Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carr House Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Carr House Farm Reviews

Carr House Farm
Malton Road
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8EB
Tel: 01653 668219
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SammieJaie 18 reviews from this member

 Quiet site, friendly campers, helpful and relaxing

What I call a proper campsite with basic facilities and not overcrowded (a proper camper does not need Luxuries!)

Toilet block with shower, includes large washing up sink.

Chemical toilet disposal

Dogs welcome, Plenty of walks but to keep on a lead due to livestock.

Flamingo Land 5 min drive

Pickering or North Yorkshire Moors Railway 10 min drive.

Picturesque drives to Whitby or Scarborough and the coast is well worth exploring. Look for the “town that never was”

A web site will be active soon

Same price as last year. £13 with electric per night. For 2 people in a motorhome.

DIRECTIONS

From Malton follow the A169 to Pickering. After Flamingo Land look for white sign for Waste Transfer Site and there is a little sign with tent & caravan on it pointing left. Drive down the narrow track (drive slow as track bumpy, possible oncoming traffic and pedestrians), past the wind turbine to the buildings at the end.

Campsite field in front of the farmhouse.

Toilet is the grey block building by field gate. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SammieJaie 18 reviews from this member

 This is one of those hidden away campsites.

Luckily I saw the little blue sign from the main road, and ignored the larger sign referring to a waste tip.

Campsite is located down a narrow single track bumpy road, outside the farmhouse, but worth it for the peace and quiet (except for the cows moo-ing!)

No sign of a tip either!

I was charge £13 for a stone/hardcore pitch, which included hook-up (bargain). So good, I stayed for a second night.

If your looking for up-market toilet/shower facilities, then this is not for you. At this price its for us campers who are happy with the BASICS.

Owner was friendly - and so were the cows.

Kids not too noisy - they were too busy playing football, cricket, etc, etc.

Perfect base site, as close to Flamingo-land and steam railway, and there's lots and lots of pretty villages to visit and explore.

I cant wait to visit again. See you there! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kysher 3 reviews from this member

 We originally booked a 2 night stay here when attending a local show. We ended up staying 4 nights.

Lovely little site, owner was very friendly and welcomed our ferrets to stay on site too. The pitches were good sizes and the facilities were very clean.

We will definitely stay here again if in the area.

Although be aware that all the local shops and garages and takeaways close at 10. 30pm 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrsperry 4 reviews from this member

 We (my husband, and 3 1/2 year old daughter) have been to this small campsite for the past 3 and half years) and will continue to come back, we love it. It is a small site which I prefer and this time there were more seasonal units there but I think this speaks volumes, we recommend it to friends too.

Ok it is not for you if you want a play park, games room and Uber modern facilities, but if you want to get away from it all in your unit with your family and friends and relax, sitting outside looking at the fantastic vista of the moors, then this is the place to go. There are about 3 hardstanding pitches for tourers and the rest grass pitches. I think the site accommodates up to 20 units at a time and is amazing value for money, costing us £11 per night with Caravan, EHU and Porch Awning.

Very quiet, it's just a field, but is an ideal base for visiting Pickering, Malton and Whitby, Falmingo Land, and Eden Camp. Facilities are basic but this doesn't bother me as I use our own in the caravan. Safe enough for my daughter to play as I was able to see her playing with her new friends.

The access is via a long single track, which could be awkward if there was another unit coming in the opposite direction, but I am sure there are areas to pull over? There is a Hotel bar approx 1/4 mile walk from the site called the Bean sheaf ( it used to be called the Blackboard)

The owner and her Husband are so pleasant and welcoming and really leave you to it. We were able to come a day earlier than booked and Vicky was very accommodating, even though we are members of the CC we still keep coming back to this old faithful, thank you for another great family weekend.

And for those moaning about loo roll, bring your own then you'll never go short and please if you do use the facilities bear in mind the people who will be following you after!

NB: please note that I have scored the site facilities at 4/10 I did not use them myself but the family members who we were staying with commented that the shower (I think it is a £1 was lovely and hot, and they were able to both use the shower for that £1 and had to turn the tap off - so plenty of hot water). They did say an additional loo would have been useful but not necessary.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we do. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ameythist 7 reviews from this member

 We arrived on Friday morning and I was dismayed at the amount of campers on the field. The write up says 20 but We counted 25. Some were going but more arrived.

The facilities were new but just not enough. There was one large loo for the men which could have easily housed another loo or shower. Then there was a large ladies loo and a disabled loo with a separate huge shower room with only one shower. No matter what time I could not get a shower someone was always using it and the toilets were always busy.

The chemical waste was a bit unhygienic and the bending did nothing for hubby's back!

However, on the good side it was a beautiful area with lots of walking the steam rally was a down pour and very wet but the we all dug in and enjoyed the weekend.

I think The site took too many bookings for the weekend and would like to have another go in the quieter months to see how that fairs, as the the price of £20 for two nights and EHU was a bargain and to be fair Vicki was a lovely lady. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Librasam 20 reviews from this member

 This is a good value for money site, at only £10 per night including EHU per unit. It is a basic site with electric and water points around the field, there is an elsan point and a small amenity block which has a washing up sink, three toilets and very large wet room.

It costs £1 for the shower but lasts for ages, we used it as a family and ended up turning off the shower before it had finished. The block is cleaned daily, although as already pointed out, the loo roll ran out quickly and we had to use our own!

The site manager, Dave and his wife live on site in an authentic 1922 travelling showman's trailer, which they are in the process of refurbishing. The site is very relaxed and quite a few of the caravans/trailer tents were regulars whom proved to be chatty and friendly.

The site is at the end of a long single track and we were able to exercise the dog in an adjourning field and down the track.

This site is ideal for Flamingo land, Pickering, North York Moors steam railway, Malton, Castle Howard and surrounding area. The nearest pubs are the Beansheaf and Black Bull, about 2 miles away.

This is a basic farm site and ideal for those wanting a cheap and cheerful site and are not bothered about basic facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arioch 2 reviews from this member

 Like one of your other reviewers we arrived on a Saturday and there was no toilet rolls. The toilet block and one shower is a shared unit. One loo for women, one for men and a disabled. Not enough for what was on site when we arrived. Only hot water, and I mean HOT water available in loos, no cold tap. Pot wash is also in loo block. This is inadequate when the site is busy. Couldnt see any fire provisions, ie Sand buckets, extinguishers.

There are no shops or other facilities on site. No designated dog walk so is your tent is in the way you have got problems. Touring vans go round the edge of the site and get a better wind break from the hedges. Tents are in the middle and open to elements. There is no lighting on the siteand that includes the access road. No barrier to prevent unauthorised access.

Despite the owners living in the showmans trailer and overlooking the field there was no control given to keeping noise down. We were annoyed with televisions blaring from two nearby tourers. These tourers were rather noisy and also had a fight at 0035 on the Sunday morning. They were also using it as a base to sell stuff at the nearby pickering car boot sale. Someone, we think it was from the farm kept driving up and down the access road in a quad machine and this was also very noisy.

I agree that it is a cheap stop over but I certainly couldn't stand the lack of toilet and washing facilities so moved off as soon as possible.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barkspoor 36 reviews from this member

 Quiet peaceful campsite 2 miles from Pickering and about the same from Flamingo land.

Long dirt track up to site but this meant site was free from any traffic noise.

Large square field with tents in centre and tourer around the perimeter.

One toilet block with 3 toilets and 1 very large shower. Shower cost £1 but lasts ages.

A basic site but good value for money £10 inc ehu.

A pub/restaurant at end of track but we enjoyed the Black Bull about 15mins walk away.

Lovely walk into Pickering where there is plenty of shops and pubs, you can also pick up the steam train here and go up to Whitby, or local buses pass the end of the track.

We would certainly use again, although take your own loo roll as if often ran out. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MICHAEL NEALE 3 reviews from this member

 WE arrived at the site at about 8.30pm on a Friday night. We were met by the man who runs the site at the gate who was very friendly and helpful. The field is flat and well kept. There are plenty of fresh water stations all round the perimeter of the hedge. There is a toilet block with both mens and womens toilets and a washing up area and a walk in shower room which is a £1 but lasts a long time. The elsan point is at the rear of the toilet block.

The site is child friendly with no roads near by. This site is an ideal place to camp if you are visiting flamingo land. It will take you under 10 minutes to get there, Flamingo land can be seen from the farm. It is a lovely quiet campsite and would recommend it to anybody. We will be returning there in the next couple of weeks. Its also great value for money at £10 per night with 16amp electric. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tibbylover 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived there on a wing and a prayer after having been broken down for 7 hours, everyone there including campers were so very helpful. The site manager who lives in a caravan on the field cam straight to us with spares to get us sorted out, fellow campers made tea for us it was so very friendly, and these things stayed the same throughout our stay. The site was very neat, clean and quiet. Space was plentiful loads of places to walk dogs ideal touring site easy to find. Highly recommended if you want peace and quiet. Would go back today if possible. Thanks for making our stay a good one. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carr House Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carr House Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Carr House Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3092 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement