Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Lydd > Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park
Romney Farm
Romney Road
Lydd
Kent   (Browse area)
TN29 9LS
Tel: 01797 361499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022
           01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 113 Reviews
                9/10 from 113 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Preea5 1 review from this member

 LOVED this site! Clean, neat, well maintained, friendly hosts, shop on site.

Bonus is little hut with freezer, fridge, microwave, kettle, books, magazines available for community use.

Quiet and close to coast and villages.

I would heartily recommend this site! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nickie James 1 review from this member

 Lovely site - great hosts - always helpful. Good facilities. Be nice to have an outdoor hose to wash down dirty dogs and an insulated, draft proof shower block for winter visits.

The slightly uneven floor in the shower block doesnít allow water to drain away as well as it could, so takes a while to mop it.

Considering itís a new site and being upgraded all the time itís almost spot on. Nice odds and ends shed with microwave, kettle, chairs, books and games. Like the recycling green ethic. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 105 reviews from this member

 We stayed here two nights to have a look around the area. The welcome was good. We were told where our pitch was, and I had specified we like sun so we had a pitch which had the sun from late morning to around 7 pm. Lovely. There were families around us but it was not noisy, just fun to watch the children Enjoying themselves with kites, bikes and balls.

The two toilet blocks were open and I tended to use the one with two toilet plus washbasin cubicles and a shower cubicle as the other main washroom areas didn't have wash basins in cubicles. I didn't experience any queuing but my husband found his shower ran a little luke warm and without a lot of pressure, may have been several people using showers at that time. THey were free so that was good.

We drove into New Romney and parked at the Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch light railway car park, free and no height barriers and ought rover tickets for the day, £30 for the two of us which was great value. We travelled up to Hythe, had an hour or so wandering the interesting little town, caught the train to Dymchurch and had a sandwich on the beach, then caught the train to Du Genesis where we spent a good couple of hours wandering and visiting Derek Jarmans cottage and garden finishing with a cuppa before catching the train back to New Romney.

DUngeness is fascinating. The next day we packed up and drove to Appledore which is very pretty, then spent two hours in Rye before leaving for home. A very interesting area and an excellent base to explore it from. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dallimore 1 review from this member

 Have just had our second visit to this lovely friendly campsite. Our last visit about 2 years ago in a caravan was lovely and this visit although in a tent was just as lovely. We spent 5 nights here with 11 and 14 year old girls.

The site is very clean and tidy with plenty of hot water and good washing up area, we arrived on Thursday and site was fairly full and Friday was full up. This did not cause any problems (they opened an extra shower and toilet block) and every time me and or one of the family needed to go to the toilet or have a shower there was never a queue. The shed that has a microwave, 2 fridges and freezer was very handy to keep a few things we needed cold and to freeze our blocks.

Everyone is so friendly and helpful, we bought some logs and was lent a fire pit to use with them. The location was perfect with so much to do. We went to Hastings castle and smugglers caves, the light house at dungeness, also did some fishing there in a very windy sea (fishing is possible nearly all time as the tide doesn't seem to go out very far and there is plenty of places to get bait) Dymchurch is another lovely place to visit, we had a nice breakfast there.

On our last day we went to Go Ape Tonbridge, which we all enjoyed very much (Beware though as the signs for it are awful, it is in the forestry site) A very big thank you again for such a lovely stay, we will definitely be back soon, and might try the lovely little cabins just the two of us.

Happy camping if you try this site, there is nothing negative that I can say about it 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denty 12 reviews from this member

 Was good to be back at this site again. Easy to find, it's spacious, flat, grass the right length and good pegging. Facilities block clean and modern, showers free with decent pressure + temperature control.

Covered washing up area attached to the block with hot water. The only niggle is that the hot taps (+ maybe the cold, cant remember!) are those push button ones that cut off within a second or 2. Staff friendly and helpful. Prices reasonable particularly if you're 2 adults+car. EHU pitches available.

New Romney about a mile walk via a footpath that starts opposite the site entrance. For fish and chips ignore the one in the high street and go to the Rod + Line near the mini-railway, top quality, good portions and not as expensive.

The Aboyne House in the high street does excellent moules et frites, and La Vinci does excellent pizza's as well as pasta etc but booking is advised = very busy. Not impressed with the pubs.

Very good butcher in the high st and there's a big Sainsbury on the towards - Dover road.

Many places a nearby drive including the sea and Dungeness (or take the mini-railway) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kazza17 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay at Romney Farm and it was great! Good central location for exploring the area. We visited the RH&D Railway, Hastings and Tenterden.

New Romney high street is lovely with lots of little shops and cafes for afternoon tea! Facilities were spotlessly clean and although only 2 showers and toilets in one block there is another block that is opened when the site is busy. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and full of local knowledge.

A small cafe on site but this was sadly closed due to flooding from the torrential rain the day we arrived. A lovely peaceful but extremely family friendly site, children have to be in own areas by 10pm and no noise between 11pm and 7am so a good nights sleep for all!

There is a fairly busy road at the front only real traffic noise was from around 7am with rush hour so didn't affect us at all. The bottom camping field was quite dark so a torch is definitely needed for loo trips but that's the joy of camping! A place I would love to visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sundowner 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our 2nd visit to this campsite and it is still as great as it was last year. Yes, the toilet block is at least a 2 min walk from the furthest point in the tent field and yes you will need a torch but surely being able to see the night sky compensates for this.

We have 3 young children between our two families who just love the open space to play, be it football, rounders, kite flying or just learning to ride their bikes. They made new friends and played in a safe environment.

Fire pits and bbqs are available as are blocks to avoid burning the grass. Logs can be bought from reception. There is also a microwave and fridge freezer for campers to use.

Fish & chips from New Romney (fish & peri) were good and its only a short car ride or bike ride to Dungeness.

Only downside is road noise. It's not excessive but it does exist. Although there aren't many places left where you can completely escape traffic.

All in all a terrific little site, helpful staff, not over regulated with rules, clean and tidy attractive fields and clean facilities. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TerenceM15 3 reviews from this member

 A very friendly site which was perfectly located for our cycling holiday. The owners made us very welcome and their cafe was a great social addition to our time there.

The surrounding hedges provide some protection from the wind and the site is level and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maureen Finnis 1 review from this member

 I just went for one night very friendly clean. But toilet and shower block too far away you have to go across tent field across motor home field no lights.

But only 2 toilets 2 showers so don't think will go back I could hear people going to toilet outside their tents there was not enough toilet and shower block and just too far to walk at night and no light to see where you were going, but very clean 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campernumber38 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely open site surrounded by embankment and hedges. The site and facilities really well done. Clean toilets and showers, really friendly and helpful warden.

We camped for 4 nights including the weekend. Friday and Saturday were busy but not crowded.

Winds can be strong, we camped sheltered by the embankment.

The site also has a small cafe. Facilities included wooden hut containing a microwave and fridge freezers for campers with no electricity.

Visited New Romney for restaurants/pub and shopping. Also visited Dungeness nature reserve and went for a ride on the steam train. Did a nature walk with the ranger and learnt about the area. 


Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydd      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3225 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window