Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Lydd > Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park
Romney Farm
Romney Road,
Lydd
Kent   (Browse area)
TN29 9LS
Tel: 01797 361499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 118 Reviews
                9/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grannyjones 15 reviews from this member

 Great campsite -

Immaculately kept -

Very friendly welcome -

Facilities rustic but very clean - could be stretched when site is full.

Very convenient for New Romney - nice walk from the site - a hail and ride bus passes the door - we didnít use this so cannot comment.

A good cafe on site which was very handy for breakfast!

Will return! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mildenj 6 reviews from this member

 Well laid out site with clean and tidy toilets and showers, kitchen, washing machines/dryers and wash up areas.

Electric hookup, black and grey waste points (drive over for motorhomes).

Small shop in reception selling the basics, but if they havenít got what you want then please ask.

Peaceful site with plenty of space. Hook up is £5 per night and metered, go over the limit and thereís an extra charge.

Although it was cool weather in April we didnít get anywhere near the limit so not a worry fo us.

The owners, Louise and Andy are so welcoming and nothing seems too much trouble for them.

Definitely a place we will revisit without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Karen Stone 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site with good size pitches and good amenities.

Heating and music on in toilets, kitchen facilities include fridge freezer microwave and toaster etc,

Friendly staff

Separate Cafe on site open till 2. 30

Nice country walk to New Romney

Enjoyed our stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Huckster 7 reviews from this member

 Nice location, a quiet site with good amenities.

Very friendly owners.

A bit pricey and not much to do on the site are the down sides however.

Local area is lacking in things for children to do 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Flamingteacher 18 reviews from this member

 What a delightful site. Open, level and beautifully maintained.

It is has been laid out with great thought & care; A long hose is provided for grey-water as you pull in & is followed 5 yards later with a waste-water drain, just as youíd find in France.

Each field has huge mown lawn in the middle, with a couple of picnic tables. Pitches are generous and partitioned off with simple, open fencing.

Andy & Louise weíre extremely friendly and helpful, both on the phone and in person. All the paperwork was done in advance, so your holiday begins as you pull through the gates.

In addition, sharing the same site is an authentic, separate cafe called Nikki Dís that provides good grub.

The site is well-signed and is around 30 minutes walk, across the fields to New Romney. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Preea5 1 review from this member

 LOVED this site! Clean, neat, well maintained, friendly hosts, shop on site.

Bonus is little hut with freezer, fridge, microwave, kettle, books, magazines available for community use.

Quiet and close to coast and villages.

I would heartily recommend this site! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nickie James 1 review from this member

 Lovely site - great hosts - always helpful. Good facilities. Be nice to have an outdoor hose to wash down dirty dogs and an insulated, draft proof shower block for winter visits.

The slightly uneven floor in the shower block doesnít allow water to drain away as well as it could, so takes a while to mop it.

Considering itís a new site and being upgraded all the time itís almost spot on. Nice odds and ends shed with microwave, kettle, chairs, books and games. Like the recycling green ethic. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 108 reviews from this member

 We stayed here two nights to have a look around the area. The welcome was good. We were told where our pitch was, and I had specified we like sun so we had a pitch which had the sun from late morning to around 7 pm. Lovely. There were families around us but it was not noisy, just fun to watch the children Enjoying themselves with kites, bikes and balls.

The two toilet blocks were open and I tended to use the one with two toilet plus washbasin cubicles and a shower cubicle as the other main washroom areas didn't have wash basins in cubicles. I didn't experience any queuing but my husband found his shower ran a little luke warm and without a lot of pressure, may have been several people using showers at that time. THey were free so that was good.

We drove into New Romney and parked at the Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch light railway car park, free and no height barriers and ought rover tickets for the day, £30 for the two of us which was great value. We travelled up to Hythe, had an hour or so wandering the interesting little town, caught the train to Dymchurch and had a sandwich on the beach, then caught the train to Du Genesis where we spent a good couple of hours wandering and visiting Derek Jarmans cottage and garden finishing with a cuppa before catching the train back to New Romney.

DUngeness is fascinating. The next day we packed up and drove to Appledore which is very pretty, then spent two hours in Rye before leaving for home. A very interesting area and an excellent base to explore it from. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dallimore 1 review from this member

 Have just had our second visit to this lovely friendly campsite. Our last visit about 2 years ago in a caravan was lovely and this visit although in a tent was just as lovely. We spent 5 nights here with 11 and 14 year old girls.

The site is very clean and tidy with plenty of hot water and good washing up area, we arrived on Thursday and site was fairly full and Friday was full up. This did not cause any problems (they opened an extra shower and toilet block) and every time me and or one of the family needed to go to the toilet or have a shower there was never a queue. The shed that has a microwave, 2 fridges and freezer was very handy to keep a few things we needed cold and to freeze our blocks.

Everyone is so friendly and helpful, we bought some logs and was lent a fire pit to use with them. The location was perfect with so much to do. We went to Hastings castle and smugglers caves, the light house at dungeness, also did some fishing there in a very windy sea (fishing is possible nearly all time as the tide doesn't seem to go out very far and there is plenty of places to get bait) Dymchurch is another lovely place to visit, we had a nice breakfast there.

On our last day we went to Go Ape Tonbridge, which we all enjoyed very much (Beware though as the signs for it are awful, it is in the forestry site) A very big thank you again for such a lovely stay, we will definitely be back soon, and might try the lovely little cabins just the two of us.

Happy camping if you try this site, there is nothing negative that I can say about it 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denty 12 reviews from this member

 Was good to be back at this site again. Easy to find, it's spacious, flat, grass the right length and good pegging. Facilities block clean and modern, showers free with decent pressure + temperature control.

Covered washing up area attached to the block with hot water. The only niggle is that the hot taps (+ maybe the cold, cant remember!) are those push button ones that cut off within a second or 2. Staff friendly and helpful. Prices reasonable particularly if you're 2 adults+car. EHU pitches available.

New Romney about a mile walk via a footpath that starts opposite the site entrance. For fish and chips ignore the one in the high street and go to the Rod + Line near the mini-railway, top quality, good portions and not as expensive.

The Aboyne House in the high street does excellent moules et frites, and La Vinci does excellent pizza's as well as pasta etc but booking is advised = very busy. Not impressed with the pubs.

Very good butcher in the high st and there's a big Sainsbury on the towards - Dover road.

Many places a nearby drive including the sea and Dungeness (or take the mini-railway) 


Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Romney Meadows Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydd      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3809 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement