Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Oasis Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Gwent > Little Oasis Campsite Reviews

Little Oasis Campsite
Ty Newydd Farm
Pandy, Abergavenny
Gwent
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 8DW
Tel: 07989 986 081
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: EllieD81 1 review from this member

 Just spent a night at the AMAZING Little Oasis campsite in Pandy (near Abergavenny). The site was bought by Emma and Paul a year ago who have spent the time since updating the facilities in order to provide a truly amazing camping experience. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the Traditional Gypsy Caravans on site - a truly beautiful place to sleep. The plot we were on (this isn't your standard run of the mill field with tents) had it's own, fully stocked kitchenette (including bone china tea set), firepit, toilet, picnic bench and breath taking panoramic views of the valley and skirrid mountain.

The weather wasn't the best (a summer would be nice) but the welcome we received was warm and friendly, with an amazing welcome hamper containing tea, coffee, fresh bread, chocolate, butter jam and even a bottle of Fizz.

There is also a building on site that has a comfy sofa, an oven and other kitchen facilities should the weather put paid to plans of fires. This building also contains a sparkling clean shower and toilet.

Sleeping in the Gypsy Caravan was such an experience too, they have been beautifully renovated inside to include a pull out double bed with feather duvet, pillows and blankets. We were so cosy and for once I was glad of the rain as it sounded amazing on the canvas roof.

Abergavenny is only a 5-10 minute drive down the A465 and there are load of lovely little villages and village pubs dotted around the place. As far as I am aware there is also some pretty good mountain biking to be had in the area as well as some lush walks.

Freshly laid duck or chicken eggs were also available to buy for your brekkie.

To my mind it is a perfect campsite for whatever you want. If you are only a few there are smaller individual plots and the gypsy caravans but if you are a big group there is a lawn that would fit quite a few tents. I will definitely be coming back here and bringing all my friends with me. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BecandGaz 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a two night stay at the Little Oasis in Pandy.

An experience not to be missed.

An amazing little campsite set on a hillside with landscaped gardens, individual pitches, and patio tables located by all the tents, very useful at breakfast time, and sitting out in the evening watching the sun go down.

Bill, the owner, was very helpful, we needed level access to the facilities, so he let us put our tent on his lawn, which was the lowest point on the site, he was always on hand to help and has a lot of knowledge about the local area.

We wished we could have stayed longer and I'm sure we'll be back for another visit in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flugel 3 reviews from this member

 An adults only, tents only site. The 14ish pitches are set on the side of a wild flower filled hill,(although all pitches are flat, having been dug out and grassed over). They are well looked after and if a pitch is used for about 4 days on the trot it is then given time to breathe and regrow. This ensures there are no horrible brown over camped bits.

Some pitches have wooden benches,tables and umbrellas to sit under and some have newly built fire pits.There are 2 unisex loos, 2 uni showers, 2 pot wash areas and a room to escape to if it rains.

Surrounding area:- The Skirrid (local mountain/hill.) taking a packed lunch made by The Old Pandy Inn (10mins walk away(they serve v. Good food and drinks at pub. Abergavenney 6 mls away,Hereford 18 mls,The Breacon National park.

The 1 thing I would say is, I understand this is not a 4 star site (that is not the kind of place I camp in), but I do expect a little more cleanliness in the showers and toilet areas. I will definitely be back, but will take an extra scrubbing brush with me. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mel Harris 1 review from this member

 Myself and roughly 16 friends descended upon Bill and his lovely little haven last weekend and I can honestly say that we all had the absolute best weekend!

On arrival, Bill was warm, friendly and not at all overwhelmed by the amount of us there was. He showed us to our pitch which was adjacent to the showers and a short walk from the toilets. Both of these were clean and well kept with toilet roll and soaps/shower gels.

We pitched 7 tents in total and put up a large gazebo yet still had plenty of room to enjoy some games and have fun. There were 3 tables with parasols provided on our pitch which was great with there being so many of us.

The pitch was secluded too which was good as we were all worried that even though we aren't rowdy people, we may have disturbed the other guests. As it goes, we didn't, and Bill even said that the other campers had said to him that they were surprised how quiet we were! While we had all tried to be considerate and keep the noise to a minimum, I put this down to the nature of the site being split into sections, each one with an abundance of trees and plants in between them.

Bill himself is what my friends and I would call 'a legend'. He was very friendly and welcoming and he was always coming round to make sure we were ok or if we needed anything. He has plenty of stories to tell and after a few chats with him about the area and his life, he seems to me to be a bit of a local celebrity! He's a thoroughly nice chap and couldn't have been more helpful.

We didn't really venture into the local area much as we'd all just gone to chill out for the weekend but there are pubs closeby and supermarkets a short drive away.

We're all going back at the end of August and can't wait. We booked up the day we were leaving!

