Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Homestead Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Homestead Park NOW CLOSED
Wookey Hole
Wells
Somerset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. It may provide lodge hire in the future. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon Goodwin 2 reviews from this member

For peace and quiet this is the site to aim for. The grass is well kept and the facilities are clean. There is no shop but it's an easy run into Wells where there are several supermarkets. If you camp over the second bridge which brings you back near the road, the local club (which gives free membership to those camping at Homestead) can be a little noisy. The little stream which runs through the site provides the perfect cooler for the beer and wine, just make sure you have a string bag and a spare guy rope with you. I have stayed at Homestead several times now and always receive a warm welcome from Stuart & Barbara. Highly recommended site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: VICt 2 reviews from this member

The site was easy to find in the village, Stuart the site owner was at the reception to greet us, he was very friendly and helpful with information about the site, also telling us to contact him if we needed any further information.

He told us we could pick any pitch on the site as there was only one other unit there at the time.

The Tent pitch area was even And the grass had just been cut making it easier to pitch the tent.

The showers and toilets were kept very clean with plenty of hot water all hours.

There is also a washing up area next to the shower block and waste bins.

This is a first class site and managed extremely well, we had a great week camping there and would highly recommend for further visits.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ShaunNR 3 reviews from this member

Stopped here for 3 nights in June. What a beautiful campsite! Firstly I'd like to say how nice the lady was who met us at reception. She explained where all the facilities where, where the local social club was and what was in the surrounding area. A very pleasant and friendly lady.

The site is adult only. Which suited us as we were having a quick break from our own children lol

Pitches are accessed by crossing a bridge over the stream which flows through the site. Very soothing at night. The pitches are lovely and flat and the grass is kept in great shape.

There are 2 shower and toilet blocks. One for each end of the site. When we arrived we were the only ppl there so only one was open. The toilets where kept spotless. The showers are very roomy with plenty of free hot water. Only minor gripe is there was no real space to store your clothes. Only hooks. A chair would have been easier.

Over the road from the site is the Wookie hole social club. We were made to feel welcome and the drinks were very cheap! Almost half the price of those at the Wookie hole Inn down the road.

There didn't appear to be a local shop however Wells is only a 10 minute drive away where you'll find Tesco.

Overall a lovely site in a great location. Easy access to Bath, Western Supermere and Bristol.

Another hidden gem added to my list.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lovtocamp 3 reviews from this member

We had a wonderful 5 days camping at Homestead Park. We loved the park, it was so peaceful and we loved camping next to a stream. The toilet block and showers were quite old fashioned but clean and the showers worked well.

The surrounding area is lovely, we cycled on the quiet roads around the area, walked over the hills and enjoyed visiting all the places of interest around.

We would really recommend this site, we could pitch where we wanted and it was flat, which is very important to us.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silverdisco 4 reviews from this member

Just returned home after a three night stay at this great site. Facilities very clean, lots of very hot water, plenty of loo roll, hand towels and soap in the toilets, very clean showers. We didn't have to wait to use any of the facilities.

Two streams run along the boundaries which at night attracted gnats and did make you dream of running water = need to use the loo!

No designated pitches so could choose where we wanted to pitch our tent.

Stuart(owner)was very friendly and helpful, our gas bottle was about to run out so having on site refills was a blessing.

Good central position for visiting places as nowhere was too far away. The local pub was a popular venue and staff were very friendly. We didn't eat there just had a pint.

There were plenty of bins for rubbish but it was a shame there were no recycling options (not that we could find)for glass or plastic.

As it has been so hot this past weekend having the bonus of using the freezer for our ice packs for free was great.

Yes we would return. Good fair price too. Very quiet site apart from some early walkers the far side of the hedge (Wookey Hole car park side).

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bandulu 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic few days at this beautiful campsite.

The site has lovely flat lush green pitches, with a stream running through it. I liked to sit by the stream watching the trout swim up and down. The toilets and showers are clean and well maintained. There are hair dryers in the showers that use 20p coins. There is also a freezer for cool packs.

It's a great location for exploring Somerset with Cheddar, Wells and Glastonbury all within easy reach.

There is no shop in the village but there are plenty in Wells which is only a 5 minute drive or a short walk up the Mendip Way.

I would definitely recommend this campsite and would have no hesitation in returning should I want to visit the area again

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clair and Iain 1 review from this member

What a lovely campsite!

We stayed for 5 nights from a Monday to Saturday in early September.

Beautiful surroundings including lush green grass, fast moving natural stream surrounding campsite and shaded with trees and hedges. Due to time of year however sun was completely gone by 5. 30pm making it chilly we went up the public footpath to Wells opposite campsite entrance for later sun and watched the swifts in the valley.

The owner was helpful, chatty and welcoming.

Facilities - toilets, showers, washing up/clothes areas and drinking water all very clean and functional.

Ice pack service easy and practical.

Surrounding area - loved the village, went to the Wookey Hole Inn twice despite being a pricey it was well worth it, delicious food. Wookey Hole cave is pricey but went when the weather was dreary and enjoyed the actual cave and the vintage arcade machines that took old pennies.

We walked to top and drove the bottom of Cheddar Gorge, it was truly gorgeous also enjoyed Ebbor Gorge between Wookey Hole and Priddy - beautiful.

Also visited Brean beach and down which is a good 50 minutes drive but lovely sea views and air.

Highly recommend campsite and area to anyone who likes outdoors, rambling and pootling around.

The only reason location is a 9 out of 10 is that there is no local shop so you have to drive to Wells nearest or Cheddar meaning you have to be prepared.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LesF 8 reviews from this member

This is a lovely peaceful place and we had a most enjoyable week. The owners were very welcome and friendly at all times. The site is level and the facilities are very clean and well maintained. There is a stream running through the campsite and plenty of shelter from the hedge which marks the boundary between the site and the Wookey car park behind it. We loved the area and visited Wells, which is great for shopping and exploring, and many parts of the countryside around.

There is a club in the village which serves a range of drinks ( no food though)and is very welcoming to campers. We ate at the Big Top retaurant carvery and it was very nice. There is a freezer for ice packs on the site and a range of leaflet guides in reception. We would certainly come here again, we loved it.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Dull Witch 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a very wet week at this campsite, however it didn't spoil our enjoyment!

The campsite is set in an ideal location. When we arrived it was quite busy but then it was jubilee weekend! We managed to find a pitch very easily and were even able to reserve the pitch next door for our friends who were 50 mins behind us.

Grounds were very tidy. Majority of pitches were flat. The stream running through the site was lovely.

Toilets and shower rooms were always clean and tidy and we never had to queue!

There is no shop in the village so make sure you have enough supplies.

Fantastic walks available. We walked to Priddy through Ebbor Gorge. Lovely pub there called Queen Victoria. Food was great and well worth the walk. You can also use the footpaths to walk into Wells. I recommend Goodfellows for a special meal. The chef there beat Rick Stein in a taste of the South West competition!

The highlight of the week has to be discovering the Wookey Hole Club, which is situated across the road from the site. Very welcoming! Good beer prices and nothing like a social club, more like a good village pub! Spent most wet nights there chatting to the locals and other visitors.

Also tried the Wookey Hole Inn. Food was good, if not a tad on the expensive side. Staff were friendly and beer was good too, however we always ended up at the Club, something about the friendliness of the people there. We were made to feel like locals.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4364 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019