Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Woodthorpe Hall Caravan And Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Alford > Woodthorpe Hall Caravan And Leisure Park Reviews

Woodthorpe Hall Caravan And Leisure Park
Woodthorpe
Alford
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN13 0DD
Tel: 01507 450294
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alanterri 50 reviews from this member

 First impression is of a well run, clean, spacious site. Our fully serviced pitch was massive. The caravan sat on a concrete plinth, so easy for levelling. The awning area was grass interlaced with hollowed bricks giving the best of both worlds. And a hard standing for the car. The toilet shower facilities were first class. There is a massive golf club and driving range. Woodys bar and restaurant served fine ales and excellent reasonably priced food all day. The beef brisket I had must have been over one pound in weight!

This is a must return to site. I was going to award them 10 stars but two things need addressing, even though only minor. The WiFi on-site is non existent but a fee is payable. ? Why pay for something that doesn’t work. The dog walk through the woods can be easily improved by cutting out a path making it more accessible and fun for owner and dogs. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Great weekend, well maintained site spotless shower blocks well equipped shop and friendly staff. Had a meal on Friday night in Woody's which was really good pub food and had Sunday lunch which was good value for money staff really good in the restaurant. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Saspar 6 reviews from this member

 Found this site by accident and so pleased we did. Only stayed one night but will certainly return. Good value for money. Facilities immaculate. Fantastic garden centre to visit, as well as aquatic centre. Although we didn't eat, food looked very tempting. Driving range looked impressive and will try out on a return visit. Looks as though everything has been recently upgraded and whoever is responsible they have done a fantastic job. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chestnuts 22 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights in our motorhome. What an excellent site. The showers and toilets are absolutely immaculate. Also I have never seen a chemical waste disposal so clean it again was immaculate. The food in Woody's restaurant was lovely. At a reasonable price and lots of it. The golf course was in excellent condition. Hopefully we will return in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a lovely weekend. A warm welcome from staff, well stocked shop and plenty of papers in the mornings. Good dog walking but if they like the beach then its about a 15 min drive away. We had dinner on Friday night plenty to choose from and good service. We finished off by having a lovely Sunday lunch. Lovely fruit and veg from the garden centre just a short walk away. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lincsathlete 1 review from this member

 Stayed here as a fun overnighter for me and my six year old son. Arrived nice and early, received a warm welcome and were shown to the pitch. Really surprised by how big the pitch was, it was flat and well-tended and there was an EHU with a drinking water tap available to us. We had more than enough space for our little tent.

After we set up we went to explore the site. We were the other end from the toilet block (which I requested so we wouldn't be too near the pub, and so there wouldn't be too much traffic passing us). It really wasn't that far away, though. The toilet block was clean and modern and the radio was playing in there. There was a good sized family shower room as well.

I wanted to go and see the games field, but was prevented by my boy, who saw the playground outside the pub and spent well over an hour there. Then we had a little look round the little shop (which stocked basics) to buy some sweets and requested something to put our disposable barbecue on, which was quickly delivered to our pitch.

We pottered around until it was the boy's bedtime, and we could do teeth, shower, medicine etc in comfort in the family room without too much problem, and once the boy was in bed I had a nice little read outside the tent until it got too dark.

The site was really quite quiet after the boy's bedtime, considering how busy it was and how many kids were there. There was no noise from the pub at our end of the park.

The day started early as the boy wanted to go to the toilet at 5. 15! That meant that we'd got everything routine done by seven. The shop doesn't open until eight, and the pub not until 10:30, which made things difficult as I'd anticipated, wrongly, being able to get breakfast there, so a hungry little boy had to make do with a box of Dairylea Lunchables as his nutritious breakfast.

As we were only doing an overnight, we struck camp and got ready to leave for 10:30. Did the washing up in the little launderette, and unfortunately one of the previous visitors had left one of the washing-up sinks blocked with food. That says more about those particular guests rather than the park management, though.

Had another look at the pub, but it was empty, so we decided to go to the Garden Centre over the road (same owners) instead- where we promptly spent another four hours, including a lovely lunch, until a tired little boy could manage no longer and we went home.

My son loved his camping 'weekend' and has asked to go to Woodthorpe again soon. Lincolnshire is full of campsites, though, so I'd like to explore some other ones, but I would happily return. It was a lovely introduction to my boy's first 'proper' camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patriot 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 28 nights with husband, 15 year old son & dog.

It is a very clean and tidy site with good size, well marked pitches. We had fully serviced pitch but the water and waste is on the awning side so you need long pipes to reach to containers.

The site is well placed for travelling both to beach (Mablethorpe about 20 mins) and inland (Lincoln 1 hour). The Raf museum at East Kirby was excellent and allowed dogs in all areas except café.

Toilet block excellent. £10 deposit for key. There is family room, gents, ladies, disabled and powder room (hairwash sink, mirrors & plugs for hairdryers).

18 hole golf course=well kept and challenging bunkers, putting green, 2 play areas. Woodys restaurant good food at reasonable price. 5 min walk to garden centre which also has gifts, maze, cafe & dogs welcome. 10 min walk to Aquatic centre which also has reptiles plus you can feed fish. Dogs welcome here as well. Ideal for wet days.

Minor negatives were; No dog walk on site near touring end but there is a bit of a walk through wood near permanent pitches, this is being looked at for future; Can take dogs into sun lounge area at Woodys but the tables and chairs are quite low so we ended up eating with plates on knee. Again the site is looking at this when continuing with renovations; No Wi-Fi while we were there (apart from standing in corridor at Woodys near toilets)but this was being done as we left.

A relaxing holiday which all enjoyed 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitchells fam 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a weekend at Woodthorpe. Booking was easy and confirmations sent out swiftly. Staff were polite. It is a dog friendly environment and dogs are allowed in the conservatory in the pub. Pitches were regimented and clearly marked. Avoid pitch number 3! We were placed there and the pub is directly behind and the path from the pub to the site next to out pitch which meant no sleep until the early hours. It was also close to the toilets but also meant it was a high traffic area. Toilets were immaculate and cleaned regularly although the water from the shower shot out all over the cubicle so beware! Plenty to do on site, park is huge with large areas of bare field for kids to run on. Mablethorpe is 20 minutes away and the garden centre is worth a visit. The nearest supermarket is 10-15 minutes away, no takeaway delivery, but plenty to do outside of the camp within 10-15 min drive. All and all its a good site but there is no noise curfew which did take away enjoyment and left us cranky. In the whole weekend we only saw the warden once when we first checked in and nobody was available from the site when I asked the bar staff. Not sure if I would return but the kids loved it 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smbpop 7 reviews from this member

 First came across this site on a Sunday ride out. We liked the look of the site, so booked there and then for 3 days later to stop for 4 nights. Even got a fully serviced pitch. The prices are very reasonable for the standard of the site.

We enquired about late arrivals on the Wednesday, when we booked and was informed that wasn't a problem, as any booking in after 6 p. M. Was done in the on site pub, very handy for anyone having a full days work before travelling.

We arrived at approximately 8 p. M. Popped into the bar to book in, and was asked if we were likely to be going back to the bar for a meal once we were set up, (which we had intended to do), so they knew not to switch things off until after we'd eaten, a very considerate thought.

The pub food was delicious, with fantastic service and very reasonable prices. Lovely play area within the pub grounds for children, and very nice outdoor seating areas too.

The site is very open plan and adjoins the holiday homes/static caravan park, though different entrances to each part.

The facilities on site (toilets, showers and chemical disposal) were extremely clean and modern, and the site overall was kept clean and tidy. The fully serviced pitch was hard standing for the caravan with semi hard/soft area at the side for awnings and parking. (Sort of Concrete blocks with holes in to allow for awning pegs or wind shades to be erected). There are also pitches with electric hook up only, if you prefer, and pitches for tents (either basic or with EHU).

Reception/shop was well stocked with basic and non basic items, though most things were 'Happy shopper' or equivalent budget brands, so if you're fussy and like brand name foods/products make sure you take them with you!

We didn't use the golf course or driving ranges or the fishing so cannot comment on these.

We found all members of staff both on site and in the pub to be very friendly and helpful.

If I really had to find a negative for this site it would probably be that there is only one toilet/shower/chemical disposal block and it can be a fair way to walk if your mobility is not 100%, though wasn't a problem for us because we used our on-board facilities for everything most of the time. (But it is twice as far to walk for the campers)! But as I said that is only a very minor complaint, and we enjoyed our stay at Woodthorpe and would definitely like to return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hixxy 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Woodthorpe Leisure Park, what a great site, large pitch, staff very helpful, shop well stocked and reasonably priced. Visited Woodys which was again reasonably priced and helpful staff. Showers and toilets were very clean and used the powder room daily for hair and makeup. Also on site was a hairdressers and beauty treatments The site was relaxing quiet and very well organised. All in all had a great 3 days here would recommend and will definitely return again 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodthorpe Hall Caravan And Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodthorpe Hall Caravan And Leisure Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodthorpe Hall Caravan And Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020