None of our group live more than 15 miles away from the site, but we felt like we could have been a million miles away from our everyday lives. All in all, if you want to get away from everything and relax, you couldn't choose a nicer place. It really is 'A Little Oasis'. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glasshalffull 7 reviews from this member

 Great site basic but interesting and everything you need in a basic sort of way. Plus some very nice little touches eg. gel in the showers etc

Great location, views from the campsite are glorious and there are some stunning places to visit close to and further afield

As previous reviews have mentioned Bill is an amazing chap with fascinating tales to tell, which he will do from sunrise to sunset and beyond given the chance

Great site and it was a good experience, but don't think well be going back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: David Hogg 5 reviews from this member

 After a 4 hour trek from Surrey (on the back roads to avoid the Bank Holiday traffic!), we arrived at the Little Oasis Campsite at 2200. Bill (the wonderfully friendly owner) welcomed us and pointed us to our lovely secluded pitch, complete with a table and chairs! Although our pitch was on the side of a steep hill, the pitch itself was perfectly level. As most of the pitches were fenced off and the paths to them relatively narrow, cars were usually not allowed to park next to the pitches.

The pot wash room and showers (2) were a 30 second walk from our pitch and were placed centrally in the site. The toilets (2) are in a separate building at the far end of the site (about a 1.5 minute walk from our pitch). The pitches varied from single fenced-off pitches to long strips that could accommodate 4-5 tents (in these areas he provides picnic tables and parasols - amazing!). The facilities were quite basic but always clean and of sufficient quantity for the number of people staying at the site. The showers were always nice and hot! The entire site has been lovingly landscaped by Bill with all sorts of flora and fauna - it's a pleasure just to walk around!

In the morning we saw the wonderful views from our pitch to the Skirrid Fawr 'marilyn' (a hill >150m high!). Bill came round each morning to discuss what we could visit, and what he doesn't know about local history isn't worth knowing! We used our stay to walk up Skirrid Fawr (a leisurely 1 hour climb with stunning vistas to reward you at the top!), visit the Big Pit coal mine (we highly recommend queueing to go on the underground tour!) and the local Ironworks. Bill also recommended a visit to the Grwyne Fawr reservoir (and dam) which was very isolated (at the end of a 8 mile single road!) but worth the effort to walk there. You have to park and walk for 1 1/4 miles. Ask Bill to show you the book he helped write about the dam!

The local garage in Pandy had stock of basic food and provisions, albeit a little pricey. There are, however, several supermarkets in nearby Abergavenny. There is also the oldest pub in Wales nearby and although we didn't visit it, we heard the food was ok and the prices steep.

Location wise, the only noise to hear is the nearby road (quite busy at times) and a nearby high-speed diesel train line which seemed to run even after midnight (every 20 to 30 mins)! Earplugs are necessary! On clear nights the stars shine brightly over the site due to the absence of light pollution!

All-in-all a wonderful site and we would highly recommend it! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Music_gal 1 review from this member

 Hidden away in a welsh valley (but near a main road so good access), the crazy chap that is Bill looks after a great little site that lies in the fields surrounding his house. The site can hold about 10-15 tents and the pitches are set out in little bays on different levels so you can have lots of privacy. There is one large bay that will hold about 4/5 tents - this bay also has 3 picnic tables with large green umbrellas which are perfect for cooking in the evening.

The toilets and shower facilities are kept clean and are stocked with soap, shower gel and loo roll (not the cheap stuff!). The water in the showers was lovely and warm no matter what time of day you had a shower. There is also a pot-washing sink where a scrubber and washing up liquid is provided.

Bill has thought of lots of little things that make this site just perfect - little solar lights lead the way to the toilet at nightime; windbreaks are available to put up if a bit windy - Bill will actually come and put it up for you; he'll lend you a table and chairs of you need them.And will bring you a pint of milk every morning!

10 minutes from Abergevenny and 25 mins from Monmouth, this is a really nice site to return to after a day walking or sight-seeing. There is a great pub about half a mile away that does superb food including foot-long sausages!

Bill is a bit eccentric (don't take everything he says literally!) but loves to chat to his visitors and sort them out with anything they need. We will definitely be going back.

No children allowed either - great! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bonzoboy 1 review from this member

 We booked two nights at Little Oasis for a couple of days relaxing and walking. This is the best campsite I have ever stayed at! Here's why.

- The pitches were all spacious and well spaced out on a terraced site. From our pitch we had great views of the gorgeous countryside surrounding us. They were all really flat and well maintained to pitch a tent. Some pitches had tables and chairs which is always a plus.

- Bill gave us a great welcome - lots of time to tell stories and had maps of walks and then came back in the evening to see how we had got on. It was like being his guest!

- The toilets were great - even had quality toilet rolls and soap.

- The showers were hot, clean and powerful. There was even some shower gel in there!

- For the numbers of pitches there were ample facilities - no queueing even at this busy time of year!

- Really near several pubs, including one that serves the most amazing sausages!

- Really near great walking paths, including offas dyke path.

No kids were allowed in the site but dogs welcome - this suited us perfectly! We could have easily stayed for the whole week if had the time!

Highly recommended - I have to repeat - best campsite I've even been to :-) 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Balloonists 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic little campsite, extremely picturesque surroundings and plenty of great walks in the area. Bill is a legend and made our stay an absolute pleasure. I understand previous comments about the shower and toilet facilities but they are perfectly adequate and the showers have been upgraded recently. In short, if you are in the area then make sure you camp here, you will have a fantastic stay and like I intend to, you will return! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mammoth 1 review from this member

 The ground itself was unkemp and uncared for but the showers and toilets were gross. There was mould growing up the walls and the plugs were blocked. Neighbouring campers pitched their tent, only to find that they'd pitched it on top of dog poo. The surrounding countryside, however, is stunning. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Little Oasis Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Oasis Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Little Oasis Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gwent      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4991 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement