Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Cross Keys Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Bedfordshire > Pulloxhill > The Cross Keys Certificated Site Reviews

The Cross Keys Certificated Site
The Cross Keys
13 High Street
Pulloxhill
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
MK45 5HB
Tel: 01525 712442  or  07702433194
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 12 Reviews
                7/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Levi501 2 reviews from this member

 Pros - site is at the rear of a lovely quaint village pub. Staff were very friendly & helpful however it was closed for food ( we were informed beforehand) which was a shame as it looked lovely. Pitched on only hard standing area which was back corner of pub car park so was clean. Very handy for our drop off the following day. ( we only stayed one night)

Not so good - access was very tight for our large motor home. We parked ok but we’ were then effectively blocked in to the front by a security type van. There was a large 4 x 4 on the access road which meant we only just got past by pushing the wing mirrors in.

It seemed obvious to us that the car park is used by businesses & locals to park. Vehicles were coming and going from the late evening and early morning so we were disturbed at each end of the night. I wouldn’t want to stay longer than one night for this reason. The field pitches were too muddy to pitch there.

Chemical toilet emptying place was just a hatch in the middle of the drive so not really ideal. Didn’t see any toilets or showers but we didn’t need these.

I would recommend some signs to ask other car park users to respect quiet times for campers using the area.

Having said all this I would recommend as a stopover site. Particularly for the lovely pub. Perhaps it would be better at other times of the year in the field area when dry. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Emmasm 1 review from this member

 Great stay, friendly staff, great pub and food and village has a nice play area.

We stayed with two 4 year olds and they had a lovely time, everything you need for an easy stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Cafict 1 review from this member

 Very secure site with electric very helpful.

Large grass field behind very popular pub!

Would love to go again when can.

Slept very well. Well kept and great village location.

Excellent food in 500 year old cross keys 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David3 2 reviews from this member

 Good quiet site, easy walks with the dog, very dog friendly, lovely food in pub, bit pricey.

Long walk for fresh water & Elsan disposal point, (its a manhole in the middle of the drive into the pub car park).

Would not return for this reason.

Had to put something for child friendliness but we didn't have any, children next to us seemed happy though. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sfair2 1 review from this member

 Steve was very helpful only thing we weren’t aware of was that the pub was completely shut

Steve sorted us a electric hook up and said to contact him if we needed anything 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Martin Hall 1 review from this member

 We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The site is as described clean and quiet.

We had had dinner in the cross keys and found the food and service excellent quality. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 47 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights as we were attending a birthday party locally, arrived on Friday and although I had booked staff seemed surprised on my arrival and concerned about the size of the motorhome even though I had said it was a motorhome not a camper van.

The field was wet so we were told to park down the middle of the rear yard where they stored vehicles and event hire equipment. Having done so we were then told to move the following morning after leveling the vehicle etc the night before so they could move equipment about. We then had to move again the following day.

We ate in the pub on the Friday night and for two of us the bill came to nearly £70 for three courses and two drinks each. The pub is pleasant and accommodating but it was a faff having to move.

I guess in the summer things may be different if the field is in use, but even then the events staff will arrive quite early and start moving vehicles and equipment so don't plan to lie in. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ABob 1 review from this member

 There was a wedding reception on the Saturday and a party on the Sunday the weekend we stayed. Because we wanted electric hook up we had no choice but to park right next to the marquee.

Having said that, both nights it was all over by 11. 30, so not really a problem.

The people who run the site are well geared up for most situations including a large pump to clear the field of water. There's was only 1 shower and no access to toilets when the pub closed, but we knew this, the price was good and the pub food great. It took me a while to find the tap, so a lack of signage was my only problem. I'd go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brians dad 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night in our motorhome. Only £7. 50 a night with hookup, £5 without. After a fairly narrow entrance into the car park, there is a very large field beyond, very quiet and plenty of space for everyone.

There are storage areas in corners for a mobile toilet hire business, but it did not bother us. There is some provision for electric hook up, coming on a wire along a fence top leading to various branched outlets halfway down the field.

Unusual, but it looks safe and professionally done. However, unless you have a long lead, you will be restricted to parking near the fence and close to your neighbours.

The pub itself is is a great place, with good food which we sampled. The helpful landlord obviously takes a pride in the place. Toilets are available during opening hours, but I do not think there are any available 24 hours. As long as you do not mind the limitations of this CS, I would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richl812 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in for a weekend as it was one of the only sites near Woburn.

It is true, the pub is lovely, good food and fine ale but in all honesty the campsite is the reverse.

It is used to store mobile toilets, containers, junk and seems to house a number of people in near static tourers.

The site was very muddy, the electric hookups were not safe as one was cracked so it was kept in a carrier bag and the facilities very poor. The promised 'toilets available during the day' was not correct.

The rain made the field very boggy and waterlogged and when trying to get off the site with just the car we got a little stuck and understandably made some tracks in the grass. The younger owner was very rude and insulting accusing me of not knowing how to drive.

Access for caravans is extremely tight and if the pub is busy you will not get to the site.  


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Cross Keys Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Cross Keys Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Cross Keys Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pulloxhill      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3039 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement