatly trimmed. There is a very modern children's play area & all the facilities are warm & very clean. The staff are friendly & helpful with 24 hour security.

Next door is a 300acre park with a pet farm, cycle track, fishing lakes & playground.

There is a bus stop right outside the gate with buses going to the centre of Dublin about every hour from 6 am until midnight.

We intend to return for a longer break at Easter.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

Firstly I would like to warn caravanners coming on the P and O ferry from Liverpool. Our experience was heart stopping! We have a twin axle caravan and had to reverse it up a steep ramp and manoeuvre it next to a lorry onto the ferry. After numerous attempts one of the staff kindly did it for us. We fear we may have to stay in Ireland forever!

It was simple at the other end though and followed the directions provided by the website. It did cost 10 Euro's to go through the tunnel. I think this was because of the time of day. There is also another toll on the M50 that costs 3 Euro's and can only be paid online and must be paid by 8pm the following day. The alternative is to drive through the centre of Dublin which we did not fancy at peak traffic time.

The site is around 30 minutes from Dublin port. It is a large well laid out site. We were warmly welcomed and given a map of Dublin and a copy of the bus time table. The stop is just outside the park and is an hourly service until midnight. It takes around 45 minutes into Dublin. Alternatively there is a hop on hop off bus that stops at the park at 9:30 am and 10:30 am. The public bus only takes coins and doesn't give change. If you are going to get back to the park late you will need to get a code to get through the security gate. The park also has a taxi service which cost 20 euro's into Dublin.

The pitches are large and each pitch is separated by hedges all around which gives a bit of privacy. Al pitches are fully serviced with power, fresh water and grey water disposal.

I read previous reviews about the showers costing 1. 50 Euro's for 6 minutes so didn't use them at all as we have a shower in our caravan.

There is a large children's play area in the centre of the park.

There is free WIFI throughout the park but we were unable to get any reception so used our own. Phone and TV satellite reception were good.

All in all a really nice site and we will be coming back here at the end of our tour around Ireland.

The nearest shops are at the village of Clondalkin which is around a 5 to 10 minute drive. There is a Tesco there.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodenfeet 20 reviews from this member

Good site, clean and well laid out. Quite a lot of road noise but weighed against convenience of position acceptable.

City Tour bus from site excellent value. If you subtract 4 bus journeys @ 2. 30 euros, you are getting 6. 80 euros unlimited get on/get off city tour for two days.

I agree with the comment about showers costing 1. 50 euros for six minutes, when you have to waste two minutes waiting for it to warm up.

We approached from Dublin Port avoiding the Motorway Toll but hitting rush hour through the centre of Dublin.

The toll is not a cash one and has to be paid on line. Check before you travel!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trishandtez 31 reviews from this member

This is the first site we visited after leaving dun loghiare port which is the closest one to the port.

It is a fantastic site with well laid out pitches with water and electric on every pitch with waste water disposal also, it did have a sewer outlet but not sure about using that as it didn't have a separate tap for cleaning it, so used the communal chemical disposal point, I can only assume that this was used by RV's as the pitches were HUGE and could accommodate any size rig.

We had a tour bus which picked us up at the site entrance which cost 16 euro's for 2 days sightseeing around dublin whic we thought was excellent value.

we didn't use showers and loo's as we have our own but it was 1 euro for a shower and the showers were like the one you see at a public baths, only unisex all outdoors and all separate cubicles.

There is a massive field for backpackers which had just been vacated after one long weekend were were told.

they have a huge campers kitchen with fridge cooker and lots of benches and tables for socialising.

There was lovely park next door whicg we cycled through where there are big lakes where you can fish.

The bus stop that takes you to Dublin is outside the gate and for 2 euro's each way was very good value as there bus ride to dubbin took around half an hour.

We would definitely use this site again if we were to visit Ireland again

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4263 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019