Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Leicester Hill Wood Certicated Location

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Newtown Linford > Leicester Hill Wood Certicated Location > Reviews

Leicester Hill Wood Certicated Location
Ulverscroft Lane
Newtown Linford
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE60AJ
Tel: 01530 244784


This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 5 Caravan Club Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: November 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ruthno 1 review from this member

 Lovely site amongst trees. Plenty of birdsong and nature to enjoy. Simple but well maintained facilities.

Level pitch with space for parking an extra car. Very friendly welcome.

The location is fantastic - just a few minutes drive or a mile walk to bradgate park where we went in the early morning to see the majestic deer. Loads of walking in the area and we will be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheila and Roger 4 reviews from this member

 On arrival, greeted and shown to pitch against hedge in shade.

It was very tight to turn into and would have struggled without our motor mover.

The pitch consisted of a partially gravelled flat area just big enough to take our 2 berth van, and a grassed sloping area immediately at our caravan doorstep. This meant if would have been awkward to put an awning up and we were unable to sit outside due to the incline.

The owner then proceeded to mow the grass on our arrival, leaving the grass cuttings throughout. Our little yorkies fur was continually matted with this and it made both our car and caravan a continual mess.

The site is nicely secluded and surrounded by bluebell woods. We are avid bird watchers but the dawn chorus was extremely loud and at times unbearable.

Wifi was available but we could not see the network at all from our pitch.

We will not be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue6 38 reviews from this member

 Owners Mr and Mrs Oriton helpful and welcoming. Lovely small wooded site. One toilet and a waste disposal, electric hook up available. No pubs or shops in walking distance. Yes I would visit again. This is a small site so nothing for the children, unless nature and bird watching is enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bossian 3 reviews from this member

 Found this site just after purchasing a caravan, was looking for somewhere to store it and my wife was told about it on Facebook. Originally went along to view the storage facilities and discovered there was a attached CL site! So we opted to stay a night and use the time to shake down our new caravan.

We live not far away and already know the area well. This site occupies a nice quite and secluded spot, away from busy roads and noise. There are loads of local walks that are fantastic for dogs and humans alike!

The site is well laid out and spaces the pitches in such away that you feel secluded, you are literally in the middle of a wood. Hook ups are well laid out and there is water points scattered around. There is also an on site toilet, sink and recycling centre.

The owners are very welcoming, friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. They meet you as you arrive and help get you positioned. There is good security at the entrance that lets the owner know and see who's at the site entrance. Nice to know your outfit is safe when your away.

Locally, is Newton Linford that is a nice 20 min walk along the road or across the fields by footpath. Have been to both the local ale houses before and they are very nice. Bradgate Park is also close by.

Even though I'm using this site as storage for my caravan, I can't recommend it highly enough. If you looking for total woodland seclusion, then this is the place! I will definitely be staying here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 86 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 5 night mid-week stay at Leicester Hill Wood. All the other reviews are spot on in their enthusiasm for this CL – the loudest noise all week was the bird song!

There are three hardstandings available to ensure that the site can remain open all year – all three being well away from each other for maximum seclusion. The site is sloping but the hardstandings are reasonably level. There are three water points but the one at the bottom of the site is probably more accessible to motorhomes than the other two. Hooks ups are available to all pitches although the owners have put in extension leads to lessen the need for long cables.

There is a single WC, recycling area & CDP point just inside the owners property.

Remember to bring a bird feeder as ours was a great success with visits from the amusing “upside down” nuthatches, blue & great tits, a trio of jays, a solitary greater spotted woodpecker, a pair of magpies, the occasional robin & chaffinch. We also had an occasional visit of a cheeky squirrel & pheasant, both of which excited Louie [our dog] immensely!

We knew that TV reception was going to be dodgy, so we weren’t surprised when we had no signal at all! It was a good job that we had a good stock of DVD films with us.

The village of Newtown Linford was about a mile away and has two pubs [The Linford & The Bradgate] as well as a well stocked village store [daily newspapers are available] and numerous tea rooms. The main access into the 800 acre Bradgate Park is in the village itself although there are two other entry points at opposite corners. The main tarmac path through the park is great for cycling but can be busy although there are plenty of other walking routes throughout the park where you will only have the deer for company.

There is also a country park at Beacon Hill which is about 3 miles away and the back roads were fine for biking with a dog loping alongside. He loved it & wasn’t even out of breath after 11 miles! Needless to say, we were!

Overall a super CL that is set in a forested glade and we would thoroughly recommend it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Lord Lucan 3 reviews from this member

 Perfect getaway for walks, cycling & outdoor life. Friendly owners. Ideal for long or short stays. Pubs with food are short or long walks away depending on your stamina. Close to Bradgate Park wildlife site. Leicester City centre approx 15mins bus or car ride. Definite return site. Need your own shower though. Wildlife can be seen on occasions on and near to site. Muntjack deer spotted when quiet. Plenty of cycle/walking routes suggested by the owners. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: T90BET 7 reviews from this member

 Sloping site in beautiful peaceful rural wooded area. Minimal levelling required. Plenty of space between pitches. Friendly helpful owners who offer good advise about the local area. Electric hookups. One toilet available which was fine. Water was easily available. Site was reasonably well lit at night. Close to Newton Linford village and Bradgate Park. Close to M1 motorway. Enjoyed a one night stop over, and would definitely go back for a longer stay as the surrounding area is beautiful. 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barbsch 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed my stay very much due to hospitality and friendliness of the owners, helpfulness and facilities - especially when you are out and about in winter! Nothing was too much for them and they seem genuinely interested in the best for the guests! They clearly enjoy what they do. Looking forward to going again.

Barbara S. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Leicester Hill Wood Certicated Location child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Leicester Hill Wood Certicated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Leicester Hill Wood Certicated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newtown Linford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


48309 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement