Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Howelston Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Howelston Caravan Park And Campsite Reviews

Howelston Caravan Park And Campsite
Little Haven
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 3UU
Tel: 01437 781818
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon baker 6 reviews from this member

 Great site, visited with 6 other tents, we all live in cardiff. Been here twice now love the views only problem we all seemed to have was ground very hard for pegs and lots were destroyed! Toilet block clean and tidy. The owner or manager hugh was very friendly and helpful he also let us erect a large gazebo at no extra cost. There are I think eight electric hook ups for tents or campervans so a lot of the central pitch would be without power. The only gripe my wife had was that the washing up sink was only accessed in the ladies bathroom so men cannot do washing up. Hee hee! We all liked the site and the beaches and will be back next year without fail! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Steveswansea 1 review from this member

 What a fabulous site this is, stayed here previously a few years ago but the change in the site is impressive, manicured grounds, flowers, very friendly and helpful manager, with excellent knowledge of the surrounding area, nothing was too much trouble for him.

The site itself is superbly positioned above the village of little haven, a couple of minutes walk downhill to the beach, three lovely pubs that serve food, a cafe, and an RNLI shop along with an art gallery and craft shop, a stroll along the beach at low tide takes you to Broadhaven where you can buy provisions from the local store.

A regular Puffin bus service will take you along the spectacular coast to St David's, with stops along the way at Solva, New Gale and various little coves and sandy beaches - bliss.

We shall certainly be returning to see the other improvements planned for this lovely site, which is dog friendly as well as people friendly.

Thanks Huw (manager] for making us feel so welcome 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesleymatt 1 review from this member

 An excellent site with positively the best views you will find anywhere!

Brilliant new toilet and shower facilities - being mostly set up for statics we found that they weren't in that much use.

Great to have someone employed on site who could help when needed and had plenty of local knowledge - very friendly.

Really convenient to walk along the coastal path to the pubs in Little Haven - great when the most spectacular walk on your holiday is the one at the bottom of your campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Juliesomerset 36 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as it is the closest touring park to little haven, the location did not disapoint - a downhill stroll down the lane 6 mins and you are there - the views from the site are spectacular - but it really is not a touring park - the pitches for tourers / tents are on a small very sloping field surrounded by static caravans - this is a static park that has decided to put a few pitches in the green space in the middle of the park - we could not drive our motorhome up the wet grass, but luckily were offered a hard standing that was the concrete footings for a static that had yet to be positioned - as it turned out it was a lovely spot - sheer luck - the facilities are sadly lacking, can only imagine what it must be like in school holidays if all the touring pitches are full, there are only 2 toilets and one shower - I think the cleaner must have been on holiday as they were not cleaned in the two days we were there - and no toilet paper ! ironically this was our most expensive pitch 30 a night - so not value for money. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhometrips 22 reviews from this member

 This appears to be primarily a static site with tourers staying on the central green. Apparently a maximum of 7 and I was not sure if this included tents or not. I received a great welcome and it was all very relaxed and after I paid for the first night. I could stay as long as I liked. (we stayed 3 nights)The sanitary facilities were modern and as we were the only unit on site we effectively had en suite facilities. There is, however, only one shower which if there was more units could be problematic. The site is sloping, though as there were no other units we were able to park longways and therefore reasonably level. There was no motorhome service point and I could not find a chemical disposal point.

The site has magnificent sea views and the coastal path is literally at the bottom of the site. In one direction towards St Brides and in the other direction to Newgale via Little Haven and Broadhaven. The Puffin bus passes the site, 3 services a day, so you can walk in one direction and get a bus back or vice versa. Little Haven is a picturesque coastal village with plenty of places to eat and is only 10 minutes walk away. Broadhaven is a little further and has a Londis supermarket.

I would visit this site again, subject to finding a level pitch, as it has the advantage of being closer to the coast than the site at Hasguard Cross. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zakventis 1 review from this member

 I have been camping at this site for many years and, unlike previous reviewers, have no complaints whatsoever.

You are always assured of a warm, friendly welcome from Kim; the site is clean and quiet with wonderful views across the bay to Newgale and Solva; and an added bonus - they now have a new toilet / shower block which makes the site just perfect.

Like Arnie said, 'I'll be back'! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Petunia20 2 reviews from this member

 This site has lovely views of the bay near Broadhaven. It has EHU facilities and a hairdryer in the showers.

The camping pitches are round the edge of the playing field but there is no other playpark for children. There were children playing round the camping area until the early hours and this made us feel uncomfortable as well as affecting your sleep. The grass had not been cut for quite a while and the site just felt unloved and uncared for.

This was a shame as it really is a beautiful part of the country. A visit to Marloes sands is a must and if it rains there is an indoor Crystal Maze and Bowling Centre at Canaston Bridge. Horse riding at Nolton Haven is worth trying (if a little expensive). Don't forget to go to Stack Rocks to see the bird colonies (Take care with small children as the cliffs are not fenced off). 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gerryscope 4 reviews from this member

 The girl who runs the site is very friendly and welcoming. The site has stunning views and Little Haven is an enjoyable walk down and, depending on the quantity of food and drink taken in the local pubs a possible struggle back.

We enjoyed a superb meal in restaurant of The Swan, only recommended if you prefer quality over quantity and don't mind paying for it. The bar meals are cheaper though.

The coastal path to the South is shielded from views of the sea by trees shrubs etc for the first 20 minutes walk but after that opens up to magnificent views.

The site facilities are very basic and desperately need tlc and maintenance, however, the showers are powerful and hot. The toilets are akin to the outdoor toilets schools used to have. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hevsym 2 reviews from this member

 We have been to Howelston on many occasions, and I used to stay at howelston as a child. The site has the best views I have ever seen and at the bottom of the site you can access the coastpath and walk down to the beach. The beach of Little Haven is 5 minutes walk by road and when the tide is out you can walk accross Little Haven beach to Broad Haven beach in 2 minutes.

The site itself is great and the proprietors are really friendly and couldn't be of more help.

We're going again this week and will be visiting several times throughout the year. It's well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dive Buddies 1 review from this member

 Booked in at short notice and they were very accommodating despite us having vans, which we needed as we had our scuba diving gear with us.

Beautiful views and lovely powerful showers.

Going back again in July.

I would definitely recommend this site to all you Scuba Divers out there, as the site is close to some lovely diving sites.

There's no problem with the time you get there, which is handy as we can go from work on a Friday night which saves travelling down on the Saturday. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Howelston Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Howelston Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Howelston Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haverfordwest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4726 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement